uwi - mechanical vs electrical and computer engineering

Re: uwi - mechanical vs electrical and computer engineering

Postby Trini Hookah » May 11th, 2015, 4:22 pm

eurogirl wrote:Ent de man up dey ^^ say they does tell the programme how much times to turn it .. :|

I hope allyuh getting where i'm coming from :?

Sometimes its better if you humble and turn valves so when u reach the big sawatee status yuh doh let ppl fool yuh head .

and that is basically what utt teaches you , they tell you flat you need to know EXACTLY what the technician knows , you need to know what the tradesman knows also .. otherwise how can u guide and develop ways to make it easier or solve a problem .?

but I find we rell straying from the man topic ...

boy go and sell pardy tickets :|

Industrial engineering is a good field too unno a lil bit of everything ..

#IndustrialCrew checking in.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » May 11th, 2015, 4:39 pm

At present, the Board of Engineering of Trinidad and Tobago does not recognise the UTT degree as a professional engineering qualification.

I personally would find it a waste of my time to gain a degree that is useless to me as soon as I jump on a plane and fly out of Trinidad and Tobago.

To each his own.

Board of Engineering wrote:Board Of Engineering Advises All Developers

The Board of Enginering of Trinidad and Tobago urges all developers to use only registered engineers in the design and construction of any engineering work.

The Board advises that such a policy could mitigate potential disastrous consequences now and in future years, particularly in the present environment of accelerated development activity in the country. It would also help to ensure that the Country gets quality for money invested.

The Engineering Profession Act, 1985 makes provision for the registration of Engineers in Trinidad and Tobago. A Registered Engineer is bound by a strict Code of Ethics under existing legislation. However, there is no legal requirement that one must be a Registered Engineer to practise engineering in Trinidad and Tobago.

This contrasts with other professions, such as:-

The Legal Profession – where only lawyers accepted by the local bar can practise law.
Medicine – where only practitioners accredited to the Medical Board can practise medicine.
Plumbing – where only licensed plumbers can practise plumbing.
Electrical installation – where only licensed wiremen are allowed to wire buildings etc.

All development designs have to be approved by appropriate approval agencies. However, anyone can design engineering works and construct buildings and structures including those used by the public as stores, theaters, cinemas, community halls, libraries, schools, night clubs, sewerage disposal systems and highways etc.

To safeguard the public, the Engineering Community has prepared legislation to require that only Registered Engineers should legally be allowed to practise professional engineering in Trinidad and Tobago. The legislation is yet to be taken to Parliament.

In the interim, the Board of Engineering strongly urges all Employers, Agents, Developers, Entrepreneurs, Designers, and Constructors to hire, employ, contract, or otherwise ensure that only Registered Engineers of Trinidad and Tobago, or individuals acceptable to the Board, are engaged for professional engineering works in Trinidad and Tobago.

The Board of Engineering has been regulating the practice of engineering in Trinidad and Tobago for 20 years. It is responsible for assessing whether an applicant qualifies for registration, keeps a register of all registered members in Trinidad and Tobago, and can take disciplinary action against any registered engineer who breaches the provisions of the Board’s Code of Ethics.

At the end of 2010, the Board had 869 active engineers on its register.

http://www.boett.org/cms/component/cont ... developers

Board of Engineering wrote:Question:

I am a licensed wireman and recent electrical engineering technology diploma graduate from the University of Trinidad and Tobago seeking guidance on whether I can obtain membership or affiliation to the Board of Engineering.

Answer:

The Board of Engineering of Trinidad and Tobago (BOETT) is not an Association, Guild, Union, etc. Its only members are the seven (7) individuals appointed by the Honourable Minister responsible for public works from time to time to serve a three (3) year period in office. The Board is effectively a Licensing Authority and registers professional engineers. It does not provide for affiliation.

According to the Engineering Profession Act, No. 34 of 1985, relevant considerations for registration with the BOETT are:-

1. a person is qualified to be registered as a registered engineer if –

“(a) he has been awarded a degree, diploma or other qualification in engineering granted by a University or School of Engineering that, in the opinion of the Board, is evidence of satisfactory training in engineering, and
(b) he has had not less than four years experience in the practice of engineering and has acquired such standard of proficiency as may be approved by the Board.”

In assessing the accreditability of an academic qualification, the Board is guided by the assessment of the Engineering Council in the UK or their equivalent, as satisfying the academic requirements for professional engineers. Neither the licensed wireman nor the engineering technology diploma from the UTT is considered to meet these requirements.

The BOETT does not provide membership or affiliation but rather registration as attestation to being of professional engineer standard. It does not at this time treat with registration of technicians, technologists, etc.

As soon as a UTT qualification is accredited as being acceptable as a professional engineering qualification by the Engineering Council, or an equivalent authority of internationally accepted repute as the Accreditation Board for Engineering and Technology (ABET) of the USA etc., no doubt it would be accepted by the BOETT.

The required, not less than four years experience in the practice of engineering, is to be gained after acceptable academic qualification is received. The experience must be on appropriately monitored, supervised and tested projects of a professional engineering nature so as to equip the engineer to undertake such works on his/her own subsequently.

http://www.boett.org/cms/faqs

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 11th, 2015, 4:48 pm

^ BOETT recognizes UTT's Diplomas am I correct? Its the degrees not recognized?

Cause I know UWI recognizes UTT Diplomas for entry to do a BSc in Engineering

Postby RBphoto » May 12th, 2015, 8:00 am

"However, there is no legal requirement that one must be a Registered Engineer to practice engineering in Trinidad and Tobago."

This. After about 4 years of experience nobody really cares what kind of degree you have or if you got it in a cereal box (my particular situation).

john5231

Postby john5231 » May 20th, 2015, 1:36 am

ssigghhhh..i am now checking this...thanks for the advice.....but... some stuff i read

i am already in uwi so i am not going utt nor do i have the money to study away atm

i wanted peoples views on the jobs they got and what they did at their jobs if they have experience in the field because i worked at a good company in trinidad before uwi and got 6000/month and after 7 years experience u can get promoted if a position is available and make between 10k to 12k...but the work was soooooooooooooooooooo boringggggg....every time i got a change to leave i took it......even with CAPE u can get that amount of money because in that company its about experience not level of education as i would believe most companies would be like since they spend a lot of time training us.....people in that company had their Bsc and Msc but other also had CAPE or a diploma and still made the same money until the people with 7 years experience or over were promoted.....i also had a offer for a job and is was sheit, slave work thing, work on the field overtime and on week ends plus on public holidays and they only pay over time when they see fit and the pay was 3200/month which is a joke....i ant bother with that company......thats y i wanted to know about peoples experience in the field to know how interesting that jobs are in that field in trindad

mechanical has 3 options - thermal engineering and energy systems, engineering mechanics and design and manufacture from what i was told

i like manufacturing but i know thermal engineering and energy systems is the best option out of the 3

electrical and comp has some good courses and some really shitty courses in my opinion
i like electrical just not some courses uwi offers in the program

i decided to go into mechanical because i find it better than electrical although i might do a masters in integrated systems if i could though

i think i might go into thermal engineering and energy systems since it is the better option i think.....any views on which is the better of the 3 options?

Postby RBphoto » May 20th, 2015, 11:39 am

^^^^Nobody really cares what you major in.. Nobody. Won't be relevant to your workplace either. Can't go wrong with thermal though. Would love to go back and do year 2 thermo just for the heck of it.

Postby RBphoto » May 20th, 2015, 11:40 am

Which electrical course is shiddy BTW :?

brandonology1

Postby brandonology1 » May 20th, 2015, 11:42 am

I cld name quite a few shitty elec courses... uP for one... ICES for another...

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » May 20th, 2015, 11:51 am

anybody want lessons in computer engineering :|

Fearless

Postby Fearless » May 20th, 2015, 2:22 pm

uncle sam wrote:anybody want lessons in computer engineering :|

brorolla

Postby brorolla » May 28th, 2015, 7:54 pm

Yoooo I signed up for uwi. I chose electrical eng. as my 1st choice, then mechanical and industrial. I was told electrical is the best field based on employment opportunities and pay. Is this true? Should I go with mechanical instead. Honestly I like both even though they are different. Any mechanical or electrical engineers out there who can give me advice?

brorolla

Postby brorolla » May 28th, 2015, 7:57 pm

Btw uwi's requirement is 8 points to get through to do eng. I have 8.5. Does anyone know if this guarantees me a spot? Yeah it's my future. I'm concerned

Infodude

Postby Infodude » June 1st, 2015, 4:53 pm

hey guys
anyone here did a bsc in information technology at uwi and willing to share their experience or advice??

Postby goalpost » June 1st, 2015, 4:58 pm

brandonology1 wrote:I cld name quite a few shitty elec courses... uP for one... ICES for another...

just because yuh too dense to understand the course doesn't mean it shitty...

uP was a difficult course but it did teach programming styles and languages, a whole lot better than the C++ course.
ICES is probably the most important course in the programme, especially in T & T.

smithmj678

Postby smithmj678 » June 1st, 2015, 5:21 pm

Infodude wrote:hey guys
anyone here did a bsc in information technology at uwi and willing to share their experience or advice??

Judging from the looks of the curriculum. IT in UWI is very different from private schools or hell even ROYTEC and COASTATT

UWI IT seems to be a easier version of their Computer Science. So put it this way, doing IT in UWI will prepare you for a career in high level language programming.

Doing their computer science will prepare you for low level, the real hard stuff.

I really doubt you want to go UWI if you wanna deal with hardware stuff. You may be better off in SAM or SBCS or UTT. UWI isn't hands on at all, its mostly theory. Don't you see the requirement for their IT degree at UWI? its 2 CAPE subjects with 1 must be a science. This is the last thing an IT person would have. Friend, this is Mini Computer Science we are talking about here.