Anyone having problems with tstt dsl

Re: Anyone having problems with tstt dsl

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » June 22nd, 2015, 10:42 am

^ same thing with me, Piarco/St Helena. I waiting for flow to come and connect me.

Then I can tell tstt to piss off.

Postby Spitfir3 » June 22nd, 2015, 4:14 pm

restart modem always everyday crew checking in

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » June 22nd, 2015, 4:21 pm

I restart modem twice, nothing....

When Digicel will start offering commercial fibre internet? I can get a business line if I want but why would I pay $500 a month for a 10MB from digicel when flow giving me 10MB for $200?

I wonder how flow latency is compared to Digicel? has to be the same right?

I am also going to assume Digicel has their own fibre line running to Miami?

whatever_

Postby whatever_ » June 23rd, 2015, 7:24 am

Do me a favour, run a speed test on speedtest.tstt.net.tt then run a speed test on these sites.

Make sure to do these from a wired connection and not wireless.

http://www.speakeasy.net/speedtest (choose one)
http://speedof.me
http://speedtest.comcast.net/

Also from windows command prompt run separately

tracert steampowered.com
tracert http://www.youtube.com
tracert http://www.yahoo.com
tracert tbgclan.com

Post up the results.

I think it's a routing problem on TSTT's end and the networks they're using to route traffic. Funny enough some people getting their speed on youtube's website because the routing to youtube is entirely different than other websites.

aidan

Postby aidan » July 31st, 2015, 12:36 pm

anyone else find that within the last week blink has become very slow? i could barely watch a 20min show on netflix. i called customer support, but as usual, no help.

aidan

Postby aidan » July 31st, 2015, 12:51 pm

whatever_ wrote:EFFECTIC DESIGNS

Do me a favour, run a speed test on speedtest.tstt.net.tt then run a speed test on these sites.

Make sure to do these from a wired connection and not wireless.

http://www.speakeasy.net/speedtest (choose one)
http://speedtest.comcast.net/

Also from windows command prompt run separately

tracert steampowered.com
tracert http://www.youtube.com
tracert http://www.yahoo.com
tracert tbgclan.com

Post up the results.

I think it's a routing problem on TSTT's end and the networks they're using to route traffic. Funny enough some people getting their speed on youtube's website because the routing to youtube is entirely different than other websites.

This is my results:

Tstt speedtest:
Download Speed: 1850 kbps (231.3 KB/sec transfer rate)
Upload Speed: 574 kbps (71.8 KB/sec transfer rate)
Latency: 15 ms
Jitter: 9 ms
7/31/2015, 12:31:36 PM

http://www.speakeasy.net/speedtest (San Fransisco CA)
Download Speed: 163 kbps (20.4 KB/sec transfer rate)
Upload Speed: 365 kbps (45.6 KB/sec transfer rate)

Download Speed: 190 kbps
Upload Speed: 660kbps
Latency: 86 ms

tracert steampowered.com

Tracing route to steampowered.com [23.47.23.99]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 1 ms 1 ms 1 ms 192.168.0.1
2 2 ms 2 ms 2 ms 192.168.1.1
3 32 ms 140 ms 37 ms 186-45-144-1.dynamic.tstt.net.tt [186.45.144.1]
4 29 ms 28 ms 34 ms 201.238.123.33.business.static.tstt.net.tt [201.238.123.33]
5 28 ms 29 ms 31 ms 190-58-255-26.business.static.tstt.net.tt [190.58.255.26]
6 102 ms 24 ms 26 ms 190-58-255-25.business.static.tstt.net.tt [190.58.255.25]
7 25 ms 26 ms 26 ms cuscon66792.tstt.net.tt [190.58.140.10]
8 143 ms 143 ms 142 ms GigabitEthernet1-0-7.GW2.NYC1.ALTER.NET [152.179.29.81]
9 141 ms 143 ms 145 ms 0.ae2.BR1.NYC1.ALTER.NET [152.63.19.198]
10 199 ms 204 ms 188 ms 63-235-40-53.dia.static.qwest.net [63.235.40.53]
11 198 ms 207 ms 197 ms dcx2-edge-01.inet.qwest.net [67.14.28.70]
12 191 ms 183 ms 183 ms a23-47-23-99.deploy.static.akamaitechnologies.com [23.47.23.99]

tracert youtube.com
Tracing route to youtube.com [190.58.136.177]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 2 ms 1 ms 1 ms 192.168.0.1
2 2 ms 2 ms 2 ms 192.168.1.1
3 63 ms 48 ms 39 ms 186-45-144-1.dynamic.tstt.net.tt [186.45.144.1]
4 123 ms 27 ms 27 ms 201.238.123.42.business.static.tstt.net.tt [201.238.123.42]
5 31 ms 30 ms 32 ms cuscon66784.tstt.net.tt [190.58.140.2]
6 25 ms 25 ms 24 ms cuscon66783.tstt.net.tt [190.58.140.1]
7 29 ms 26 ms 26 ms cuscon66915.tstt.net.tt [190.58.140.133]
8 33 ms 24 ms 26 ms cuscon66791.tstt.net.tt [190.58.140.9]
9 25 ms 25 ms 24 ms cuscon65935.tstt.net.tt [190.58.136.177]

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » July 31st, 2015, 12:53 pm

Submarine cables damaged due to Kick’ em Jenny volcano activity near Grenada.
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20150723 ... c-activity

UPDATE July 31…

Favourable weather and ocean conditions have allowed work to begin by the cable ship dispatched by the regional cable administrator, to repair the damaged submarine fiber optic cable off the coast of Grenada. The work involves locating the specific point(s) of damage along the cable in the waters between Grenada and St. Vincent, raising the damaged ends of cable off of the sea floor, replacing these with a new section of cable, testing the repairs and safely lowering the cable back to the sea floor.

Notwithstanding the large size of the area to be covered by this exercise and the depth of the sea floor, if the ocean and weather conditions remain favourable over the next five days, it is projected that the cable will be back in full service by Wednesday 5th August.

While repairs are continuing, TSTT advises that customers will continue to periodically experience variable Internet and data speeds from computers and mobile devices.

Source:
http://technewstt.com/pr-tstt-grenada-outage/

TriP

Postby TriP » August 1st, 2015, 11:02 am

TSTT still running slow this morning ..i switch to Digicell Wifi on cell ..running real fast..!!

830-900 Sat..TSTT back to normal..ting running..!!

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 2nd, 2015, 10:16 am

It never fixed by me the last year it became incredibly slow to the point of no return.

It went down to about 37kbps which is slower than my 1990's dial up internet. TSTT said there was nothing they could do about it because everything was fine so they didn't know why the speeds were like that.

Prior to this for over 6 years this DSL worked flawless. It was the absolute best internet service you could imagine for 6 years straight it was only disconnected TWICE!!! in 6 YEARS!!! And ALWAYS ran at full speed!! It was great times I could download torrent and run games without ping being affected in games, something flow and other cablenet connections cannot achieve.

Funny how when I called TSTT to disconnect my service they offered me a deal to stick with them they wanted to double my speeds for free etc. I didn't bother to hear the rest because I already had a flow connection. Years ago when people told TSTT to run Fiber they didn't listen they insisted on copper where people started stealing copper on the poles. Then you had to wait 2 months for a tech to come and see about your line if it had issues on the pole because they were more concerned about their workers striking etc.

In the end TSTT is gone for good I can say. Even with some disconnects on flow and not being able to play games while downloading I still prefer flow, cannot beat the fiber pings, and 15mb for $200 a month. Not even the grand ADSL2+ technology and all that it has to offer can compete with this.
I will never again have to put up with watching youtube videos at 144P and still buffer.

src1983

Postby src1983 » August 2nd, 2015, 11:43 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:It never fixed by me the last year it became incredibly slow to the point of no return.

It went down to about 37kbps which is slower than my 1990's dial up internet. TSTT said there was nothing they could do about it because everything was fine so they didn't know why the speeds were like that.

Prior to this for over 6 years this DSL worked flawless. It was the absolute best internet service you could imagine for 6 years straight it was only disconnected TWICE!!! in 6 YEARS!!! And ALWAYS ran at full speed!! It was great times I could download torrent and run games without ping being affected in games, something flow and other cablenet connections cannot achieve.

Funny how when I called TSTT to disconnect my service they offered me a deal to stick with them they wanted to double my speeds for free etc. I didn't bother to hear the rest because I already had a flow connection. Years ago when people told TSTT to run Fiber they didn't listen they insisted on copper where people started stealing copper on the poles. Then you had to wait 2 months for a tech to come and see about your line if it had issues on the pole because they were more concerned about their workers striking etc.

In the end TSTT is gone for good I can say. Even with some disconnects on flow and not being able to play games while downloading I still prefer flow, cannot beat the fiber pings, and 15mb for $200 a month. Not even the grand ADSL2+ technology and all that it has to offer can compete with this.
I will never again have to put up with watching youtube videos at 144P and still buffer.

Right now I am waiting on Digicel, everytime it rains I have to reset my TSTT modem. Digicel has proven to be better than both flow and TSTT. Imagine flow in the country so long and still have not reach in my area, but Digicel fibre already overhead

Been looking for a better connection for almost 2 years, so I'll see how Digicel plays out.

NR8

Postby NR8 » August 2nd, 2015, 12:41 pm

What area is this, if you don't mind me asking? I'll seriously consider switching to Digicel if they come in my area.

src1983

Postby src1983 » August 2nd, 2015, 1:02 pm

Williamsville

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 2nd, 2015, 1:21 pm

src1983 wrote:Right now I am waiting on Digicel, everytime it rains I have to reset my TSTT modem. Digicel has proven to be better than both flow and TSTT. Imagine flow in the country so long and still have not reach in my area, but Digicel fibre already overhead

Been looking for a better connection for almost 2 years, so I'll see how Digicel plays out.

I dunno about that, Digicel does use the nasty Chinese modem infact their entire fiber network consists of that nasty Chinese technology. Atleast flow uses American technology, the problem with flow is they are bankrupt. However since Cable and Wireless bought them over and have agreed to settle their outstanding debt this is great news for us. My flow has started working perfect as of this morning, I will assume the issue I was getting was because of Kick Em Jenny. Even then it will only take a matter of time before Digicel Network starts giving lots of trouble once plenty people start coming on. Digicel Fiber works great now because only businesses are allowed to use it just wait till residential folks start singing up you will see how that Chinese Technology will fail.

Yes C&W also has half stake in TSTT but it matters not because TSTT isn't even considered an ISP anymore. They are so far behind and backward that only areas that does not have flow you find people using TSTT cause they have no choice. The real competition is from Digicel and Flow, so the TATT should just let the deal go ahead and allow C&W to buy flow. Think about it why did flow raise their speeds to 15MB for free? because Digicel is on the horizon.

Another thing Digicel isn't connected to the ARCOS ring. So flow has the advantage of taking a shorter path to West Coast USA through Central America as opposed to TSTT and Digicel that has to go through Miami. Also you will get better latency to Central and South America with flow, in theory anyways.

http://submarinecablemap.com/

^ for example of how the submarine fiber world is connected.

Postby Spitfir3 » August 3rd, 2015, 12:01 pm

from what im seeing the digicel plan is $234 for 15gb of data for anyone who downloads big files and watches a lot of videos that would eat up in no time

never got flow to work so sadly im stuck with shiddy blink, greendot rates are horrible and it just won't make sense for me switching to digicel with that limited connection ...im tempted to call and threaten to "disconnect" in hopes of getting a better rate like effective did but next thing yuh know they really cut me :lol:

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 3rd, 2015, 5:02 pm

Spitfir3 wrote:from what im seeing the digicel plan is $234 for 15gb of data for anyone who downloads big files and watches a lot of videos that would eat up in no time

never got flow to work so sadly im stuck with shiddy blink, greendot rates are horrible and it just won't make sense for me switching to digicel with that limited connection ...im tempted to call and threaten to "disconnect" in hopes of getting a better rate like effective did but next thing yuh know they really cut me :lol:

Nah them go buss, unless Digicel is offering unlimited internet then nobody is going to care about them.

Who in their right mind paying $234 for 15gb of data when flow is $199 for Unlimited GB of data?

Now if Digicel was offering say 300GB of Data at 100Mbps for $200 well that would be something to consider.

src1983

Postby src1983 » August 3rd, 2015, 5:08 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
Spitfir3 wrote:from what im seeing the digicel plan is $234 for 15gb of data for anyone who downloads big files and watches a lot of videos that would eat up in no time

Nah them go buss, unless Digicel is offering unlimited internet then nobody is going to care about them.

Who in their right mind paying $234 for 15gb of data when flow is $199 for Unlimited GB of data?

Now if Digicel was offering say 300GB of Data at 100Mbps for $200 well that would be something to consider.

You guys really need to research

at current prices for Fibre

http://www.digicelbusiness.com/tt/en/ne ... icel-fibre

Its unlimited

Postby Spitfir3 » August 3rd, 2015, 5:18 pm

^^im aware but i was referring to options for the residential folk not businesses

NR8

Postby NR8 » August 3rd, 2015, 5:49 pm

That 15GB for $234 is the on the go/MiFi package.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 3rd, 2015, 7:13 pm

NR8 wrote:That 15GB for $234 is the on the go/MiFi package.

lol thanks for clearing this up. I seriously never heard of limited fiber optics broadband.

And since TSTT as a landline ISP will be history soon, we really can't be having Digicel doing such nonsense like limited fiber.

BTW quick question all these years when TSTT had a monopoly, all that money C&W made from their 49% stake what happened to that money? did they carry it to England?

R-H-D

Postby R-H-D » August 3rd, 2015, 10:31 pm

if effective designs experience TSTT GPON service or Digicel fibre he go jizz in he pants the way he blabbing about FLOW.

Fadakartel

Postby Fadakartel » August 3rd, 2015, 10:39 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
src1983 wrote:Right now I am waiting on Digicel, everytime it rains I have to reset my TSTT modem. Digicel has proven to be better than both flow and TSTT. Imagine flow in the country so long and still have not reach in my area, but Digicel fibre already overhead

I dunno about that, Digicel does use the nasty Chinese modem infact their entire fiber network consists of that nasty Chinese technology. Atleast flow uses American technology, the problem with flow is they are bankrupt. However since Cable and Wireless bought them over and have agreed to settle their outstanding debt this is great news for us. My flow has started working perfect as of this morning, I will assume the issue I was getting was because of Kick Em Jenny. Even then it will only take a matter of time before Digicel Network starts giving lots of trouble once plenty people start coming on. Digicel Fiber works great now because only businesses are allowed to use it just wait till residential folks start singing up you will see how that Chinese Technology will fail.

Yes C&W also has half stake in TSTT but it matters not because TSTT isn't even considered an ISP anymore. They are so far behind and backward that only areas that does not have flow you find people using TSTT cause they have no choice. The real competition is from Digicel and Flow, so the TATT should just let the deal go ahead and allow C&W to buy flow. Think about it why did flow raise their speeds to 15MB for free? because Digicel is on the horizon.

Another thing Digicel isn't connected to the ARCOS ring. So flow has the advantage of taking a shorter path to West Coast USA through Central America as opposed to TSTT and Digicel that has to go through Miami. Also you will get better latency to Central and South America with flow, in theory anyways.

http://submarinecablemap.com/

^ for example of how the submarine fiber world is connected.

Digicel gives you a router not a modem for FTTH. When it comes to transmission technology I think very few can beat Huawei not even Cisco nor Juniper for FTTH deployments Huawei is simply the best option right now for a FTTH solution. Flow still has issues with utilization/Noise etc.

Digicel also have the advantage of having there own subsea fiber network that can possibly scale to terabits using SDH, latency can be fixed/patched once you know how to route BGP properly.

Postby streetbeastINC. » August 3rd, 2015, 11:19 pm

Nothing streaming properly for 2 months with tstt, .... i am behind on all my series. Better be back up before walkiing dead n fear

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 3rd, 2015, 11:36 pm

Quick question Digicel internet uses same coaxial cables as flow right? so getting a connection from Digicel would simply be a matter of unscrewing the flow cable and screwing it on the Digicel one?

If so would Digicel then charge money for installation? I sure as hell ain't paying no $250 etc for them to just screw on the cable on their box, maybe $20 at most.

I will give Digicel props on latency they do get 76ms to Garden City. 10 lower than mine. But I have never seen a Digicel speed test to Miami I wish someone would post it.

Lets see if it really beats flow's 57ms to Miami. Highly doubt its possible considering 57ms is about the speed of light. In stark contrast a TSTT DSL connection is 130ms.. :?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 3rd, 2015, 11:45 pm

streetbeastINC. wrote:Nothing streaming properly for 2 months with tstt, .... i am behind on all my series. Better be back up before walkiing dead n fear

TSTT throttles bandwidth for video streaming it has long been known they are doing this. If you really feel that going to fix by the time walking dead comes back then good luck with that pipe dream. I will never again be subjected to that torture with those fools. I used to get 144p video streaming I know someone with a 10mb package from TSTT aswell and he cannot stream over 360p.

In stark contrast I can stream a 4K UHD youtube video on my flow connection without even buffering. Infact it streams faster than the speed of the video atleast twice as fast, so let that sink in for a second now.

Fadakartel

Postby Fadakartel » August 4th, 2015, 12:40 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Quick question Digicel internet uses same coaxial cables as flow right? so getting a connection from Digicel would simply be a matter of unscrewing the flow cable and screwing it on the Digicel one?

If so would Digicel then charge money for installation? I sure as hell ain't paying no $250 etc for them to just screw on the cable on their box, maybe $20 at most.

I will give Digicel props on latency they do get 76ms to Garden City. 10 lower than mine. But I have never seen a Digicel speed test to Miami I wish someone would post it.

Lets see if it really beats flow's 57ms to Miami. Highly doubt its possible considering 57ms is about the speed of light. In stark contrast a TSTT DSL connection is 130ms.. :?

No Digicel uses fiber completely from your premise back to them. No coaxial cables involved.

Postby streetbeastINC. » August 4th, 2015, 1:56 am

Yup there tech support tried to tell me its all our laptops at fault and the site server...wtf...

evolution91

Postby evolution91 » August 4th, 2015, 5:32 am

These illiterate techs from blink came hme to see why im getting slow internet speeds and there had the audacity to say my router is at fault... all of a sudden my router is at fault :evil:

R-H-D

Postby R-H-D » August 4th, 2015, 7:25 am

evolution91 wrote:These illiterate techs from blink came hme to see why im getting slow internet speeds and there had the audacity to say my router is at fault... all of a sudden my router is at fault :evil:

Thought that was a FLOW thing blaming people equipment
Last time I talked with a TECH from FLOW he said seems like your router has a VIRUS :roll:
Most of the time when someone has a problem with Blink its the modem at fault
Disconnecting daily could be your dsl filter needs replacing

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 4th, 2015, 8:49 am

Fadakartel wrote:No Digicel uses fiber completely from your premise back to them. No coaxial cables involved.

Very interesting, however there must be a point where copper is used I am sure? the router is not optical I assume? that would be FTTD?

Quick question Flow's lines on the pole is Fiber Optics? or is flow FTTN?

In this flow is FTTB or FTTN? I really need to see a ping test to Miami then, I want to see if the extra fiber from Digicel can actually beat flow's 57ms ping to Miami. If you have access to a Digicel connection can you do a speed test? Want to see if there is any sort of advantage to be gained besides things like Gigabit internet etc which I won't ever be using.

Postby redmanjp » August 5th, 2015, 3:41 pm

shaneelal wrote:Submarine cables damaged due to Kick’ em Jenny volcano activity near Grenada.
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20150723 ... c-activity

UPDATE July 31…

Favourable weather and ocean conditions have allowed work to begin by the cable ship dispatched by the regional cable administrator, to repair the damaged submarine fiber optic cable off the coast of Grenada. The work involves locating the specific point(s) of damage along the cable in the waters between Grenada and St. Vincent, raising the damaged ends of cable off of the sea floor, replacing these with a new section of cable, testing the repairs and safely lowering the cable back to the sea floor.

Notwithstanding the large size of the area to be covered by this exercise and the depth of the sea floor, if the ocean and weather conditions remain favourable over the next five days, it is projected that the cable will be back in full service by Wednesday 5th August.

While repairs are continuing, TSTT advises that customers will continue to periodically experience variable Internet and data speeds from computers and mobile devices.

Source:
http://technewstt.com/pr-tstt-grenada-outage/

Damaged cables fixed

TSTT is pleased to advise that customers should already begin to experience improved Internet browsing via computers and smart devices following the completion of repairs shortly after 6:00 PM yesterday evening (Tuesday 4th August), to submarine cables damaged off the coast of Grenada during volcanic activity associated with the Kick Em Jenny volcano on July 23rd.

The cable maintenance company responsible for the repairs will continue monitoring the performance of the cables over the next 48 hours to respond promptly in the event that any other issues emerge.

TSTT will continue to update customers as the need arises