your HONEST view of the PP/UNC government is?

abbow

Re: your HONEST view of the PP/UNC government is?

Postby abbow » July 10th, 2015, 5:23 pm

TurboSingh12 wrote:10/10 Cuz i have a race track 1min away from home BODOW!!!!

...you guys need to stop that drag racing there....please !!

Postby j.o.e » July 10th, 2015, 5:38 pm

On a micro level they have done some things , box drains , highways, hospital etc on a macro level they have not tackled any problems subsidies, crime, healthcare, economic diversification,traffic,slow justice system.
Governance has a lot to do with how people feel and there has been a general feeling that businessmen are not happy, corruption is endemic and we have been moving from one controversy to the next every week. The PP will do well if they outlined a clear 5-10 year plan and not disjointed campaign promises. I'd give them a 4.5/10

Daran

Postby Daran » July 10th, 2015, 6:41 pm

j.o.e wrote:On a micro level they have done some things , box drains , highways, hospital etc on a macro level they have not tackled any problems subsidies, crime, healthcare, economic diversification,traffic,slow justice system.
Governance has a lot to do with how people feel and there has been a general feeling that businessmen are not happy, corruption is endemic and we have been moving from one controversy to the next every week. The PP will do well if they outlined a clear 5-10 year plan and not disjointed campaign promises. I'd give them a 4.5/10

Actually they have done a lot in the areas you've mentioned.

subsidies - they've cut back on the gas subsidy, but doing anymore is a double edged sword, be careful what you wish for. I'd prefer the cut back in free tertiary education and textbooks (go digital)

crime - According to police statistics, all serious crime is down and murder rate is lower than under PNM. Also, police presence on the roads has dramatically increased compared to PNM.

healthcare - New hospitals, Mt. Hope expansion and health care centers all over. They've done a lot given the time.

economic diversification - Well...what they've done here is merely window dressing (things like I2I, business incubators etc). But one can argue the effects of this will be seen later down the road. Also, the legal process to register and do business now so much easier. Go to legal affairs and see the difference. Night and day

traffic - Well they've continued to expand the highways, build all new ones. Traffic has decreased but of course with the POS bottleneck, there's not much else that can be done expect build more interchanges.

slow justice system - Still slow for certain courts, but overall the Ministry of Justice and Legal affairs have done a lot in improving the system.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 10th, 2015, 9:12 pm

Let me give an HONEST view of the PP UNC.

Box drains are just ok nothing special, yes it reduced some mosquitoes and made the place prettier no more of that nasty mud drains black from too much sewage. It made roads a LOT wider.

Road paving, this is where they really shine eh. I see roads never paved since the age of the dinosaurs, they now look so amazing. No more damaged car suspension some people spend $10,000 a year on car maintenance due to bad roads. You have to give them props for what they did with roads in this country especially south of the caroni bridge.

Hospitals and health care, yes yes yes give Kamla a medal here, 4 hospitals in 5 years bravo. Took PNM 40 years to accomplish the same. They really deserve credit for this part, makes you feel proud to have such great health care as opposed to people in the US dying because they don't have health insurance we really do take these things for granted down here.

I am no fan of baby grant and these other social programs but say what, I don't like to criticize these things when I not in the shoes of others who need the help. So I prefer avoid those discussions.

I think UNC PP failed in transport, PTSC is in a mess, the overall service utterly stinks to say the least. PNM did a little better than PPG in public transport, but overall that service was always piss poor no matter how you look at it. PPG opened up a bunch of new routes with PTSC and they didn't bring down extra buses for it so it just became worse. Furthermore avoiding the idea of a new railway really lowers their score here but I am hoping it changes. Offcourse nobody actually believes that Rowley is going to build that rapid rail, seeing that they fail on majority of their promises.

Say what you want about PPG, they can actually fulfill their promises. The amount of money they spent on doing this is another debate but end of the day Kamla is right they fulfilled about 90% of their manifesto.

I doh see why people hating. I know the anti feminists are enraged that their leader is a woman yeah but still.

randolphinshan

Postby randolphinshan » July 10th, 2015, 10:08 pm

mark2.0 wrote:She could get my 10

All of it!

Pp govt zero outta ten they thief too damm much
Stach tho, yummy she could come by me after september 7 :P

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 10th, 2015, 11:10 pm

ow almost forgot to give my rating for PP

7/10

In comparison if I was to rate the PNM I would say 4/10

Postby UML » July 10th, 2015, 11:39 pm

8/10

if people can't remember 5 years ago when

No damn dog bark
Water barrels were at almost every home collecting rain
People used standpipes everyday for daily activities (no more standpipes )
Getting water from rivers and wells
Waiting 5 years to beg for ur road to be paved
Waiting months for government services which are now done in weeks or days
Ignorant unfriendly public servants
"Hidden" grants
Waiting 40+ YEARS for government housing
Unfired corrupt government officials
"Laryngitis" affecting accountability by the PM
Not disclosing the price at which natural gas was being sold to Smelter Plants
Cocaine and mortar in water tanks
Pena Church, World GTL, MV Sue, Gas Optimisation Programme, Petrotrin new administration building
Overpriced, over budgeted cost overrun unfinished projects
When we cringed on budget day rushing to buy petrol and expecting a new tax on budget day
More taxes less services

Shall I go on?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 11th, 2015, 12:03 am

^hmm good reminder, I will leave my PPG rating at 7/10 and will downvote PNM to a 3/10, I really wanna give my honest review so the right thing for me to do is put the PNM at 3/10 and leave UNC at 7/10

I expect to rate the PPG a 8/10 or 9/10 in their next term.

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » July 11th, 2015, 12:10 am

randolphinshan wrote:

All of it!

If you have evidence it should go to the relevant authorities!

Kewell35

Postby Kewell35 » July 11th, 2015, 12:17 am

8/10

Looking at the important issues (not smoking weed, kristyan etc) , they did more for the country than the previous governments/party.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 11th, 2015, 12:23 am

Kewell35 wrote:8/10

Looking at the important issues (not smoking weed, kristyan etc) , they did more for the country than the previous governments/party.

From what I have seen, and this is being HONEST.

They have done more in 5 years than the PNM did in 40. And even if they didn't do more they did very close to warrant the PNM obsolete.

Postby The_Honourable » July 11th, 2015, 1:56 am

6/10

The PP Government has done a lot of good but they loss points when it comes to:

- Crime (Cocaine & guns still coming into the country. Mr Bigs not in jail)
- Not effectively dealing with the allegations of corruption.
- Some weaknesses in Kamla's leadership style. (I am advised, I don't know)

Postby UML » July 11th, 2015, 4:58 am

UML wrote:8/10

if people can't remember 5 years ago when

No damn dog bark
Water barrels were at almost every home collecting rain
People used standpipes everyday for daily activities (no more standpipes )
Getting water from rivers and wells
Waiting 5 years to beg for ur road to be paved
Waiting months for government services which are now done in weeks or days
Ignorant unfriendly public servants
"Hidden" grants
Waiting 40+ YEARS for government housing
Unfired corrupt government officials
"Laryngitis" affecting accountability by the PM
Not disclosing the price at which natural gas was being sold to Smelter Plants
Cocaine and mortar in water tanks
Pena Church, World GTL, MV Sue, Gas Optimisation Programme, Petrotrin new administration building
Overpriced, over budgeted cost overrun unfinished projects
When we cringed on budget day rushing to buy petrol and expecting a new tax on budget day
More taxes less services

Shall I go on?

No promotion of agriculture
Agricultural farms being destroyed for housing
Private jet flights and planes
Farmers suffering from flooding and getting $20 compensation
Secret scholarships
Setting up unconstitutional parallel organisations to spy on citizenry
Blimp
Million dollar flag
Mass migration because of daily kidnappings and government government encouraging it
PM wining and dining gang leaders
Property tax which coming back
Mr Big known yet nothing done
Bombings in POS nothing done
Dana Seetahal murder
Last edited by UML on July 11th, 2015, 5:02 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby RASC » July 11th, 2015, 8:59 am

avenall wrote:9/10. They have built roads in alot of rural places and have developed way more. The crime rate as gone down by 20 percent. They have built a Childrens Hospital. they gave out over 100k laptops to students and They built over 80 new schools and they have done way more. They have delivered more than the past political party in terms of growing our economy. It is in my view to give them a second term.

Built and developed the country "way" more... You guys serious?
This has been THE SLOWEST 5 years for the local construction industry in some time.
Box drains and laptops is what your bench mark for development is?
They built 80 new schools???What r-asshole allyuh pulling these stats from partner :lol:

Postby teems1 » July 11th, 2015, 9:16 am

RASC wrote:
avenall wrote:9/10. They have built roads in alot of rural places and have developed way more. The crime rate as gone down by 20 percent. They have built a Childrens Hospital. they gave out over 100k laptops to students and They built over 80 new schools and they have done way more. They have delivered more than the past political party in terms of growing our economy. It is in my view to give them a second term.

This has been THE SLOWEST 5 years for the local construction industry in some time.
They built 80 new schools???What r-asshole allyuh pulling these stats from partner :lol:

sigh

You say its been the slowest 5 years ever in local construction, providing no evidence/sources.

Then ask for a source on the 80 school comment.

See what's wrong with this picture?

Postby j.o.e » July 11th, 2015, 9:18 am

Daran wrote:
j.o.e wrote:On a micro level they have done some things , box drains , highways, hospital etc on a macro level they have not tackled any problems subsidies, crime, healthcare, economic diversification,traffic,slow justice system.

Actually they have done a lot in the areas you've mentioned.

subsidies - they've cut back on the gas subsidy, but doing anymore is a double edged sword, be careful what you wish for. I'd prefer the cut back in free tertiary education and textbooks (go digital)

crime - According to police statistics, all serious crime is down and murder rate is lower than under PNM. Also, police presence on the roads has dramatically increased compared to PNM.

healthcare - New hospitals, Mt. Hope expansion and health care centers all over. They've done a lot given the time.

economic diversification - Well...what they've done here is merely window dressing (things like I2I, business incubators etc). But one can argue the effects of this will be seen later down the road. Also, the legal process to register and do business now so much easier. Go to legal affairs and see the difference. Night and day

traffic - Well they've continued to expand the highways, build all new ones. Traffic has decreased but of course with the POS bottleneck, there's not much else that can be done expect build more interchanges.

slow justice system - Still slow for certain courts, but overall the Ministry of Justice and Legal affairs have done a lot in improving the system.

You have very low standards for performance my friend .....

The susbsidy adjustment on premium had no real effect on the overall subsidy value as people migrated to the more subsidized super fuel

Crime is about the same just that there's so much day to day drama in trinidad crime is no longer front page. Home invasions etc don't even make news anymore because of govt shenanigans .... We have a dead Senior counsel and gang warfare in central

The quality of healthcare hasn't substantially improved despite the amount of money spent ... The new infrastructure is welcome though.

New highways will simply bring cars to the bottleneck at a faster rate. Highways are welcome but the actual high traffic areas are worst that ever .... This is related to the continued subsidy and poor public transport ... Too many cars.

Justice system is in a mess with low detection rates and a stalled legal system... There is no justice here.

Postby RASC » July 11th, 2015, 9:25 am

teems1 wrote:
RASC wrote:

sigh

You say its been the slowest 5 years ever in local construction, providing no evidence/sources.

Then ask for a source on the 80 school comment.

See what's wrong with this picture?

OK my bad.

80 NEW schools were built and construction industry booming... Allyuh win---->

Daran

Postby Daran » July 11th, 2015, 9:33 am

j.o.e, those aren't low standards at all. They're very realistic. I've worked along with some of these ministers (mainly Bhoe and Fuad). They honestly are doing as much and more than anyone can expect from our local ministries.

It's not easy managing and making a government Ministry efficient and effective. Not with unions around anyway.

You have a very 'glass half empty' way of looking at things. Think about it this way.

subsidy - Did not increase and is projected to be reduced.
crime - Is decreasing regardless of sensationalist headlines
healthcare - Has improved drastically. Open your eyes.
economic diversification - Slow I admit, but things here take a while to bear fruit
New Highways - How is that a bad thing? New cars will always increase regardless of whether they build highways or not.
Justice System - Firstly, low detection is not under the judicial system, that's the polices work. You can blame that on an educated, corrupt police force if you want. Secondly, it's not stalled, there's a backlog but so much as been done by Prakash and co to reduce the backlog. Trust me on this.

johnnyenglish69

Postby johnnyenglish69 » July 11th, 2015, 10:05 am

Crackpot wrote:
redman24 wrote:Crackpot you sounding like ah PNM fan boy who never got his HDC house but still holding on to hope that you'll get tru now as Patrick gone. LMFAO..

My afro statement was for people like you who feel that because you is an african you have to support the PNM regardless of how many decades (save and except GATE) they've done nothing substantial for the average citizen in this country except their only claim to fame is empty high rise buildings dry rotting in town... LOL. and you know where to put your fist...asinine PNM TILL AH DEAD sycophants! LET'S ADDRESS ISSUES!!
I'll vote for whoever has the BEST policies and initiatives for me and my family.

You insult me as a PNM fan boy yet you spew the same script as all the other Pro P.P spin doctors :|

It is the same diatribe and stereotype you UNC fundamentalist bloggers subscribe to ppl who don't fall for your nonsense. "People like me" :roll: don't always support the PNM sir as history would prove that the PNM has lost every seat save and except for four in both Trinidad & Tobago, thus it is ppl like me who are never PNM till ah dead, but can you say the same for the UNC and their seats/supporters? :|

You and the likes of you try to unjustly downplay the contributions of the PNM to society because GATE is all you could honestly mention, however the PNM has done for the average citizens things like removing income tax for earners less than $60k per yr, CDAP, free transportation for the elderly, various social and educational institutes and programmes, stabilized the exchange rate in the early nineties, created Pt.Lisas in a UNC constituency that gives thousands of everyday ppl jobs on a daily basis etc..etc. Those high rise buildings were to stop the stranglehold of certain individuals on the citizen by housing government ministries instead of paying hundreds of millions in rent per yr, but I am sure the UNC would rather pay rent forever to friends and financiers :?

All this is like a giraffe trying to explain to a mouse what something is because your perspective is lower than mine and right thinking ppl so this might be futile anyways :roll: And what policy do you speak of? Dont use the queens english so loosely because NO policy this gov't has ever implemented has ever worked, we have had five yrs of deficit budgets with oil at over $100 for most of it :|
Are you even sure what policy means......pshhh :roll:

Well Said I also like the comparison between the giraffe and the mouse lol

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 11th, 2015, 10:13 am

The_Honourable wrote:6/10

I still feel 6/10 is a bit too low, I much more prefer 7/10.

Question how would you rate the PNM over 40 years?

I give them a 3/10

Postby RASC » July 11th, 2015, 10:58 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:

I give them a 3/10

What were the 3 points for?

Postby pete » July 11th, 2015, 11:09 am

The subsidy has also been reduced in the crackdown of smuggling of fuel out of the country. Putting limits on fuel purchases at gas stations etc. That smuggling had been going on for many many years.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 11th, 2015, 11:23 am

RASC wrote:What were the 3 points for?

[/quote]

Free Secondary Education

Free Tertiary Education (though its now a money making thing with tax payers paying for mostly useless degrees)

being able to attract foreign investors (though the foreign investors they attracted are the obvious ones that operate in most countries) So in reality they really didn't do anything in that regard, its just an old lie spread around these here parts that the PNM was capable of attracting foreign investors that no other government could, but since I fair I give them points for it.

Ow and yeah the best of all, PNM paved roads and built side walks in Port of Spain, give them a half ah point for that. Well done

Postby RASC » July 11th, 2015, 12:14 pm

Oh Okay.
Well can't argue with you there, seems as though you have a very good grip on the history.

Very convincing argument 8-)

Postby The_Honourable » July 11th, 2015, 12:24 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:

I give them a 3/10

I can't rate the PNM for 40 years since i did not live through the Williams administration and was too young during the Chambers administration. What i can say is that a LOT more should have been done under the PNM because we should be the Dubai of the Caribbean (as someone put it) a long time now.

One thing i have realized that is constant with the PNM, study how the grassroots and constituencies are treated once their party is in power.

Postby zoom rader » July 11th, 2015, 12:55 pm

The_Honourable wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:

I give them a 3/10

I can't rate the PNM for 40 years since i did not live through the Williams administration and was too young during the Chambers administration. What i can say is that a LOT more should have been done under the PNM because we should be the Dubai of the Caribbean (as someone put it) a long time now.

One thing i have realized that is constant with the PNM, study how the grassroots and constituencies are treated once their party is in power.

Unlike most tuners I can rate the PNM in Williams/Chambers era.
The PNM of that era is what I called tamed compared to this "new PNM". Williams got a 5/10, Williams had no control over his minsters.
Chambers gets 8/10,Chambers put up a fight when T&T was on the decline. He was less linked to any corruption and did not have the means to turn around Trini around. He was faced with corrupt minsters and no money from Williams. 1986 was a blessing when PNM got flushed. Partick Manning did loose his seat on a recount but NAR never bothered with it since they had 33-3.
The PNM of that era was primitive very little was done. The good that PNM did was Pt Lisas where I spent a good number of years working. Those where the days of two radio stations, two Technical schools and where Policemen wore short pants.

Anything else of that era just ask

mark2.0

Postby mark2.0 » July 11th, 2015, 2:56 pm

randolphinshan wrote:

All of it!

Inches dawg, I don't deal with politrixxx. Dat ooman does look good.

mark2.0

Postby mark2.0 » July 11th, 2015, 2:56 pm

randolphinshan wrote:

All of it!

Inches dawg, I don't deal with politrixxx. Dat ooman does look good.

redman24

Postby redman24 » July 11th, 2015, 6:48 pm

The_Honourable wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:

I give them a 3/10

My point exactly. Just pure mamaguy as payment for blind loyalty in these stronghold areas year after year election after election. This country might be destroyed by fire and brimstone the day someplace like say laventille suddenly decided to make a change for once and vote for a party other than the PNM. but the question arises... In contrast, do diehard UNC stonghold areas experience the same kind of representation i.e. mamaguy and neglect or is it different.... can anyone from such a constituency contribute and shed some light?

Crackpot

Postby Crackpot » July 11th, 2015, 7:13 pm

Ya'll just sheeping in here :|

Read a good book, or use kams laptaps for sumting else other than pornhub :roll: