Triniricers Ched

Re: Kia Cerato vs Mazda 3

Postby j.o.e » March 18th, 2014, 11:03 pm

No its not the zm engine from the familia....its the 1.6 mzr type engine from the mazda 3
They have the cars in the showroom it's no mystery why not jus check em out?

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 18th, 2014, 11:21 pm

plenty hognorance ITT, like souse was sharing.

FullStop

Postby FullStop » March 19th, 2014, 1:32 am

mzr1.6 = z6. not the same as the zm at all. Dont believe the wikipedia article equating the two.

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » March 19th, 2014, 5:27 pm

jsm1985 wrote:Anyone know what engine the Mazda 3 comes with?

The model sold by SSSL comes with a 1.6L engine, not the new Skyactive models. The only information I can find about any Mazda 1.6L 105hp engine online seems to indicate that this is an old ZM engine (used in the 1998-2002 Familia). Surely this can't be right? wtf

I was almost decided on M3 over the Kia until this...

http://www.protegefaq.net/engine.html#BL_Z6-VE

At the end of the day, OP .. test drive both cars and make your decision.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » March 20th, 2014, 9:23 am

I would take the mazda over the kia despite the less features and HP. With the 3 you would feel more in control of the car and it has better handling as well. The ability to control a car for object avoidance is key so maybe you won't need the curtain airbags after all. However I am not saying curtain airbags is a waste as you never know but in this case I would take the 3. The MZR 1.6 is not a bad motor its simply a bit dated now since it doesn't have the VVT on the exhaust valves. Intake VVT only is not good enough for MY2014.

I reckon if you put both economy cars on a track/test course and despite less hp, the mazda would stomp all over that kia. Besides, with soo much traffic and with our bad roads here in t&t having a few extra hp is not taking you to your destination point much quicker.

Now imagine a jetta with the handling of a mazda3!

Altec55

Postby Altec55 » March 20th, 2014, 10:27 am

http://www.motortrend.com/roadtests/sed ... kings.html
http://www.carsdirect.com/compare/kia-f ... zda-mazda3

(Keep in mind these are the American versions of the cars)

I'm not sure what great significance in handling people are talking about. I own the previous model Cerato (2011). I have absolutely no handling problems with the car and I do not baby the car. The car has very mild understeer. Passing power is very adequate.
I've also owned a Mazda Familia Hatchback (2003). Handling was great, better than the sedan version.

Power and Handling: the cars are practically the same. A Mazda 3 will not out handle a Kia Cerato nor vice versa. The Kia may be a tiny bit faster, but its nothing to shout about. Both are economy cars, not sports cars.

Reliability: I used to ponder the same question, however after 87K km and no issues, don't think reliability is a problem with Kia.

Resale: from the looks of the trinicarsforsale.com site, the new model Kia's appear to hold a decent resale value. i personally don't care about resale, its not like i'm looking to sell a new car soon. In trinidad cars stop devaluing after a while anyhow...a P11 Primera has been $50,000 for the past 10 years.

My opinion, test drive both and choose which one you feel suits you. There's nothing significant between both cars to say one is drastically better than the other.

Postby cinco » March 20th, 2014, 10:34 am

i guess all of u who beyotch about resale drive corollas?
im sorry if i spending 200k on something I want to ENJOY owning it. I doh care about resale i am buying it because i want to drive and enjoy the features if it has a good resale well great if not well who cares i would know i got my 200k worth in the 5 or so years i owned it

allblacks

Postby allblacks » March 20th, 2014, 10:51 am

cinco wrote:i guess all of u who beyotch about resale drive corollas?
im sorry if i spending 200k on something I want to ENJOY owning it. I doh care about resale i am buying it because i want to drive and enjoy the features if it has a good resale well great if not well who cares i would know i got my 200k worth in the 5 or so years i owned it

x100

jsm1985

Postby jsm1985 » March 22nd, 2014, 3:18 am

Just an update..

Test drove all cars in this segment that I was interested in and decided to go with the Mazda 3 (Jet Black). While the Cerato has a lot more features, I just preferred the drive and looks of the Mazda 3, feels much more refined. Thanks for all the help and advice.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » March 22nd, 2014, 9:07 pm

Congrats jsm...question, did you drive the Octavia, focus and cruze as well?

Postby pioneer » March 22nd, 2014, 9:18 pm

Does anyone care to list these "features"?

Thanks.

FullStop

Postby FullStop » March 22nd, 2014, 9:28 pm

Altec55 wrote:http://www.motortrend.com/roadtests/sedans/1303_compact_sedans_the_big_test/value_and_rankings.html
http://www.carsdirect.com/compare/kia-f ... zda-mazda3

(Keep in mind these are the American versions of the cars)

I'm not sure what great significance in handling people are talking about. I own the previous model Cerato (2011). I have absolutely no handling problems with the car and I do not baby the car. The car has very mild understeer. Passing power is very adequate.
I've also owned a Mazda Familia Hatchback (2003). Handling was great, better than the sedan version.

Power and Handling: the cars are practically the same. A Mazda 3 will not out handle a Kia Cerato nor vice versa. The Kia may be a tiny bit faster, but its nothing to shout about. Both are economy cars, not sports cars.

Reliability: I used to ponder the same question, however after 87K km and no issues, don't think reliability is a problem with Kia.

Resale: from the looks of the trinicarsforsale.com site, the new model Kia's appear to hold a decent resale value. i personally don't care about resale, its not like i'm looking to sell a new car soon. In trinidad cars stop devaluing after a while anyhow...a P11 Primera has been $50,000 for the past 10 years.

My opinion, test drive both and choose which one you feel suits you. There's nothing significant between both cars to say one is drastically better than the other.

wrong, the sedan's handling is superior out of the showroom for this model protege.

eurogirl

Postby eurogirl » March 22nd, 2014, 10:51 pm

Mazda 3

That is all

Postby cinco » March 23rd, 2014, 1:41 am

Good choice.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » March 23rd, 2014, 1:45 am

jsm1985 wrote:Just an update..

Test drove all cars in this segment that I was interested in and decided to go with the Mazda 3 (Jet Black). While the Cerato has a lot more features, I just preferred the drive and looks of the Mazda 3, feels much more refined. Thanks for all the help and advice.

When you get it take pics n post a review nah

eurogirl

Postby eurogirl » March 23rd, 2014, 8:57 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
jsm1985 wrote:Just an update..

When you get it take pics n post a review nah

Welcome !!!! :grin::grin::-)

Op cerato is toots ... thas like buyin a tiida and driving it like a skyline ...but doh study me i just think all tiida drivers hav cnut stamped diagonally.on dey dp

With that being said i still.jonesing for a sorento :-?

Postby MG Man » March 23rd, 2014, 12:12 pm

what exactly makes a cerato toots?

Postby pioneer » March 23rd, 2014, 1:26 pm

Still waiting on these "features"...

Postby Rory Phoulorie » March 23rd, 2014, 1:56 pm

pioneer wrote:Still waiting on these "features"...

Push button start.

Yuh eh see how many peeps duz coat dis as a feechure. Dem peeps duz feel dey jivin' ah Maklarin Empee For Twelve See wen dey push de button tuh start de injin.

Postby cinco » March 23rd, 2014, 3:32 pm

umm
abs, 4 wheel disc brakes, alloy wheels, bluetooth head unit, steering wheel mounted controls.

de_dougla_smurf

Postby de_dougla_smurf » March 23rd, 2014, 3:40 pm

eurogirl wrote:

Welcome !!!! :grin::grin::-)

Op cerato is toots ... thas like buyin a tiida and driving it like a skyline ...but doh study me i just think all tiida drivers hav cnut stamped diagonally.on dey dp

Im not sure I understand.

Postby gastly369 » March 23rd, 2014, 3:45 pm

cinco wrote:umm
abs, 4 wheel disc brakes, alloy wheels, bluetooth head unit, steering wheel mounted controls.

All optional on a corolla :|

jsm1985

Postby jsm1985 » March 23rd, 2014, 9:54 pm

From my exhaustive research between these 2 cars:

Cerato for $208k vs. Mazda 3 for $210k

(*) means matched by Mazda 3

128 HP vs 105HP
6 speed transmission vs 4 speed activematic
17" alloy rims vs 16"
4 Wheel Disk Brakes/ ABS/ EBD/ Traction *
Push button start and smart key *
Fog lights *
HID headlights *
LED daytime running lights and tail lights
Smart welcome system
Bluetooth integration *
Dual climate a/c
Front and rear Park assist
Rear camera *
4.3" LCD info screen on dash and instrument cluster vs Superior 7" infotainment centre
Driver power seat
6 airbags vs 2 airbags (Mazda 3 is NHSTA safety rated Top Pick + 5 star)
Rear a/c vents
User selectable steering feel
Auto dimming rear view mirror
Tiptronic (*)
Paddle shifters
Cruise control *
USB ports *
6 speaker audio vs 4 speakers that sound more premium

Mazda 3 vs Cerato:

Lane departure warning system
Auto headlights and windshield wipers
Better suspension system (independent multilink type)
Better handling
Better engine response
More comfortable ride and steering feel

Subjective:
Better looking interior and exterior on the Mazda 3

The Cerato is a great car and has a lot more features and is cheaper than the Mazda 3 as you can see, but my decision came down to the superior core driving feel that you get from sitting behind the wheel of the Mazda 3. It really feels like a much more expensive vehicle.

Postby MG Man » March 24th, 2014, 9:18 am

buying a Ford Focus this week.

Postby cinco » March 24th, 2014, 9:49 am

MG Man wrote:buying a Ford Focus this week.

Nobody asked u tho

Postby MG Man » March 24th, 2014, 9:56 am

cinco wrote:

Nobody asked u tho

nobody asked u how it feel but u still bawl out when ah push it een

Postby pioneer » March 24th, 2014, 12:22 pm

jsm1985 wrote:From my exhaustive research between these 2 cars:

Cerato for $208k vs. Mazda 3 for $210k

(*) means matched by Mazda 3

128 HP vs 105HP
6 speed transmission vs 4 speed activematic
17" alloy rims vs 16"
4 Wheel Disk Brakes/ ABS/ EBD/ Traction *
Push button start and smart key *
Fog lights *
HID headlights *
LED daytime running lights and tail lights
Smart welcome system
Bluetooth integration *
Dual climate a/c
Front and rear Park assist
Rear camera *
4.3" LCD info screen on dash and instrument cluster vs Superior 7" infotainment centre
Driver power seat
6 airbags vs 2 airbags (Mazda 3 is NHSTA safety rated Top Pick + 5 star)
Rear a/c vents
User selectable steering feel
Auto dimming rear view mirror
Tiptronic (*)
Paddle shifters
Cruise control *
USB ports *
6 speaker audio vs 4 speakers that sound more premium

Mazda 3 vs Cerato:

Lane departure warning system
Auto headlights and windshield wipers
Better suspension system (independent multilink type)
Better handling
Better engine response
More comfortable ride and steering feel

Subjective:
Better looking interior and exterior on the Mazda 3

The Cerato is a great car and has a lot more features and is cheaper than the Mazda 3 as you can see, but my decision came down to the superior core driving feel that you get from sitting behind the wheel of the Mazda 3. It really feels like a much more expensive vehicle.

Will call down one of each by year end please god.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » March 24th, 2014, 3:46 pm

now that is car compared to a cerato/elantra

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » March 24th, 2014, 3:53 pm

what does the focus have again? Honest question cuz it's been a while since I checked one out.

Postby MG Man » March 24th, 2014, 6:29 pm

not quite as nicely equipped as the kia, a wee bit snug on passenger room, but it does have voice commands and, dual clutch transmission and handles like a proper car...the kia really has the lion's share of features, but we felt the handling was a bit on the vague side, and the acceleration for a claimed 130ps was dismal
The focus also has independent rear suspension along with the usual stuff:
stability control, rain sensing wipers, puddle lamps, iPhone friendliness etc