Best Private Hospital for Maternity Care

Re: Best Private Hospital for Maternity Care

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 22nd, 2014, 7:43 am

eliteauto wrote:
VexXx Dogg wrote:real boldfaceness and hognorance ITT.
If people want to spend money for peace of mind, let them be.

So giving a view different to yours is "boldfaceness and hognorance"? Doubt anyone can make you not spend your money how you wish stop being a hen about it and buy a crotch guard

pssst, 2wink

Postby Rainman » March 22nd, 2014, 7:54 am

nemisis wrote:
Halfbreed07 wrote:
~*Pãñdorą*~ wrote:
4X4 Trinidad wrote:
~*Pãñdorą*~ wrote:Tuners,

Tried a search but didn't find any topics of this kind.

I know some of you have wives and kids, so I would like to know if you and your wife did go to a Private Hospital to deliver your baby, which did you go to and how was the Service, Attention to Detail and Cost?

Thanking you in advance.

Went to gulf view med, total cost was $12,500 for delivery (natural) + pediatrician charge + stay in a room with 2 beds, private bathroom and shower. The nurses kept a constant eye on me before and after labour. My husband stayed throughout the delivery and spent the night with me, EXCELLENT service from both the obgyn and the nurses. They were extremely helpful and also sent in a breast feeding specialist at the end of the day.

Also provided meals for both of us...lol

Wow sounds dreamy..
How about the baby? Were you pressured to keep him/her with you during your stay? Or were you able to get rest and the baby stay in the nursery?

Pressured?
same thing I noticed, I happy I'm not a shrink. Pan you beast feeding or bottle feeding?

It should be breast feeding at a minimum of 6 months you can also supplement with the bottle during this time.

4X4 Trinidad

Postby 4X4 Trinidad » March 22nd, 2014, 7:54 am

Skanky wrote:Had our baby naturally at Mt Hope last year.Cost $0.Service A++.

We had our checkups at Medical Associates and about 6 months into pregnancy we also joined the health centre in our area when we decided to go to Mt Hope for birth.

Labour 12 hours,birth 2 pushes or approximately 3 minutes.At least 1-4 nurses available always and 1-2 doctor(s)/intern(s) checking in every hour or so.
According to her, women are cats and she's has harder days at the gym lol.Of course she's really fit so that helped a lot.
As an aside, if you want to have the least complications try to be as healthy as you can be.I don't mean that cop out of running around the savannaoh 45 minutes and thinking you fit.Eat right especially when pregnant, get in the gym and lift as much as you can with your growing bellies,lots of abs while you can and lots of legwork IMHO.

The week baby was born we had a home visit from three nurses.They screened us both through a series of questions and gave us tips and advice how to care for baby.Demonstrated with baby how to bathe,breastfeed,soothe,hold baby etc.Looked at our surroundings for environmental factors such as mosquitoes,gave us all kinds of information.They stayed for maybe an hour.

The following week two were back again following up to see how we were doing.This time they stayed for maybe half hour and gave more advice and did some other demonstrations as well.

Do private institutions provide this kind of service?

this is excellent! I knew lots of women who pass through mt hope and didnt get this kind of treatment. If nurses were available to handle every case like this I will definitely go to the hospital for the next round.

I totally agree with staying fit throughout the pregnancy. A lot of women just continue their lazy habits and then have a bunch of complications when their body doesnt have the stamina to handle labour.

Most doh understand the need to be prepared, I usually hear "ah too tired". All who got exercise, like myself, had uncomplicated quick delivery. So take note folks.

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 22nd, 2014, 7:59 am

Dizzy, elite, et al.
Let me rephrase what I really wanted to bring across. I took my role as a husband and to be father seriously enough to make the wife comfortable about the pregnancy and birth.

If she wanted to go to the moon to have the baby, I would have done everything in my power to do so. I don't have a whole lot of money falling out my orifices, but I made a bunch of sacrifices to make her comfortable.

and and if I had to do it all over again, I would.

Giving thanks that all went well, considering the recent trend in the media.

Postby Trini Hookah » March 22nd, 2014, 8:10 am

4X4 Trinidad wrote:On the contrary, there are many who go through the hospitals without any problem....

good for them!

I prefer privacy, nurses who dont slap, a doc I can whatsapp anytime and a general comforting feeling from the environment.

You paying $10k to whatsapp a doc?

Check pm den :lol:

Postby Rainman » March 22nd, 2014, 8:17 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:Dizzy, elite, et al.
Let me rephrase what I really wanted to bring across. I took my role as a husband and to be father seriously enough to make the wife comfortable about the pregnancy and birth.

If she wanted to go to the moon to have the baby, I would have done everything in my power to do so. I don't have a whole lot of money falling out my orifices, but I made a bunch of sacrifices to make her comfortable.

dan dan, elite puh a boof on yuh and yuh geh all docile??? :lol: :lol:

Everything you just said is exactly what i went through. I did a ton of research and went through 3 OBGYNs until we were happy. The hard part was that i was transitioning from one company to another and the new company didnt want to cover the costs because the pregnancy was under a previous company plan and bla bla bla. So i put 40k out of pocket, I didn't even blink because i can't put a price tag on a peace of mind.

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 22nd, 2014, 8:36 am

I is a yute in front ah man like elite, cuz. Lol

4X4 Trinidad

Postby 4X4 Trinidad » March 22nd, 2014, 9:18 am

Trini Hookah wrote:
4X4 Trinidad wrote:On the contrary, there are many who go through the hospitals without any problem....

good for them!

I prefer privacy, nurses who dont slap, a doc I can whatsapp anytime and a general comforting feeling from the environment.

You paying $10k to whatsapp a doc?

Check pm den :lol:

Nah he made me very comfortable compared to the many obgyns I visited.... a gentleman with gentle hands :oops:
easy and convenient to communicate with.

Postby streetbeastINC. » March 22nd, 2014, 10:04 am

Alot of doctors in here,,,,,what you mean what complications?......you can predict these things ?lol ppl complications during a pregnancy can arise from countless medical events that cannot be predicted......i hooe you dont give medical advice for a living

Postby streetbeastINC. » March 22nd, 2014, 10:06 am

Alot of doctors in here,,,,,what you mean what complications?......you can predict these things ?lol ppl complications during a pregnancy can arise from countless medical events that cannot be predicted......i hooe you dont give medical advice for a living for eg allergies to meds sedatives painkillers respiratory difstress of mother or foetus, heart failure lbp hbp excessive bleeding.......stop giving medical advice if you do not know what you speak off please ....
Last edited by streetbeastINC. on March 22nd, 2014, 12:16 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Postby eliteauto » March 22nd, 2014, 10:07 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:Dizzy, elite, et al.

well now yuh talking like a man and you damn right :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby Dizzy28 » March 22nd, 2014, 12:01 pm

pete wrote:What complications do they normally get sent to mt hope for? The point of going private is for them to have a more relaxed birthing experience. If you break your leg are you going to sit for a few hours in pain waiting at mt hope or would you go private and get through faster?

Personally I would Mt Hope. A few years ago my dad took ill around 11pm. Took him SAPH and he wasnt seen by a doc till close to 2am. The cashier was there though!!!!!!!

Postby UML » March 22nd, 2014, 12:03 pm

If u ask any doctor they would say have it at the public hospital. Reason being private hospitals can't handle complications. The public hospital can. In addition, if complications do arise the private hospital sends u to the public hospital and sends u a bill to pay still. As we saw with the tuner sis who died when she was rushed from Gulf View to Sando. We had ours in sando after doing all previous visits private. Condition of the washroom is the only thing my wife complain about and d lazy nurses on the night shift.

Postby Dizzy28 » March 22nd, 2014, 12:07 pm

As much as I question what going at private institutions, my sister in law and best friend both had babies within the last 6 months, they both used Prak at SAPH and I'm sure when the time comes my wife will follow suit there. Post natal I would definitely go with a non institution paediatrician maybe Petronella Manning.

navin123

Postby navin123 » March 22nd, 2014, 5:37 pm

PapaC wrote:Exactly my point. A high risk pregnancy, you would know from before. Older woman or having bad fibroid issues or something like that. If you are high risk them better you go straight to the Public institution. But for someone where everything is normal, and baby developing with no issues, no reason to worry that you will be sent unless something goes terribly wrong during delivery. And you would be refunded a good portion if they have to transfer you before the delivery.

Spoke to a midwife about this issue and she is saying if it come to that, they will transfer you, but doctor and midwife accompany you to the hospital to ensure that you get set in and the hospital staff have a clean handover where it relates to your condition.

Plus as a backup it is advised that even though you going private, you still attend the free clinic at the public institution, so they will have their own historical record of your progress. Because if you show up with no records at the hospital, they will have to check everything over, blood work et al.
full term babies end up in nicu sometimes bro ,saw it first hand,not all pregnancy go as planned my wife was also going private and end up giving birth in mt hope without any probs,I've seen all kinds of people with different cases,preterm,pass due date and even full term ,once there's a problem which they only know when he or she is being delivered then your admitted to the nicu ward ,which is very up to date,how many private institutions have a nicu ward ?

~*Pãñdorą*~
Location: You're Either On My Side, By My Side Or In My Fcuking Way!!

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » March 22nd, 2014, 6:26 pm

At the end of the day you go into these institutions (Public/Private) not expecting nor hoping for the worst.
Yes if you go to a private hospital, and you get to a very dire point you Will be transferred to public. No denying that.

It really all boils down to how important is care and attention to you?
How much are you willing to pay for peace of mind?

I had both my kids in the US and I swear the care and attention is amazing. I can't help but want something a bit similar to those experiences now.

The fact is, you can't get anywhere near that care in the public hospital.

~*Pãñdorą*~

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » March 22nd, 2014, 10:08 pm

Rainman wrote:
nemisis wrote:
Halfbreed07 wrote:
~*Pãñdorą*~ wrote:
4X4 Trinidad wrote:
~*Pãñdorą*~ wrote:Tuners,

Tried a search but didn't find any topics of this kind.

I know some of you have wives and kids, so I would like to know if you and your wife did go to a Private Hospital to deliver your baby, which did you go to and how was the Service, Attention to Detail and Cost?

Thanking you in advance.

Went to gulf view med, total cost was $12,500 for delivery (natural) + pediatrician charge + stay in a room with 2 beds, private bathroom and shower. The nurses kept a constant eye on me before and after labour. My husband stayed throughout the delivery and spent the night with me, EXCELLENT service from both the obgyn and the nurses. They were extremely helpful and also sent in a breast feeding specialist at the end of the day.

Also provided meals for both of us...lol

Wow sounds dreamy..
How about the baby? Were you pressured to keep him/her with you during your stay? Or were you able to get rest and the baby stay in the nursery?

Pressured?
same thing I noticed, I happy I'm not a shrink. Pan you beast feeding or bottle feeding?

It should be breast feeding at a minimum of 6 months you can also supplement with the bottle during this time.

Yep pressured is the word..
After being exhausted to hell, as a new mom you need time to recoup, public hospitals but the babies right next to your bed and you are left on your own to see to the baby's needs.

I plan on breast feeding..

Grudge

Postby Grudge » March 22nd, 2014, 10:22 pm

This ain't no small talk, this is my bill from March last year, it does not include the Doctors bill of 30K in total it all cost $66,411.55
What I walked out of the nursing home (SCMC) with was priceless.
Nursing staff was excellent, both doctors called in hourly for the first night to ensure mother and baby were both doing well, a bed was provided for me in the room with my wife. Nurses took excellent care of the baby, they ensured she was fed on time.
Bill.jpg

Postby Trini Hookah » March 23rd, 2014, 12:26 am

Doctor bill of $30k?

Postby cinco » March 23rd, 2014, 1:39 am

Trini Hookah wrote:Doctor bill of $30k?

D doctor help him conceive d chile too

Richard Marshall

Postby Richard Marshall » March 23rd, 2014, 4:37 am

So Grudge, it's better and much safer for the wife and child to go private? I mean, when I was delivered, also my siblings, it was all in Mount Hope. The heath care is so bad one time?

~*Pãñdorą*~

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » March 23rd, 2014, 6:16 am

My boss paid an additional $16k to his ob/gyn aside from Westshore's $18k bill.

Grudge

Postby Grudge » March 23rd, 2014, 6:33 am

My wife got preeclampsia, she had 3 doctors + pediatrician.

Actually the doctors bill was more:

OB - 25K
Anesthesiologist - 6K
Pediatrician - 4K
4th Doctor regulated pressure after, his bill is the 6 K on the print out.

The morning of delivery was complicated and her doctor who is the Head of maternity at SCMC got her entire team there in 15 minutes (that won't happen at General Hospital), I went into the operating theatre, with them, was able to stay with wife in recovery room and before baby reached nursery most of the her blood results were in her pediatrician hands.

I will not knock the public hospitals as I have visited the neonatal unit of Port of Spain General and it is immaculate, I was more concerned about the comfort and health of my wife.

Don't know anything about Mt. Hope but I read the newspapers.

70K can't comfort me if I lose my wife or child.

It's a choice you have, I will spend any amount of money to ensure the health and well being of my wife and daughter.
Last edited by Grudge on March 23rd, 2014, 6:58 am, edited 2 times in total.

Grudge

Postby Grudge » March 23rd, 2014, 6:44 am

cinco wrote:

D doctor help him conceive d chile too

If you know nothing, say nothing.

Grudge

Postby Grudge » March 23rd, 2014, 6:57 am

Richard Marshall wrote:So Grudge, it's better and much safer for the wife and child to go private? I mean, when I was delivered, also my siblings, it was all in Mount Hope. The heath care is so bad one time?

And all my sibling and I were born private, it's a choice.

At the end of the day if there were any issues with the baby she will have gone straight to POS neonatal as the private hospitals can't do much for the babies.
This is not advise to anyone, but as a personal choice I will stay as far away from Mt. Hope as possible, only because of news reports.
Last edited by Grudge on March 23rd, 2014, 7:01 am, edited 1 time in total.

~*Pãñdorą*~

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » March 23rd, 2014, 7:00 am

Grudge wrote:
66K can't comfort me if I lose my wife or child.

Spoken like a real man!! Making damn sense too.
There are husbands and baby daddy's out there who trivialize the birth experience and in their minds think, "She go be good at Mt. hope!"
If they were the ones going in and at the mercy of these junior Doctors, wonder if they'd still be OK with Public Hospitals!

Grudge

Postby Grudge » March 23rd, 2014, 7:08 am

~*Pãñdorą*~ wrote:
Grudge wrote:
66K can't comfort me if I lose my wife or child.

Spoken like a real man!! Making damn sense too.
There are husbands and baby daddy's out there who trivialize the birth experience and in their minds think, "She go be good at Mt. hope!"
If they were the ones going in and at the mercy of these junior Doctors, wonder if they'd still be OK with Public Hospitals!

You have been through this already, my wife had complications, you will be fine, just stay vigilant where ever you go and ask questions if you not sure about anything. I just don't like the news about Mt. Hope, it's almost daily there is a problem there. If possible deliver near POS general so if the baby has any issues, he/she goes to the neonatal and not Mt. Hope. It's the best in the Caribbean, that place is spotless and only 1 parent is allowed in there with scrubs at a time.

All the best to you, husband and baby.

Postby ronsin1 » March 23rd, 2014, 7:09 am

my wife went to Gulf View for my two children on the two occasions we had no issues However this was not by choice

my first child this was the case my wife went into labour and we took her to SFGH they admitted her 10 pm on a Tuesday night she was given a bed at 5 am Wednesday morning with all the pains the doctor saw her about 10 am and told here she was not ready to deliver yet and sent her home she That evening about 6pm when she could not take the pain I took her to Gulf View Medical as her doctor practices out of there she delivered 8 am Thursday morning.

my second child was a different issue knowing the situation I asked my wife to join the maternity clinic due to complications with the first child the health center in the area sent her to the SFGH clinic due to the C Section of the first child when she went there the nurse asked where did you have the first baby my wife said Gulf View Medical nurse responded why did you come here for
my wife took her dag walk out and for the duration of her pregnancy only went to the doctor in Gulf View Medical

thankfully both my children are healthy and although my wife had two c sections she was OK

I also want to state my first choice for medical care in the Public hospital however with the issues I experienced I had no choice to go to a private hospital

All props to the staff at Gulf View

Richard Marshall

Postby Richard Marshall » March 23rd, 2014, 9:32 am

With all the mixed reviews, I'm wondering if putting a woman through pregnancy is right, seeing the risks involved. If I ever lose a child or my future wife, I really don't know what I'll do. I know alot of women who also went through the C-section. And that worries me. Really want a child as soon as I marry. But now, reconsidering, provided I ever do get married.

Postby K74T » March 23rd, 2014, 9:41 am

Dear Diary...