On the subject of GATE

Re: On the subject of GATE

Postby hustla_ambition101 » July 19th, 2016, 4:24 pm

desifemlove is bluesclueless retarded sister?

Postby desifemlove » July 19th, 2016, 4:25 pm

haha...that don't invalidate anything i've said. lower economies as a rule tend to grow faster than more developed economies. and there's no way that agricultrue can sustain a high living standard over a long period. if he/you mean agriculture in food security terms, fine, but as a mainstay industry hell no. China is getting richer cos it has left agriculture behind. We would have to live in huts or not have proper highways or schools if most our economy was agriculture. i could provide a shitload of stats to back me up, but cool...

Postby desifemlove » July 19th, 2016, 4:26 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:desifemlove is bluesclueless retarded sister?

who? nah, nothing i said wrong dude. but if yuh want to be well off growing yams and dasheen..cool. i'll be more well off in the service industry... 8-)

Postby hustla_ambition101 » July 19th, 2016, 4:27 pm

kk cool, you shouldn't eat then

Postby desifemlove » July 19th, 2016, 5:48 pm

i doh like yam and dasheen, bodhi is cool...but we sure can't be a wealthy society by growing them alone...

Postby desifemlove » July 19th, 2016, 6:11 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:desifemlove is bluesclueless retarded sister?

no, but dis iz you and nobwanker and KYTT trying to scope me...not bothered, i does do my own ting.

Trinispougla

Postby Trinispougla » July 20th, 2016, 8:51 am

desifemlove wrote:i doh like yam and dasheen, bodhi is cool...but we sure can't be a wealthy society by growing them alone...

Ivory Coast's growth of 9% is solely due to their being the top producer of cocoa in the world with the proviso that the country remains at peace. Check how much French and Belgian investors going there.Trinidadian cocoa is generally regarded as some of the finest in the world. As i said, don't look down on agriculture
http://www.guardian.co.tt/business/2016 ... ing-fields

Postby Dizzy28 » July 20th, 2016, 8:55 am

Trinispougla wrote:
desifemlove wrote:i doh like yam and dasheen, bodhi is cool...but we sure can't be a wealthy society by growing them alone...

Ivory Coast's growth of 9% is solely due to their being the top producer of cocoa in the world with the proviso that the country remains at peace. Check how much French and Belgian investors going there.Trinidadian cocoa is generally regarded as some of the finest in the world. As i said, don't look down on agriculture

When you have GDP of US$1600 per capita earning 9% economic growth is much easier than when you have GDP of US$20,000 per capita.

Would take quite a lot of any type of agriculture to get growth in the latter's case.

Postby dougla_boy » July 20th, 2016, 8:55 am

leave she nah, mubbe get that degree in ah online course or one ah dem schools down here that giving business degrees in a 6months

Postby Ronaldo95163 » July 20th, 2016, 9:02 am

teems1 wrote:
maj. tom wrote:Yeah seems fair.

but FMS not getting a different plan?
1/3 of MBBS/DDS/OPTM ($71,000 to $90,000/year) is way more than the entire of Engineering ($18,000/year).

$6000/year compared to $30,000/year in fees. Is that really the plan to make education affordable to qualified students who cannot afford it?

Aren't most if not all of the local students at UWI Mt Hope, winners of a Government scholarship? They don't worry about GATE/DFD etc.

PNM can't pay schol money yet :evil:
Like is only men who know ppl in SATD get dey money quick quick...everybody else is salt

Trinispougla

Postby Trinispougla » July 20th, 2016, 9:38 am

Trinispougla wrote:

When you have GDP of US$1600 per capita earning 9% economic growth is much easier than when you have GDP of US$20,000 per capita.

Would take quite a lot of any type of agriculture to get growth in the latter's case.

Well the thing is, when the civil war broke out in 2002, it brought economic activity to a halt, most of the french companies like Exxon and co left, so their progress cannot be measured in simply numbers. Of course we will not be focusing on agriculture alone, we have oil and gas and the fact is that TT is not going to get out of the game. LNG, oil and hydrocarbons have way too much money. But when your food import bill is US five billion dollars in a time when our revenues from oil and gas are halved, then certainly agriculture is a serious source of concern. Look 8.1% of Turkey's exports are agricultural products. Agriculture isn't only export of whole foods. The whole textile industry relies on agriculture.Turkey is one of the few places on earth that is self sufficient, China being another. Imagine have having the food import bill reduced to something like 2 billion. Turkey not only exports dates and others but many of you see how much products TT imports from turkey, we see it on our shelves everyday. Once you have the raw materials, you can attract foreign investment

kavaninho

Postby kavaninho » July 20th, 2016, 1:47 pm

Miktay

Postby Miktay » July 20th, 2016, 2:59 pm

desifemlove wrote:haha...that don't invalidate anything i've said. lower economies as a rule tend to grow faster than more developed economies. and there's no way that agricultrue can sustain a high living standard over a long period. if he/you mean agriculture in food security terms, fine, but as a mainstay industry hell no. China is getting richer cos it has left agriculture behind. We would have to live in huts or not have proper highways or schools if most our economy was agriculture. i could provide a shitload of stats to back me up, but cool...

DFL: Youre lost and wandering.

The dismantling of the Chinese command economy began with agricultural reform in 1978.

And from there it spread 2 other sectors.

Crazydriver

Postby Crazydriver » July 21st, 2016, 5:16 am

Postby maj. tom » July 21st, 2016, 7:08 am

Noting the high demand for professionals in the field of medicine, he said: “You in the medical field ought not to worry. Even though we become more selective in what we fund, the area of health care delivery is an area of grave shortage in the country.”

That is the second time he say it. They better don't back pedal on this one.
UWI has to make their admission criteria more transparent and fair though.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » July 21st, 2016, 7:22 am

Crazydriver wrote:http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2016-07-21/pm-gate-cuts-will-be-best-we-can-afford?utm_content=bufferccfc9&utm_medium=social&utm_source=twitter.com&utm_campaign=buffer

Smallie in front with the pink purse and lipstick looking gorjus 8-)

nismo1325

Postby nismo1325 » July 21st, 2016, 8:41 am

why not do dollar for dollar......students pay and once you passed you get back your money....only people to be scared for this is the wayward students who wasting time....and student loans are offered by all banks nationwide

Miktay

Postby Miktay » July 21st, 2016, 9:05 am

Ronaldo95163 wrote:
Crazydriver wrote:http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2016-07-21/pm-gate-cuts-will-be-best-we-can-afford?utm_content=bufferccfc9&utm_medium=social&utm_source=twitter.com&utm_campaign=buffer

Smallie in front with the pink purse and lipstick looking gorjus 8-)

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » July 21st, 2016, 10:08 am

Doh mind bussing through she GATE

Trinispougla

Postby Trinispougla » July 21st, 2016, 10:10 am

Miktay wrote:
desifemlove wrote:haha...that don't invalidate anything i've said. lower economies as a rule tend to grow faster than more developed economies. and there's no way that agricultrue can sustain a high living standard over a long period. if he/you mean agriculture in food security terms, fine, but as a mainstay industry hell no. China is getting richer cos it has left agriculture behind. We would have to live in huts or not have proper highways or schools if most our economy was agriculture. i could provide a shitload of stats to back me up, but cool...

DFL: Youre lost and wandering.

The dismantling of the Chinese command economy began with agricultural reform in 1978.

And from there it spread 2 other sectors.

Exactly what i was saying, it was only in 1979 after Mao died that some privatization and the discontinuance of the farming families that China was finally able to feed itself. The last famine was in 1959 with over ten million people dying. If Deng Xiaoping did not act in haste, China would have faced another disaster in the 80s

DESI i implore you, you look like you have some talent
READ NAH. Good place to start is the book " The Gate of Heavenly Peace"
Charts China's history from the days of the last emperor to the 1970s

Postby maj. tom » July 21st, 2016, 10:40 am

desi only talent is with a 27' garden hose

Miktay

Postby Miktay » July 21st, 2016, 11:00 am

[DESI i implore you, you look like you have some talent
READ NAH. Good place to start is the book " The Gate of Heavenly Peace"
Charts China's history from the days of the last emperor to the 1970s

TS: Desi knows all she needs 2 kno....

After all she has an MBA doesn't she? :lol: j/k

That said ur effort 2 guide the willful ignorant iz commendable.

Postby desifemlove » July 22nd, 2016, 8:03 am

Trinispougla wrote:

so yuh want T&T to be like Cote d'Iviore? they need agricuture cos they're starting from a lower economic base. they will move beyond it in time....

Trinispougla

Postby Trinispougla » July 22nd, 2016, 8:59 am

desifemlove wrote:
Trinispougla wrote:

so yuh want T&T to be like Cote d'Iviore? they need agricuture cos they're starting from a lower economic base. they will move beyond it in time....

No, how can we be like ivory Coast. The basis of our economy is petroleum and will be so for a long time to come whether we like it or not. But to SUPPLEMENT our economy, we should have another revenue base so that when 1980s-type supply gluts happen, the effect will not be as harsh on the coffers as it is now. Desi economics isn't difficult, we do it in our homes all the time. If one source of revenue is or has been curtailed, you look for other revenue streams. Imagine if, to use your example, China could export oil to japan, flood the steel and textile markets, but had a food import bill in the multi trillions?
Last edited by Trinispougla on July 22nd, 2016, 9:17 am, edited 1 time in total.

cherrypopper

Postby cherrypopper » July 22nd, 2016, 9:13 am

This is history class or .
Anywaaaay
What are the requirements for qualifying for gate ?

Being a trinidadian? Hahaha

Trinispougla

Postby Trinispougla » July 22nd, 2016, 9:17 am

cherrypopper wrote:This is history class or .
Anywaaaay
What are the requirements for qualifying for gate ?

Being a trinidadian? Hahaha

We trying to enlighten a certain person but its proving to be challenging but here:
http://test.gov.tt/Services/GATE/FAQ

cherrypopper

Postby cherrypopper » July 22nd, 2016, 9:23 am

Free education is not for everyone ...sorry

If you were a dunce in pre, primary and secondary school, do you expect to be an Einstein in University?

Raise the requirements to qualify for gate and cut those classes in half.

Trinispougla

Postby Trinispougla » July 22nd, 2016, 9:36 am

cherrypopper wrote:Free education is not for everyone ...sorry

If you were a dunce in pre, primary and secondary school, do you expect to be an Einstein in University?

Raise the requirements to qualify for gate and cut those classes in half.

Would not help, most of the people who go to uni graduate so even if you ou take out those who may be not able with the course, that would be a droplet in a bucket.
. Don't supply gate for post grads,half of a post grad is already more than a bsc and everybody has an mba or msc now without any meaningful ideas coming to the fore.
. Don't give gate for programmes such as carnival studies or incorporate it into an art course. that is also a post grad degree

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 22nd, 2016, 1:21 pm

Which institutions are non accredited? Seeing imballs saying that funding would be cut from these places

Postby desifemlove » July 22nd, 2016, 2:17 pm

Non-accredited is weird point. If not then how do the Uni of London or Leicester or Edinburgh give their courses to a non-accredited institution?