Race car runs into spectators at Wallerfield

scotty_buttons

Race car runs into spectators at Wallerfield

Postby scotty_buttons » July 25th, 2016, 12:39 am

TriniGT wrote:I have seen this first-hand at M school, a case of you go where you watch. Hope everyone makes a full recovery, scary stuff.

This.

Or maybe mechanical failure ?

Regardless, an investigation is definitely warranted.

Speedy recovery to all those injured.

TriP

Re: Race car runs into spectators at Wallerfield

Postby TriP » July 25th, 2016, 1:27 am

Accident Victims - lil Graphic Contents

android79

Postby android79 » July 25th, 2016, 1:50 am

WTF! Who is the brilliant man say put ah stand at the end of the straight?

Postby streetbeastINC. » July 25th, 2016, 2:34 am

Know it alls...... did these ppl seek approval from public health dept, osha , TPRC? WAS a proposed plan of the track and spectator placement in lieu of safety ever submitted to a relevant govt agency in relation to public health and safety ?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 25th, 2016, 5:16 am

The man who was asking for a 5yr lease could kiss that dream goodbye..

Postby SR » July 25th, 2016, 6:05 am

Love all the non motorsporting people analasys and who to blame

Re: RE: Re: Race car runs into spectators at Wallerfield

Postby Team Loco » July 25th, 2016, 6:12 am

SR wrote:Love all the non motorsporting people analasys and who to blame

Ent

Lance

Postby Lance » July 25th, 2016, 6:35 am

Has the relevant "motorsporting people" or association released any sort of interim press/report? Can someone post it here?

Postby pete » July 25th, 2016, 6:45 am

Apparently the organiser was on cnc3 this morning. Didn't see the interview tho.

Postby Redman » July 25th, 2016, 7:06 am

So...Who or what is the investigating authority?

And who sets the standards for the layout of the spec seats vs the tracks etc.

Is the layout part of the approval s?

Postby pugboy » July 25th, 2016, 7:08 am

man say worse injured is his friend
trying to soften the situation

Lance

Postby Lance » July 25th, 2016, 7:11 am

Redman wrote:So...Who or what is the investigating authority?

And who sets the standards for the layout of the spec seats vs the tracks etc.

Is the layout part of the approval s?

You shouldn't ask these questions if you're not "motorsport people".

Postby ismithx » July 25th, 2016, 8:17 am

I watch all the videos and I want to know what dreams they was selling, what drugs they were on when they thought that they made a barrier, much less even to talk about the placement of the stands, it don't take a genius to see it was in a dangerous place.

Hope the affected recover quickly and get their compensation

2WNBoost

Postby 2WNBoost » July 25th, 2016, 9:29 am

Postby eliteauto » July 25th, 2016, 10:36 am

Team Loco wrote:

Ent

ENT what? What a crock of sheit, so if the lease of the facility which is soon up comes under review it will be ETECK motorsport ppl reviewing it? man STFU with the BS

Postby cinco » July 25th, 2016, 10:45 am

Why a question on who to blame ? The event organisers that placed a stand there is to blame full stop

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 25th, 2016, 11:08 am

All these so called "motor sporting " people in here and not one saw the location of that stand as life threatening

Postby toyolink » July 25th, 2016, 11:18 am

I wish all concerned speedy recoveries and that the lessons to be learnt here do impact positively on the sport.
The distance an out of control vehicle can cover is frightening!
....Total respect of these machines is absolutely essential.

Postby teems1 » July 25th, 2016, 11:19 am

cinco wrote:Why a question on who to blame ? The event organisers that placed a stand there is to blame full stop

Lots of circuits all over the world have stands on a hairpin turn.

A wall 4 tires high with no reinforcement behind would be the factor in deciding that placing a stand there is not safe at all.

Postby cinco » July 25th, 2016, 11:26 am

teems1 wrote:
cinco wrote:Why a question on who to blame ? The event organisers that placed a stand there is to blame full stop

Lots of circuits all over the world have stands on a hairpin turn.

A wall 4 tires high with no reinforcement behind would be the factor in deciding that placing a stand there is not safe at all.

We talking about wallerfield not circuits all over the world

Bezman

Postby Bezman » July 25th, 2016, 11:34 am

after watching a couple more vids and speaking with ppl who saw.
there was definitely something spilled on the track it looks like (opinion)
as the rx7 span out on the fluid.. hit the barrier... this was the catalyst for the tragedy

the swift it looks like (may have been having brake failure) was on the same line as the rx7 and instead of being slowed down by the tires and mound, the rx7 actually cleared the way for the swift to have nothing to slow him down.

this is a tragedy, lots to be learned but I fear the lesson may have come at a hefty cost,
the injured and affected will be traumatised and I wish them a speedy recovery, lives will be changed for ever.

for the motorsport associations et all, this is really a wake up call..

spectators, we are also all to blame here, we should know better, look out for our own safety and not only look for the best vantage point..

I was just joking with a friend when we spoke about going up that I didn't want to lime where we did last time as too many cars almost lost if near the chicane last time and we feared someone loosing control and ploughing into the crowd..

truly sad an I hope the authorities investigate, but at the same time are fair in their judgement and allow the sport to grow with new safety and procedure in mind..

my 2ç

Postby pete » July 25th, 2016, 11:49 am

Nah I can't agree with any victim blaming for the spectators. They were in approved stands which should have been put in safe areas. If they were standing by the fence and got hit there maybe but not in a designated area man...
Many people commented that they felt the stands were in a dangerous place. The average person who doesn't know and figures "well they put seats for us here so they must know it's safe" went and sat there and suffered for it.

Postby rollingstock » July 25th, 2016, 11:51 am

So wait you have to be part of motorsports to have eyes to see our have an opinion?

Man stfu with your idiocy and clique mentality.

BRZ

Postby BRZ » July 25th, 2016, 11:58 am

this will be interesting indeed, wont be surprised if the Track is SHUT down for a few months now, oh well back to NO track again............

Bezman

Postby Bezman » July 25th, 2016, 12:19 pm

pete wrote:Nah I can't agree with any victim blaming for the spectators. They were in approved stands which should have been put in safe areas. If they were standing by the fence and got hit there maybe but not in a designated area man...
Many people commented that they felt the stands were in a dangerous place. The average person who doesn't know and figures "well they put seats for us here so they must know it's safe" went and sat there and suffered for it.

i wasn't only talking about this event, and I'm not blaming any victims, i said "we spectators" - . I am not blaming the random mom and pop spectators, but most of us in general really get too close compared to when visiting tracks abroad where you are forced to sit 100' away or separated by barriers and fences. allot of the time, at everything from solodex to drags etc, spectators who are mostly motor heads, stand very close or want to get as close as possible (or as you say are put too close).. even marshals and official vehicles being parked in bad/un safe places. e.g. the tents at drags last time.. what if a car lost it (throttle stuck etc) on the burnout areas and hit the tent? fortunately promoters and organisers have never had to face this sort of tragedy and hopefully not again, so we learn from this.

Postby teems1 » July 25th, 2016, 12:21 pm

BRZ wrote:this will be interesting indeed, wont be surprised if the Track is SHUT down for a few months now, oh well back to NO track again............

That is acceptable.

Persons are in the hospital right now because of the lax preparation. Better to be safe than sorry.

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » July 25th, 2016, 12:27 pm

Bezman wrote: the rx7 actually cleared the way for the swift to have nothing to slow him down.

First thing I noticed, rx7 made a lil ramp for the swift

Postby Ted_v2 » July 25th, 2016, 1:10 pm

Sad situation, hope people in charge of motorsports gets with the program. Drifting is the worst I came across so far. Nothing in place.

Postby Team Loco » July 25th, 2016, 1:14 pm

Motorsports is dangerouse and serious injury can happen fullstoo. Or course organizers must do their best to make sure spectators and john public are kept safe. In this case, it was a definite oversight. Sadly it takes a tragedy of this magnitude to jump start safety

moving

Postby moving » July 25th, 2016, 1:59 pm

We cannot expect TTASA to put protection in place for extenuating circumstances . Their duty is to provide adequate protection "duty of care" for spectators. That is why there is still a disclaimer on the tickets (because no matter how many safety measures you put in place, something can still happen).

Was adequate safety provided on that corner, I really do not know as i wasn't on that corner.

But guys this was the biggest event we have ever seen at wallerfield, it was very well organized, had more safety precautions than any other event to date and the response time to this disaster was excellent.
Last edited by moving on July 25th, 2016, 3:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.