65KM/H speed limit on pickups, vans, omnibuses and goods vehicles

Re: 65KM/H speed limit on pickups, vans, omnibuses and goods vehicles

Postby j.o.e » May 8th, 2016, 10:17 am

Van men wanna use up all the subsidized diesel, avoid higher engine tax because they 'commercial' and give fyaahz???!!! Nah man 65 iymc

#team80

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 8th, 2016, 10:29 am

The law for speed limits say nothing about class 3 and 4. it clear states that goods vehicle over MGW of 2540 is subject to a maximum of 65 KPH. Class 3's like Navara's and Hilux'es benefit from lower duty when landed because they are considered commercial/goods vehicles.

Therefore once it's a commercial/goods vehicle and MGW is above 2540kg then is 65 KPH in yuh tail.

Stark Auto Rentals

Postby Stark Auto Rentals » May 8th, 2016, 10:30 am

Lol at Ford Frontier.

Postby meccalli » May 8th, 2016, 10:45 am

It may be little, but Trinidad feels like a better and safer place on our roads today.

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » May 8th, 2016, 10:47 am

I for one am glad for that..too many pickup owners feel they could drive a vehicle with high center of gravity at high speed and expect it to have the handling a d stopping power of a porsche

Postby De Dragon » May 8th, 2016, 11:02 am

So if you bought a second hand pickup and transport the occasional blocks, cement, lumber, then you're screwed?

Postby j.o.e » May 8th, 2016, 11:10 am

De Dragon wrote:So if you bought a second hand pickup and transport the occasional blocks, cement, lumber, then you're screwed?

Not screwed ..... Just slow down. Simple

Re: RE: Re: 65KM/H speed limit on pickups, vans, omnibuses and goods vehicles

Postby sMASH » May 8th, 2016, 11:19 am

Habit7 wrote:I am deeply concerned with men saying they need to speed to stay awake. Sleepy driving is worst than drunk driving and driving fast won't always overcome your sleepiness. So you want to speed, be sleepy and think you not putting everyone else at risk?

Worked shift to 13 years. Its not a matter of being sleepy and driving, but when concentrating for 12 hrs, ur body needs to release that tension. And when anything monotonous goes on u loose concentration and drift. If u lack sleep, then sometimes u can drift off.
The slow speeds tend not to engage us as a people who are constantly engaged.

I know men fell asleep at traffic lights, because of the lack of engagement. I personally, get very distracted by any stimulus, be it a loud car, cutting grass, movement in a yard, colorful billboards.

Its the same principle Behind getting children to learn and why I can't let autonomous vehicles release control to the human in an emergency situation.
The activity needs to be captivating enough or the attention will drift away to something else.

Different people are different. Some people attention spans are different than others. Some people can't tolerate more speed than than a 95 year old going to church up a hill.

I not advocating an autobhan, but haVe a slow zone for slow pokes and something more productive for the more active people in the population.

120 is reasonable.

pinks

Postby pinks » May 8th, 2016, 11:21 am

Men in here rel happy for this but they dont realise if u in ur car and u behind a convoy of t vehicles den ur goose cook too...is 65 fuh yuh...an given the amount of vans and trucks an buses on the road..i cant wait to see the traffic outcome..ppl who commute on the hways to an from work gona hav it really hard..

On another note..concerning the guy ticketed for doin 85km..ent if u put bigger rims on ur car/van d speedo reading is gona be off?as in it gona show a slower speed than what ur actually travelling at?shudnt there be a grace?like 5kms?

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » May 8th, 2016, 11:29 am

Allyuh does talk bout tiida. Them pickup does fly down the fkin highway like plane tryin to take off. 200km+

What about big truck on main roads? Speed limit is 50kmph for normal Carr's? Is it 35kmph for these big asss trucks that come barreling down a narrow main road with they tires taken up half or lane and hu hadda pull breaks and ride up on the pavement and do a back flip for them to pass without them running through coming like dey don't care.. move or die. These especially is the reason I want to own a tank.

Postby *KRONIK* » May 8th, 2016, 11:39 am

This morning a @ss with he navara overtaking and cutting in/out like he driving a F1 car and mashing brakes like running brembos on the CRH...

Also...i overtook a 18wheeler with overloaded trailer blowing smoke like he running mosquito at 110km/h...

Too fast imo

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » May 8th, 2016, 11:40 am

pinks wrote:Men in here rel happy for this but they dont realise if u in ur car and u behind a convoy of t vehicles den ur goose cook too...is 65 fuh yuh...an given the amount of vans and trucks an buses on the road..i cant wait to see the traffic outcome..ppl who commute on the hways to an from work gona hav it really hard..
?

All ah them need to stay on the left side of the road. Leave the right side clear for the rest of we.

I go have to pay more tax but at least I getting to see some discipline imposed on Trinis. Law abiding people like me have no need to change

jhonnieblue

65KM/H speed limit on pickups, vans, omnibuses and goods vehicles

Postby jhonnieblue » May 8th, 2016, 11:55 am

people who saying they need more stimulus and be allowed to drive faster after working shift..that is the most amount of crap I've ever heard. Most times shift workers example operators chilling back relaxing during work..unless is TAR I can understand being tired. But seriously if that's am issue raise it with your Hr department to arrange shuttles to and from work.
Learn to.obey the law and stop.making excuses to break it.
slow down..its.simple!!
Last edited by jhonnieblue on May 8th, 2016, 11:55 am, edited 1 time in total.

Lance

Postby Lance » May 8th, 2016, 11:56 am

The rajs want to drive around in goods vehicles masked as luxury 4x4 to benefit from a highly subsidized "goods/transport" geared diesel prices.

No sympathy here. Drive 65km/h and chill yourself

Postby pugboy » May 8th, 2016, 12:04 pm

If I drive hilux at 65
I will get 1000km to tank

Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: 65KM/H speed limit on pickups, vans, omnibuses and goods vehicles

Postby Habit7 » May 8th, 2016, 12:16 pm

sMASH wrote:
Habit7 wrote:I am deeply concerned with men saying they need to speed to stay awake. Sleepy driving is worst than drunk driving and driving fast won't always overcome your sleepiness. So you want to speed, be sleepy and think you not putting everyone else at risk?

Worked shift to 13 years. Its not a matter of being sleepy and driving, but when concentrating for 12 hrs, ur body needs to release that tension. And when anything monotonous goes on u loose concentration and drift. If u lack sleep, then sometimes u can drift off.
The slow speeds tend not to engage us as a people who are constantly engaged.

I know men fell asleep at traffic lights, because of the lack of engagement. I personally, get very distracted by any stimulus, be it a loud car, cutting grass, movement in a yard, colorful billboards.

Its the same principle Behind getting children to learn and why I can't let autonomous vehicles release control to the human in an emergency situation.
The activity needs to be captivating enough or the attention will drift away to something else.

Different people are different. Some people attention spans are different than others. Some people can't tolerate more speed than than a 95 year old going to church up a hill.

I not advocating an autobhan, but haVe a slow zone for slow pokes and something more productive for the more active people in the population.

120 is reasonable.

Driving at 120kph can be just as monotonous as 65kph. If your job has safety hazards with you coming to or from work, engage a STOP order and let them provide transport or rest facilities to get a nap before you head out on the road.

If you are sleepy drivers, you are much less dangerous at 65 than at 120.

Do you honestly think you can forward the speed limit debate by claiming, "I am a dangerous driver at 65kph, so in order for me to be less dangerous let me drive at 120kph even thought my danger variable remains unchanged"?

Postby *$kїđž!™ » May 8th, 2016, 12:32 pm

Relax fellas.....ansa gonna fix this by next week.....
Rangers must sell....
It's PNM country

Postby Ronaldo95163 » May 8th, 2016, 1:07 pm

Primera VVL wrote:
Ronaldo95163 wrote:All d red and ready men hadda take dat

PNM officially showed up them self as the most illiterate gov't ever.
Bullers

Hopefully that fool Rowley does us all a favour and call a snap election yes. I cya handle these retards again

What kinda ass you be? Steven Cadiz is the man bring seat belts, .35 on the breathyliser and Steven Cadiz was the man approved the budget of 14 million dollars for 50 speed guns....this was coming regardless who in power ... We conplain about everything because we been doing what we want for years.. I drive in NY and its the same 80km/h or 50 mp/h on the express ways and that is first world country.. Steups

hymc PNM supporter. I not wasting my time arguing with allyuh

BRZ

Postby BRZ » May 8th, 2016, 2:44 pm

Aren't "T" supposed spto stay in the left lane anyways? So from tomorrow I expect to see all those Navara, and Rangers in the left lane doing 65!

Postby pugboy » May 8th, 2016, 2:47 pm

Correct , big business must prevail

*$kїđž!™ wrote:Relax fellas.....ansa gonna fix this by next week.....
Rangers must sell....
It's PNM country

Postby sMASH » May 8th, 2016, 3:03 pm

After the two minute mark is what I talking about. If u all want so much safety, could just drive main roads where the limit is 50. I mean, 80 is defeating the purpose of the highways.
I sure the ministers' entourage and amalgamated convoys agree that 80 is insufficient

Massah say 80 and 65 good, so it good. Can't think past them, we must keep what massah left.

Social dinosaurs.

25 to LIFE

Postby 25 to LIFE » May 8th, 2016, 3:18 pm

Sorry but there doesn't seem to be much drivers on this tread. Have you ever driven on the highway with a backhoe in the left lane? There is miles of traffic caused by this. Now consider for every 5 cars on the road there is a pickup. Allyuh will change allyuh tune, plus multiply that with buses, trucks etc. Allyuh will have to stay home because we will still be there.

Average

Postby Average » May 8th, 2016, 4:10 pm

LOL @ all the people professing Trinidad to be safer all of a sudden. Crime still prevalent and this highway speed limit fiasco is doing it's job very well to distract most of the population about the REAL issues. The justice system on the verge of collapse and crime still goes on, increasing everyday but no, make sure and crawl on the highway. Red and fcukin ready boy...fcuk u too Batson.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » May 8th, 2016, 4:21 pm

sMash is only illiterates in this gov't bai

cyah make sense to dem...wa ever dem say is gold

nutty4u2c

Postby nutty4u2c » May 8th, 2016, 5:43 pm

Imagine yuh could use a P car as a Taxi but I have to drive at 80KM on D HiWAY

Postby Spitfir3 » May 8th, 2016, 5:47 pm

not sure if some of you realise but that 65 isn't just going to affect pickup men but it'll affect cars as well because let's face it they ain't going to stay on the left lane and it will cause an even greater backlog

not just that but merging onto the right lane isn't exactly going to be an easier since traffic is a lot more tight now, in most cases you would have to hope somebody give you a chance

stillmatic

Postby stillmatic » May 8th, 2016, 5:55 pm

Sigh ppl don't take the time to read and understand... pick up speed limit is still 80km provided it doesn't have a trailer attached... with trailer it's 65km however the new pickups eg Ford ranger unfortunately will havento drive at 65 with or without trailer..... it's such a shame that the guardian would run such a propaganda story and leave out the most important part of the "section e "act "with trailer " the public will be misinformed and guys are gonna end up going to court just to put the system in place

stillmatic

Postby stillmatic » May 8th, 2016, 5:57 pm

Sigh ppl don't take the time to read and understand... pick up speed limit is still 80km provided it doesn't have a trailer attached... with trailer it's 65km however the new pickups eg Ford ranger unfortunately will havento drive at 65 with or without trailer..... it's such a shame that the guardian would run such a propaganda story and leave out the most important part of the "section e "act "with trailer " the public will be misinformed and guys are gonna end up going to court just to put the system in place

mark2.0

Postby mark2.0 » May 8th, 2016, 6:09 pm

All ah dem who can't and couldn't and drinking and crashing have we in dis sheit... Stay to fack or travel.

Postby streetbeastINC. » May 8th, 2016, 6:55 pm

thats the smartest thing ever. said here^