Kewell35

Re: Medicine in Trinidad

Postby Kewell35 » June 20th, 2015, 6:03 pm

racedriverpro wrote:
Kewell35 wrote:
I wanted to be a Dr BTW, now I know better, I'm happy I'm not.

Why you say that?

Plenty said here....I understand that ur new here and don't know any of the people that u have disrespected like spann.

If it's one thing that u should write on a piece of paper and keep it in ur back pocket during ur years of studying is -

The standards of performance and conduct that doctors are measured against are very high. ALL doctors are employed on contract for a reason....

Sent from my C6603 using Tapatalk

That's all nice and well but who said I was a doctor? I'm still deciding. Anyway I don't care how much of a reputation someone on here has...he disrespected me first.

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » June 20th, 2015, 6:06 pm

Kewell35 wrote:
racedriverpro wrote:
Kewell35 wrote:

Why you say that?

Plenty said here....I understand that ur new here and don't know any of the people that u have disrespected like spann.

If it's one thing that u should write on a piece of paper and keep it in ur back pocket during ur years of studying is -

The standards of performance and conduct that doctors are measured against are very high. ALL doctors are employed on contract for a reason....

That's all nice and well but who said I was a doctor? I'm still deciding. Anyway I don't care how much of a reputation someone on here has...he disrespected me first.

Okay. Didn't say anything about reputation tho.

Kewell35

Postby Kewell35 » June 20th, 2015, 6:10 pm

racedriverpro wrote:
Kewell35 wrote:
racedriverpro wrote:
Kewell35 wrote:

Why you say that?

Okay. Didn't say anything about reputation tho.

so what did you mean by stating someone like span?

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » June 20th, 2015, 6:41 pm

Ladies and gentleman, a future doctor of our nation and before you jump on my case, daddy's a doctor and a lil bro is training to be one at RCS in Ireland. So that's a whole other ball game to UWI. Trust me.

Kid, in this life it pays to be humble and possess a pure and honest heart. Stop looking down on others, stop judging others, just try to be the best YOU can be. The race is not for the swiftest but who can endure.

Education doesn't bring class in Trinidad. You need to seek that elsewhere. Develop yourself and your mind. Your mind seems really brittle and small. I hope that you are nothing more than a troll. I shudder to think that people like you are the future and best that this country can offer.

Kewell35

Postby Kewell35 » June 20th, 2015, 7:18 pm

Redress10 wrote:Ladies and gentleman, a future doctor of our nation and before you jump on my case, daddy's a doctor and a lil bro is training to be one at RCS in Ireland. So that's a whole other ball game to UWI. Trust me.

Kid, in this life it pays to be humble and possess a pure and honest heart. Stop looking down on others, stop judging others, just try to be the best YOU can be. The race is not for the swiftest but who can endure.

Education doesn't bring class in Trinidad. You need to seek that elsewhere. Develop yourself and your mind. Your mind seems really brittle and small. I hope that you are nothing more than a troll. I shudder to think that people like you are the future and best that this country can offer.

1. You should take your own advice. My mother and father are both doctors. My mother trained in RCSI.My dad at UWI. My uncle trained in UWI Mona. My 3 cousins trained in USA (UM, UF, and Feinberg) and my brother is at UWI Cavehill. Don't look down on people.

2. I never said I wanted to do Medicine. Re-read the first post.

3. Try to be humble yourself and not boast.

Lance

Postby Lance » June 20th, 2015, 7:22 pm

So your whole family are doctors and you come on trinituner to ask for advice?

Postby rollingstock » June 20th, 2015, 7:29 pm

Well he has no recourse, him mother does be home by me all the time and his daddy does be peeping in a window seeing if he could learn something.

Kewell35

Postby Kewell35 » June 20th, 2015, 7:31 pm

Lance wrote:So your whole family are doctors and you come on trinituner to ask for advice?

Yeah boy, my mother will tell me how much woman I could brush as a doctor.
Also, they would obviously be biased because they are forcing me to do med

Kewell35

Postby Kewell35 » June 20th, 2015, 7:32 pm

rollingstock wrote:Well he has no recourse, him mother does be home by me all the time and his daddy does be peeping in a window seeing if he could learn something.

OK man if you say so.

Postby ruffneck_12 » June 20th, 2015, 7:58 pm

Kewell35 wrote:
Redress10 wrote:Ladies and gentleman, a future doctor of our nation and before you jump on my case, daddy's a doctor and a lil bro is training to be one at RCS in Ireland. So that's a whole other ball game to UWI. Trust me.

1. You should take your own advice. My mother and father are both doctors. My mother trained in RCSI.My dad at UWI. My uncle trained in UWI Mona. My 3 cousins trained in USA (UM, UF, and Feinberg) and my brother is at UWI Cavehill. Don't look down on people.

But you boasting more than anybody here tho.

Redress actually gave some good advice (even though it seems kinda harsh), but you just can't take constructive criticism well, you interpret it as insults. Try to interpret it as advice (since you came here asking for advice originally).

Not everyone is out to bring you down mane.

Kewell35

Postby Kewell35 » June 20th, 2015, 8:03 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:
Kewell35 wrote:

But you boasting more than anybody here tho.

Redress actually gave some good advice (even though it seems kinda harsh), but you just can't take constructive criticism well, you interpret it as insults. Try to interpret it as advice (since you came here asking for advice originally).

Not everyone is out to bring you down mane.

If I was boasting I woulda say that in the first post I made (just like he did). I didn't and asked a legitimate question and whole setta insecure men start to hit me with dotish thing about me feeling I better than everyone. Maybe the people here don't have the ability to reply in an intelligent manner nah so I guess I will ask other people.

Postby rspann » June 20th, 2015, 8:19 pm

Kewell35 wrote:Everyone and they dog getting accepted to do MBBS in Mt Hope now. Is there any prestige in it again? Any opportunities to go abroad (to specialize after)? or we all stuck here...anyone know thanks.

I went out whole evening and now come back to see all this Kankalang. Small man ,you brushing everybody mother? You more sounding like a virgin who now get one of Kamla's computers.

You are either a dunce who is claiming to be doing medicine or you are a big liar looking for pips. Read over your opening lines and see where you wrote,"or are we all stuck here" you will see I did not assume. You are probably some little muffler bearing who trying to be something you are not . One thing I am sure of, I do not want to be like you. I left university at the end of second year ,(engineering) ,in our days you had to pay,and my brother who was paying for me died. I left and started to work . I went on to send my brother to Med school,and have no regrets in my life.

You know why everyone here is attacking you? All the guys here might not have as much as you and may not have your education ,but they are street smart and most have made it on their own without having to say what their mother or father is. I jump on my own strength and you ,your father and mother added up might still have problems reaching where I reach on my own.

You young ,take it down a notch and make your own way through the world and make your own mark. You feel you so smart but asking questions from people you feel are below you. Why don't you ask your mother and father for advice? They don't talk with you?
Last edited by rspann on June 20th, 2015, 9:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Ted_v2 » June 20th, 2015, 8:31 pm

I could imagine this OP.
since he small he beating books, but has no common sense.Rell nerd He maybe still is a virgin and banging everybody mother sounds cool, No son it isnt.
Its no longer 2002 and msn chatroom is no more.

Moms and dad wukking hard and you feel because of your education and what they got , you think you made a mark in the world?

Dannnn

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » June 20th, 2015, 8:43 pm

Op haven't had a taste of life as yet. Tunerland just trying to be understanding and help u out. Take some good advice.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » June 20th, 2015, 8:57 pm

I wasn't being harsh...man come in here lambasting uwi students...I find that was very elitist. We are very fortunate to have a medical school that offers free tuition. We basically educate and train doctors for free. His sort of arrogance, ignorance and disrespect reflects the direction some in this country are going. It's scary and I'm really hoping that he is a troll.

Education doesn't bring class. I will keep saying that until the end of my days.

Postby rspann » June 20th, 2015, 9:05 pm

Redress10 wrote:I wasn't being harsh...man come in here lambasting uwi students...I find that was very elitist. We are very fortunate to have a medical school that offers free tuition. We basically educate and train doctors for free. His sort of arrogance, ignorance and disrespect reflects the direction some in this country are going. It's scary and I'm really hoping that he is a troll.

Education doesn't bring class. I will keep saying that until the end of my days.

Now this is how a young man should speak and understand things.If you keep this attitude, you will grow to be an example to others.

Kewell35

Postby Kewell35 » June 20th, 2015, 9:13 pm

rspann wrote:
Kewell35 wrote:Everyone and they dog getting accepted to do MBBS in Mt Hope now. Is there any prestige in it again? Any opportunities to go abroad (to specialize after)? or we all stuck here...anyone know thanks.

I went out whole evening and now come back to see all this Kankalang. Small man ,you brushing everybody mother? You more sounding like a virgin who now get one of Kamla's computers.

You are either a dunce who is claiming to be doing medicine or you are a big liar looking for pips. Read over your opening lines and see where you wrote,"or are we all stuck here" you will see I did not assume. You are probably some little muffler bearing who trying to be something you are not . One thing I am sure of, I do not want to be like you. I left university at the end of second year ,(engineering) and have no regrets in my life.

You know why everyone here is attacking you? All the guys here might not have as much as you and may not have your education ,but they are street smart and most have made it on their own without having to say what their mother or father is. I jump on my own strength and you ,your father and mother added up might still have problems reaching where I reach on my own.

You young ,take it down a notch and make your own way through the world and make your own mark. You feel you so smart but asking questions from people you feel are below you. Why don't you ask your mother and father for advice? They don't talk with you?

Hoss take it down a notch. If telling me, someone who get into Med and prefers to go away is a dunce makes you feel more of a man then so be it. As for the insults, it just shows your class and your level of comprehension because most of the 'insults' I made were in jest. In fact, only one intelligent poster out of you all actually understood that.

Secondly, thank you for admitting you are a university dropout. What relevance that has to anything I don't know but OK.

Everyone attacked me from my first post, which was a simple question because they are insecure. It is a typical Trinidadian mentality and this is why I do not want to stay in Trinidad. It is very small minded and reeks of insecurity. They immediately lambasted me (I think it was you in fact) for feeling I am too big and up there. Such asinine comments.

That's great they are street smart. That is another comment reeking of insecurity. I did not even ask anything about that. I posted a question for people that may know about the MBBS programme in Mt Hope but I got attacked because of insecure people and comments like that one. What does street smart have to do with anything? Well I guess they should do med then?

I stated my mother and father's profession as a rebuttal to someone who (hilariously) claimed that I should not boast and their family are full of doctors. How ironic.

Thirdly, maybe you should read some of my replies and comprehend it properly. My parents would not give me an objective answer. I like to ask people from all kinds of circumstances to get a full gauge of the proper decision that should be made. I got a reply that reflected more on you, than the help which I expected.

Postby ruffneck_12 » June 20th, 2015, 9:13 pm

I blame rollingstock for getting the man riled up with the whole 'bullin ya gyal' talk :lol:

Constructive Criticism for OP: If a random guy in the internet gets you riled up, you shouldn't be working with sick people who will push ALL your buttons.

If you do decide to go down this path and become a doctor, and you trying to explain a simple situation to a patient but they being stubborn, you will feel how everyone in this thread feeling.

Kewell35

Postby Kewell35 » June 20th, 2015, 9:16 pm

Redress10 wrote:I wasn't being harsh...man come in here lambasting uwi students...I find that was very elitist. We are very fortunate to have a medical school that offers free tuition. We basically educate and train doctors for free. His sort of arrogance, ignorance and disrespect reflects the direction some in this country are going. It's scary and I'm really hoping that he is a troll.

Firstly, how do you think I was arrogant or disrespectful to UWI? I'm just curious.

Also, Does free education equal competence? In fact, I would say it is inversely proportional. Now you cannot blame for anything because I did not get education free at all in Trinidad.

I do agree that education doesn't bring class.

Kewell35

Postby Kewell35 » June 20th, 2015, 9:18 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:I blame rollingstock for getting the man riled up with the whole 'bullin ya gyal' talk :lol:

Constructive Criticism for OP: If a random guy in the internet gets you riled up, you shouldn't be working with sick people who will push ALL your buttons.

If you do decide to go down this path and become a doctor, and you trying to explain a simple situation to a patient but they being stubborn, you will feel how everyone in this thread feeling.

Honestly man, and I can't believe people didn't get it (I think one guy did with the darth vader post) but I was joking around because no one was answering the questions that I posed in the first post but instead attacked me so I did it in 'jest' or as a joke.

Postby ruffneck_12 » June 20th, 2015, 9:20 pm

oh flick lol

smalls

One thing you should know bout tuner tho, is 97% trolls, but the other 3% is legit advice, yuh just hadda sort thru the BS

Kewell35

Postby Kewell35 » June 20th, 2015, 9:23 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:oh flick lol

smalls

One thing you should know bout tuner tho, is 97% trolls, but the other 3% is legit advice, yuh just hadda sort thru the BS

Yeah I new to this forum so I thought people would have known the answer to what I asked (and not attack me for being stuck up or whatever). Also, I thought some of the people I was 'attacking' with the 'mother so and so' was joking with me too but now I not sure. My mistake though. Sorry dudes.

Postby ruffneck_12 » June 20th, 2015, 9:26 pm

no probs mane :)

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » June 20th, 2015, 9:26 pm

Sigh....Are you for real. I honestly feel your are either a troll or a liar...You take your pick...All those medical professionals in your family and you don't know about opportunities to specialise overseas?

Do you even know how many world class medical professionals came out of UWI. Better yet, you know how many of them achieved all that whilst studying by candlelight and having very little to eat and own? It's sad how easy we find it to denigrate and belittle others we perceive to be beneath us.

If you believe that UWI is beneath you then you should try overseas. You sure is medicine you even wanna study...Your attitude could suit other professions.
Last edited by Redress10 on June 20th, 2015, 9:29 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby rspann » June 20th, 2015, 9:28 pm

Free education could never be inversely proportional to competence. As a matter of fact competence should have no relation to cost. Isn't the same thing taught in any school ,whether free or not?

Kewell35

Postby Kewell35 » June 20th, 2015, 9:50 pm

Redress10 wrote:

Sigh....Are you for real. I honestly feel your are either a troll or a liar...You take your pick...All those medical professionals in your family and you don't know about opportunities to specialise overseas?

Do you even know how many world class medical professionals came out of UWI. Better yet, you know how many of them achieved all that whilst studying by candlelight and having very little to eat and own? It's sad how easy we find it to denigrate and belittle others we perceive to be beneath us.

If you believe that UWI is beneath you then you should try overseas. You sure is medicine you even wanna study...Your attitude could suit other professions.

Dude it was all joking but in all seriousness, UWI didn't produce much world class medical professionals. A lot of consultants and all that but world class, that's a bit tricky to answer.

Postby rollingstock » June 20th, 2015, 9:51 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:I blame rollingstock for getting the man riled up with the whole 'bullin ya gyal' talk :lol:

Aye he started it first *said the primary school children *

Dammit Tyrone stop !

Kewell35

Postby Kewell35 » June 20th, 2015, 9:59 pm

rspann wrote:Free education could never be inversely proportional to competence. As a matter of fact competence should have no relation to cost. Isn't the same thing taught in any school ,whether free or not?

Well, free education (socialized) would mean no one is paying for the courses and teaching directly. And if no one is paying for it then it completely has to come from the Government and is dependent on how much the Government pays them (one flat rate). Now, the quality of teaching given is not correlated to the person's cheque at the end of the day. That is the lecturer's pay, at the end of the day is not correlated to the quality of teaching he gives his students. Out of all the UWI campuses, there is the lowest Faculty to Student ratio here. Thus, this negatively affects the training of doctors that UWI St Augustine produces and subsequently, this is why there was talk of raising the duration of internship here to 2 years.

This is why UWI St. Augustine Faculty of Medical Sciences has the lowest pass rate, historically, compared to Mona, Cavehill and Bahamas, but the highest requirements to be admitted. Do you see where I am going?

At a recent meeting, that included all of the heads of departments of the various Faculty of Medical Sciences, St Augustine was admonished for the quality of doctors they have been producing for the past few years.

By the way, completely off topic but I can't speak highly enough of Mona. UWI there is really absolutely world class and the Dean Fletcher is an amazing man, humble, hardworking, brilliant and really a good role model. Mona has no GATE and the doctor's there are top notch, the teaching is also.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » June 20th, 2015, 10:14 pm

Now that is the type of response that we suppose to get from an educated person. This is how discussions occur and solutions are found.

You seem to know your stuff. One thing you need to be mindful of is that it all comes down to you. It doesn't matter if you graduated from UWI or Harvard, you can choose to become world class if you want to. Granted you may need a more challenging environment to push yourself but that again comes down to what you are seeking. If it's the best you seek, push and go for it. Let nothing stop you.

Postby rspann » June 20th, 2015, 10:16 pm

My brother went Mona and is now a top neurosurgeon. I have a nephew and niece in UWI doing med. I don't know if the problem with the low pass rate has more to do with the attitude of the students when they are living "home " as compared to when they study abroad, compare a Trini studying in Jamaica with a Jamaican studying in Trinidad,and then a Jamaican studying in Jamaica with a Trini studying in Trinidad. The discipline is just not there when you are on your home ground . Too much distractions.

I personally believe that our UWI has a good track record because if you watch the ones that do pass, they are the ones that are generally more dedicated. I believe that results are as good as the effort you put into something.

Medicine(and law) are good professions ,but the country is saturated with them so unless you specialize and are really good ,getting paid for all those years of hard work becomes another problem. If I were a doctor I would go into the business aspect of it ,like opening a private hospital or MRI, CAT, or even Dialysis facility

BTW when I said free education ,I meant gov't paid so yeah , it's really not free.