Discussion: LCD/LED/OLED 4k 8K UHD HDR TV Tech

Re: Question for the LCD/LED/4k Ultra TV Techies

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 28th, 2014, 6:10 pm

sMASH wrote:... ehem, u mean, couldn't be moar...
come nah man

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 28th, 2014, 6:12 pm

gastly369 wrote:
16 cycles wrote:http://www.amazon.com/Samsung-UN40HU6950-40-Inch-Friday-Special/dp/B00PMEL5FS/ref=sr_1_1?s=tv&ie=UTF8&qid=1417089570&sr=1-1&keywords=4k+tv

40" 4K for 600USD

dunno if it make sense at that size....but thaz a superb price for a 4k tv

edit_ read the reviews....seems some marketing employed to sell the tv ...
a good source just told me that Pricesmart will have a Quasar 55" 4K LED TV for TT$6500 tomorrow alone as part of their Black Friday sale. Available at all branches, Movietowne, Mausica, Price Plaza and La Romaine.

Ummm that quasar brand any good?

Saw something about "by" Motorola

Sold like hops bread today at pricemart
problem is that there is no HDMI 2.0 port on it.

HDMI 2.0 is needed to get 4K at 60Hz
So that means this TV will run 4K at only 30Hz

lancer3

Postby lancer3 » November 28th, 2014, 7:51 pm

duane do ur plasma make a buzzing sound, keep seeing where ppl say the buzzing is fairly loud.

I am stuck between the PN60F8500 & UN65H7150 both at around $1500 usd. Don't think a 4k tv makes sense currently.

Postby sMASH » November 28th, 2014, 8:53 pm

Well if hdmi 2.0 is necessary, fleck all dis!
I
Will
Wait.

LG LED/LCD SMART TV'S (Mid-Range)

Postby 112 » November 30th, 2014, 8:36 pm

Any advice on which ones are
ok to buy?

Re: LG LED/LCD SMART TV'S (Mid-Range)

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 30th, 2014, 8:41 pm

112 wrote:Any advice on which ones are
ok to buy?
check this link posted higher up in this thread
http://www.cnet.com/topics/tvs/best-tvs/

lancer3

Re: Discussion: LCD/LED/4k Ultra TV Tech

Postby lancer3 » November 30th, 2014, 11:35 pm

lancer3 wrote:duane do ur plasma make a buzzing sound, if so how loud

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 1st, 2014, 12:05 am

lancer3 wrote:
lancer3 wrote:duane do ur plasma make a buzzing sound, if so how loud
buzzing? Not at all.

Postby 16 cycles » December 1st, 2014, 6:49 am

if you getting a 60" pnf8500 at 1500usd....buy 2

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 1st, 2014, 7:11 pm

lancer3 wrote:duane do ur plasma make a buzzing sound, keep seeing where ppl say the buzzing is fairly loud.

I am stuck between the PN60F8500 & UN65H7150 both at around $1500 usd. Don't think a 4k tv makes sense currently.
the UN65H7150 is around US$1500

but the PN60F8500 is US$2900 on Amazon. it is one of the best picture quality panels available today

there really is no comparison between one of the best showing plasmas and an LED TV

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » December 2nd, 2014, 11:19 pm

Premchand1976 wrote:so I'm considering a new tv, I presently have a 46 inch Toshiba from BestBuy but kinda wanna upgrade

I know 4k is the latest and cleanest pic quality BUT my question is :

1. Does this quality apply through cable tv OR only when viewing movies via DVD/Blu-ray player ?

I have the TV and blu ray combo and the quality is BEST at present.....just kinda treating myself to A new one.

I'm considering a 60-80 inch TV and want some opinions regarding the picture view on same. I know some TV's kinda stretch the pics on both ends and it looks like the characters are FAT and blurred.

ANy ideas and reviews on buying a good size without jepoardising quality and maximizing the true 4k ultra quality ?

I also saw some TV's with the capability of 4k ultra showing ( pricesmart and online )

Thanks

60-80 inch tv? why not just get a led projector and setup a lil cinema room. 60-150" based on how far from the wall u place it. doesnt need a screen because the led creates it's own colours. even shows on coloured walls just fine. this was the best choice for me. very enjoyable movie time.

scotty_buttons

Discussion: LCD/LED/4k Ultra TV Tech

Postby scotty_buttons » December 2nd, 2014, 11:42 pm

Hmm. Projectors vs TVs.. Quality? Value for money? Practicality? Opinions ? Etc.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » December 3rd, 2014, 12:32 am

scotty_buttons wrote:Hmm. Projectors vs TVs.. Quality? Value for money? Practicality? Opinions ? Etc.

i have a mid-spec projector, cost a lil over $2000 for a max150" screen. for me that was a major selling point when you compare tv cost.

pros, it''s easy to move around or transport to a friend's house for gaming etc, cost less for larger screen pic, fully practical once you could control the lighting in the room. in terms of inches for $, its definitely the best bang for your buck

cons for $2000 the picture isnt as good as an hd tv, but not bad based on how far from the screen you're sitting. would have to get a higher end one on averag 5-$10k for very high quality pic.

bought a digital galaxy one as a test of the product. my rating is a pass. reliable, quiet and can deliver from 20,000 to 50,000 hrs before the lamp needs changing. no complaints really. also runs very cool.

all in all, the bigger the screen the better the experience. i used it around 100inch size on average. lifesize porn is also possible and a bit disturbing lol

60-75inches
lights off

lights on

11-12feet screen

GLANIMAL

Postby GLANIMAL » December 3rd, 2014, 3:16 am

bluesclues wrote:
scotty_buttons wrote:Hmm. Projectors vs TVs.. Quality? Value for money? Practicality? Opinions ? Etc.

i have a mid-spec projector, cost a lil over $2000 for a max150" screen. for me that was a major selling point when you compare tv cost.

pros, it''s easy to move around or transport to a friend's house for gaming etc, cost less for larger screen pic, fully practical once you could control the lighting in the room. in terms of inches for $, its definitely the best bang for your buck

cons for $2000 the picture isnt as good as an hd tv, but not bad based on how far from the screen you're sitting. would have to get a higher end one on averag 5-$10k for very high quality pic.

bought a digital galaxy one as a test of the product. my rating is a pass. reliable, quiet and can deliver from 20,000 to 50,000 hrs before the lamp needs changing. no complaints really. also runs very cool.

all in all, the bigger the screen the better the experience. i used it around 100inch size on average. lifesize porn is also possible and a bit disturbing lol

60-75inches
lights off

lights on

11-12feet screen

if you don't mind me asking, what projector is this

is either those picture you took bad, or the quality of the projector sucks. which one

and as duane said before : garbage in equals garbage out

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » December 3rd, 2014, 4:51 am

it's digital galaxy led projector, the quality isnt bad at all but as i said, you can get higher quality for higher price 5k to $10k range. these projectors in the 2k range do just fine for watching movies and playing games, but arent meant for things like classrom presentations. for 2k you get the best picturequality/screensize/bang for buck imo.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 3rd, 2014, 2:16 pm

A projector is not practical for a living room setup.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » December 3rd, 2014, 3:07 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:A projector is not practical for a living room setup.

well you have to know yuh setup. i dont use that wall i have a theatre room. just moved it to demonstrate maximum screen size. i use it in my bedroom sometimes. the very large screen is very enjoyable and you see the pimples on actresses face through the makeup and all lol. girl who skin looking smooth smooth on tv lol

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » December 3rd, 2014, 4:00 pm

all that from 576p?

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » December 3rd, 2014, 5:03 pm

ru$$ell wrote:all that from 576p?

nah this is 720p on that dvd player. 1080p via hdmi.

Postby X2 » December 3rd, 2014, 5:15 pm

Whaaaaatttt ?

I may have to cancel my plans for December...

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » December 3rd, 2014, 5:26 pm

bluesclues wrote:

even worse,dvd's are only 480 :lol:

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » December 3rd, 2014, 6:07 pm

ru$$ell wrote:
bluesclues wrote:

even worse,dvd's are only 480 :lol:

lol u might be right. i got it out of china to play divx/mp4/mp3/karaoke when players didnt yet have that feature. still working must be 10 yrs strong lol

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 4th, 2014, 12:20 am

X2 wrote:

Whaaaaatttt ?

I may have to cancel my plans for December...
what were your December plans?

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » December 4th, 2014, 3:38 am

now watching back the pic and realize it is a bit fuzzy. my cam would be to blame. 8mp on a motorola droid 4.

ziggy_dappa

Postby ziggy_dappa » December 5th, 2014, 11:20 am

Will give you all some updates on this soon, am setting up a Benq W1070 projector in my light controlled media room on a DIY screen.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 5th, 2014, 12:30 pm

ziggy_dappa wrote:Will give you all some updates on this soon, am setting up a Benq W1070 projector in my light controlled media room on a DIY screen.
subscribed!

what are you using for the screen?

I was looking at this
http://www.da-lite.com/screen-surfaces/ ... ressive-11

Postby SmokeyGTi » December 5th, 2014, 1:47 pm

To me sound plays a bigger part in the home theatre experience than screen size and picture quality.
Watching a 4kTV whose speakers sound like an a.m. radio not gonna cut it. rather watch a crt or 180p tv with a good sound system.

ziggy_dappa

Postby ziggy_dappa » December 5th, 2014, 1:57 pm

Am using the SW7071 Grey Screen paint as discussed in the below link:

http://www.hometheatershack.com/forums/ ... tions.html

This will be applied over primed MFD and still deciding on what screen size as anything over 100" would require me to join another piece to the sheet of MDF. (room size 16x17 ft).

This may be a temporary solution as I need something to watch when I move in my house for Christmas but depending on screen performance I may upgrade.

The media room is a work in progress all have so far is the projector and a Denon AVR-E400 but no decent speakers yet.

Premchand1976

Postby Premchand1976 » January 6th, 2015, 2:05 pm

what's the difference with :

Full array LED, Direct LED and Razor LED ? Which would you buy and why ?

Advent

Postby Advent » January 6th, 2015, 3:13 pm

Trinis have 55 inch and coasting i have a big screen sammy or sony or LLLLLG and watching dvd and pirate cam, but know nothing about blu ray and find them to expensive when they know about it wtf

ziggy interested in your pictures as well. i run an Acer H5360 amazing picture quality, evening in daylight, its only 720p but my source is blu rays so, but as another guy said sound is important, currently running a 5.1 1000watt HTIB i bought for 600tt in courts in curepe (downstairs) the difference with dts from dvd and from blu ray is wow