Re: oil prices falling

Postby nervewrecker » December 9th, 2014, 4:46 pm

RASC wrote:Still no panic yet?

Panic for what? UNC ran this nation on $9 us a barrel.

Finally!

We did fine back then and that's the reason why I wonder where has all this money been going over the last decade or so. Haven't seen much changes.

But prices of everything has increased over the years. Will it go back down?

Postby sMASH » December 9th, 2014, 5:18 pm

Inflation by deficit
Saudis are not to be blamed, its not their fault their is more supply than demand. They can tolerate it, its he other mofos who can't .

Postby zoom rader » December 9th, 2014, 6:03 pm

RASC wrote:Still no panic yet?

Panic for what? UNC ran this nation on $9 us a barrel.

Finally!

We did fine back then and that's the reason why I wonder where has all this money been going over the last decade or so. Haven't seen much changes.

But prices of everything has increased over the years. Will it go back down?

You need to ask PNM Where all the money went for the last decade.

Postby nervewrecker » December 9th, 2014, 7:01 pm

And about the last 4 years?

Postby zoom rader » December 10th, 2014, 6:15 pm

nervewrecker wrote:And about the last 4 years?

Look in the Government achievements chead for the last 4 years to seek your answer.

Postby toyolink » December 10th, 2014, 8:18 pm

The question which we must ask ourselves is;
What do I need to do to best withstand the impact if 'money gets tighter'?
The funny thing is when we as a country finally decided to confront the last major oil crash,this place achieved wonders.We actually became the light manufacturing kings of the region and proved ourselves to be extremely competitive.
Maybe this is what is required to get us back on track.

Postby sMASH » December 11th, 2014, 8:23 am

U expec'in dat wit dis food card and cepep generation...

... I expec'in bandit... So I bracing.

Postby crazybalhead » December 11th, 2014, 8:31 am

toyolink wrote:The question which we must ask ourselves is;
The funny thing is when we as a country finally decided to confront the last major oil crash,this place achieved wonders.We actually became the light manufacturing kings of the region and proved ourselves to be extremely competitive.

We also had to do without apples and grapes and nike and levi's. Swag will not allow this in 2014.

Postby zoom rader » December 11th, 2014, 12:56 pm

crazybalhead wrote:
toyolink wrote:The question which we must ask ourselves is;

We also had to do without apples and grapes and nike and levi's. Swag will not allow this in 2014.

Tuners here will not know of these things, its PNM legacy .

Postby Dizzy28 » December 11th, 2014, 1:27 pm

After the last oil crash VAT was introduced too!!
Maybe we will see the Property Tax back this rounds.

Postby sMASH » December 11th, 2014, 1:29 pm

Property tax is a must... Is just thwt PNM was doing it in an unscrupulous way.

Postby Habit7 » December 11th, 2014, 1:40 pm

sMASH wrote:Property tax is a must... Is just thwt PNM was doing it in an unscrupulous way.

How was it unscrupulous?

Postby nervewrecker » December 11th, 2014, 1:43 pm

I thought we a gas nation?

Postby zoom rader » December 11th, 2014, 1:47 pm

sMASH wrote:Property tax is a must... Is just thwt PNM was doing it in an unscrupulous way.

PNM was aiming the Tax at mostly the middle income & rich .
If you had a garage, air con at your home, number of bed rooms, number of bathroom/washrooms, the area you live in, cubic ft of home and fruit trees/garden . You was going to get taxed to the limit .
It was/is an unjust tax .
Laventille ppl /HDC pnm ppl would have paid jack chit where hard working ppl were going to pay.

These PNM clowns expect to bring this unjustified tax back.

The PNM people who are in support of this are mostly non home / HDC renting personnel who have no mortgage.

Expect PNM tobe silent on the tax issue.

Postby nervewrecker » December 11th, 2014, 1:49 pm

nervewrecker wrote:And about the last 4 years?

Look in the Government achievements chead for the last 4 years to seek your answer.

Finding some answers in teh corruption thread too....

Agreed?

Postby toyolink » December 11th, 2014, 4:08 pm

Unfortunately, when there is a money crunch all bets are off.
Social programs after election dysfunctionalism are at risks, soft taxation regimes will be under pressure and the known list goes on.
Ranting and raving will come to nought.
Those of us who are disciplined enough would stand a chance to weather the storm.
...No rocket science here!
Big ticket items with above average maintenance costs are quickly going to erode both public and individual purses.

Postby sMASH » December 11th, 2014, 5:45 pm

The fliers and hand outs were minimally guiding that it would have been based on the rentable value of ur property
That would have been based on normal things like location, access to schools. Proximity to things like pricemart, malls, cities, bush, dumps, drugs zones, etc.

These things are external to your property and u have no control of them after u had acquired your property.

It is very inconsiderate to tax me more because other places developed, when my income had not grown proportionally.

Then there are the internal things to your property that you DO have control over. Number of bathrooms, bedrooms, televisions, cable, water tanks, cars, if your have AC , number of floors, if u tiled off, what kind of tiles, burglar proof, camera system... If your house concrete or wood or galvanize.
It doesn't matter if u work for a large salary, u won the lotto, you inherit it from a dead uncle, you save up from ever with your measley salary, everybody put up over the years and made life comfortable.
The valuator takes what your property consists of to decide your tax. It doesn't matter how it got there. Meagre properties would be deemed less of a rentable value and get less.
(mind you, government did not put a cent towards your property, yet tax u for making it comfortable)

The biggest kicker I got was after all the calculations, a valuator still has to asign a dollar value based on his 'judgement' .
All the calculating would have just been a rouse and depending on the mood of the valuator on the day, at the time, would be your tax.

Not to mention, if if somebody don't like you and able to 'influence' the man. Or other people able to 'influence'him when is time to do theirs.

The COP fought hard to get the point out that the property tax, as PNM intended, was unfair.

But all this was covered in the property tax thread already.

...unless it lost the battle with autoprune

I am not against the property tax. I am against the PNM version of it where it is determined subjectively by a person, and taxes what is there on the land,neverminding how much struggle and ban-belly it took to get there.

It made assumption that people who had nice things came upon that easily. And it greedily asserts that if u live close to a developed area that u should pay more.

As I had stated before, property tax should have a value determined by two factors . The classification of your property I.e. If it is residential, comercial, industrial , or agricultural.
The other factor is the area occupied.

(a man who working hard everyday and saving to make his abode comfortable should not have to pay more tax than a man who fetes and squanders his money and lives modestly, when they both have the same income.)

Postby sMASH » December 11th, 2014, 6:18 pm

Postby RASC » December 11th, 2014, 6:49 pm

Is a good thing some of allyuh doh live in the states yes.

Postby zoom rader » December 11th, 2014, 7:03 pm

sMASH wrote:The fliers and hand outs were minimally guiding that it would have been based on the rentable value of ur property
That would have been based on normal things like location, access to schools. Proximity to things like pricemart, malls, cities, bush, dumps, drugs zones, etc.

These things are external to your property and u have no control of them after u had acquired your property.

It is very inconsiderate to tax me more because other places developed, when my income had not grown proportionally.

Then there are the internal things to your property that you DO have control over. Number of bathrooms, bedrooms, televisions, cable, water tanks, cars, if your have AC , number of floors, if u tiled off, what kind of tiles, burglar proof, camera system... If your house concrete or wood or galvanize.
It doesn't matter if u work for a large salary, u won the lotto, you inherit it from a dead uncle, you save up from ever with your measley salary, everybody put up over the years and made life comfortable.
The valuator takes what your property consists of to decide your tax. It doesn't matter how it got there. Meagre properties would be deemed less of a rentable value and get less.
(mind you, government did not put a cent towards your property, yet tax u for making it comfortable)

The biggest kicker I got was after all the calculations, a valuator still has to asign a dollar value based on his 'judgement' .
All the calculating would have just been a rouse and depending on the mood of the valuator on the day, at the time, would be your tax.

Not to mention, if if somebody don't like you and able to 'influence' the man. Or other people able to 'influence'him when is time to do theirs.

The COP fought hard to get the point out that the property tax, as PNM intended, was unfair.

I am not against the property tax. I am against the PNM version of it where it is determined subjectively by a person, and taxes what is there on the land,neverminding how much struggle and ban-belly it took to get there.

It made assumption that people who had nice things came upon that easily. And it greedily asserts that if u live close to a developed area that u should pay more.

As I had stated before, property tax should have a value determined by two factors . The classification of your property I.e. If it is residential, comercial, industrial , or agricultural.

(a man who working hard everyday and saving to make his abode comfortable should not have to pay more tax than a man who fetes and squanders his money and lives modestly, when they both have the same income.)

I understand what you are saying, but here on tuner Habit7 and Rasc think otherwise. To habit7 he believes pp are hoarding their properties and that way ppl can't afford to buy, so government must tax them to keep prices down. What a silly PNM logic once again.

This tax was aimed at the well todo and mostly indians. It is a racist tax.

The public needs to understand what this unjustified PNM tax means , they have already stated it will be back under their 2030 vision.

I suspect PNM will not mention this in their upcoming campaign, but the properties owners know otherwise.
This tax will once again sink them.

The PP needs to make every effort to get the public to understand that PNM Will be bringing this tax back.

orangefox

Postby orangefox » December 11th, 2014, 7:14 pm

sMASH wrote:The fliers and hand outs were minimally guiding that it would have been based on the rentable value of ur property

I understand what you are saying, but here on tuner Habit7 and Rasc think otherwise. To habit7 he believes pp are hoarding their properties and that way ppl can't afford to buy, so government must tax them to keep prices down. What a silly PNM logic once again.

This tax was aimed at the well todo and mostly indians. It is a racist tax.

The public needs to understand what this unjustified PNM tax means , they have already stated it will be back under their 2030 vision.

I suspect PNM will not mention this in their upcoming campaign, but the properties owners know otherwise.
This tax will once again sink them.

The PP needs to make every effort to get the public to understand that PNM Will be bringing this tax back.

Yes. Gov't will tax and tax. They may also raise VAT .

Postby RASC » December 11th, 2014, 7:21 pm

Well don't think y'all would have any issue. PP going back in power.
There's no way they'd institute a racist tax.

Postby sMASH » December 11th, 2014, 8:16 pm

I disagree. PNM getting landslide seats, but not landslide votes. Voter turn out would be low. Both sides would get lower votes hand before but unc would be even less.

This would be one of the few times that PNM wound be getting back into office with a declined economy that not gonna be able to boost back up.

Postby RASC » December 11th, 2014, 8:21 pm

sMASH wrote:I disagree. PNM getting landslide seats, but not landslide votes. Voter turn out would be low. Both sides would get lower votes hand before but unc would be even less.

This would be one of the few times that PNM wound be getting back into office with a declined economy that not gonna be able to boost back up.

Well according to ZR and UML data you're dead wrong.
PNM is a minority party with minimal chance.

Postby sMASH » December 11th, 2014, 8:31 pm

Ha!

PNM has more stalwarts. Unc has proportionally moody voters. The votes that swung it away from PNM last general election rounds, are disenchanted.
That is enough to give PNM the edge come next general.

Th coalition gimmick got us to try something new. But we see is the same khaki pants, so we not doing it again.

Me, if I not defacing my ballot, I might give NCT a chance

orangefox

Postby orangefox » December 11th, 2014, 8:32 pm

So get back to Oil nah !

Repsol was NOT fazed . They understand a business cycle. Most tuners don't.

Postby RASC » December 11th, 2014, 8:34 pm

sMASH wrote:Ha!

PNM has more stalwarts. Unc has proportionally moody voters. The votes that swung it away from PNM last general election rounds, are disenchanted.
That is enough to give PNM the edge come next general.

Th coalition gimmick got us to try something new. But we see is the same khaki pants, so we not doing it again.

Me, if I not defacing my ballot, I might give NCT a chance

This contradicts everything they've been saying.

orangefox

Postby orangefox » December 11th, 2014, 8:39 pm

Postby The_Honourable » December 11th, 2014, 8:50 pm

sMASH wrote:I disagree. PNM getting landslide seats, but not landslide votes. Voter turn out would be low. Both sides would get lower votes hand before but unc would be even less.

If the PNM does get into power and things get worse, it would be really interesting to see what they will do. Would they touch CEPEP? URP? GATE? Because the PP would not touch them at all since elections are coming. I would fully understand if adjustments would have to be made if things keep declining but will the pnm supporters understand it? Rowley would be vilified similar to Robinson.

If the PP gets back into office and things keep declining, CEPEP, URP, GATE etc would have to get shaft eventually and of course, Kamla would be vilified also.

The IDB already say we are over-generous with out social programmes. Are we going to dip into the Heritage & Stabilization Fund? Worse if we go to the IMF... austerity like dah!
Last edited by The_Honourable on December 11th, 2014, 8:53 pm, edited 1 time in total.

orangefox

Postby orangefox » December 11th, 2014, 8:52 pm

^^ All those are PNM programs.