Re: More taxes in 2017 budget

Postby pugboy » September 17th, 2016, 11:39 am

Hennessy should be triple taxed
And maybe weaves

cherrypopper wrote:Since partying in Trinidad is a staple. ..

Include a tax on all them fête and boat cruise tickets. .

Recession over

drchaos

Postby drchaos » September 17th, 2016, 12:44 pm

desifemlove wrote:
drchaos wrote:Desi is a schizo PNM supporter.

eh? the only red and ready here is your tampon every month...

Funny come back ... but still dont change the fact that you voted PNM with a burning passion and now you holding your head and bawlin.

Postby desifemlove » September 17th, 2016, 2:14 pm

eh? i did vote PNM, but then only cos UNC didn't do much to diversity the economy or fight crime. it's you and yuh breds mr. nervetonic who is posting balling how yuh ketching tail......

Postby De Dragon » September 17th, 2016, 3:47 pm

desifemlove wrote:eh? i did vote PNM, but then only cos UNC didn't do much to diversity the economy or fight crime. it's you and yuh breds mr. nervetonic who is posting balling how yuh ketching tail......

Yes and the present Gov't doing a fantastic job. No scene in admitting that what you voted for never materialized, or that you feel worse off now. Then again, the forum has suddenly become devoid of the gaggle of pro-PNM, manna go fall from heaven, we in charge now, eat cassava, tighten belt crew :lol:

drchaos

Postby drchaos » September 17th, 2016, 6:53 pm

desifemlove wrote:eh? i did vote PNM, but then only cos UNC didn't do much to diversity the economy or fight crime. it's you and yuh breds mr. nervetonic who is posting balling how yuh ketching tail......

You is de one who complaining bout the PNM now ... You keep getting chain up by red and yellow.
I not so chupid like you to bother to vote and get meh hopes up high.

De parties could do what ever the hell dey want ... doh bother me.
Oh except for that speed limit ting ... Dat does grind my gears.

Re: RE: Re: More taxes in 2017 budget

Postby nervewrecker » September 17th, 2016, 7:35 pm

I not catching my tail.

How you so sure I not a PNM supporter?

Postby bluefete » September 17th, 2016, 8:27 pm

hong kong phooey wrote:yeah they so facking stupid trying to increase the tax on alcohol -- this will just increase the market for black market stuff and illegal home made stuff.
you can get very good rums in Venezuela for under 50 tt a bottle
the government is already making on alcohol

why they dont look at where tax money is being wasted, like tax free allowances for government ministers. why dont they quote a figure of how much money the country spends(looses) a year on this.
and high salaries to government ministers.

Really? Are you aware that we spent TT$100 million in 6 months to import whisky (October 2015 -March 2016)?????

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20160917 ... key-lovers

Yes, the blackmarket is always an alternative but if you put the right systems in place (and that will NEVER happen in T&T because even the government ministers will buy on the black market or take it from the Customs bond), you can negate its effect.

Tax it I say. What a colossal waste of money.

Postby bluefete » September 17th, 2016, 8:36 pm

LOL.

http://www.newsday.co.tt/news/0,171062.html

Distributors: Vasant must act

By Miranda La Rose Sunday, December 23 2012

The festive season is on and Trinbagonians will probably be consuming a lot of alcohol over the next couple months, especially with the Carnival season due to start immediately after Christmas festivities wind up.

However, over 35 percent of foreign wines and spirits now being consumed locally are being supplied by an illegal multi-million dollar parallel industry that undersells licensed products and robs the country of revenue. Legal liquor distributors thus want Minister of Trade Vasant Bharath to act on the problem, saying it is denying them of an honest living.

“It is probably the next biggest thing to the drugs trade,” an importer, who preferred anonymity, told Sunday Newsday.

The most lucrative item for the illegal traders is scotch whisky, which is highly demanded by those who indulge in black market purchases. A container of scotch whisky attracts $1 million in duties and taxes which the parallel traders do not pay, the importer said. This then allows the black market trader to undersell legitimate distributors.

The effects of the illegal trade were discussed at a meeting of the Food Distribution Association last month, and a decision was taken to officially inform the UK-based Scotch Whisky Association of the parallel trade. It was noted that while the price of whisky was going up worldwide, it was decreasing in Trinidad and Tobago.

In a telephone interview, Kumar Maharaj, owner of Westside Supermarket/Jumbo Foods Supermarket, told Sunday Newsday parallel traders actually bring in their products through the legal channels, “but strangely, their prices are way below the prices of the authorised agents.”

“The price at which the parallel trade is retailing, is what the original agent is selling it in bulk to be retailed,” Maharaj said.

A 750 millilitre bottle of Johnnie Walker Black, for example, is sold on the parallel market in the $194 to $199 range. Leading supermarkets like Hi Lo, Tru Valu and Westside/Jumbo Foods sell the same product between $254 and $270, advertisements in the newspapers show.

Black and White Scotch Whisky is being retailed on the parallel market for as low as $120 a bottle, but the more reputable supermarkets sell the product in the $150 and $155 range.

According to Maharaj, the parallel trade has been going on for almost ten years.

“They (parallel traders) entered the market with zero percent and they now control about 35 percent of alcohol, especially foreign alcohol, on the local retail market,” he said. “Importers are doing nothing about it. They are just taking the beating. When I discussed the issue with them, they said they have no alternative. The parallel trade is eating into their market share, and they are not addressing this issue.”

The suppliers of the foreign goods to the parallel traders and the authentic agents are the same, Maharaj said.

“They come from the same source. It is just that it takes a different direction when it gets here. It has affected me because I do not associate with the parallel trade. We cannot cope with their prices.”

The agents for Johnny Walker, Black and White Scotch Whisky — Marketing and Distributions Limited, Trinidad Import and Exports, AS Bryden and Sons, and even Angostura Limited, he claimed, “were sitting down and taking the beating.”

“Consumers are going for the cheap-priced whisky and vodka instead of using rums and other products produced locally or by Caricom countries.

It is getting worse. It is affecting the retailers like myself, the Hi-Los and the Tru Valus, who do not want to trade in illegal goods.”

The problem, Maharaj said, “is that there are many people with big names in the country who are involved in the parallel trade.” “People whom you would least expect, or never expect are involved in this trade. So it is a big, big problem that is almost out of hand right now.

“I don’t know where the loophole is, but the parallel trade is beating the system.”

Bharath, he said, has to act on the problem. “There is no way the legal trade could offer better prices than the parallel trade. We have to put things in place to deal with that, or we become a more corrupt society.”

Efforts to contact Bharath on this issue were unsuccessful. Several calls to his cellphone went unanswered and his communications department did not respond to an e-mail request for a comment on the issue.

Contacted on whether the parallel trade was affecting Angostura’s business, CEO Robert Wong told Sunday Newsday they were not aware of a market loss. It was noted, however, that the company produced locally, with rums being their speciality.

Speaking on condition of anonymity, an official of AS Bryden told Sunday Newsday that over the past three to four years, the problem of the parallel trade had been worsening.

About three to four years ago, the official said, complaints were made to the Preventative Branch of Customs about the illegal trading and names of companies that appeared involved were provided to the officials.

“We did not make that complaint, but one of our customers, who buys legally imported goods, and whom we suspect brings in foreign goods in the parallel trade, claimed that we accused him of selling illegally imported whisky. He threatened one of our sales representatives.”

But AS Bryden, the official said, wants the issue dealt with and is currently “making representation through different channels.”

Sales representatives attached to Trinidad Importers and Exporters acknowledged they too were affected by the trade. All importers, they said, have high duties to pay, some as much as 87 percent. Other expenses include overheads, including staff, warehousing and deliveries.

Two importers, also speaking with Sunday Newsday on condition of anonymity, said they suspect the illegal traders “buy the spirits from the regular suppliers, bring it into the country in the same way as the regular agents, and place it in a bonded warehouse, having told customs that they are shipping it out to the Far East. When their container leaves the bonded warehouse, where no duty has to be paid, the goods are stuffed in any warehouse in any part of the country. They then send the empty container, or it is stuffed with rocks or materials to be recycled to the Far East.”

They allege customs officers are aware of such activity, as they had lodged several complaints.

“Everything we had told to the customs officers was told to one of our staff members.”

The importers contend that with the new ASYCUDA (Automated System for Customs Data) system, every bottle of foreign wine and spirit could now be traced through a ‘lot number’. Through this lot number, the importers said, “If it is found that you are selling illegal stuff you could lose your licence.”

Attempts to contact Comptroller of Customs and Excise Division, Fitzroy John, were unsuccessful. His secretary refused to transfer calls to him and referred the matter to the communications department. Alicia Charles, the Division’s communications specialist, requested e-mailed questions on the matter, but never responded to them or returned calls or e-mails which sought to find out why there was no response.

However, in November, John told a British-Caribbean Chamber of Commerce breakfast meeting, held at the Trinidad and Tobago Chamber of Commerce and Industry’s office in Westmoorings, that importers and exporters must not be afraid to report irregularities and illegal activities

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 17th, 2016, 8:57 pm

Yes and the present Gov't doing a fantastic job. No scene in admitting that what you voted for never materialized, or that you feel worse off now. Then again, the forum has suddenly become devoid of the gaggle of pro-PNM, manna go fall from heaven, we in charge now, eat cassava, tighten belt crew :lol:

Ent rowly was the one who said a govt who cannot fight crime should not be in government???

Kamla n dem thief $ yeah....at least u saw development to an extent...one yr later with pnm not one fcuk change...

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » September 17th, 2016, 11:01 pm

bluefete wrote:
hong kong phooey wrote:yeah they so facking stupid trying to increase the tax on alcohol -- this will just increase the market for black market stuff and illegal home made stuff.
you can get very good rums in Venezuela for under 50 tt a bottle
the government is already making on alcohol

why they dont look at where tax money is being wasted, like tax free allowances for government ministers. why dont they quote a figure of how much money the country spends(looses) a year on this.
and high salaries to government ministers.

Really? Are you aware that we spent TT$100 million in 6 months to import whisky (October 2015 -March 2016)?????

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20160917 ... key-lovers

Yes, the blackmarket is always an alternative but if you put the right systems in place (and that will NEVER happen in T&T because even the government ministers will buy on the black market or take it from the Customs bond), you can negate its effect.

Tax it I say. What a colossal waste of money.

yes We spent 100 million. Not the government. Some of that 100 million went to the government, they made money in taxes. Government going to increase the tax on alcohol. it will have a breaking point where people will say it just dont make sense and go back to the illegal way.
Why governmemt don't look at where they wasting the country's money first.

Postby desifemlove » September 18th, 2016, 12:08 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:

Ent rowly was the one who said a govt who cannot fight crime should not be in government???

Kamla n dem thief $ yeah....at least u saw development to an extent...one yr later with pnm not one fcuk change...

development is to me economic, infrastructual, social. roads the PNM planned and would have built had manning won, count over community centres. thing is there was no diversification, under her or mannign or rowley no.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » September 18th, 2016, 7:22 pm

desifemlove wrote:

development is to me economic, infrastructual, social. roads the PNM planned and would have built had manning won, count over community centres. thing is there was no diversification, under her or mannign or rowley no.

Shhhhhh ... yuh Massa Rowley might see you bad talking him. Daz blasphemy to allu PNMites ent?

cherrypopper

Postby cherrypopper » September 18th, 2016, 8:21 pm

Who buying Rowley book

Postby desifemlove » September 18th, 2016, 8:26 pm

drchaos wrote:
desifemlove wrote:

Shhhhhh ... yuh Massa Rowley might see you bad talking him. Daz blasphemy to allu PNMites ent?

i'm no member of PNM, never will be. even if i was, what he go do? come and box me? his doctor ent go like that, he needs to take ting easy in his condition.

dude2014

Postby dude2014 » September 18th, 2016, 9:52 pm

nervewrecker wrote:Once they don't raise premium

Somewhere I read that there is no subsidy on premium. Can someone advise? In fact Govt should say what is the subsidy on each fuel.

car

Postby car » September 18th, 2016, 10:32 pm

I also thought that all the subsidy on premium was removed but there still is. I'll try to find the info and post it.

car

Postby car » September 18th, 2016, 10:38 pm

40 per cent hike in gas without subsidy
Published on Mar 22, 2016, 11:54 pm AST
By Aleem Khan
1 CommentsArticle
Share:FacebookTwitter

Without subsidies, gas prices are likely to rise 40 to 64 per cent.
While Finance Minister Colm Imbert's plan is to remove the fuel subsidy but only gradually, without said subsidy, the prices of super and diesel fuel would rise between 40 and 64 per cent, according to Express Business calcula­tions using the latest available ex-refinery versus at-the-pump prices.
“I intend to commence a national discussion on fuel prices in my statement to
Par­liament on April 8, with a view to gradually removing the subsidy,” Imbert clarified in response to an SMS text query on Monday.
As the price of crude oil, Petrotrin refinery's rising operating costs, distribution and market­ing all factor into the prices of gasoline and diesel, the subsidy varies with international prices and local demand.
Premium upped by 44%.

However, speeches and
presentations by former finance minister Larry Howai in Parliament in 2012 and former Petrotrin vice-president for refining Mado Bachan in 2014 show that ex-refinery prices for premium gasoline have varied between $2.53 per litre, when oil was trading for around US$44 per barrel in 2009, and $5.84 per litre, when oil was trading for around US$86 per barrel in 2012.
When the price of premium gasoline was hiked and the nation was told it was no longer subsidised, it was raised by about 44 per cent, from $4 per litre to 5.75 per litre.
Another presenta­­tion, from The Univer­sity of the West Indies' (The UWI) Revenue Ma­nage­ment in Hydrocarbon Eco­nomies Conference in 2012 showed premium gasoline was subsidised by about 15 per cent; super by about 40 per cent; and diesel by about 64 per cent. When the subsidy is removed, assuming oil prices and Petrotrin refining costs stay within the range it has been between 2012 and now, the price of super, now $3.11 per litre, could increase by 40 per cent, or $1.36, meaning a cost to the consumer of $4.47 per litre.
Diesel, meanwhile, could increase from $1.72 per litre now to $2.82 after the subsidy is removed.

Super can go as high as $4.47 and diesel can go as high as $2.82.
The nation was told premium was no longer subsidised.

Postby De Dragon » September 19th, 2016, 2:44 am

cherrypopper wrote:Who buying Rowley book

I'd rather have steel knitting needles inserted into my eyeballs than read that self serving drivel.

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » September 19th, 2016, 3:45 am

if the price was 5.75 when the price of oil was 87 dollars a barrel what should the price be when the price of oil is 40 dollars a barrel.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 19th, 2016, 5:51 am

$4.47 for super.....short drop go be bout $7 now

computercentral

Postby computercentral » September 19th, 2016, 6:01 am

They should round it off to 10$

cherrypopper

Postby cherrypopper » September 19th, 2016, 6:52 am

Bmx makin a come back. ..

Watch out for that reflector tax

Postby Redman » September 19th, 2016, 8:03 am

cherrypopper wrote:Who buying Rowley book

I'd rather have steel knitting needles inserted into my eyeballs than read that self serving drivel.

Ent???
I may have understood the AB IF he served more than one term and managed the country properly.

Postby Les Bain » September 19th, 2016, 9:11 am

Them social media PNM die hards in my social media feeds real quiet since their party came into power.

Red and ready to ketch your ass and hush your ass.

Daran

Postby Daran » September 19th, 2016, 9:41 am

Les Bain wrote:Them social media PNM die hards in my social media feeds real quiet since their party came into power.

They seemed to have moved on to BLP or anti-Trump propaganda now.

Postby Les Bain » September 19th, 2016, 9:52 am

Daran wrote:
Les Bain wrote:Them social media PNM die hards in my social media feeds real quiet since their party came into power.

That's priorities in action dey.

Postby Dizzy28 » September 19th, 2016, 10:20 am

Daran wrote:

I swear I see more US election banter on my social media feeds than I saw for our local elections. Lots of dual citizens I suppose :? :?

src1983

Postby src1983 » September 19th, 2016, 10:40 am

What I don't get is that we may have to pay more taxes.

But what if I don't want the government to pressure wash the Brian Lara Stadium

What happens when they give contractors contracts huge contracts to build roads that last less than 3 years.

What is my recourse when the government does not give value for money?

Over the last 15 - 20 years I as an individual has not been getting value for the taxes I paid in my opinion

- My road no longer a road
- Government services never improved
- gas gone up to 5.75

Daran

Postby Daran » September 19th, 2016, 11:30 am

Your recourse is either protest, form a watch dog group and create awareness to get them voted out.

The thing about politics is that NO party is it to help the country. They are in it to help themselves and those who are aligned with their and the interests of their financers.

What you end up voting for is the lesser of two of evils, and the party that benefits you.

If you see the development that has happened south of the Caroni bridge over the last 5 years you can never fault them for voting PP, same goes for people in the west for voting PNM.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » September 19th, 2016, 3:28 pm

Allu we don't have to worry! Rowley massa the sabgas said they don't expect harsh budget cuts and the usd to remain around 6.8. He did an interview in the guardian today.

If the budget is to harsh it will hurt the financiers as well and they in control so let the good times roll.