Dead under d walkover

Re: Dead under d walkover

Postby DVSTT » December 2nd, 2013, 2:56 pm

pete wrote:Arrive alive should maybe do a banner facing the pavement, maybe stuck to the concrete barriers, along the lines of "X number of people have DIED crossing here, don't be freaking lazy and make it X+1, use the walkover" with that same image of the dead person covered down.

Thing is, it's not just the $ for damaging your car. I know someone who knocked down and killed someone crossing the highway and it SERIOUSLY causes stress years down the road. Not only legally but emotionally as well.

I don't see why drivers should be penalized legally for killing persons that attempt to cross the highway, I do understand that it's unfortunate for someone to die like this, but there are signs on the highway that clearly indicate that pedestrians are not allowed....

Postby pete » December 2nd, 2013, 3:24 pm

Penalized or not, it's not easy knowing you killed someone.

Postby Hook » December 2nd, 2013, 6:07 pm

^^^ you're right. I can't begin to imagine that stress.

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » December 2nd, 2013, 7:05 pm

in order to account for folks like this, gov't needs to make some modifications by adding monkey bars to these walkovers. Same can be added at crosswalks.

Postby cinco » December 2nd, 2013, 7:18 pm

tourniquet wrote:in order to account for folks like this, gov't needs to make some modifications by adding monkey bars to these walkovers. Same can be added at crosswalks.

All they have to do is enforce the laws for jaywalking and penalise the idiots crossing the highway.
Oh but wait dem doh enforce nuttin jus create more assinine laws

Postby pete » December 2nd, 2013, 7:51 pm

They're all lazy, only way to get them to use the walkover is to make it more work to NOT use the walkover. So run some chain link down the middle of the highway like they did along cocorite a few years back.

DTAC

Postby DTAC » December 2nd, 2013, 9:28 pm

pete wrote:They're all lazy, only way to get them to use the walkover is to make it more work to NOT use the walkover. So run some chain link down the middle of the highway like they did along cocorite a few years back.

Yeah Pete, but look what came of that.

Scoobert Bauce

Postby Scoobert Bauce » December 2nd, 2013, 11:53 pm

saxman642 wrote:News tonight say while he was crossing, and his cap/hat fell off his head.

Is when he turn back (i assume while still in the road) to retrieve it one time, he get hit by a wagon.

I doh want to believe that SMFH

DTAC

Postby DTAC » December 3rd, 2013, 12:59 am

This is how you get to understand all of this:

Pedestrians have a "Bubble of Ignorance"™ surrounding them. They'll walk into and across a road while writing a bbm and it wouldn't even occur to them to look up. Why? Because in the "Bubble of Ignorance"™, the world revolves around them. If they are in the middle of the road, the world will somehow flow reality around them to suit.

So his hat falling off. His first and only, (and last apparently) thought, was about his hat. In the bubble. Nothing else outside existed in that moment.

Postby S_2NR » December 3rd, 2013, 1:11 am

pete wrote:Penalized or not, it's not easy knowing you killed someone.

better them than swerve or mash hard brakes and kill/hurt someone innocent behind or on the opposite lanes.

Postby Morpheus » December 3rd, 2013, 2:50 am

S_2NR wrote:
pete wrote:Penalized or not, it's not easy knowing you killed someone.

better them than swerve or mash hard brakes and kill/hurt someone innocent behind or on the opposite lanes.

I have to agree with this unfortunately. I will try to avoid as much as possible, but if it means not involving some other innocent person, I'm sorry but you getting it.

Same for ppl who make dotish drive. I not pulling to hit someone in next lane or "lick dong" some innocent person/s on the pavement so you could go your merry way and is my arse to "ketch". I'm sorry for you or your passenger/s. They gon have to collect it for your bad judgement.....

But instinct is to pull away anyway so I dunno...... :roll:

I try to avoid having to make that decision anyway :lol:

Postby desifemlove » December 3rd, 2013, 8:07 am

DVSTT wrote:
pete wrote:Arrive alive should maybe do a banner facing the pavement, maybe stuck to the concrete barriers, along the lines of "X number of people have DIED crossing here, don't be freaking lazy and make it X+1, use the walkover" with that same image of the dead person covered down.

Thing is, it's not just the $ for damaging your car. I know someone who knocked down and killed someone crossing the highway and it SERIOUSLY causes stress years down the road. Not only legally but emotionally as well.

I don't see why drivers should be penalized legally for killing persons that attempt to cross the highway, I do understand that it's unfortunate for someone to die like this, but there are signs on the highway that clearly indicate that pedestrians are not allowed....

Yes, manslaughter... :roll:

TriniAutoMart

Postby TriniAutoMart » December 3rd, 2013, 8:16 am

cinco wrote:
tourniquet wrote:in order to account for folks like this, gov't needs to make some modifications by adding monkey bars to these walkovers. Same can be added at crosswalks.

All they have to do is enforce the laws for jaywalking and penalise the idiots crossing the highway.
Oh but wait dem doh enforce nuttin jus create more assinine laws

Do we have jaywalking laws in T&T?

Postby sharkman121 » December 3rd, 2013, 8:17 am

i knocked down a dude by piarco lights some years ago... to this day i can still hear the "thud" as my car hit him

Postby Hook » December 3rd, 2013, 8:18 am

DTAC wrote:This is how you get to understand all of this:

Pedestrians have a "Bubble of Ignorance"[TRADE MARK SIGN] surrounding them. They'll walk into and across a road while writing a bbm and it wouldn't even occur to them to look up. Why? Because in the "Bubble of Ignorance"[TRADE MARK SIGN], the world revolves around them. If they are in the middle of the road, the world will somehow flow reality around them to suit.

So his hat falling off. His first and only, (and last apparently) thought, was about his hat. In the bubble. Nothing else outside existed in that moment.

Many pedestrians believe they always have right-of-way on the roads and that the world should stop for them to cross. Hence the "bonx meh nah" mentality.
At the core of it, it's just plain old inconsiderate behaviour. Drivers do the same thing.

Postby desifemlove » December 3rd, 2013, 8:27 am

Hook wrote:
DTAC wrote:This is how you get to understand all of this:

Pedestrians have a "Bubble of Ignorance"[TRADE MARK SIGN] surrounding them. They'll walk into and across a road while writing a bbm and it wouldn't even occur to them to look up. Why? Because in the "Bubble of Ignorance"[TRADE MARK SIGN], the world revolves around them. If they are in the middle of the road, the world will somehow flow reality around them to suit.

Many pedestrians believe they always have right-of-way on the roads and that the world should stop for them to cross. Hence the "bonx meh nah" mentality.
At the core of it, it's just plain old inconsiderate behaviour. Drivers do the same thing.
\

lol.. depends on the scenario.

on a high speed road, fine.

but on local/small roads, pedestrians DO hold right of way, especially on junctions. but then drivers as yourself mostly likely bought dey licence and hold no knowledge of road laws or empathy for pedestrians crossing junctions. ;)

Postby SMc » December 3rd, 2013, 8:33 am

Hear this next jackarse..

Postby desifemlove » December 3rd, 2013, 8:38 am

hmm.. road laws are jackarse.. ok..

Postby sharkman121 » December 3rd, 2013, 8:39 am

desifemlove wrote:on a high speed road, fine. but on local/small roads, pedestrians DO hold right of way, especially on junctions.

Postby desifemlove » December 3rd, 2013, 8:40 am

sharkman121 wrote:
desifemlove wrote:on a high speed road, fine. but on local/small roads, pedestrians DO hold right of way, especially on junctions.

so you buy yuh licence too?

It's basic road laws.

Postby SMc » December 3rd, 2013, 8:42 am

desifemlove wrote:
sharkman121 wrote:

so you buy yuh licence too?

It's basic road laws.

No its not...I think you misunderstood what was written.
Last edited by SMc on December 3rd, 2013, 8:56 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Morpheus » December 3rd, 2013, 8:43 am

LoL. Whey dem does come out?

Postby Dizzy28 » December 3rd, 2013, 10:27 am

sharkman121 wrote:i knocked down a dude by piarco lights some years ago... to this day i can still hear the "thud" as my car hit him

He died???

Postby sharkman121 » December 3rd, 2013, 10:48 am

sharkman121 wrote:i knocked down a dude by piarco lights some years ago... to this day i can still hear the "thud" as my car hit him

He died???

nah..spent some months in ICU though..

Postby S_2NR » December 3rd, 2013, 11:16 am

How the car held up

Postby sharkman121 » December 3rd, 2013, 11:26 am

dented bumper and bonnet, cracked glass, wing mirror broke off... meh, not too bad.

Postby Hook » December 3rd, 2013, 11:29 am

:lol: hear this fool nuh

Postby desifemlove » December 3rd, 2013, 11:31 am

sharkman121 wrote:

He died???

nah..spent some months in ICU though..

:(

SkettellGod

Postby SkettellGod » December 5th, 2013, 11:04 am

In situations like these, the driver should not be held liable, and the insurance company should bill the deceased's next of kin/ family.

Postby SMc » December 5th, 2013, 1:44 pm

What if the driver is uninsured? I'm not stating or suggesting the driver is wrong...but what would happen in that case.