bluesclues

Re: RE: Re: Should they abolish SEA?

Postby bluesclues » July 9th, 2016, 8:21 am

ruffneck_12 wrote:damn bluesclues

That response was eye opening

Eye opening is what i do. I make sure to open mines first before i look to open others'. Once yuh listen jah prophet u will be blessed brother. Dont mind i have myself concealed in a shroud of moronic and idiotic behaviour.. i like it so.. let who have eyes to see, see.

Re: Should they abolish SEA?

Postby pete » July 9th, 2016, 9:41 am

Having an exam you can cram for totally defeats the purpose of school. Then all the kids who do well in that setting excel. Continuous assessment focused on moulding kids to develop learning techniques, actually retain information and develop methods for logical thinking is what is important.

Else you end up with a bunch of people who learn to pass an exam and can't cope with real life situations.

Postby RBphoto » July 9th, 2016, 1:51 pm

I believe we should get rid of the systemic inequality of having prestige schools in the first place. All students should be zoned according to the closest accessible school to them. The only reason Prestige schools do better than others is because of the higher concentration of high performers on the standardized tests going to them. If we re-distribute the higher performers, the entire national average intelligence should rise over time.

Postby RBphoto » July 9th, 2016, 1:52 pm

By the way.. I believe that zoning should be implemented for primary schools as well. People from Barracpore want to send their child to Grant Memorial in Sando.. SMH.

Postby Dizzy28 » July 9th, 2016, 2:07 pm

RBphoto wrote:By the way.. I believe that zoning should be implemented for primary schools as well. People from Barracpore want to send their child to Grant Memorial in Sando.. SMH.

Given our traffic situation in this country the odd thing is that the closest primary school to me will entail a longer commute time than the 2nd and 3rd closest schools .

Postby RBphoto » July 9th, 2016, 2:20 pm

RBphoto wrote:By the way.. I believe that zoning should be implemented for primary schools as well. People from Barracpore want to send their child to Grant Memorial in Sando.. SMH.

Given our traffic situation in this country the odd thing is that the closest primary school to me will entail a longer commute time than the 2nd and 3rd closest schools .

That should be a consideration I guess.

Postby eliteauto » July 9th, 2016, 3:01 pm

teems1 wrote:
baigan wrote:All that beat up and bringing racism into SEA .-.?
Lol sea dont even matter much in life.
But a lot of those kids study pretty hard for their exams..of course there are the few in the 20% selection but those selected are usually pretty smart..

Quite the opposite I'm afraid.

Went to the 20 year reunion of my primary school standard 5 class, and of those who attended there was a vast divide when comparing those who passed for a supposed prestige school and those who did not.

parents have as much to do with that as the opportunities offered by prestige schools. Many don't understand the disconnect between education and employability so they don't recover from their children's placement and that lack of motivation transcends the secondary school years. Even successful students fall prey to the inverse of that fallacy, that's why many educated persons get upset when "menial" labour workers make more money than them

Postby sMASH » July 9th, 2016, 3:21 pm

RBphoto wrote:I believe we should get rid of the systemic inequality of having prestige schools in the first place. All students should be zoned according to the closest accessible school to them. The only reason Prestige schools do better than others is because of the higher concentration of high performers on the standardized tests going to them. If we re-distribute the higher performers, the entire national average intelligence should rise over time.

i disagree with total zoning absolutely with two reasons.
my lil half brother, small frame quite, but bright. first time he wrote sea, he passed to ptwon government secondary. he would have not been able to survive that zoo. he rewrote and got a better school with a more civilized academic clime of student, where he was able to focus on his work without distraction and and disturbance.
zoning would have put him in the zoo, and stress him out.
second reason, as years went by, i got put in the science class with the brightest of the brightest, always playing catch up. then for A's, that got extreme, and just went to the bottom of the class that was tough having to be compared and compete with strong memory people. if u zone a not so academically inclined person into a school with a lot of 100w bulb children, that would be so stressful it would seem insurmountable and disuade the child from even attempting, cause it would seem unachievable.

if u have to zone, dont zone with respect to geography, zone with respect to aptitude.
put the academically inclined in schools geared towards that, put the technically inclined in schools geared towards that, put the artistically inclined with their like, put the prison system inclined in schools geared towards that.

different courses for different horses.
u want to say that being around bright children will pull u up, yes it will, but only some, only a little better improvement, and only if they were a vast minority. as soon as they can get a clique to fall into, they would fall out of being influenced.
i want to say, one bad apple to spoil the barrel.

Postby X_Factor » July 9th, 2016, 4:31 pm

didnt really read the thread but they cant remove SEA easily
one of the constitutional right, is the right to choose a school of your choice
thats why you are givennot 1 but 3 choices in SEA to decide where you go once your marks are within the ranges of said schools

Postby desifemlove » July 9th, 2016, 5:55 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:Boy, primary school on a whole very stressful for children these days.

You should see the kinda projects they have to do at home, highschool level chit.

We need to break it down and start from scratch.

Eh? nookie generation we does have now.......generations past did it, wit no issues.

teens today needing lax off "pressure homework" will be calling for UWI or UTT safe spaces and trigger warnings..it will happen!

Postby desifemlove » July 9th, 2016, 5:58 pm

RBphoto wrote:I believe we should get rid of the systemic inequality of having prestige schools in the first place. All students should be zoned according to the closest accessible school to them. The only reason Prestige schools do better than others is because of the higher concentration of high performers on the standardized tests going to them. If we re-distribute the higher performers, the entire national average intelligence should rise over time.

but then everybody have an equal chance to to to them (in theory at least...) so if poor boy/girl in Laventille or Barack[pore does good, then why not?

all countries have schools that perform better, and it can be for both good and bad reasons why. i guarantee if schools only allowed people from local areas, some will invariably outperform others and move on and become prestige over time. by that logic also, having the Ivy League or Oxbridge is "unfair" cos they have better reputations...

Postby RBphoto » July 11th, 2016, 11:24 am

sMASH wrote:

my lil half brother, small frame quite, but bright. first time he wrote sea, he passed to ptwon government secondary. he would have not been able to survive that zoo. he rewrote and got a better school with a more civilized academic clime of student, where he was able to focus on his work without distraction and and disturbance.
second reason, as years went by, i got put in the science class with the brightest of the brightest, always playing catch up. then for A's, that got extreme, and just went to the bottom of the class that was tough having to be compared and compete with strong memory people. if u zone a not so academically inclined person into a school with a lot of 100w bulb children, that would be so stressful it would seem insurmountable and disuade the child from even attempting, cause it would seem unachievable.

if u have to zone, dont zone with respect to geography, zone with respect to aptitude.
put the academically inclined in schools geared towards that, put the technically inclined in schools geared towards that, put the artistically inclined with their like, put the prison system inclined in schools geared towards that.

u want to say that being around bright children will pull u up, yes it will, but only some, only a little better improvement, and only if they were a vast minority. as soon as they can get a clique to fall into, they would fall out of being influenced.

You do realize that if they distribute the aptitude of students evenly among primary and secondary schools, there would be no zoos right? SEA CREATED the zoo. Why is Grant Memorial, Canan, TML considered good primary schools? Is it not because of competitive parents who have have ways means and influence to lobby to get their child into that school, would also have a proper support system to ensure that they are better educated? If we isolate poor achievers from overachievers, they would not have anyone to have an example of how to behave.

Also, I find the competitive nature of our education system to be a great hinderance to many high achievers adapting to work life. They hoard information and only seek to make themselves look good. I went through that phase at work and it took a long time for me to realize that cooperation and sharing of information makes a project successful.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » July 11th, 2016, 12:12 pm

RBphoto wrote:
sMASH wrote:

You do realize that if they distribute the aptitude of students evenly among primary and secondary schools, there would be no zoos right? SEA CREATED the zoo. Why is Grant Memorial, Canan, TML considered good primary schools? Is it not because of competitive parents who have have ways means and influence to lobby to get their child into that school, would also have a proper support system to ensure that they are better educated? If we isolate poor achievers from overachievers, they would not have anyone to have an example of how to behave.

Also, I find the competitive nature of our education system to be a great hinderance to many high achievers adapting to work life. They hoard information and only seek to make themselves look good. I went through that phase at work and it took a long time for me to realize that cooperation and sharing of information makes a project successful.

Sea didnt create no zoos. In my day mt hope, st augustine, eldo, barataria was zoo school. Real gangstas, drugs selling on the school compound, gun. Even in st georges where i went had men would have gun in they waist walkin round lunch time. That was common entrance days. They do try to spread out a few troublesome but intelligent kids into prestige school, but by the numbers, they cant fit all without creating a total contamination. One gangsta bad enough will have dominion over all the nerds, corrupt them and control them and run the whole school and destroy its reputation. See how it is now with some.. teachers witnessing crimes and fraid to tell anybody what they see.

Sectioning is important to provide the ideal or as close as possible to ideal environment for the study path the student is taking. If ur child was bright like the sun, u would want him in an environment with the least distrations. With peace and quiet and the best teachers to keep him focussed and performing on his way to having value in the world. You wouldnt want to send him to a school here have drugs selling and gun shots ringing. You wouldnt want the best teachers to be in that environment either. So u allocate resources based on where its needed most and most efficient to employ. The child develops as a human resource through how much knowledge he gathers, and by increasing his skillset over the years. And that resource is categorized where its suited best based on all factors emergent and relative to the whole.

You want to keep some schools at least free of certain types of elements and either expel any that slip through as soon as detected, or try to rehabilitate them or whatever. Every school cant be allowed to become a zoo.

Postby sMASH » July 11th, 2016, 12:46 pm

I could teach a crab to walk front wards and backwards all u want, as inlet it go, it will run sideways. Only some of those students will be influenced to do better, and only a little better.

About hoarding information, where I worked I saw no need for that. The workings of the institution made it necessary to be upfront. There was overall retardation when things were selectively privatised. When it does occur, it will be up to the management to manage their facilities and employees to turn that tide. Management should dictate the pace of the company, not the workers. If they don't then its the tail wagging the dog. That's a management failure.

When u put rambunctious headstrong individuals with less outgoing characters, they will not be able to compete academically with the brighter ones. They wouldn't want to be under those milder students, and they will want to re establish their superiority with the traits they do have, and that is violence.

I'm a not about intentionally keeping people down, but have un-metered integration and u would be putting the brighter students under unfair duress. What u should do, is selectively pick out the bright students with stronger characters, and put them to integrate with the zoo class student.
How many more FB vids must surface where a quiet child is beat up by a bully for the only reason that the bully CAN beat up the quiet child?

Understand which type of student will result in a better society, and allocate resources to promote them.
The others, try to help or guide to roles to contribute to society, but keep the methods on par with their psyche.

One bad apple will spoil the barrel.

But, u need technicians and tradesmen as much as doctors an accountants. So there should be schools other than the typical prestige schools that do not focus totally on academics and integrate trades as well. This may be the the venue to integrate some of the zoo class with potential to do better. A median where the academics is not so unattainable, and students and teachers with the physical and character strength to not be intimidated by the zoo class.

A Klingon type of society.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » July 11th, 2016, 1:20 pm

Good point there too. The curriculum would have to be adapted to slower students. In the prestige schools the curriculum runs faster because the kids get stuff faster. 1 or 2 slow students in a class may be ok. But if u dont manage it and end up with half real slow and the next half real bright. Yuh keeping back ppl who wanna brain from brainin at the speed they could brain. Ldoh watch these manmade systems just so, they very well thought out. Only time there needs to be a change is when the evolution outgrows necessity or grows into a new necessity.

Postby sMASH » July 11th, 2016, 5:57 pm

I was a the 1 and the 2 that u speak about... and it wasn't fun, just pace.

Postby RBphoto » July 13th, 2016, 11:15 am

bluesclues wrote:Good point there too. The curriculum would have to be adapted to slower students. In the prestige schools the curriculum runs faster because the kids get stuff faster. 1 or 2 slow students in a class may be ok. But if u dont manage it and end up with half real slow and the next half real bright. Yuh keeping back ppl who wanna brain from brainin at the speed they could brain. Ldoh watch these manmade systems just so, they very well thought out. Only time there needs to be a change is when the evolution outgrows necessity or grows into a new necessity.

The Syllabus for technical/ Vocational teaching has to be revised also. There are practical courses that should be available to kids from primary school level. Imagine starting shop class at 8years old. Woodworking, plumbing, electrical, building, pottery, craft, even art.. children need to have outlets to excel in other roles in life, as not everyone will get a nice office job where they can jabber on tuner with internet paid for by their employer.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » July 13th, 2016, 2:39 pm

RBphoto wrote:
bluesclues wrote:Good point there too. The curriculum would have to be adapted to slower students. In the prestige schools the curriculum runs faster because the kids get stuff faster. 1 or 2 slow students in a class may be ok. But if u dont manage it and end up with half real slow and the next half real bright. Yuh keeping back ppl who wanna brain from brainin at the speed they could brain. Ldoh watch these manmade systems just so, they very well thought out. Only time there needs to be a change is when the evolution outgrows necessity or grows into a new necessity.

The Syllabus for technical/ Vocational teaching has to be revised also. There are practical courses that should be available to kids from primary school level. Imagine starting shop class at 8years old. Woodworking, plumbing, electrical, building, pottery, craft, even art.. children need to have outlets to excel in other roles in life, as not everyone will get a nice office job where they can jabber on tuner with internet paid for by their employer.

I totally agree and have always said this. There are many roles in life and well to use the quote, we are judging fishes by their ability to climb a tree. Monkey does climb tree, fish does swim. So schools should definitely start to diversify their specialist paths because basically, there are many more paths to succeed in life than some of the unecessary courses many are forced to take outside of their element. But it is being addressed.. slowly the curriculum is being adapted. The ministry of education from what ive seen has recognized it and taking the steps to build that house. The lack of that expanded categorization, has at least contributed to the large amount of ppl who hold jobs they hate, and by extension the underachieving customer service that has plagued trinidad for so long. We have a diverse people with a diverse set of skills. We need to efficiently harness each individuals talents so that we dont spend time talking about nonesense like 'attention deficit disorder'.. etc.

This is an example of evolution of necessity so just give them time to integrate different career paths into the school syllabus. It might require introducing more class groupings.That means more individual classes, which needs more rooms and bigger schools.

Postby RBphoto » July 13th, 2016, 3:00 pm

bluesclues wrote:
RBphoto wrote:

I totally agree and have always said this. There are many roles in life and well to use the quote, we are judging fishes by their ability to climb a tree. Monkey does climb tree, fish does swim. So schools should definitely start to diversify their specialist paths because basically, there are many more paths to succeed in life than some of the unecessary courses many are forced to take outside of their element. But it is being addressed.. slowly the curriculum is being adapted. The ministry of education from what ive seen has recognized it and taking the steps to build that house. The lack of that expanded categorization, has at least contributed to the large amount of ppl who hold jobs they hate, and by extension the underachieving customer service that has plagued trinidad for so long. We have a diverse people with a diverse set of skills. We need to efficiently harness each individuals talents so that we dont spend time talking about nonesense like 'attention deficit disorder'.. etc.

This is an example of evolution of necessity so just give them time to integrate different career paths into the school syllabus. It might require introducing more class groupings.That means more individual classes, which needs more rooms and bigger schools.

Blues... stop making sense!!!! You are making my mind doubt itself :lol: I was so bloody angry that someone decided that ADD was a problem in our schools... Instead of taking resources and time to hunt down symptoms.. why not have an outlet for the child's creative energies!!! Instead we look to give children Ritalin to study subjects that they hate.

bluesclues

Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: Should they abolish SEA?

Postby bluesclues » July 14th, 2016, 6:28 am

RBphoto wrote:
bluesclues wrote:
RBphoto wrote:

Blues... stop making sense!!!! You are making my mind doubt itself :lol: I was so bloody angry that someone decided that ADD was a problem in our schools... Instead of taking resources and time to hunt down symptoms.. why not have an outlet for the child's creative energies!!! Instead we look to give children Ritalin to study subjects that they hate.

Well bro i must know i lived it and living it. I developed myself as a major human resource with a tonne of skills. I suffer in this country's lack of vision. All they used to tell me is 'boy u should go foreign and live u too bright to be in trini'. In my day they didnt push basketball was only cricket and football and i used to dunk from the freethrow line like jordan at age 17 and scoring ball from next side of the court and ting easy. I was working on having a 100% 3point shot average because i could get 9 out of 10 even on the double pump. But trinidad didnt have the eye to push me and ppl like me in the basketball arena. I was in cricket, every ball i hit is a 6 but i couldnt be on the team because politics and i taking away spotlight from the captain who they wanted to push as starboy for wi team. He did not make it on the wi team. ;| I eventually gave up sports and just focused on knowledge and becoming a computer wizard. Which i also did with my own self tutoring with books. So basically, this country have no idea how to assess my value because the institutions arent responsible for my training. But if i just take a plane to a european country they hops me up and pay me 10x anything in trinidad for my starting job and promote me on fasttrack because i perform even higher than their own ppl's average. But with all my skills basically i dont have to worry about needing the government or private company for work etc. If i need money i can make money when i want by just selling one of my many skills i have to choose from. Until this country gets its shyt in order, i refuse to work for anyone or contribute to any private institutions development. I have placed a strike on my resource pending revaluation. The pension plan is not tempting i make my own. Thus trinidad loses out on this major resource. A resource that easily does the work of 10 average trini employees when the day comes without breaking a sweat.

My arse happy just so tho. On a day like today, rain falling, i feel not to open shop and watch cartoons while increasing my usd portfolio with clicks of a mouse. And i can do that and answer to noone about it. Even though i still up since 4am lel.