Venezuelan President to visit Trinidad on Monday

Re: Venezuelan President to visit Trinidad on Monday

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 23rd, 2016, 7:25 pm

so we have a ridiculous food import bill and struggling to feed our own but we exporting to Vene...logic in yuh MC

Postby rspann » May 23rd, 2016, 7:33 pm

ATM open back?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 23rd, 2016, 8:10 pm

antlind wrote:When you're at the bottom you can only go up.

I think the point he was making is that we should really have less to do with Venezuela with regards to things like crime etc or anything for that matter. USA sees them as a threat they see them as terrorists, should Venezuela invade us in the morning the only country we can count on to help us is USA even though history has shown USA is the most likely country to invade anyone. LOL :lol:

But seriously this has to be a big fat joke with Rowley working with those people to bring down crime, not sure how dotish he thinks the public really is. Considering the Venezuelan president has accused the USA of creating the problem that Venezuela is in when everyone can see he is a walking lunatic. He sounds like those Russian trolls who pulls out the conspiracy card everytime to fool the dumb population.

This is just a publicity stunt Rowley pulled and I defended him a lot since he won its clear now he is another Career politician no different to Kamla. Well slightly better but Kamla didn't exactly set the bar too high now.

Postby Dizzy28 » May 23rd, 2016, 9:31 pm

It makes prudent sense to align with the nation with the world's largest crude reserves. We who have marginal production but a big need for crude for our refinery

pjfred

Postby pjfred » May 23rd, 2016, 9:48 pm

This government knows best, I trust in Rowley always. I'm black in my heart till death.

Postby Gladiator » May 23rd, 2016, 10:27 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:It makes prudent sense to align with the nation with the world's largest crude reserves. We who have marginal production but a big need for crude for our refinery

At what cost???

An alliance with a failed state is just very poor decision making... what's next, align with Zimbabwe to get more lions for the zoo :?

Re: RE: Re: Venezuelan President to visit Trinidad on Monday

Postby Dizzy28 » May 23rd, 2016, 11:23 pm

Gladiator wrote:
Dizzy28 wrote:It makes prudent sense to align with the nation with the world's largest crude reserves. We who have marginal production but a big need for crude for our refinery

At what cost???

An alliance with a failed state is just very poor decision making... what's next, align with Zimbabwe to get more lions for the zoo :?

They are located 10 kms off my coast with 30m ppl, I'd rather they be my friend than my enemy. Chaveznomics bound to end sometime.

antlind

Postby antlind » May 23rd, 2016, 11:37 pm

Gladiator wrote:

At what cost???

They are located 10 kms off my coast with 30m ppl, I'd rather they be my friend than my enemy. Chaveznomics bound to end sometime.

That's like saying crime in Trinidad bound to end sometime.

Postby eliteauto » May 24th, 2016, 7:10 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:so we have a ridiculous food import bill and struggling to feed our own but we exporting to Vene...logic in yuh MC

*facepalm*

BRZ

Postby BRZ » May 24th, 2016, 7:18 am

what the Venezuelans are claiming about being badly treated by police is utter BS. they were allowed to gather on the sidewalk outside of the Presidents gate, normally they do not allow anyone to gather there.

Postby Redman » May 24th, 2016, 7:42 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:so we have a ridiculous food import bill and struggling to feed our own but we exporting to Vene...logic in yuh MC

So the opposite of import.....is...(cue Jeopardy theme)...

We import unfinished goods and manufacture into finished goods.
So if we export more finished goods...the increase in value stays here.
whats the issue??

Postby Habit7 » May 24th, 2016, 8:18 am

I reading some comments here and I am further assured that Donald Trump will be the next president of the USA.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 24th, 2016, 8:25 am

Redman wrote:

whats the issue??

Why not study to feed your own people???? Save yuhself before saving others.

Postby Gladiator » May 24th, 2016, 8:34 am

I wonder what currency we getting paid for our buy and sell back food? I not sure Venezuela US$ reserves may be in high supply. BTW where we getting the additional USD now to import for Venezuela and they 30M strong, the goberment say just the other day we ent have enough USD to buy fancy thing for we 1M people so we hadda eat cassava? or are we getting paid in oil? When we get the oil what we doing with it? Price still low...

This is like starting a business deal with a padna who just get divorce, have settlement in court, 10 chirren on the outside, money tie up all side, bailiff looking for him, but I think is a good idea cause he living across the road and i want to keep him as mi fren....LOL

Postby eliteauto » May 24th, 2016, 8:37 am

Gladiator wrote:I wonder what currency we getting paid for our buy and sell back food? I not sure Venezuela US$ reserves may be in high supply. BTW where we getting the additional USD now to import for Venezuela and they 30M strong, the goberment say just the other day we ent have enough USD to buy fancy thing for we 1M people so we hadda eat cassava? or are we getting paid in oil? When we get the oil what we doing with it? Price still low...

This is like starting a business deal with a padna who just get divorce, have settlement in court, 10 chirren on the outside, money tie up all side, bailiff looking for him, but I think is a good idea cause he living across the road and i want to keep him as mi fren....LOL

when something is $100 and you sell 10 you get $1000
when the same thing is $10 and you sell 100 what do you get? We are operating way below capacity and need to increase volume

Postby Dizzy28 » May 24th, 2016, 8:48 am

Gladiator wrote:I wonder what currency we getting paid for our buy and sell back food? I not sure Venezuela US$ reserves may be in high supply. BTW where we getting the additional USD now to import for Venezuela and they 30M strong, the goberment say just the other day we ent have enough USD to buy fancy thing for we 1M people so we hadda eat cassava? or are we getting paid in oil? When we get the oil what we doing with it? Price still low...

A large number of our manufacturers are exporters who earn US independently of having to purchase from the CBTT. Its only the sufferers who are net users of US$ who complain i.e. Businesses whose only value add is a profit margin on an imported item.

Earlier this year Arthur Lok Jack said his group generates US$250m per quarter through exports and he has never bought 1 cent US from any local banks.

antlind

Postby antlind » May 24th, 2016, 8:50 am

LOL. This made me laugh this morning. I agree with you 100%.

Postby Redman » May 24th, 2016, 8:51 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
Redman wrote:

whats the issue??

Because its not one OR the other...we can do both
Because we cant move...we stuck with them as neighbors
Because if we do nothing we will be in the same position as the Eurozone....FORCED TO take in refugees from a FAILED STATE.
Because if we are SELLING 50M USD of local manufactured goods...it keeps people employed.
Because it makes sense to get what we want out of this-conclusion of the gas deals and more export business.

imported raw material and exporting the finished goods creates USD revenue and INFLOWS that generate profits that stay here.
IN USD.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 24th, 2016, 9:14 am

so you really think Venezuela gona hold up there end of the bargain?

Postby Dizzy28 » May 24th, 2016, 9:24 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:so you really think Venezuela gona hold up there end of the bargain?

"Oil for Goods" will be a contract signed between Governments and they will be held accountable according to International Law. This has been been in negotiations for so long because it has to be drawn up in a legal context.

I fear the administration will be problematic on our side. Do the Government establish a state enterprise who oversees the programme as there will be heavy administration involved.

Postby Redman » May 24th, 2016, 9:30 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:so you really think Venezuela gona hold up there end of the bargain?

Well we will see.

if they do they do...if they dont well....they dont.

Frankly we need their gas like they need our goods.

We could both live without it...but we prefer not to.

but if they dumb enough to give Venezuela credit ....well they real dotish.

Cash in front.

antlind

Postby antlind » May 24th, 2016, 9:33 am

"Oil for Goods" will be a contract signed between Governments and they will be held accountable according to International Law. This has been been in negotiations for so long because it has to be drawn up in a legal context.

I fear the administration will be problematic on our side. Do the Government establish a state enterprise who oversees the programme as there will be heavy administration involved.

Oil for Goods.
So let me ask you a question.
If as a TT manufacturer I put together a container full of toilet paper to be shipped to Venezuela. Who pays me?
If as you suggest, the TT government gets oil in return for my toilet paper, how do I as a manufacturer get $$$ compensated?
I'll tell you something, as a local TT manufacturer I won't be jumping on the Venezuela band wagon.

Postby Dizzy28 » May 24th, 2016, 9:45 am

antlind wrote:

Oil for Goods.
So let me ask you a question.
If as a TT manufacturer I put together a container full of toilet paper to be shipped to Venezuela. Who pays me?
If as you suggest, the TT government gets oil in return for my toilet paper, how do I as a manufacturer get $$$ compensated?
I'll tell you something, as a local TT manufacturer I won't be jumping on the Venezuela band wagon.

The Min of Trade is still working on the logistics of this. However it would seem an escrow account where the proceeds of the sale of the Venezuelan oil by Trinidad will be deposited will be the way to go. From this escrow account Trinidadian manufacturers will be paid. Management of the funds and disbursements will be the tricky part.

The timing for payments is of a concern to the local manufacturers however faced with a stagnant domestic market or the possibility to export to a country of 30m ppl the payout for the risk would seem to be worth it.

Postby Redman » May 24th, 2016, 9:46 am

You think its possible that GORTT takes delivery of the oil and MAYBE....could settle it?
OR maybe......
https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2016-05 ... s50m-goods
“We have also decided to increase the trade flow between the two nations. We have already established the contacts and very soon, through a revolving fund with US$50 million, we will be able to strengthen the flow of trade between Trinidad and the Eastern part of Venezuela,” Maduro said, in delivering his speech to Rowley and his Cabinet.

eXamin

Postby eXamin » May 24th, 2016, 9:56 am

Redman wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
Redman wrote:

whats the issue??

Because its not one OR the other...we can do both
Because we cant move...we stuck with them as neighbors
Because if we do nothing we will be in the same position as the Eurozone....FORCED TO take in refugees from a FAILED STATE.
Because if we are SELLING 50M USD of local manufactured goods...it keeps people employed.
Because it makes sense to get what we want out of this-conclusion of the gas deals and more export business.

imported raw material and exporting the finished goods creates USD revenue and INFLOWS that generate profits that stay here.
IN USD

LMAO, you are one positive fellow. I'm glad for you.

cherrypopper

Postby cherrypopper » May 24th, 2016, 10:10 am

Good thing maduro is a honest fellow. .

boxy

Postby boxy » May 24th, 2016, 11:21 am

SO ALLYUH MAKE A THREAD AND IN POST NO PICS OF THE VENEZUELA CHICKS PROTESTING YESTERDAY?

Miktay

Postby Miktay » May 24th, 2016, 11:31 am

Postby zoom rader » May 24th, 2016, 12:07 pm

So deals are been made between Trin and vennie, I am sure the CIA has a keen interest and will try to sour the deals for their advantage.

DTAC

Postby DTAC » May 24th, 2016, 1:16 pm

Chavez and now Maduro rode his country & people into the ground and now he looking for a new jackass to ride. And Trinidad jumping up and providing the saddle too!!! Madness yes! smh

A country with more oil reserves than Saudi Arabia but on the brink of complete social breakdown, looking at Trinidad and somehow people think this deal will benefit us???!!!! Really..... really!!

As far as Maduro and his govenment is concerned, every problem in Venezuela is the fault of the "Imperialists". We're not Cuba. Make no mistake, as far as he is concerned, we fall under the same Imperialist category as the US and every other country part of the "revolution". This is a deal of convenience for him, and when we have outlived our usefulness, then we'll see what happens.