$1 for a NApkin- WTF would you pay that?

Re: $1 for a NApkin- WTF would you pay that?

Postby Chimera » October 26th, 2015, 7:24 pm

me eh know if this on topic....but while allyuh talking about how we treat tourists...

something that does real real real annoy me is the arrivals area in Trinidad

as soon as you clear customs...and you walk 10 feet with your cart...it have men hounding you down....leave the cart here...

all over the world...you can use their airports carts for the whole run of the airport...even the parking lot....some countries you pay a $1 to use it and return it for 50 or 25 cents

but that arrival area could really sour a visitor as soon as they reach

imagine you walk in with 5-6 bag...looking for whoever to pick you up... "eh bossman, turn left here you cant go further with those carts"

last week i see those "porters" rough up a fella for emptying his bags off the cart and waiting right there looking for whoever came for him

"yo you cant stand here, this is a restricted area, you need to move from here"

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » October 26th, 2015, 7:37 pm

Alyuh fellas does rel dissapoint me when alyuh start to talk sense eh no...steups

Sent from my C6603 using Tapatalk

lostboys crew

Postby lostboys crew » October 26th, 2015, 7:40 pm

Never had any bad experiences in Tobago with regards to business places from the small parlor to the fancy restaurants. However for my vacation stay just before elections , I was in a big Supermarket in Bon accord buying my drinks and stuff came across two locals when they saw me and the wifey and the van salesmen who were indo also in the aisle. Gyal said to her friend " leg we come out of Calcutta here yes" Salesman watch she like WTF.

Postby Chimera » October 26th, 2015, 7:47 pm

i had a pretty bad experience about a month ago in tobago myself

went la cantina for dinner with a bunch of hindus..who were fasting
so we only ordered pizza from their vegetarian page

eating pizza now, one of my friends get what look like beef..i wasnt fasting...i taste it...it was beef

call over the chef...ask him whats that, he say it looking like beef.

i ask him how come it have beef in a vegeterian pizza, he say that happens because all the ingredients together on the table and sometimes the ingredients mix..

chef and the staff were more vex than us

he offer to remake the pizzas, one of my friends insist on watching him remake it

homeboy use his bare hands to make a meat pizza (with beef and pork) then proceed to make back ours without even rinsing his hands,again pieces of pork end up in our vegetarian pizza(we end up teling him doh bother, we just paying for our soft drinks and leaving)

when we tell him about it, he real vex, how we suppose to know that all ingredients does mix and vegetarian just mean it doh have meat lol

guess no strict hindus or muslims could ever go to la cantina

not sure if its the same thing in trinidad branch

chef and staff were very very very hostile though

i wouldnt mind going by myself cuz i eat everything

Postby ruffneck_12 » October 26th, 2015, 9:22 pm

wtf, and la cantina supposed to be rel stush

Bess yuh buy marios yes

Postby Habit7 » October 26th, 2015, 10:00 pm

Exactly what I saying, Trinidad bad service, Tobago bad service, same hand full ah salt.

Postby gastly369 » October 26th, 2015, 10:38 pm

LA cantina overrated anyways...

Pasta gallery is vibez n the waitress bess

INHUMAN

Postby INHUMAN » October 26th, 2015, 11:16 pm

Napkins are an expensive commodity now...kfc half size theirs n i cud only wipe one finger. I guess thats where finger lickin good fits in. When i buy food n get a stupid napkin or none...i dus kick brass!

Postby zoom rader » October 27th, 2015, 2:35 am

Habit7 wrote:Exactly what I saying, Trinidad bad service, Tobago bad service, same hand full ah salt.

It's called Trini culture

BRZ

Postby BRZ » October 27th, 2015, 7:12 am

Habit7 wrote:Exactly what I saying, Trinidad bad service, Tobago bad service, same hand full ah salt.

:roll: So YOure willing to just accept that bad service is a part of our culture or are you one of the few people that would stand up for their self and believe that if you are buying from someone that they should be more respectful and courteous?

Postby Habit7 » October 27th, 2015, 7:19 am

BRZ wrote:

:roll: So YOure willing to just accept that bad service is a part of our culture or are you one of the few people that would stand up for their self and believe that if you are buying from someone that they should be more respectful and courteous?
But bringing it back to your original post.

Is requiring you to pay for extra napkins bad service?

BRZ

Postby BRZ » October 27th, 2015, 7:23 am

When you are already paying for Overpriced FOOD - I believe that asking for an additional Napkin should be not be a problem with attitude. Whats the problem with that?

Postby Redman » October 27th, 2015, 7:30 am

Maybe start selling napkins in Tobago.

pluggie

Postby pluggie » October 27th, 2015, 7:30 am

zoom rader wrote:All yuh vote for dat bro. Don't complain just take it.

:D :D :D

Postby zoom rader » October 27th, 2015, 7:41 am

BRZ wrote:

Hoss this a Banana republic and dealing with Nasty, lazy , hostile , rude and ignorant Trinis is all a part of trin life, but when fete time come everyone is trini to the bone.

I have had many instances of dealing with bad service and have asked to speak to the manager, when doing so what you would find is an even more hostile manager who does not give a rats arse about you problems. Some mangers will take you problems and tell you the world but they seldom act on it, it just lip service for them. So for me I don't shop there anymore and keep I my money. I try best not to shop in trin.

Sad part is that we cant do the same when dealing with government business .

Postby Habit7 » October 27th, 2015, 8:20 am

BRZ wrote:When you are already paying for Overpriced FOOD - I believe that asking for an additional Napkin should be not be a problem with attitude. Whats the problem with that?
Are you aware you are visiting a tourist island with 60K ppl, you expect cheaper prices than Trinidad? In KFC in Jamaica there are no condiment dispensers, you get two packs of ketchup and you to pay anything more including cups, bags, ice and even napkins.

Postby Chimera » October 27th, 2015, 8:29 am

you know how locally if you want subway sauces you could ask for everything?

in panama you allowed 2 or 3 free, anymore you hadda pay for lol

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 28th, 2015, 10:18 am

Devils Advocate logic

Suppose the place used to just hand out napkins and with the typical 'give people an inch and they will take a mile' attitude that we have as a people resulted in customers (and non-customers) taking wayyy more than they needed, which caused additional overheads for the business?

BRZ, suppose you offered your customers water from a 5G cooler, and people started coming with 1gallon bottles to fill.
'ent it free for we?'

Not saying this is the case, but possible nonetheless.

INHUMAN

Postby INHUMAN » October 28th, 2015, 11:33 am

Rip free refills...pricesmart cafeteria ftw!

Postby pete » October 28th, 2015, 11:36 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:Devils Advocate logic

Suppose the place used to just hand out napkins and with the typical 'give people an inch and they will take a mile' attitude that we have as a people resulted in customers (and non-customers) taking wayyy more than they needed, which caused additional overheads for the business?

BRZ, suppose you offered your customers water from a 5G cooler, and people started coming with 1gallon bottles to fill.
'ent it free for we?'

Not saying this is the case, but possible nonetheless.

I've seen someone in KFC buy a mega meal or something with a 2L drink and say they need a cup and then proceed to fill said cup with ketchup. :|

Postby Chimera » October 28th, 2015, 11:39 am

nun wrong with that ^^^ is real ketchup yuh need for a 12 piece or 15 piece

why full 5-8 small kits when you could full 1 cup lol