Re: Netflix to block VPN's

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » January 16th, 2016, 12:54 am

M_2NR wrote:
src1983 wrote:
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:If they block us we can complain to Netflix to sort out our region I feel. I don't want Spanish subtitle.

They actually working on that, they may later class the Caribbean on its own

remember the last time people cried about having our own content wrt local app stores... both Google Play and Apple AppStore. :roll:

I wasn't around. Enlighten me.

I can still swap between app store countries as well.

I really don't want Portuguese subtitles on Netflix in the first place.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » January 18th, 2016, 11:49 am

Netflix aims for global licences
Posted at 09:57
Netflix

Last week Netflix said it would ban users accessing its content using VPNs or proxy servers (UK users accessing the US version of Netflix, for example). Reed Hastings says the company is moving towards paying for global licences for content so that the same programming is available in all 130 countries Netflix is now available in.

The big gap in the map remains China and he says the company has been talking to Chinese authorities about winning a licence, but that it has to be patient. Apple took six years to win permission to sell the iPhone in China, Mr Hastings points out.

http://www.bbc.com/news/live/business-35324621

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 18th, 2016, 9:13 pm

Seems Netflix is really just fronting. They need to show the content providers that they are trying to stop pirates (ppl who use VPNs) when in fact Netflix cannot really do anything about the VPN users and would lose millions of customers worldwide if they did.

http://mybroadband.co.za/news/broadcast ... users.html

Although Netflix is now available in 190 countries, the content in 189 of those countries falls far short of the content provided in the US.

To access this content, tens of millions of users have been using VPNs to make their computers look like they are located in the US.

VPN providers now represent a significant business group and there is little chance that they will simply stand by and lose their customers if Netflix succeeds.

There is also the fact that Netflix runs the real danger that if it is successful in blocking access to US content in particular, it could potentially start losing subscribers in large numbers.

Netflix has historically not wanted to shut down global access of content and is actively striving to license future content on that basis.

Opposing this will be other services who want exclusive rights to content in their own geographies and the content owners who believe they can maximise the amount of money they make from their content by parcelling up licenses geographically.

Netflix has had to maintain a delicate balance between showing the content holders that they are serious about restricting their content, and at the same time giving their customers what they really want.

Fullagar’s comments about blocking VPNs seem to be more about appearances than a serious shift in how they restrict their content.

Customers globally are increasingly expecting a single digital market where the same content is made available at the same time, worldwide.

Companies that are working to this model are really the ones that will succeed on a global basis because they will be giving customers what they want.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » January 22nd, 2016, 12:53 pm

http://www.finder.com/netflix-usa-vs-world-content

Pay full us price for significantly less content. Current Netflix business model.

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » January 22nd, 2016, 1:24 pm

At least vpn still working, subscription fee going up to $10us soon also.

eaw_375

Postby eaw_375 » January 22nd, 2016, 9:37 pm

Whats the next best alternative? Hulu? And I don't mean Kodi etc.

neexis

Postby neexis » January 23rd, 2016, 7:47 pm

eaw_375 wrote:Whats the next best alternative? Hulu? And I don't mean Kodi etc.

Hulu is crap. They have options for subscription offers with or without ads. If you decide to go ad free, you won't be able to access some titles.
Tried it free for a month but cut it off after 2 weeks because there just wasn't much interesting content

Also.. why would people in Morocco pay for Netflix..... wtf

neexis

Postby neexis » January 23rd, 2016, 7:56 pm

A cat and mouse game between Netflix and its users over geo-blocked content has begun in Australia. Last week, Netflix announced it would be cracking down on customers who use software to watch content only available outside their own country, blocking proxies and virtual private networks (VPNs). Now, an Australian VPN named uFlix says that the video streaming service has indeed started blocking some of its users, with Netflix apparently delivering this message to infringing customers: "You seem to be using an unblocker or proxy. Please turn off any of these services and try again."

http://www.theverge.com/2016/1/22/10813 ... alia-uflix

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 24th, 2016, 4:00 pm

neexis wrote:

Hulu is crap. They have options for subscription offers with or without ads. If you decide to go ad free, you won't be able to access some titles.
Tried it free for a month but cut it off after 2 weeks because there just wasn't much interesting content

wha?

Hulu has great content! Family Guy, South Park, American Dad, X Files, DC's Legends of Tomorrow, Vikings, Saturday Night Live, Empire...

http://www.hulu.com/tv

BTW Hulu and Netflix compliment each other. Most people have both. They carry different content.

Postby S_2NR » January 24th, 2016, 4:10 pm

Duane watches empire! Holy sheit. Cool man

Pablo660

Postby Pablo660 » January 27th, 2016, 8:56 pm

Nextfix has implemented it
It's in effect, just checked
Can anyone else verify
Thanks

src1983

Postby src1983 » January 27th, 2016, 9:14 pm

Unblock working for me.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 27th, 2016, 9:30 pm

smartdnsproxy working with US netflix with no problems here

Pablo660

Postby Pablo660 » January 27th, 2016, 9:41 pm

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1453945241.955351.jpg

iPad works but on wdtv n MXq no go

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 27th, 2016, 11:44 pm

Pablo660 wrote:
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1453945241.955351.jpg

iPad works but on wdtv n MXq no go
which unblocker or vpn are you using?

Pablo660

Postby Pablo660 » January 28th, 2016, 6:45 am

Unblockus on my main router so all devices connected has mask

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 28th, 2016, 10:22 am

^ strange.

I just checked Netflix and watched about 5 mins of Jessica Jones using smartdnsproxy

Swisha

Netflix to block VPN's

Postby Swisha » January 28th, 2016, 10:32 am

Unblockus was working for me when I checked last night. iOS, Apple TV and Fire TV.

livewire

Postby livewire » January 28th, 2016, 1:03 pm

Unblock worked for me last night too.

warrenc_alexis

Postby warrenc_alexis » January 28th, 2016, 1:22 pm

neexis wrote:

I've have the Ad-free subscription for a couple months (6+) well now and I have not noticed missing content. What shows in particular?

Coppershot

Postby Coppershot » January 28th, 2016, 7:56 pm

http://www.theverge.com/2016/1/28/10858242/netflix-unblock-us-blocked-vpn-subsciber-pirates

In the meantime, the companies that run unblockers, proxies, and VPNs will operate a kind of guerilla war against Netflix's "evolving" methods for their detection. Netflix may even let them scurry back out of sight — it's tolerated their existence for this long, and the tough new stance could be a token effort.

Or it could spell the end for our carefree, country-hopping existence, and with it, the end of thousands of $9.99 subscriptions. That eventuality could be much worse for license and copyright holders, as people resort to illegally downloading movies and TV shows they previously paid to watch.

Ironic how Netflix stance turning paying customers into new pirates.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 28th, 2016, 9:56 pm

Coppershot wrote:Ironic how Netflix stance turning paying customers into new pirates.
it's the content owners that forcing netflix's hand. Netflix would never want to give up the millions of subscribers that pay for the service from another country

Netflix currently has 76 million subscribers worldwide
http://www.statista.com/statistics/2509 ... worldwide/

only 44 million of those are in the US.

plus you also have US subscribers who want to access UK and European content by using unblockers.

netflix is being forced to shoot itself in the foot... or maybe even in the head.

Postby S_2NR » January 29th, 2016, 10:00 pm

smartdnsproxy. netlfix down.
googledns. netflix working lol

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 29th, 2016, 10:59 pm

S_2NR wrote:smartdnsproxy. netlfix down.
nope, working for me.

Postby S_2NR » January 29th, 2016, 11:12 pm

....for now....

Coppershot

Postby Coppershot » January 29th, 2016, 11:24 pm

http://www.howtogeek.com/239616/how-to-watch-netflix-hulu-and-more-through-a-vpn-without-being-blocked/

Continue using a VPN service, but get a unique IP address: Some VPN services will offer a unique IP address to you for an additional fee. Look for services that offer a “dedicated IP address”, “dedicated IP”, or “static IP.” Services like these will allow you to keep watching Netflix through a VPN service, and they are by far the easiest solution.

Postby VexXx Dogg » January 30th, 2016, 3:35 pm

smartdns working for me, netflix borked twice because flow issued me new ips twice in 4 days, so I just needed to reactivate on interface.

Pablo660

Postby Pablo660 » January 31st, 2016, 7:40 am

Strangely its intermittent.
It works then it doesn't, I just switch between devices from one that doesn't to another. It only started when I mentioned it and still happening.
It's annoying when I want to watch in theater and wdtv player doesn't want to and have to switch to iPad or laptop.

Postby S_2NR » January 31st, 2016, 7:49 am

forced new ip. reactivated on smart dns and its working again

Postby ronsin1 » February 1st, 2016, 6:06 am

I have had no issues so far using unblockus