S.E.A. Student Commits sucicide

Re: S.E.A. Student Commits sucicide

Postby Dizzy28 » May 9th, 2014, 2:31 pm

If I had MG Man as a peer..........ohh the possibilities!!!!

INHUMAN

Postby INHUMAN » May 9th, 2014, 2:46 pm

13yrs n now writing sea....mussbe a slowlearner or latebloomer

kerwindaboss

Postby kerwindaboss » May 9th, 2014, 3:17 pm

whyteliver wrote:kid did himself a favor.....life would have kicked his arse
you should kill yourself

Xander_25

Postby Xander_25 » May 9th, 2014, 3:45 pm

It's sad that he took his life and it is true that there is a bit of stress that comes with the exam, but, that's life. If he didn't have stress now, he would have stress later on at some point. I think the exam is not at fault but rather the pressure his family must have placed on him. When they were reporting it last night (TV6), they stated that some of his family members had thrown talk at him, indicating in no less words that they expected him to fail. This would have sent anyone over the edge. As a parent, I do place emphasis on my children's education but I do my best to ensure that they are always at ease and are positively reinforced. I've seen my daughter cry at school work simply because it was new and she was not sure about doing it, but I have always encouraged her not to give up despite the difficulty. Now she gets tops in her class. Parents have to be a lot more closer and a lot more encouraging of their kids no matter their learning level. And all work and no play makes for a dull child. There is such a thing as too much school work. I've seen many of my former classmates buckle and breakdown when they came second instead of first in test at secondary school. That is just crazy.

Postby X_Factor » May 9th, 2014, 4:30 pm

rodfarva wrote:Common Entrance/SEA was and is a lot of pressure. So what? Life aint easy. Study hard and get into a good school.
Its not the end of the world if you dont. A motivated student can still excel even if he/she doesnt get into one of the first choice schools.

dougla_boy wrote:
Dizzy28 wrote:Passing for your 1st choice school is bollocks. When you reach 20 and over it don't start to matter what secondary school you went. Once you start to get job experience it matters even less.
Doh be talkin sense nah.....

:lol: This is NOT sense.
Whatever school we attended must have an impact on our lives.
Thats like saying you spent 5 (or 7) years somewhere and it had no effect on you at all. Seen or unseen, it did.

ent,
even though it doesnt appear to have a substantial influence when you start to work
just imagine had you gone to a grimey secondary school instead of the one you went....
with the level of bullying, peer pressure and classes that does not have teachers for sometimes a term or more and the other stuff that goes on there......would you have been the same individual today?

Postby S_2NR » May 9th, 2014, 5:16 pm

Trini Hookah wrote:
Sabriel wrote:Youth man was weak in mind..plain and simple .

children with no arms have excelled with flying colors..in tdad.

Comparing two people who's story you have no idea of is as asinine as the statement bolded above.

You actually take time to reply to she?

DTAC

Postby DTAC » May 9th, 2014, 9:15 pm

SEA had NOTHING to do with it. Absolutely nothing. That is a smoke screen put up to hide the actual reason.

Postby supercharged turbo » May 9th, 2014, 11:26 pm

Which is?

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » May 10th, 2014, 12:30 am

natural selection

Postby mero » May 10th, 2014, 1:51 am

kjaglal76v2 wrote:natural selection

2soon

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » May 10th, 2014, 7:03 am

we don't need no education.....
haseib786 wrote:
The Education Minister's communication's manger Alicia Busby told the Express............

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/SEA ... 59281.html

jm3

Postby jm3 » May 10th, 2014, 10:24 am

Halfbreed07 wrote:
dougla_boy wrote:
X_Factor wrote:when u all have kids you will understand that SEA in its present format is the most important exam you will have to write..

remember unlike other exams, its a placement exam...meaning you do good you go to a good school...do bad....bad school....and depending on the school you go to...it does have SOME influence on your learning.....add the factor that you compete with maybe 8000 other kids
so when parents go overboard....you'll understand why.....and its compounded x10 if some family member does good when he/she wrote....... even more pressure on the kid to live up to standard

but at the same time, a parent should know the emotional and educational strength of their child and should push/guide accordingly

its sad news that the kid took his own life......it just reinforces that parents need to really need to have quality time with their child and balance the book with recreation

Passing for your 1st choice school is bollocks. When you reach 20 and over it don't start to matter what secondary school you went. Once you start to get job experience it matters even less.

Doh be talkin sense nah.....

Lol lol lol lol.
All my years of working no one ever ask me wah school I went, far less how much cxc passes I have.
Those things only matter in the sufferer world and public service.

^This
how could secondary school education still be relevant after completing tertiary education and gaining work experience?

Postby Chimera » May 10th, 2014, 10:27 am

MG Man wrote:peer influence is a heluva thing

yes it is

Postby nemisis » May 10th, 2014, 2:22 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:
MG Man wrote:peer influence is a heluva thing