Anyone Missing An Osprey?

Re: Anyone Missing An Osprey?

Postby 88sins » September 22nd, 2020, 8:55 am

MG Man wrote:I wish the lazy hawk in my area would get his sheit together and deal with the pigeons that perch on my roof :|

don't need a hawk for that, I could use the target practice.
I go take a 2 beers & some nipple oil as payment :lol:

Postby MG Man » September 23rd, 2020, 8:00 am

done
PM for location and time

Postby 88sins » September 24th, 2020, 1:12 pm

When u ready

Postby nervewrecker » December 9th, 2020, 9:51 pm

abbow wrote:
VII wrote:Look at the size of this Osprey nest in la Romaine..

How about a big bowl of nope!

I now reading about eagles, harpy eagle to be exact. No eh, no, no, no! I have been terrorized by blackbirds already, something this size will be horrific!

The hawk is back, grabbed a dinosaurs sized lizard from the yard right in front me and went off to a nearby tree. I actually forgot I had a phone with great zoom to get a shot but it wasn't so visible in the tree. I have been noticing them on lamp posts along the creek and mon desir highway, can easily be mistaken for a corbeaux.

That fella on the creek around a while now...and damm he can fish..almost every time i glimpse him, hes perched eating something...
I had the experience of seeing this bird today.
This picture does not do justice.
Was on the phone and watching a bird on top a high tension pole crossbar in belle vue industrial estate.
The bird itself is 3/4 the height of the barrel transformers on the pole.
I said to myself maybe it's a small transformer and maybe it's the trick of the light. Could be a big hawk or maybe my eyes deceiving me and it's a corbeaux.
When it spread the wings to fly, it was obvious as to what it is. Wingspan exceeded the crossbar on the pole. My jaw hit the ground.
Really is a sight to see!

Postby nervewrecker » December 9th, 2020, 10:48 pm

I think I got somethingImage

Postby nervewrecker » December 30th, 2021, 2:31 pm

So he is now dead. saw him on the unfinished part of the mosquito creek today near the railing.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 30th, 2021, 4:49 pm

nervewrecker wrote:So he is now dead. saw him on the unfinished part of the mosquito creek today near the railing.

Sad :(
You sure there was only one?

Postby nervewrecker » December 30th, 2021, 7:10 pm

Have a few, I count 3. But any loss is a loss in my book, magnificent birds. Every time I on the road I look out for them

Postby pugboy » December 30th, 2021, 8:17 pm

there are always a couple hovering over the highway by guaymere river south of caroni river
seem a little smaller but same white chest

abbow

Postby abbow » December 31st, 2021, 10:36 am

nervewrecker wrote:Have a few, I count 3. But any loss is a loss in my book, magnificent birds. Every time I on the road I look out for them

My count is at 3 as well. Cant let my daughter know one died...she would normally ask me to drive slowly so she can look for them.

Postby Rovin » March 21st, 2022, 6:36 pm

nice story by d express & a heap of kudos on those who help these birds ...

ELECTROCUTED BIRDS RECOVERING

Ricardo Meade, director and founder of the El Socorro Wildlife Centre for Conservation, displays the burnt feathers of an Osprey bird at the Orange Valley Community Centre, near Couva, where he has set up a wildlife rehabilitation centre. These two Ospreys and a Caracara were rescued after electrocution and are recovering at the centre. In an interview with the Express, Meade held one of the birds he rescued, named “Crispy”. Meade said the birds were subjected to 12,000 volts of electricity, which led to critical burns to the birds bodies and feathers. Assisting Ricardo is his wife, Salisha. Express chief photographer Dexter Philip visited the centre and captured this footage.

https://www.facebook.com/watch?v=639441213821454

Postby pugboy » March 23rd, 2022, 4:09 pm

pt lisas
99A3A5B9-4EEC-46E4-A0BC-DE9A8B834E15.jpeg

Postby maj. tom » October 11th, 2022, 6:19 pm

VII wrote:I am absolutely certain I saw a Harpy eagle in a tree in Moruga years ago,nothing else looks like it perched in a tree..

Harpy eagle (Harpia harpyja) arriving at a nest with a brown capuchin monkey (photo: Jiang Chunsheng).

https://www.nature.com/articles/s41598-021-92372-z/figures/1

VII

Postby VII » October 11th, 2022, 7:17 pm

Dais here ? :P

maj. tom wrote:
VII wrote:I am absolutely certain I saw a Harpy eagle in a tree in Moruga years ago,nothing else looks like it perched in a tree..

Harpy eagle (Harpia harpyja) arriving at a nest with a brown capuchin monkey (photo: Jiang Chunsheng).

https://www.nature.com/articles/s41598-021-92372-z/figures/1

Postby nervewrecker » October 28th, 2022, 9:01 pm

Got the chance to take a pic. Seemed scared and flew away.

Random corbeaux also met his death via high tension lines. Rip
IMG_20221028_211158.jpg
IMG_20221023_161620.jpg
IMG_20221023_161614.jpg
IMG_20221023_161614.jpg (11.21 KiB) Viewed 962 times

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 28th, 2022, 9:03 pm

^ nice!

dregz

Postby dregz » October 29th, 2022, 5:42 am

Wow. Would like to see that in real! Ent they supposed to be huge?

viedcht

Postby viedcht » October 30th, 2022, 3:45 pm

nervewrecker wrote:Got the chance to take a pic. Seemed scared and flew away.

Random corbeaux also met his death via high tension lines. Rip
IMG_20221023_161614.jpg
IMG_20221023_161620.jpg
IMG_20221028_211158.jpg
Have one down Tableland area some months ago. My birds don't respond to any of its calls/shrieking but the birds in the area get loud and agitated. Never see it up close but was told it's an osprey.

Also got a few chicken hawks about.