S_2NR wrote:desifemlove wrote:Trini Hookah wrote:desifemlove wrote:Free means more people going, more people getting degrees, better economic productivity...
Issue is education and its structure, anybody can cram to pass exam, no mean dey no sheit bout de subject...same world over, not jus UWI...
Productivity? More like doing for doing sake, little to no passion. To eventually go into a saturated job market and complain.
Iz economics 101, more educated people means higher productivity...
That was the intention. But unfortunately not the result.
Ronaldo95163 wrote:So you're saying that education should only be made available to those who can afford it???
Trini Hookah wrote:desifemlove wrote:Free means more people going, more people getting degrees, better economic productivity...
Issue is education and its structure, anybody can cram to pass exam, no mean dey no sheit bout de subject...same world over, not jus UWI...
Productivity? More like doing for doing sake, little to no passion. To eventually go into a saturated job market and complain.
nervewrecker wrote:Ronaldo95163 wrote:So you're saying that education should only be made available to those who can afford it???
Have thing called work, you get pay for it. Teaches you discipline and you appreciate what you getting.
There are various loans you could take and it had the dollar for dollar system.
Rich or poor it does not affect your ability to learn. Could be how rich if yuh dunce the poor guy will cut your ass.
sound boy 64 wrote:Isn't that what the people in the states do?
There's student loans and what not?
Makes you learn the value of education and takes discipline
nervewrecker wrote:Ronaldo95163 wrote:So you're saying that education should only be made available to those who can afford it???
Have thing called work, you get pay for it. Teaches you discipline and you appreciate what you getting.
Rich or poor it does not affect your ability to learn. Could be how rich if yuh dunce the poor guy will cut your ass.
zoom rader wrote:^^^ All pnm ideas are good .we have free education in trini but who's making use of it.
desifemlove wrote:zoom rader wrote:^^^ All pnm ideas are good .we have free education in trini but who's making use of it.
All indos is rich? Dude, I studied in both UTT and SBCS, most students Afro and Indo got GATE....and even if a student's family rich, yuh ent tink s/he still getting GATE when it open to all?
Ronaldo95163 wrote:nervewrecker wrote:Ronaldo95163 wrote:So you're saying that education should only be made available to those who can afford it???
So if you come outta Upper 6(didn't get a schol) from a poor family that can't afford to send you to UWI but you bright....you supposed to go work part time @ 18/19 years old just to send yourself to school???
Ronaldo95163 wrote:nervewrecker wrote:Ronaldo95163 wrote:So you're saying that education should only be made available to those who can afford it???
So if you come outta Upper 6(didn't get a schol) from a poor family that can't afford to send you to UWI but you bright....you supposed to go work part time @ 18/19 years old just to send yourself to school???
area6 wrote:I think it's backwards ,secondary should have gotten tablets and tertiary the laptops , because I sure as hell not typing no thesis on a blasted tablet , plus the cd to submit our project which is required by most tertiary levels , just another misguided idea and damn straight all them youths going to use it for porn and selfies .
S_2NR wrote:Ronaldo95163 wrote:nervewrecker wrote:Ronaldo95163 wrote:So you're saying that education should only be made available to those who can afford it???
Don't worry. When ur piss start to froth you will understand
X2 wrote:Ronaldo95163 wrote:nervewrecker wrote:Ronaldo95163 wrote:So you're saying that education should only be made available to those who can afford it???
Ummm... YES.... what you feel it is ?
I worked FULL TIME to pay my way through college, did not live with parents and managed to maintain a vehicle.... as have many other people.... without a laptop either.
I can also speak English very well... proper spelling and grammar... no rum shop speak here... can't say the same for the vast majority of young degree holders on the market today.
A tablet or laptop is not an educational requirement or necessity. Maybe at a tertiary level, but if one can afford to buy lotto tickets, cigarettes and go fete... they can afford to buy their own electronics. A $1000 smartphone can surf the internet too... but do these tablets come with free nationwide wifi ?
still a requirement up to the end of the last academic year at UWI. Recall they still have PCs using XP in some parts.RASC wrote:area6 wrote:I think it's backwards ,secondary should have gotten tablets and tertiary the laptops , because I sure as hell not typing no thesis on a blasted tablet , plus the cd to submit our project which is required by most tertiary levels , just another misguided idea and damn straight all them youths going to use it for porn and selfies .
Side Question:
Still using CD in 2014?
Ronaldo95163 wrote:Working @ 18/19???
Nah allyuh mad yes
hustla_ambition101 wrote:Ronaldo95163 wrote:Working @ 18/19???
Nah allyuh mad yes
You on real folly, first thing I did after A's was start sending out applications, I got a job but it wasn't feasible and I could afford to pay for tuition so I left the job and did uwi full time. Not only is working and paying for tuition a great idea for credit worthiness, you also have work experience when your degree is complete giving you an edge. Lots of these newbie degree holders entering the workplace thinking its a big lime.
but who wasting the money there? The Govt or the students?Ronaldo95163 wrote:Steups
Them chirren does hardly even use the laptops. I used to see them mostly playing game on it during break and lunch time. Some does be watching blues and all. The government just wasting money on it...now they coming to waste more on this stupid idea
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:but who wasting the money there? The Govt or the students?Ronaldo95163 wrote:Steups
Them chirren does hardly even use the laptops. I used to see them mostly playing game on it during break and lunch time. Some does be watching blues and all. The government just wasting money on it...now they coming to waste more on this stupid idea
If it was a free book and the student wasn't utilizing it properly then you'd say the student wasting it. What's different?
Trinidad pioneers online 'knowledge network'
By Sean Coughlan
BBC News education correspondent
28 May 2014 Last updated at 17:46
Trinidad is going to have the first online learning network designed for an entire country
Trinidad and Tobago in the West Indies is pioneering an ambitious online learning project.
Coursera, one of the biggest online university course providers, is forming a partnership with the government to provide a network of online learning materials across the Caribbean country.
Minister of Tertiary Education, Fazal Karim, said it would raise the skills needed for the country to compete.
Mr Karim said it would open up a "world of opportunity" for Trinidad.
Coursera is a major provider of so-called Moocs - massive open online courses - that offer online university courses free. The US-based company now has almost eight million students registered.
Help from mentors
But this project in Trinidad will be the first time that a Mooc system will have been designed for an entire country, described as a "national knowledge network".
And Lila Ibrahim, of Coursera, says that it could be a model for creating education networks in other countries.
In Trinidad, Coursera is working with the government and the University of Trinidad and Tobago to provide online courses, learning materials and television programmes.
There will be learning centres on the university campuses where students will be able to get help from mentors.
There will also be accreditation and college credits from the online courses.
It will be promoted by the knowledge.tt website, which will be a gateway to free online courses in areas such as business, technology, computer programming, entrepreneurship and music.
Mr Karim said it was a "very important step" for Trinidad, which is already on target to have 60% of young people participating in further and higher education by next year.
Improving skills
There is a one-laptop-per-child project at school level, which is using educational technology in the classroom.
But he said it was vital to use online learning to improve the vocational skills needed to make the economy competitive.
The message was that "you can learn as you earn and you can earn more learning", he said.
The challenge for countries such as Trinidad and Tobago was "how do we move from low skills and low wages to high skills and high wages?"
In the past there had been correspondence courses and then distance learning from the Open University, but now he said it was the era of the "internet campus".
Any geographical distance or isolation was removed by online learning, the minister said.
Ms Ibrahim said this was a "world-leading and unique" scheme - and that locating it in Trinidad was a reflection of the country's willingness to experiment with the idea of online learning.
"We wanted to work with groups who will the move the ball forward most quickly," she said.