Re: Republic Bank Suspends US$ Sales

Postby Chimera » August 14th, 2015, 7:08 pm

I just realize canadian is 4.8tt to 1

When did that happen

antlind

Postby antlind » August 14th, 2015, 7:14 pm

When the price of oil tanked it took the Canadian dollar with it.

Postby j.o.e » August 14th, 2015, 8:00 pm

redmanjp wrote:^out of service or no US withdrawals allowed?

Look carefully there's a notice saying effective immediately no US withdrawals at ATMs

konartis

Postby konartis » August 14th, 2015, 8:02 pm

i bought 500 US today, you have to carry proof that u travelling...

Postby janfar » August 14th, 2015, 8:36 pm

So tuner economists, so wise and so greasy...

When is the exchange rate going to change and how soon after can we expect inflation???

Postby supercharged turbo » August 14th, 2015, 8:59 pm

48 tp roll for $70TTD is ah good buy or allyuh feel ah cud get more?

Postby DVSTT » August 14th, 2015, 9:37 pm

bluefete wrote:
neilsingh100 wrote:Check the banks in Panama to find where all the T&T US$ going...

And the Netherlands.

And the US stock market.

neilsingh100

Postby neilsingh100 » August 15th, 2015, 10:32 am

Take a look at the real effective exchange rate and it would explain the reason for shortage of foreign exchange.
http://www.indexmundi.com/facts/trinida ... rate-index

Our metrics are trending towards the 1980's again and those in know hedging by converting to foreign currency investments that is exacerbating the situation.

The CB is trying to increase interest rates to make TT dollar investments more attractive by it may be too late since the damage has been done so they might have to seriously consider devaluation.

Postby UML » August 16th, 2015, 6:29 am

EmilioA wrote:
UML wrote:

We can safely say you speaking from 50 years of PNM experience.

Hence the panic because they FEAR the PNM coming back into power.

DON'T LET THAT HAPPEN ON SEPTEMBER 7TH

UML , you willing to put your head on a block and say the UNC will not devalue the TT$ in the next 5 years ?

I will have a better chance of a head with the PPG than the PNM! The PPG does not WILLINGLY TAX and SACRIFICE the people for their OWN POCKETS as the HISTORY of the PNM!!!

Postby Habit7 » August 16th, 2015, 6:36 am

UML wrote:
EmilioA wrote:
UML wrote:

UML , you willing to put your head on a block and say the UNC will not devalue the TT$ in the next 5 years ?

I will have a better chance of a head with the PPG than the PNM! The PPG does not WILLINGLY TAX and SACRIFICE the people for their OWN POCKETS as the HISTORY of the PNM!!!

Based on the "history of the PNM" what tax they introduce that "sacrificed" ppl?

Postby zoom rader » August 16th, 2015, 6:52 am

Habit7 wrote:
UML wrote:
EmilioA wrote:
UML wrote:

Based on the "history of the PNM" what tax they introduce that "sacrificed" ppl?

An unjust housing tax, at least PNM removed tax on orange juice

Postby Habit7 » August 16th, 2015, 7:01 am

Property tax is not a new tax but updating the land and building tax from precolonial valuation.

Postby zoom rader » August 16th, 2015, 7:14 am

Habit7 wrote:Property tax is not a new tax but updating the land and building tax from precolonial valuation.

Updating property tax under PNM would have been a massive scam. Nothing would be changed, PNM would have just taken the money to fund their grand failed notions like racket rail. While councils remains broken and services for home owners non existent.

Postby Habit7 » August 16th, 2015, 7:16 am

ZR who do you fault for the scarcity of US currency to purchase?

Postby zoom rader » August 16th, 2015, 7:18 am

Habit7 wrote:ZR who do you fault for the scarcity of US currency to purchase?

Evil businessmen that are hoarding US in anticipation that PNM steals another election. There is always uncertainty with PNM Playing games with ppl

10-01

Postby 10-01 » August 16th, 2015, 7:23 am

went west mall yesterday .. RBC USD atm working normal .... all d USD u want ....

Postby Habit7 » August 16th, 2015, 7:23 am

Evil businessmen that are hoarding US in anticipation that PNM steals another election. There is always uncertainty with PNM Playing games with ppl
Are you aware that under Jwala Rambarran the CBTT policies changed for the distribution of USD and since then businesses across the board have called for CBTT to revert its policy but Jwala says no and keeps injecting higher than normal US currency into our financial system with no alleviation of the problem?

Postby zoom rader » August 16th, 2015, 7:26 am

Habit7 wrote:

Are you aware that under Jwala Rambarran the CBTT policies changed for the distribution of USD and since then businesses across the board have called for CBTT to revert its policy but Jwala says no and keeps injecting higher than normal US currency into our financial system with no alleviation of the problem?

Businessmen scamming the system, thats why the Arabs want back the PNM.

Postby Redman » August 16th, 2015, 7:27 am

UML wrote:
EmilioA wrote:
UML wrote:

Who introduced the flat tax?

Postby zoom rader » August 16th, 2015, 7:31 am

Redman wrote:
UML wrote:
EmilioA wrote:
UML wrote:

Who introduced the flat tax?

Flat Tax, give with one hand and steal with the other hand.
Old age pension, change to to a grant and you have to be really down and out to qualify for that.

Postby Habit7 » August 16th, 2015, 7:33 am

Habit7 wrote:

Well if PP plants in the CBTT giving bad policy and PP is inept to stop business scammers then PP should get vote out and allow for someone else to properly handle the economy.

Postby zoom rader » August 16th, 2015, 7:38 am

Habit7 wrote:

Well if PP plants in the CBTT giving bad policy and PP is inept to stop business scammers then PP should get vote out and allow for someone else to properly handle the economy.

The Arabs not scamming the system like they use to under the PNM, that's why they want PNM back.

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » March 22nd, 2024, 5:27 am

10-01 wrote:went west mall yesterday .. RBC USD atm working normal .... all d USD u want ....

Are there any functional USD ATMs in the country?

Postby redmanjp » March 22nd, 2024, 11:25 am

u check airport?

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » April 8th, 2024, 7:23 am

redmanjp wrote:u check airport?

Believe the one in the airport was operated by RBC, got feedback from them, they indicated they currently don't have any ATMs that dispense USD.

Postby pugboy » April 8th, 2024, 7:56 am

usd atm not possible
it would be swamped in current economic state

rbc had one in st clair
was mostly used by venes from early in the morning

Postby Dizzy28 » April 8th, 2024, 9:06 am

pugboy wrote:usd atm not possible

rbc had one in st clair

Was telling my wife recently just like how I used to hear storys from my father about "long time" the ease of US$ access is something I can tell my son when he gets a little older and he would be like wow.
I can't remember when they took them out but RBC had US$ ATMs in the airport on the outside, Independence Sq and Maraval Rd. Didn't know about the St Clair one and I'm sure they probably had in at least one branch in South as well. That's how easily one could have gotten as US$.

Postby pugboy » April 8th, 2024, 9:22 am

it wasn’t that easy tho
those atms would run out by lunchtime

Postby Dizzy28 » April 8th, 2024, 10:14 am

pugboy wrote:it wasn’t that easy tho
those atms would run out by lunchtime

Maybe after the Latin invasion they started to run out but in the mid noughties the one that was under the staircase in the Airport always had US$ in my experience.

dogg

Postby dogg » April 8th, 2024, 10:20 am

"Long time" is 10 years ago??
Cuz I used to walk in to RBL on Ariapita AVE and buy $1000 US cash almost every month for a year

pugboy wrote:usd atm not possible

rbc had one in st clair

Was telling my wife recently just like how I used to hear storys from my father about "long time" the ease of US$ access is something I can tell my son when he gets a little older and he would be like wow.
I can't remember when they took them out but RBC had US$ ATMs in the airport on the outside, Independence Sq and Maraval Rd. Didn't know about the St Clair one and I'm sure they probably had in at least one branch in South as well. That's how easily one could have gotten as US$.