Customs and Excise Officer Entrance Exam

Re: Customs and Excise Officer Entrance Exam

Postby pete » May 10th, 2014, 1:37 pm

Thanks to this government it's all computerised now. You might be able to pass a little something for goods under 20k but once it's over that you need to do a declaration.

de_dougla_smurf

Postby de_dougla_smurf » May 10th, 2014, 7:03 pm

pete wrote:Thanks to this government it's all computerised now. You might be able to pass a little something for goods under 20k but once it's over that you need to do a declaration.

If you poor.

raechel

Postby raechel » May 10th, 2014, 7:45 pm

if u don't mind me asking where do u get application forms for customs????? :?:

Postby nervewrecker » May 10th, 2014, 7:48 pm

What do you look like?

I happen to have a few....

Postby pioneer » May 10th, 2014, 10:40 pm

Lucky you, I heard the last customs forms finished on weds morning.

css011

Postby css011 » May 11th, 2014, 2:23 pm

Hi all, I've been feverishly studying for this exam ever since I received my letter. I was not able to find any tests or guidance online apart from the laws and general information provided by the customs and excise official Web page, ministry of finance...etc. So I've been using what was available to me. I just stumbled across this thread after I decided to try once more for other information. Although I do understand some people's views on spoon feeding in the thread and respect that...I'm not trying to be told exactly what's coming. I was just hoping that if there are any copies of past papers or useful information not easily obtained out there that someone would be willing to share. Apart from that, I've created my own study guide/test which covers the information I've had access to thus far . It's comprised of multiple choice, essay type and fill in the blank type questions. My aim was to really test myself on the information and I used the letter to influence my guide. I'm already up to over 80 questions, a port and acronym study sheet as well. Whew! Sorry for the long message but if anybody needs help and thinks that I can help them I'm willing to share and I do hope I get some feedback as well, even though I was late in getting here

Postby nervewrecker » May 11th, 2014, 2:33 pm

you female?

shadkb

Postby shadkb » May 11th, 2014, 6:28 pm

For anyone who's willing to share any information, i have some tips.

css011

Postby css011 » May 11th, 2014, 8:21 pm

As I said before, I am in need of asdistance and willing to share information so you can message me at your convenience of you're still interested in doing that. Thanks

kaiza

Postby kaiza » May 11th, 2014, 8:49 pm

The exam is simple and straigh forward. Just know the CIF formular and duties. Everything on the websire fi reference. Good luck.

css011

Postby css011 » May 11th, 2014, 8:57 pm

Thank you for the tip, much appreciated

droppa

Postby droppa » May 11th, 2014, 9:26 pm

CSS we will link tomorrow

css011

Postby css011 » May 11th, 2014, 11:27 pm

No problem

jvr23

Postby jvr23 » May 12th, 2014, 2:42 pm

css011 can u plz share ur info wit me i need help

mitch1980

Postby mitch1980 » May 12th, 2014, 3:02 pm

css011 wrote:As I said before, I am in need of asdistance and willing to share information so you can message me at your convenience of you're still interested in doing that. Thanks

Hope you learn to spell before you get this job.

Sad some trini people here like the easy way out.

pioneer wrote:Allyuh even aware of the salary?

So much ambition on chuna

Salary that not important, its the overtime and greasing thats important.

Leh dem do that when de Authority kick in

Why people think they recruiting all of a sudden

Pios this is trini where the culture is carnival and corruption, they will find a way to fiddle the system. Morality and integrity is not used in trini.

Exactly no one asked about the salary range etc.

slim22

Postby slim22 » May 13th, 2014, 3:05 am

Hello css011 i am studying right now for the exam can we discuss some stuff?

css011

Postby css011 » May 13th, 2014, 3:13 am

Jvr23 I don't mind sharing my material. I'm sorry I didn't see your message sooner but I will contact you, no problem. Also, if anyone has messaged me and I have not gotten back to you as yet please send me a gentle reminder.

Mitch1980, luckily for me you seemed to have missed a grammatical error in one of my previous posts as well but thank you for the spelling tip. I look forward to your second post in the thread as I'm sure it will address the topic at hand. It's great that you are available to spell check our posts. Let me know if you're willing to proof read any of my answers to some practice test questions. Any constructive criticism coming from such a sharp mind can only help my efforts.

css011

Postby css011 » May 13th, 2014, 3:20 am

Sure slim22. I've got a few minutes now, just message me and I will get back to you

biskrem

Postby biskrem » May 13th, 2014, 4:18 pm

was browsin through this thread...

realized that not only me was in sheit street with regards to this exam....thing is....everything is there but its so scattered that you can barely focus on just what exactly you need to learn....

to my understanding there are 10 laws.....and i guess we can start there :)

GOAT

Postby GOAT » May 13th, 2014, 6:14 pm

Is this really worth it?
About 5000 of us were chosen to write it.
Those who have connections will get in.
Best of luck guys and girls, I sure need it.

css011

Postby css011 » May 13th, 2014, 6:57 pm

I heard the total count was around 7000. But who knows, sometimes people tend to exaggerate things especially in these matters. The information is pretty scattered but at the end of the day, we can do our best and hope that carries us through to the next phase. But I can definitely relate. The number of applicants selected against the number of people expected to go through is very overwhelming. If it helps at all, its probably three times as difficult to be rich and famous, and if making it big aint have nothing to do with links and politics at some point then I dont know what does! But that certainly doesn't stop a few million people from trying. Lol. Hope that helped to take some of the edge off. Just a few more days, Good luck to you all

de_burr

Postby de_burr » May 13th, 2014, 7:35 pm

Css 011 would u mine sharing Ur info... I am at a lost atm.

mitch1980

Postby mitch1980 » May 13th, 2014, 8:25 pm

Cs011. .you learnt to spell....or spell check. ..
Great

It's a simple one time exam. People here claim they have the paper and hints. ..for a simple one time exam.

Do you really believe that you get by in life for a job with that being enough?

You seem young and focused on one thing.

Try and study with what is available to you and make something of yourself.

I am not saying the customs job not important to society but don't stop there

You have free tuition for tertiary education. 11 years ago it was 24000 per year for management degree at uwi. That loan took years to repay. ..

So don't try to get the easy way out. It's a sickening mentality that many trinis develop

css011

Postby css011 » May 13th, 2014, 9:23 pm

Blurr have you visited the customs and excise official site?
Last edited by css011 on May 13th, 2014, 9:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.

vi1012

Postby vi1012 » May 13th, 2014, 9:37 pm

http://www.scd.org.tt/index.php/en/care ... ayout=blog

I see on this site they say there is a syllabus that is supposed to be made available. Anyone know anything about this???

css011

Postby css011 » May 13th, 2014, 9:37 pm

Blurr message me and I will try to accommodate you. I will be very busy the rest of the week so I may not check in very frequently.

Mitch1980, it's a disservice to lump everyone in a general negative statement about trinis. While I respect everyone's right to an opinion, it's just plain reckless to assume that all trinis or even the majority have subjected themselves to lazy practices and environments. If that's the case we can assume that you must either be part of the minority or more than likely part of the majority that's not practicing what you preach. Lastly, how unfortunate for you that you must assume everyone slated to sit the exam or applying to customs has not either been through some sort of tertiary education system or does not have plans to do so. It's quite possible that some of us, just made ourselves available upon recognizing an opportunity to secure a stable job. It's also quite possible that many of us have obtained our tertiary education credentials without government assistance even though we do not belong to the elite class in this country. I'm all for healthy discussion but a negative energy doesn't just happen, that's a choice. I choose to bid you a blessed week nonetheless. It seems we have nothing more to speak about as it pertains to this thread.

shottaz

Postby shottaz » May 13th, 2014, 9:40 pm

css011 wrote:I heard the total count was around 7000. But who knows, sometimes people tend to exaggerate things especially in these matters. The information is pretty scattered but at the end of the day, we can do our best and hope that carries us through to the next phase. But I can definitely relate. The number of applicants selected against the number of people expected to go through is very overwhelming. If it helps at all, its probably three times as difficult to be rich and famous, and if making it big aint have nothing to do with links and politics at some point then I dont know what does! But that certainly doesn't stop a few million people from trying. Lol. Hope that helped to take some of the edge off. Just a few more days, Good luck to you all

actually its 8000+ applicants and they're only looking for around like 60-70 persons. when you take in to account the amount of people that are already having "strings pulled" for them to get thru,how many "legitimate applicants" really do stand a chance?? all i can say at this point is ,Good Luck to all who are gonna do this saturday,cause you're gonna need it.. 0X

css011

Postby css011 » May 13th, 2014, 9:46 pm

True! Greater chances have been taken. I have no links, so I will have to rely on my brains for it. Hopefully an exceptional score will help persuade the powers that be. Honestly I'd be happy if any of us "nobody's" gets a chance. It's a long shot either way, without the side lists, 60-70 people out of 8000. Whew! That's tough.

Postby Gem_in_i » May 13th, 2014, 11:19 pm

Spoke to a woman I know who applied. She said she have exam this weekend.
And people are already in training.

I think some people have the exam paper already.

shottaz

Postby shottaz » May 13th, 2014, 11:28 pm

actually those people in training still have to write the exam like the rest of us.those are the ones who were called in to fill vacant spaces in C&E when there was a certain "incident" concerning some "juice cans"..... or so iv'e heard....