Paying a ticket after the court date passed ...

neexis

Re: Paying a ticket after the court date passed ...

Postby neexis » August 30th, 2016, 7:33 pm

Saw a notice today that they were closing at 11 am.
Wasn't sure if it was because of the holiday tomorrow.

Postby Chimera » August 30th, 2016, 8:50 pm

Went to pay a speeding ticket today in chaguanas...that is the worst thing yes. 4 different lines...went in at 8 and left 1030. And that was only because cashier for tickets was closing at 11am so they tell the maintenence people to wait and let the ppl to pay speeding tickets go ahead.

TheBoostLord

Postby TheBoostLord » March 25th, 2018, 7:33 pm

So i have this situation. A warrant officer contacted me today for a ticket i got in 2010. He wants to meet at court Wednesday to execute the warrant(i guess arrest me) and then explain to the judge why i didnt pay it. To be honest i was young and completely forgot about it and thats not really a good excuse. Wife is a lawyer so she has some colleagues looking into it to decide the best way forward. Any additional advice at this point? Maybe things not to say? Thanks

konartis

Postby konartis » March 25th, 2018, 9:21 pm

TheBoostLord wrote:So i have this situation. A warrant officer contacted me today for a ticket i got in 2010. He wants to meet at court Wednesday to execute the warrant(i guess arrest me) and then explain to the judge why i didnt pay it. To be honest i was young and completely forgot about it and thats not really a good excuse. Wife is a lawyer so she has some colleagues looking into it to decide the best way forward. Any additional advice at this point? Maybe things not to say? Thanks

Best to say that u sent a relative to pay and forget about until the officer called u and u made the arrangements to immediately rectify the situation hence ur at the court. Just walk with the fine x2 to pay worst case scenario.

TheBoostLord

Postby TheBoostLord » March 25th, 2018, 9:46 pm

That’s actually not a bad excuse at all. Thanks man

d.d.s.

Postby d.d.s. » March 25th, 2018, 10:06 pm

Next thing you hadda carry that "relative" as witness to lie

Postby rollingstock » March 25th, 2018, 10:26 pm

Forget that advice. Magistrates have heard ask the excuses under the sun. Never a good idea to lie. Just say you forgot to pay and would like the opportunity to pay now.

If you gave someone the money to pay the onus is still on you to ensure that it was, you are still responsible so it's a poor excuse.

Carbon12

Postby Carbon12 » March 25th, 2018, 11:44 pm

Tell them you forgot to pay and ask to pay one time if that would be granted and just pay, collect receipt and walk out.

TheBoostLord

Postby TheBoostLord » March 26th, 2018, 7:30 am

i prefer to be straight up tbh, right ill do that then. thanks guys

Postby black start » March 26th, 2018, 10:47 am

Hard luck dey hoss! I'll keep the fozzy safe while you inside

Postby redmanjp » March 26th, 2018, 10:49 pm

So what happens if the magistrate doesn't accept any excuse?

TheBoostLord

Postby TheBoostLord » March 27th, 2018, 6:46 am

Okay well wife pulled some links and i no longer have to go. I'll still have to pay the fine though.