List of items no longer zero-rated for VAT

Re: List of items no longer zero-rated for VAT

Postby S_2NR » January 12th, 2016, 11:17 am

When is the protest. I they. I rel serious.

Postby Habit7 » January 12th, 2016, 11:19 am

AYSN wrote:lol ....first they stop kids from getting free books in schools

Stop getting your news from posts in UNC fb groups

Postby Chimera » January 12th, 2016, 11:23 am

i not even on any unc fb groups

but from what i heard in the radio, ent the school textbook program was cut to only specific years?

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » January 12th, 2016, 11:25 am

i havin a sit in today with a politico-corporate faction whom i provide oracle services for once a year. from corporate, energy and political sector contacts. i will promote the idea of the luxury tax and see what their feedback is. i advised many things over the years which they doubted and rejected but now have to admit i was right. with a scary level of accuracy. giving me a bit more weight in drawing my points for solutuons.

note im not an advocate for luxury tax. but i have to work with what imbert puts in place to negate the sore effects as im not your prime minister to fully negate any of his ill conceived moves. this is the only way that i can say will begin to compensate for unfairness in the taxing scheme.

Postby Redman » January 12th, 2016, 11:25 am

bluesclues wrote:

now they want to tax books being imported........

like they really want trinis be dotish or stay dotish

taxing computers/tablets fall in the same thing

computers are key to education nowadays.....

RED AND READY!!!!!

i was going to say it but stopped myself. but now that u say it. it seems that pnm have a problem with a population of intelligent and educated citizens. because those move do certainly seem aimed at hampering growth and advancement on a personal level.

for all the ole talk I eh looking for you there..

The facts are that there is a significant amount of wastage and corruption in the program....and this needs to be corrected.

You all sound like you would prefer that the wastage continues....

smh

Postby Chimera » January 12th, 2016, 11:27 am

redman be realistic

the wastage will not change

just the beneficiaries of it will change

Justify to us why they would impose vat on BOOKS though

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » January 12th, 2016, 11:30 am

Redman wrote:
bluesclues wrote:

now they want to tax books being imported........

like they really want trinis be dotish or stay dotish

taxing computers/tablets fall in the same thing

computers are key to education nowadays.....

RED AND READY!!!!!

i was going to say it but stopped myself. but now that u say it. it seems that pnm have a problem with a population of intelligent and educated citizens. because those move do certainly seem aimed at hampering growth and advancement on a personal level.

The facts are that there is a significant amount of wastage and corruption in the program....and this needs to be corrected.

smh

what wastage in not taxing books. schoool books, novels, science books magazines doesnt matter.

what corruption is there in not taxing computer systems?

u realize these are the two most important factors to intelligence growth in a society nowadays? the foundation that these should be made as easy as possible to acquire should never be changed.

im not talking about the school text books issue. i know those are only for the upper forms who already have their books. the earlier forms will get their books. i didnt get my report from unc facebook page lol

information and technology came together to form information technology. as ive said before.. many think its about the technology. but it never was.. only for tech enthusiasts. but the real purpose of technology was for faster and efficient information collection and access. books by themselves can do the job. but coupled with technology u gain faster growth.

slow down your IT growth and you slow your populations productivity for intelligence gathering. we now cannot seperate the book from the technology. the two are a pair. making them more expensive is the same as making them more difficult to acquire.

Postby teems1 » January 12th, 2016, 11:48 am

Redman wrote:

smh

Why the need to reintroduce taxes? Can't they just weed out the wastage/corruption?

Postby 88sins » January 12th, 2016, 11:55 am

wait for it. it have worse comin.

10-01

Postby 10-01 » January 12th, 2016, 11:57 am

88sins wrote:wait for it. it have worse comin.

Postby Spitfir3 » January 12th, 2016, 12:01 pm

you know it bad when not even the pnm activist can defend these new found taxes
Habit try a thing but he fail miserably
a very small vat reduction on cars won't make up for this bs sorry

Postby S_2NR » January 12th, 2016, 12:09 pm

10-01 wrote:

It could get worse than taxing books?

Postby Habit7 » January 12th, 2016, 12:33 pm

AYSN wrote:i not even on any unc fb groups

but from what i heard in the radio, ent the school textbook program was cut to only specific years?

No.

The free text books students receive are recycled every 3 years due to wear and tear. Although they were due to be recycled last year, the govt added an extra year to the cycle except for 1st year and Form 1.

Spitfir3 wrote:you know it bad when not even the pnm activist can defend these new found taxes
Habit try a thing but he fail miserably
a very small vat reduction on cars won't make up for this bs sorry

I know eh, ah trying ah ting.

I waiting on baliser house for some more talking points but they sticking

johnny123

Postby johnny123 » January 12th, 2016, 12:57 pm

now we hadda lose d weight by force...all dem weight loss programs gonna bust!!
we red and ready people!!!

Postby Redman » January 12th, 2016, 1:14 pm

teems1 wrote:
Redman wrote:

smh

Why the need to reintroduce taxes? Can't they just weed out the wastage/corruption?

I hope they can
As to why???
See oil prices and revenue.

the days when the gortt can afford these general benefits.....might be done.

Postby 88sins » January 12th, 2016, 1:19 pm

S_2NR wrote:
10-01 wrote:

It could get worse than taxing books?

Yup. But all I gonna say is this.

A lot of business places gonna increase their prices soon & not by small amounts, & a substantial number of jobs are expected to be cut from both the private & public sectors. Couple this with our current shortage of foreign exchange, our high food & raw material resources imports, & many analysts projecting that oil prices will maintain their current downward direction & bottoming out at USD 19-22/barrel by Nov. 2016 & you will soon see how much worse it could get.

wait for it. it comin

johnny123

Postby johnny123 » January 12th, 2016, 1:21 pm

all a allyuh who for the increase...dont lemme c allyuh buyin out d groceries this month eh...wait for 1 feb

Postby RASC » January 12th, 2016, 1:40 pm

Nearly all items on list can be sourced or made locally at a lower cost.

Postby Habit7 » January 12th, 2016, 1:46 pm

johnny123 wrote:all a allyuh who for the increase...dont lemme c allyuh buyin out d groceries this month eh...wait for 1 feb

But you just join tuner? how you will point out me in HiLo line?

Postby Chimera » January 12th, 2016, 1:50 pm

we guh see yuh in yuh pnm jersey but looking vex vex when the bill reach but not complaining

must recognize yuh!

Postby The_Honourable » January 12th, 2016, 1:59 pm

When prices do get passed on to the consumer, it would be interesting to see who the public is going to blame.

Postby Chimera » January 12th, 2016, 2:01 pm

but in all fairness is kamla fault eh lol

is she put them in this position as well as the oil prices firetruck them up real bad

Postby Habit7 » January 12th, 2016, 2:04 pm

AYSN wrote:we guh see yuh in yuh pnm jersey but looking vex vex when the bill reach but not complaining

must recognize yuh!

But didn't you accept the 34% increase in all food prices under PP? http://m.guardian.co.tt/business-guardi ... five-years

So then I can accept the 12.5% increase on some items while enjoying the decreases in soap, toiletries, cosmetics and other household items.

If you think PNM making responsible decisions to save our economy would propel Kamla et al back into office then you are surely deceived.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » January 12th, 2016, 2:06 pm

buy out all d food and computaah now and sell after feb 1st LEL. produce a spike in the chart sustained by carnival before the next quarterly report. 3rd quarter saw positive growth.. problem solved.. recession done.

hahah brilliant.

Postby The_Honourable » January 12th, 2016, 2:14 pm

AYSN wrote:but in all fairness is kamla fault eh lol

is she put them in this position as well as the oil prices firetruck them up real bad

Kamla would have to take some blame no doubt but not all of it. The Manning administration have to take some heat also because during the oil boom, that was the best time to diversify, focus on savings, and reform laws to better fight corruption and waste. Kamla had that chance too but she blew it royally.

OPEC exposed our weaknesses raw for all of us to see. Let's see if we can laugh and wine our way out of this.

Postby K74T » January 12th, 2016, 2:19 pm

johnny123 wrote:all a allyuh who for the increase...dont lemme c allyuh buyin out d groceries this month eh...wait for 1 feb

Or else what?

Postby Chimera » January 12th, 2016, 2:20 pm

Habit7 wrote:
AYSN wrote:we guh see yuh in yuh pnm jersey but looking vex vex when the bill reach but not complaining

must recognize yuh!

But didn't you accept the 34% increase in all food prices under PP? http://m.guardian.co.tt/business-guardi ... five-years

So then I can accept the 12.5% increase on some items while enjoying the decreases in soap, toiletries, cosmetics and other household items.

If you think PNM making responsible decisions to save our economy would propel Kamla et al back into office then you are surely deceived.

fortunately for me, some of these changes benefit me greatly

is allyuh i worried about

would love to see different comparisons of what a month to month grocery bill is for the average household from before these changes to after

10-01

Postby 10-01 » January 12th, 2016, 2:26 pm

johnny123 wrote:now we hadda lose d weight by force...all dem weight loss programs gonna bust!!
we red and ready people!!!

I waiting to see who Rowley winein on for carnival ....

Postby Habit7 » January 12th, 2016, 2:32 pm

AYSN wrote:
Habit7 wrote:

must recognize yuh!

fortunately for me, some of these changes benefit me greatly

is allyuh i worried about

would love to see different comparisons of what a month to month grocery bill is for the average household from before these changes to after

I worried about me too. I am stereotypically Afro-Trinidadian, low skilled, low wage, living in a depressed community, kinda like all 370,000 who voted PNM. We are sufferers who got fed up of PP hand outs, free laptops CEPEP/URP and legalised squatting and demanded that we pay full price.

If I could have only gone back and vote PP...then we would not have been in recession, just as Howai said.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 12th, 2016, 2:45 pm

AYSN wrote:fortunately for me, some of these changes benefit me greatly
how?