Re: Look Trouble Now: Gov't plans to remove gas subsidy

Postby tr1ad » March 23rd, 2016, 9:41 am

anticipate 38% increase if the subsidy is removed folks

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » March 23rd, 2016, 9:46 am

They won't remove it in one shot. Ask yourselves why the subsidy was started back in the 70's in the first place.

Postby De Dragon » March 23rd, 2016, 9:51 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:They won't remove it in one shot. Ask yourselves why the subsidy was started back in the 70's in the first place.

I agree, and there should be a concurrent improvement in public transport so the most affected people have options to brace from the inevitable price gouging that will occur. The PM has already said that he can't control prices, but he will have to at least seriously look at some sort of price control to deter the profiteering.

jm3

Postby jm3 » March 23rd, 2016, 10:00 am

Isn't this going to push diesel really high?

Postby Spitfir3 » March 23rd, 2016, 10:13 am

really i think everyone understands and can accept this but the rubber band effect this will cause because of greedy trinis will be a pain in the ass

is not just taxi men we have to worry about
Last edited by Spitfir3 on March 23rd, 2016, 10:15 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » March 23rd, 2016, 10:14 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:They won't remove it in one shot. Ask yourselves why the subsidy was started back in the 70's in the first place.

I agree, and there should be a concurrent improvement in public transport so the most affected people have options to brace from the inevitable price gouging that will occur. The PM has already said that he can't control prices, but he will have to at least seriously look at some sort of price control to deter the profiteering.

Agreed

BRZ

Postby BRZ » March 23rd, 2016, 10:47 am

I'm ALL for using a bicycle IF things are put in place to ensure safety- what what did I just say? , things put in place?- in Trinidad?- AHAHAHAHAHAHAHAR LMAO- oh sorry I forgot where I lived for a second .

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 23rd, 2016, 11:27 am

Spitfir3 wrote:really i think everyone understands and can accept this but the rubber band effect this will cause because of greedy trinis will be a pain in the ass

is not just taxi men we have to worry about

Dude in this country the prices go be kinda low at first when its removed then when the price of oil goes up it will surely go up. But when the price of oil drop we will still be paying the same high prices when everywhere else will be paying less than half.

You ever hear anything in this country drop? :lol:

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 23rd, 2016, 11:30 am

BRZ wrote:I'm ALL for using a bicycle IF things are put in place to ensure safety- what what did I just say? , things put in place?- in Trinidad?- AHAHAHAHAHAHAHAR LMAO- oh sorry I forgot where I lived for a second .

Get a grip of yourself young man!! This is Trinidad they will do the opposite of putting anything in place for bicycles.

Postby Morpheus » March 23rd, 2016, 11:39 am

I'm surprised they even made a bicycle lane arouund the QPS......but still ride there at you own risk. Trini doh read street sign.....

Postby *$kїđž!™ » March 23rd, 2016, 11:42 am

facilities should be in place for cng...more filling stations etc....to encourage the use of cng and then they could talk about getting rid of gas subsidy

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » March 23rd, 2016, 11:45 am

*$kїđž!™ wrote:facilities should be in place for cng...more filling stations etc....to encourage the use of cng and then they could talk about getting rid of gas subsidy

Successive governments try to push this. PP made promises in successive budgets too about a whole slew of new stations being built. Anecdotally I haven't seen them. The population should be given the cheaper option before raising prices for liquid fuels.

cherrypopper

Postby cherrypopper » March 23rd, 2016, 11:46 am

It's a win win situation for the government. . People not gonna leave their cars home and travel ..they will buy the gas and government knows this.

Postby zoom rader » March 23rd, 2016, 12:05 pm

cherrypopper wrote:It's a win win situation for the government. . People not gonna leave their cars home and travel ..they will buy the gas and government knows this.

It's a win win win for racket rail to be forced upon citizens .

This was all pre planned in favour of Racket Rail. Again citizens gonna have to spend for PNM mis deeds

Postby 88sins » March 23rd, 2016, 12:40 pm

fed up of high fuel costs, but still need to drive to do your business?
Import a hybrid or fully electric vehicle & install a couple solar panels on it.

TriniAutoMart

Postby TriniAutoMart » March 23rd, 2016, 2:38 pm

88sins wrote:fed up of high fuel costs, but still need to drive to do your business?
Import a hybrid or fully electric vehicle & install a couple solar panels on it.

What's the laws regarding this?

Postby zoom rader » March 23rd, 2016, 4:52 pm

TriniAutoMart wrote:
88sins wrote:fed up of high fuel costs, but still need to drive to do your business?

Just as Wasa owns the right to all water even rain water. T&TEC owns the right to Electricity, if I am not mistaken you need a permit for solar power. In short I think they have the rights to the sun

Miktay

Postby Miktay » March 23rd, 2016, 4:55 pm

TriniAutoMart wrote:

Just as Wasa owns the right to all water even rain water. T&TEC owns the right to Electricity, if I am not mistaken you need a permit for solar power. In short I think they have the rights to the sun

Nah

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » March 23rd, 2016, 5:13 pm

People right now have no choice but to buy cars because of our unreliable, inefficient, unsafe failure of a public transport system. We can't use walk or use bicycles because you can be robbed, shot, raped, kidnapped, murdered etc by a balisier gunta.

This utter failure of a government knows that there will be a chain reaction increase in prices in the country when the subsidy is removed but in typical PNM fashion they don't care because they done get your vote (not mine).

For all those on this forum who were shouting 'we red and we ready' this is the result of your selfishness. Pretty soon you'll be red and hungry if not red and angry.

:evilbat:

Postby zoom rader » March 23rd, 2016, 5:18 pm

Miktay wrote:
TriniAutoMart wrote:

Nah

Well as I said I am not sure about this, but I think to install a large generator, you need a permit / license.

Postby De Dragon » March 23rd, 2016, 6:17 pm

Miktay wrote:
TriniAutoMart wrote:

Nah

Well as I said I am not sure about this, but I think to install a large generator, you need a permit / license.

Yes permission is needed for installation of a generator above a certain rating

boosted_wrx

Postby boosted_wrx » March 23rd, 2016, 6:26 pm

We trini ppl dotish, government say tax reduction however everything else goes up right around on even water, so practically tax increased right around but we letting our selves be fooled by some one who could speak properly...... Now we gonna pay full price for rip off gas , what next ? A price to be poor ?

Postby 88sins » March 23rd, 2016, 6:36 pm

Miktay wrote:
TriniAutoMart wrote:

Nah

yes & no
a permit is needed for a generator once it is connected and operational to a building on T&TEC's power grid. i do not believe this permit is needed for a building that isnt on their grid.

Postby De Dragon » March 23rd, 2016, 6:40 pm

Miktay wrote:
TriniAutoMart wrote:

Nah

yes & no
a permit is needed for a generator once it is connected and operational to a building on T&TEC's power grid. i do not believe this permit is needed for a building that isnt on their grid.

No, independent generators of a certain rating, like those installed in large industrial plants need permission from TTEC.

Postby redmanjp » March 23rd, 2016, 6:52 pm

why would a non-grid tied solar panel need T&TEC permission? only if u installing it at home and it's connected to T&TEC's grid u should need permission

Postby Gladiator » March 23rd, 2016, 7:21 pm

redmanjp wrote:why would a non-grid tied solar panel need T&TEC permission? only if u installing it at home and it's connected to T&TEC's grid u should need permission

the law is similar to WASA where all the water be it surface, sub surface or in the stratosphere belongs to WASA. Same applies to T&TEC all electricity generated belongs to them.... something so IIRC

Postby Morpheus » March 23rd, 2016, 7:40 pm

It really sounds stupid but ZR is correct I believe. WASA owns all the water. And you need TTEC permission to generate electricity. Blah blah blah....

Postby Morpheus » March 23rd, 2016, 7:45 pm

Lard the discussion starting to go good until I read "robbed, raped, etc by a balisier gunta."

Is guntas you hate or just balisier guntas?
Only balisier guntas does do dem ting?

And as far as I know you don' t even have to be a gunta to commit any of those crimes that WE ALL are fearful of and can be subjected to......*sigh

You just took the convo level back down a couple notches with that childish BS.....

Carry on.....

:evilbat:

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » March 23rd, 2016, 7:49 pm

tax, removal of gas subsidy.. ok fine

but is it only me who isn't hearing about the expect returns over time to break even?

not sure;dr

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » March 23rd, 2016, 7:58 pm

*$kїđž![TRADE MARK SIGN] wrote:facilities should be in place for cng...more filling stations etc....to encourage the use of cng and then they could talk about getting rid of gas subsidy

this

I'm willing to go CNG