why is people seeing PNM as "de saviour"?

Re: why is people seeing PNM as "de saviour"?

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » November 5th, 2013, 2:33 pm

Country_Bookie wrote:
Azzuri wrote:So crime down, food prices hardly rising, roads better than ever, we got a new highway on stream, new schools, ambulance and police actually respond, more visible police, guard rails on the ub highway and inflation under control.

Yet people fed up?

These are accomplishments they should be speaking about, not talking abt Jack. I would also add the laptops in secondary schools, $3k old age pensions, Mitsubishi UFJ plant, settlement of the Clico debacle, letting citizens own part of FCB etc.

As for the PNM, I have yet to hear any new ideas from them on how to grow the economy and develop the people. Vision 2020 was a failure. If they get back into power in 2015, are they going to resume their plans of using the country’s money to build multi storey buildings in POS to create the illusion of development, while the rest of the country is left undeveloped?

If you want to prove yourself as a credible opposition, you have to tell us what you would do differently and why. Don’t just complain and criticize without offering a better alternative. That suggests to me that if you get into govt you’ll make worse decisions than the present lot.

Imagine a Country Bookie has to explain this to you town folk! :roll: :roll:

ninjabilly

Postby ninjabilly » November 5th, 2013, 2:38 pm

Party done mash up

spirited721

Postby spirited721 » November 5th, 2013, 2:38 pm

Like 8-)

Postby wagonrunner » November 5th, 2013, 2:39 pm

Mr. Red Sleeper wrote:
Country_Bookie wrote:If you want to prove yourself as a credible opposition, you have to tell us what you would do differently and why. Don’t just complain and criticize without offering a better alternative. That suggests to me that if you get into govt you’ll make worse decisions than the present lot.

Imagine a Country Bookie has to explain this to you town folk! :roll: :roll:

what is interesting is that is exactly how the current lot got in. there really are different rules governing each.

ImageImage

Postby hustla_ambition101 » November 5th, 2013, 2:41 pm

Country_Bookie wrote:
Azzuri wrote:So crime down, food prices hardly rising, roads better than ever, we got a new highway on stream, new schools, ambulance and police actually respond, more visible police, guard rails on the ub highway and inflation under control.

Yet people fed up?

These are accomplishments they should be speaking about, not talking abt Jack. I would also add the laptops in secondary schools, $3k old age pensions, Mitsubishi UFJ plant, settlement of the Clico debacle, letting citizens own part of FCB etc.

As for the PNM, I have yet to hear any new ideas from them on how to grow the economy and develop the people. Vision 2020 was a failure. If they get back into power in 2015, are they going to resume their plans of using the country’s money to build multi storey buildings in POS to create the illusion of development, while the rest of the country is left undeveloped?

If you want to prove yourself as a credible opposition, you have to tell us what you would do differently and why. Don’t just complain and criticize without offering a better alternative. That suggests to me that if you get into govt you’ll make worse decisions than the present lot.

Crime is down??? Yet we hearing about a murder per day, citizens getting arrested and ending up dead in police stations and no one is made accountable, how much cars were stolen in the Nagar alone last week.
When last you guys took a look at the prices of fresh fruits and vegetables, the prices are still high and one can get apples, grapes, plums at cheaper prices than locally grown fruits, Arima market patchoi selling $10 for a scrawny head last Saturday.
The roads are being paved, but at what cost to taxpayers and of what quality, brand new roads should not have sinks, dings and potholes. They started paving the Valencia stretch and work stop all of a sudden.
What new schools?? Can a list be provided?
Ambulance and police responding and police more visible??? Ambulance is being run by a private firm years now and still some people die waiting on ambulances. Police are visible yes, but are they enforcing the law, people flouting traffic laws and police turning a blind eye, every morning the westbound CRH is full of shoulder drivers, red light runners and other offenders and not a traffic police in sight. I'll give Jack credit for the barriers on the Southbound.......
Inflation is under control or are they skewing figures to make themselves look good. Smart card, URP and CEPEP are some of the reasons why there appears to be high employment in the country, also people gambling and borrowing making it appear that they have money but its not really the case.
Laptops in schools was a waste of time, the ones who utilize the laptops for school work are in the minority and some had computers long before, the majority are using them for games, facebook and porno.
Is it really fair for people who did nothing but have sex and make a bunch of burdens on the state to collect the same pension as people who worked hard to build this country as employees of the state, I think not, that pension is no talking point, I know elderly people who not getting a pension because they own a business which is unfair since they paying taxes etc.
Clico & HCU should have never been settled using the Treasury since both were private institutions and people played greedy and fast and loose with money and I blame PNM for that whole fiasco. The Mitsubishi plant, let's wait and see what that reaps which leaves FCB which is the one of few worthwhile things they did.

Where is the proper diversification of the economy from energy?? Where is the food security?? Where is sustainable and equal opportunity employment for all eligible?? Where are the charges on all the alleged corruption?? We still have Ministries which exist in run down dilapidated buildings where toilets can't even flush, still have thousands of university graduates that can't get proper jobs and have to play 2nd fiddle to 3 o level holders, the list goes on and on

Postby Habit7 » November 5th, 2013, 2:52 pm

@hustla_ambition101
I was going to address all those things but I have come to realise that facts are circumstantial to some people here.

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » November 5th, 2013, 3:56 pm

Fernandez:) wrote:last time pnm came back after panday indian people was targeted and persecuted. They were kidnapped, robbed , raped and some were killed. Alot of govt workers were fired and everything in the country went haywire. Food and everything else went up. Inflation was the highest and salary was at its lowest. No Union protested for more money, they waited until UNC came into office. Just to put pressure on the indian. An all this was under manning. Under Keith it go be worst.

Is that what allyuh want??? No black man go rule over me again.

I agree with until the last sentence fadda......don't incite race please. We all know here on tuner (well except rafari and Habit7, they will swear nobody ever get kidnap) that the rest of your statement is absolutely true.

There are people that want to go back to those dark days. Read the rantings here and you'll see. Not everyone can handle change it seems.........

:evilbat:

OffshoreMarketing

Postby OffshoreMarketing » November 5th, 2013, 4:02 pm

hope alyuh put away allyuh kidnap savign account lol

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » November 5th, 2013, 4:04 pm

Yet people fed up?

Same thing I ask every day. In some ways I want the PNM to come back in office so we will see all those who talking what they will have to say. I bet all of them crapaud will have lock on their mouth.
In fact when the last PNM administration was in office many of them had nothing to say.

Hypocrites.............

Postby hustla_ambition101 » November 5th, 2013, 4:07 pm

OffshoreMarketing wrote:hope alyuh put away allyuh kidnap savign account lol

Those who dealing with underworld figures are the ones who have to worry about kidnapping :wink:

Postby Country_Bookie » November 5th, 2013, 4:38 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:
Country_Bookie wrote:

Yet people fed up?

Crime is down??? Yet we hearing about a murder per day, citizens getting arrested and ending up dead in police stations and no one is made accountable, how much cars were stolen in the Nagar alone last week.
When last you guys took a look at the prices of fresh fruits and vegetables, the prices are still high and one can get apples, grapes, plums at cheaper prices than locally grown fruits, Arima market patchoi selling $10 for a scrawny head last Saturday.
The roads are being paved, but at what cost to taxpayers and of what quality, brand new roads should not have sinks, dings and potholes. They started paving the Valencia stretch and work stop all of a sudden.
What new schools?? Can a list be provided?
Ambulance and police responding and police more visible??? Ambulance is being run by a private firm years now and still some people die waiting on ambulances. Police are visible yes, but are they enforcing the law, people flouting traffic laws and police turning a blind eye, every morning the westbound CRH is full of shoulder drivers, red light runners and other offenders and not a traffic police in sight. I'll give Jack credit for the barriers on the Southbound.......
Inflation is under control or are they skewing figures to make themselves look good. Smart card, URP and CEPEP are some of the reasons why there appears to be high employment in the country, also people gambling and borrowing making it appear that they have money but its not really the case.
Laptops in schools was a waste of time, the ones who utilize the laptops for school work are in the minority and some had computers long before, the majority are using them for games, facebook and porno.
Is it really fair for people who did nothing but have sex and make a bunch of burdens on the state to collect the same pension as people who worked hard to build this country as employees of the state, I think not, that pension is no talking point, I know elderly people who not getting a pension because they own a business which is unfair since they paying taxes etc.
Clico & HCU should have never been settled using the Treasury since both were private institutions and people played greedy and fast and loose with money and I blame PNM for that whole fiasco. The Mitsubishi plant, let's wait and see what that reaps which leaves FCB which is the one of few worthwhile things they did.

Where is the proper diversification of the economy from energy?? Where is the food security?? Where is sustainable and equal opportunity employment for all eligible?? Where are the charges on all the alleged corruption?? We still have Ministries which exist in run down dilapidated buildings where toilets can't even flush, still have thousands of university graduates that can't get proper jobs and have to play 2nd fiddle to 3 o level holders, the list goes on and on

I'm not saying the gov't has lived up to our expectations in 2010. Far from it. But they have done a better job than the PNM did from 2001-2010 in a lot of areas that matter. I don't have a problem voting them out, but not if it means putting PNM back in power with their failed policies from the last decade.

Inflation is 5.1% now, was regularly above 10% under Manning's administration. Remember his famous words that the sky will not fall in if inflation reaches double digits. It's like they never cared to even bother to try to keep it down. PP has at least tried with focusing on increasing food production and removing VAT from food items.

Murders was over 500 a year under the last few years of PNM. It's been under 400 for the last 2 years. It's still unacceptable, but it's progress in the right direction. PNM was moving in the other direction.

The point of the $3k pension was a poverty reduction measure for senior citizens. For those who worked hard and saved they have no need of a govt pension. For those who didn't, for whatever reason, the State seeks to ensure they can enjoy at least a minimum standard of living. Otherwise as prices kept going up and their pensions remained under $2k, we'd see more of them lining the streets begging.

Whichever govt was in power had no choice but to bail out Clico, just as the US govt had no choice but to bail out AIG in 2008. Financial systems are built on trust and confidence. If you allow one of your largest insurance companies to go under, all of that trust is eroded overnight and you're possibly opening the door to a financial meltdown.

Like you, I'm disappointed that many of their plans have not borne results, particularly Dookeran's plans for diversifying the economy. But I liked his ideas to develop industries in shipbuilding and fashion design better than I liked Nunez Tesheira's plans for developing industries in trivial areas like film that would never make much impact on the economy.

So in short, I can't support the PNM unless I see them coming up with new ideas to develop the country. I can't stomach seeing more projects like the $4Bn spent on a gov't office campus that was originally supposed to cost $1Bn, and which has the effect of ensuring all govt offices remain concentrated in POS for the forseeable future.

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » November 5th, 2013, 5:06 pm

Those who dealing with underworld figures are the ones who have to worry about kidnapping :wink:

So by your logic everyone who was kidnapped under PNM was dealing with underworld figures? Right...right...carry on then.

Postby sliderz1 » November 5th, 2013, 5:17 pm

parables parables...

Postby rfari » November 5th, 2013, 5:20 pm

Meem knw why ollur unc.ppl bummy so. Get ollur a and o levels up and cho way dem degree ollur buy and everything go be cool like fonzies. No need for de beatup.
Pnm loves you and will take care of u

Postby nemisis » November 5th, 2013, 5:23 pm

rfari wrote:Meem knw why ollur unc.ppl bummy so. Get ollur a and o levels up and cho way dem degree ollur buy and everything go be cool like fonzies. No need for de beatup.
Pnm loves you and will take care of u
for the record my stuff wasn't bought and I not cool like fonzies

triniwhiteboi

Postby triniwhiteboi » November 5th, 2013, 5:29 pm

On a realz. Why ollur buying degree when it so easy to get now thanks to the PNM? It have COSTATT, UTT, Lock Jack and I hear UWI rel easy now too. And if yuh doh have yuh five CXC (or CAPE), doh worry. PNM make that easy to attain too.

Plus, to make things better, the UNC just continue the tradition of dumbing down the standard of education. So now, things even easier. People who does buy degree getting rob without mask.

On a more serious note though, oh how I yearn for the day when Trinidad and Tobago's education system will churn out actual intellects and not just people with pieces of paper who still can't spell and write. The government that could do that, I'll stain my finger for. In the mean time, I'll do like Manning and go Cuba whenever I get sick.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » November 5th, 2013, 6:41 pm

UNC FOREVER checking in!!!!!!!!!

OffshoreMarketing

Postby OffshoreMarketing » November 5th, 2013, 10:13 pm

toyota2nr wrote:

So by your logic everyone who was kidnapped under PNM was dealing with underworld figures? Right...right...carry on then.

Hahah Hustla thank you u just proved my point that a large demographic in Trinidad actually supported kidnapping and to support it they had the most stupid reasoning for it... makes you wonder where all that blood money went...

Postby rfari » November 5th, 2013, 11:19 pm

Question.
What did the ppg do to reduce kidnapping?
Take ollur time. Meem going noway

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » November 5th, 2013, 11:23 pm

What did the PNM do? You have all night..,

Postby Habit7 » November 5th, 2013, 11:24 pm

Was it PNM policy for certain individuals to be kidnapped?
or
PNM policy to reduce kidnappings to zero?

Because history would record that they fulfilled their policy to do the latter, just saying.

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » November 5th, 2013, 11:25 pm

Actually it was the former...

Camo lion

Postby Camo lion » November 5th, 2013, 11:26 pm

Patrick manning was far better than rowley

Postby rfari » November 5th, 2013, 11:32 pm

toyota2nr wrote:What did the PNM do? You have all night..,

Fact: kidnapping much lower now compared to under last pnm rule.
So
I ask again, what did ppg do to achieve this?

OffshoreMarketing

Postby OffshoreMarketing » November 5th, 2013, 11:34 pm

i guess we gonna hear abt the ppg then unc kidnapping its own ppl to destabilize pnm right? lmao what ajoke if u think thats a real argument

Postby rfari » November 5th, 2013, 11:39 pm

OffshoreMarketing wrote:i guess we gonna hear abt the ppg then unc kidnapping its own ppl to destabilize pnm right? lmao what ajoke if u think thats a real argument

Can u answer the question or not? I dawt u so dotish that u dont understand the question i ask. Is it everything that has to be spoonfed for u dunceyhead unc ppl?

OffshoreMarketing

Re: why is people seeing PNM as

Postby OffshoreMarketing » November 5th, 2013, 11:41 pm

rfari wrote:
OffshoreMarketing wrote:i guess we gonna hear abt the ppg then unc kidnapping its own ppl to destabilize pnm right? lmao what ajoke if u think thats a real argument

Can u answer the question or not? I dawt u so dotish that u dont understand the question i ask. Is it everything that has to be spoonfed for u dunceyhead unc ppl?

so because i talk about kidnapping that automatically makes me a UNC lol cool man

Postby Habit7 » November 5th, 2013, 11:44 pm

No actually expecting to hear more "oh noes" "if PNM come back in power, our GDP is going to multiply again! Our local and foreign reserves going to grow and they going to bring wild things like balanced and surplus budgets"

"Now self we going and suffer!"

Postby rfari » November 5th, 2013, 11:47 pm

Answer the question. If not find something else to do with your time. Srs discussion going on here and u come with ur preconceived notions of what direction im going.

OffshoreMarketing

Re: why is people seeing PNM as

Postby OffshoreMarketing » November 5th, 2013, 11:48 pm

rfari wrote:Answer the question. If not find something else to do with your time. Srs discussion going on here and u come with ur preconceived notions of what direction im going.

nah buddy answer your own question i have actually no notion about where u are going but u have actually shown me exactly who you are thanks have a good one :lol: