It's best you explainRedman wrote:Caroni cost of production was?????
World prices without EU subsidies?
Venedadiansrspann wrote:No Raj ain't want to cut cane again bai. They money tall now and want Hilux and ting nah. Who we go get to wuk if dey open back caroni?
zoom rader wrote:It's best you explainRedman wrote:Caroni cost of production was?????
Redman wrote:zoom rader wrote:It's best you explainRedman wrote:Caroni cost of production was?????
1)We are high cost producers in a world market that is also made up of governments protecting their domestic labor/industry.
2)We are inefficient...we produce at a level that puts us at 53rd in the world in terms of yield per hectare,60th in terms of volume of total production.
3) We are small producers -Peru gets 2.5 times more cane out of a given area, and produces 10 times our volume.
4) We produced forex while losing similar amounts in TTD. So for every USD Caroni earned..it cost us in losses and subvention 7-8 TTD.
So why did PNM block the group of Indians from India that wanted to revamp the sugar industryRedman wrote:zoom rader wrote:It's best you explainRedman wrote:Caroni cost of production was?????
1)We are high cost producers in a world market that is also made up of governments protecting their domestic labor/industry.
2)We are inefficient...we produce at a level that puts us at 53rd in the world in terms of yield per hectare,60th in terms of volume of total production.
3) We are small producers -Peru gets 2.5 times more cane out of a given area, and produces 10 times our volume.
4) We produced forex while losing similar amounts in TTD. So for every USD Caroni earned..it cost us in losses and subvention 7-8 TTD.
zoom rader wrote:So why did PNM block the group of Indians from India that wanted to revamp the sugar industryRedman wrote:zoom rader wrote:It's best you explainRedman wrote:Caroni cost of production was?????
rspann wrote:Redman is correct up to a certain point. I agree with his conclusions, but instead of closing down everything and ending up with zero income , why can't governments ,all all all , revamp and manage properly and cut out top heavy cronyism and do what they were elected to facking do?
Oh did PNM just not want Indians investingRedman wrote:zoom rader wrote:So why did PNM block the group of Indians from India that wanted to revamp the sugar industryRedman wrote:zoom rader wrote:It's best you explainRedman wrote:Caroni cost of production was?????
For the same he ignored the fully funded proposal that would have kept all farmers growing cane as part owners of a paper product co.
Same reason kamla slept out.
Gopaul luck is not seepaul luck
Well the PNM prime minister gone Ghana to learn how to plant yam.Dizzy28 wrote:We couldnt keep subsidizing Caroni even if we wanted to keep it. It would have contravened WTO and EU EPA rules.
Yep , South park was onehydroep wrote:Caroni "owned" some of the most valuable real estate in the country. That had to shut down for certain fellas to get their grubby little hands on it...
zoom rader wrote:Oh did PNM just not want Indians investingRedman wrote:zoom rader wrote:So why did PNM block the group of Indians from India that wanted to revamp the sugar industryRedman wrote:zoom rader wrote:It's best you explainRedman wrote:Caroni cost of production was?????
For the same he ignored the fully funded proposal that would have kept all farmers growing cane as part owners of a paper product co.
Same reason kamla slept out.
Gopaul luck is not seepaul luck
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:fb85cc62-6505-4d6f-aa8e-602a3afe5bcb.jpeg
The Guyana government says it will build a sugar refinery at the Enmore Estate, East Coast Demerara that had been closed since 2018.
“We have an investor, who is in the final stage of an investment decision soon, to convert the Enmore sugar estate that is now closed into a sugar refinery,” President Irfaan Ali told the annual dinner of the Private Sector Commission’s (PSC) on Monday night.
Guyana is projecting to increase brown sugar production to 100,000 tonnes annually from this year and President Ali said that this means that Guyana would have to import some sugar for refinement.
“Whatever we can supply, we’ll supply then we’ll have to fill the gap so refining will occur here,” he said, adding that the facility is expected to provide opportunities for “hundreds of upskilled jobs”.
The Barbados-based Caribbean Development Bank (CDB) had in 2019, commissioned a study to determine whether Plantation White sugar could be used a substitute for white sugar.
However, the Guyana Manufacturers and Services Association (GMSA) later protested plans by Belize to seek a 40 per cent Common External Tariff (CET) on extra-regionally produced refined sugar.
MaxPower wrote:Well done Guyana….
T&T remains behind and visionless as usual.
No, the PNM remains visionless by telling people to be lazyMaxPower wrote:Well done Guyana….
And what ever they have vision for Will have so much corruption it will fall apart, or drain the treasuryzoom rader wrote:No, the PNM remains visionless by telling people to be lazyMaxPower wrote:Well done Guyana….
MaxPower wrote:Well done Guyana….