$100M Cocaine bust at Port of Norfolk, VA linked to Trinidad

src1983

Re: $100M Cocaine bust at Port of Norfolk, VA linked to Trin

Postby src1983 » January 17th, 2014, 9:49 am

ToiletBowl wrote:^ I know USA police have much better education than Trinisad ones, but for something as serious as this, praise shouldn't be a prority. The other agencies would have gotten more praise if the bust was successful, and rightly so because that would have involved more risk as you said.

The CBP would still be commended for initially flagging the container and verifying the contents, but now somewhere someone has just lost $12m or $100m in the long term and is likely to be angry.

Praise gets them a bigger budget, US gov't not like trini

Postby RASC » January 17th, 2014, 9:54 am

src1983 wrote:
ToiletBowl wrote:^ I know USA police have much better education than Trinisad ones, but for something as serious as this, praise shouldn't be a prority. The other agencies would have gotten more praise if the bust was successful, and rightly so because that would have involved more risk as you said.

The CBP would still be commended for initially flagging the container and verifying the contents, but now somewhere someone has just lost $12m or $100m in the long term and is likely to be angry.

Praise gets them a bigger budget, US gov't not like trini

More praise equals bigger budget, bigger bonus, more equipment etc

Why let the feds make the bust, when the local boys could get all the accolades.

This ain't the third world, you're actually rewarded for doing your work.

Postby Rainman » January 17th, 2014, 11:57 am

"the container carrying the drugs was flagged as soon as it left Trinidad and Tobago"

Lawl

Postby SMc » January 17th, 2014, 12:01 pm

it wasnt me this time

src1983

Postby src1983 » January 17th, 2014, 12:02 pm

The world already knows we are a major shipment point. Only our parliament thinks we're not.

Postby teems1 » January 17th, 2014, 12:12 pm

src1983 wrote:The world already knows we are a major shipment point. Only our parliament thinks we're not.

Are you really that naive to think that the politicians don't know what's going on and who are the big players involved?

Of course they know, it's just that they can't do anything about it.

Postby SMc » January 17th, 2014, 12:13 pm

or dont want to at least

Cid

Postby Cid » January 17th, 2014, 12:13 pm

SMJ = Los pollos hermanos

Postby gastly369 » January 17th, 2014, 12:16 pm

dredman1

Re: Soooooo... Whose drugs are these?

Postby dredman1 » January 17th, 2014, 12:31 pm

shogun wrote:
skylinechild wrote:
snypaz wrote:Same excuse applies? They don't export to New York so they're in no way responsible?

IMHO its a pretty darn good excuse. If i as the manufacturer make something and someone packs drugs in it and ships it across to another part of the wrold you cant hold the manufacturer responsible -as they didnt ship it there.

likewise if nissan builds a car for a specific market- and someone buys it and hides drugs in it- you cant / wont go after nissan- as they didnt ship the car there. :!:

What if that's the whole ruse and the manufacturer is lying?... hence the investigation. Only on their side preferably. Like i said a few posts back, we lack the will to go after these bigger fish.
1001cw.jpg
1001cw.jpg (40.23 KiB) Viewed 1680 times

Postby pioneer » January 17th, 2014, 12:37 pm

Expect trini customs to seize ah american eagle camo cargo pants and claim they make ah big bust.

Postby zoom rader » January 17th, 2014, 12:47 pm

pioneer wrote:Expect trini customs to seize ah american eagle camo cargo pants and claim they make ah big bust.

Funny thing you should say that, two week aback coming from Houston I sat next to a afro yank guy with a camo pants on that told him that trini customs gonna seize his pants. The guy laughed and told me i crazy, i said ok bud.
In immgration line in trini one of the airport guards pulled him out the line and never saw him after that.

Postby Sky » January 17th, 2014, 1:45 pm

^^ What does his race have to do with the cool story bro?

Postby RASC » January 17th, 2014, 1:55 pm

Sky wrote:^^ What does his race have to do with the cool story bro?

Search the word "afro"
Nearly all you get is quotes from ZoomRader
Try and see :lol:

Postby redmanjp » January 17th, 2014, 2:09 pm

d day the US decide to ban our goods then d govt might decide to do something

PapaC

Postby PapaC » January 17th, 2014, 2:17 pm

Just food for thought. How hard do you think it would be to aquire labelling and canning machines to properly package and seal your cocaine for export?
Would tese people buy all that juice to go and empty it and put their goods inside, all nice and neat to send for family in 'Merica...

Postby redmanjp » January 17th, 2014, 2:21 pm

PapaC wrote:Just food for thought. How hard do you think it would be to aquire labelling and canning machines to properly package and seal your cocaine for export?
Would tese people buy all that juice to go and empty it and put their goods inside, all nice and neat to send for family in 'Merica...

yeah but then where those machines coming in?

Postby Chimera » January 17th, 2014, 2:55 pm

what ports did that container pass through before Trinidad?

Has to be pretty straightforward who shipped the container

Coppershot

Postby Coppershot » January 17th, 2014, 2:56 pm

Postby S_2NR » January 17th, 2014, 2:59 pm

PapaC wrote:Just food for thought. How hard do you think it would be to aquire labelling and canning machines to properly package and seal your cocaine for export?

Have you ever seen the factory floor at these companies?
High level of automation.
You feel man gonna seal and label can one by one for 100 million in coke. Come na man.

PapaC

Postby PapaC » January 17th, 2014, 3:06 pm

S_2NR wrote:

Have you ever seen the factory floor at these companies?
High level of automation.
You feel man gonna seal and label can one by one for 100 million in coke. Come na man.

My point exactly, think outside the box nah man...
But they will say we do not export to that market so we innocent.

Postby Sky » January 17th, 2014, 3:32 pm

Cid

Postby Cid » January 17th, 2014, 3:33 pm

the location of the smj factory is so convenient that boats can sail up to the factory door and offload their coc..... am cargo ..., and im sure the coast guards would be on a paid break at the time

Postby bluesteel29 » January 17th, 2014, 3:40 pm

allya feel dem refuse OPVs fuh fun orr

Postby K74T » January 17th, 2014, 3:49 pm

SM Jaleel responds to $600 million drug bust in U.S
"At present we have no knowledge or evidence of the details other than the press release from the United States. We have already commenced our own internal investigation; however, we are not yet in a position to provide any further details at this time."

By Multimedia Desk

Story Created: Jan 17, 2014 at 1:22 PM ECT

Story Updated: Jan 17, 2014 at 1:27 PM ECT

"SM Jaleel is a family owned and operated business that began its operations in Trinidad approximately 90 years ago. We have consistently maintained our family values throughout the development of the business to include, in more recent times, the global expansion of our operations through the exportation of our trusted products to various countries and communities around the world.
We have always taken pride in the high level of quality and standards that we have adhered to for our products and have and will always continue to comply with the various legislations both locally and internationally relating to the production and exportation of our products.
It is common knowledge that the criminals involved in the drug trade have been using mechanisms to transport cocaine such as fruit, car parts, lumber, hardware etc. It now appears that someone may be trying to utilize our company’s product in this regard.
We too have only just been recently informed of the situation that occurred almost a month ago on December 20, 2013, regarding the use of our TJC orange and grapefruit flavoured juice tins in the smuggling of cocaine in to the United States and have, to date, not been contacted by the relevant US authorities in connection with this matter.
At present we have no knowledge or evidence of the details other than the press release from the United States. We have already commenced our own internal investigation; however, we are not yet in a position to provide any further details at this time."

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/SM-Jaleel-responds-to-600-drug-bust-in-US-240833531.html

Postby shogun » January 17th, 2014, 3:50 pm

Even funnier is the live sitting in parliament, discussing the administrations success in streamlining the trade sector with import and export being a focus.

Must be a tense sitting.

Postby RASC » January 17th, 2014, 3:55 pm

bluesteel29 wrote:allya feel dem refuse OPVs fuh fun orr

Oh gorm doh hutt up their chest so on ah Friday evening!

src1983

Postby src1983 » January 17th, 2014, 4:00 pm

bluesteel29 wrote:allya feel dem refuse OPVs fuh fun orr

ras_elmo

Postby ras_elmo » January 17th, 2014, 4:12 pm

Cid wrote:the location of the smj factory is so convenient that boats can sail up to the factory door and offload their coc..... am cargo ..., and im sure the coast guards would be on a paid break at the time

Postby redmanjp » January 17th, 2014, 4:18 pm

:| :|
TrinidadOrangesweet.jpg