kevinknr

Re: H1N1 in trini

Postby kevinknr » October 3rd, 2013, 8:10 pm

pioneer wrote:Check how hand sanitizer gon hit premium

Gonna full up my bottle in work tomorrow

Good thinking. my coworker has a bottle on her desk next to mine. I'll "borrow" it tomorrow. :wink:

Postby pugboy » October 3rd, 2013, 8:28 pm

practice good "personal space" habits

eg stay far from the idiots who like to stand directly over your shoulder in the grocery line and breathe in your face without you knowing

some people also like to step up to you and talk directly in your face when discussing anything
they seem to be unable to make a point without being directly in front

Postby pioneer » October 3rd, 2013, 8:34 pm

Thaz usually people tryin to maco your pin

And well talknah society as usual

Postby pioneer » October 3rd, 2013, 9:07 pm

Well is dem go dead fuss

TriniAutoMart

Postby TriniAutoMart » October 3rd, 2013, 9:33 pm

They are one of the more "at risk" groups

Postby javishm » October 3rd, 2013, 10:41 pm

i see hand sanitizer sales is on the rise again...

Postby rfari » October 3rd, 2013, 11:00 pm

Hope dey doh killoff swine for christmas

Postby pioneer » October 3rd, 2013, 11:27 pm

Hope dey contain it to the beetham...dem so cya afford health care an doh listen to doctor anyhow

ian alleyne need program material anyhow

tropi_flakes

Postby tropi_flakes » October 4th, 2013, 1:14 am

So far we have 2 confirmed deaths from it and 10 confirmed cases, be safe ppl

Postby DVSTT » October 4th, 2013, 1:27 am

pioneer wrote:Hope dey contain it to the beetham...dem so cya afford health care an doh listen to doctor anyhow

People over reacting to swine flu IMO. Proper hygiene and regular use of hand sanitizer will go a long way

Postby dougla_boy » October 4th, 2013, 5:04 am

tropi_flakes wrote:So far we have 2 confirmed deaths from it and 10 confirmed cases, be safe ppl

I tawt swine flu doh kill yuh? Jah boy...... I cyah deal wit dis nah.... Gonna pump wit a mask on my face yes

Postby ~Vēġó~ » October 4th, 2013, 7:26 am

well look how I tort this was much ado about nothing......level backpedal here....respect.

rockin' the mask....

Coppershot

Postby Coppershot » October 4th, 2013, 7:37 am

Swine Flu Prevention Tips

Flu Factories....
Its long and detailed.

tropi_flakes

Postby tropi_flakes » October 4th, 2013, 8:03 am

The sad part is , now is election season. all the party meetings that's taking place is prime location for it to spread

silver

Postby silver » October 4th, 2013, 10:05 am

IT’S SWINE FLU

Two persons who died after exhibiting influenza H1N1 symptoms may possibly be among the six confirmed cases of the swine flu virus, Minister of Health Dr Fuad Khan said yesterday.

Speaking at a media conference at the Ministry of Health, Park Street, Port of Spain, Khan who called on citizens not to panic said the six cases of the H1N1 influenza A virus were confirmed in three patients from San Fernando General Hospital, one from Eric Williams Medical Sciences Complex and two patients from an unknown area.

Within the region it was reported two days ago that Barbados had confirmed four cases of swine flu including one death.

When asked about the recent death of two persons with flu like symptoms, one of which was treated at the San Fernando General Hospital, Khan said, “I can’t answer you accurately but most likely. He may be one of the positives of the San Fernando General Hospital.”

“What I want to do is allay the fears that there is this great epidemic coming at us, it is not and that is what I want to do, because if it takes a life of its own we are just going to have like in 2009—over reaction. So we are trying to avoid over reaction.

“Now in order to decrease the level of panic that may set into this country as we see there are various headlines on it. Barbados has had, I think, one death as a result of the H1N1, I want to assure the public that this H1N1 which is called swine flu not bird flu—H1N5 is bird flu, (H1N1) has been around in Trinidad and Tobago since 2009. We have been having cases since 2009 so this is nothing new that is occurring at this time. I do believe what would have triggered the fear and concern was the neighbouring countries having the possibility of a death,” he said.

Khan said the high-risk population for the virus are those who are immuno compromised and so are susceptible—such as children six months to five years old, the elderly above the age of 65, those with respiratory disorders such as asthma etc, those who are on chemotherapy drugs. also people who for some reason or the other may have an illness where there self defence mechanisms do not respond properly.

“Those are the high-risk populations, those are the ones we will be looking to vaccinate after assessment by a medical doctor at a health office or a private centre. What causes the mortality of a patient of a high-risk nature would be respiratory infections, antibiotics are not going to help you, so you must go to the nearest emergency centre for treatment because you may have to have intensive care management where you may need assisted ventilation.”

“The symptoms are those of a normal common cold so what I would suggest anyone whose family has these symptoms should see a medical doctor to be assessed as soon as possible. The Ministry of Health has adequate medication for management we have adequate vaccination for prevention but there should not be a run on vaccinations just the population of high-risk persons should be vaccinated,” he added.

He said, if someone does not belong to the high risk population but is exhibiting symptoms and signs they will be vaccinated as well. The vaccine, he said, will be made available through the expanded programme for immunisation and the medical centres through the country and “active surveillance” will be done to make sure they get all the information.

Khan said if the virus is caught early it prevents mortality, but if it is caught late the respiratory system is then in disarray.

He also pointed out that the most important part of prevention is the social part of covering your mouth when you sneeze and cough.

“Because when you cough and you sneeze the droplets go approximately six feet. When you do wash you hands you can use sanitisers to kill the virus, sunlight and fresh air kills the virus. Washing of hands with soap and water is important,” he said.

He said when using public spaces try and sanitise your hands before putting it into your mouth so basically what prevents this virus is simple proper hygiene and cough social actions.

“Dr Avery Hinds Dr Avery Hinds director of the national surveillance unit and Dr Clive Teeluckdharry, Ag Chief Medical Officer will be dealing with the port entrances and educating passengers who enter into the country what symptoms to look for and where they should get assistance at the health facilities.”

“We have alerted the airlines to look for people with symptoms and they will not be able to fly because this is a problem that is throughout Caricom and throughout the world since 2009. However, because of the incident that has occurred we have to allay the fears of the public,” he added.

Khan said, people exhibiting symptoms can go to both the public and private centres.

Symptoms of the Influenza virus include:

• Sudden high fever (over 38°C or 100°F)

• Sore throat

• Runny or stuffy nose

• Coughing

• Headache

• Body aches

• Fatigue

Persons experiencing Influenza-like symptoms and any signs of faintness, weakness or breathing difficulty should present themselves immediately to the nearest Hospital Emergency Room for management.

Persons in high-risk groups experiencing flu-like symptoms should seek early medical attention. These groups include:

• Pregnant women

• Children under 2 years of age;

• Persons with respiratory complications like asthma and chronic lung disease;

• Persons with weakened immune systems including persons on chemotherapy or immunosuppressive therapy for transplants or other medical conditions;

• Persons with chronic non-communicable diseases including diabetes;

• Persons 65 years and older;

How is the flu spread?

The main way influenza (flu) viruses are spread is through droplets released into the air from the coughs and sneezes of an infected person. This can happen when droplets are inhaled directly by people nearby. Some droplets containing the virus also fall on hard surfaces (like desks, tables, phones and door knobs). People pick up the virus when they touch these surfaces and then touch their eyes, mouth or nose.

Another common method of infection is by shaking hands with someone who has not maintained proper respiratory and hand hygiene, and failing to wash your own hands before touching your face (especially your nose).

When can an infected person spread the flu virus to others?

Infected persons can spread the flu virus from 1 day before symptoms develop and up to 7 days after symptoms appear. Children, especially younger children, can be contagious for much longer periods (10 to 14 days).

Like fuad read meh post yesterday ?? :blush:

Postby dougla_boy » October 4th, 2013, 10:30 am

WHERE THE FCUK U GETTING A VACCINE?!?!?!!?

I WANT IT NOW!!!!

NicholasM.

Postby NicholasM. » October 4th, 2013, 11:03 am

pioneer wrote:Check how hand sanitizer gon hit premium

Gonna full up my bottle in work tomorrow

c@ri$$@

Postby c@ri$$@ » October 4th, 2013, 11:37 am

Damien wrote:im on my third set of antibiotics and this flu wouldn't go :shock:

Ii think i have that same thing. Got it first week in September, took some antibiotics but did not recover fully. Still have a sore throat and fever...

How can u tel if u fighting a bacteria or a virus?

Postby S_2NR » October 4th, 2013, 12:15 pm

Antibiotics for the flu? Wtf is this

eel7

Postby eel7 » October 4th, 2013, 5:48 pm

Well clearly if u on your third set of antibiotics and it not working then something is wrong. Visit a doctor asap.
P. S antibiotics would in NO way help the flu.

Postby pioneer » October 4th, 2013, 6:31 pm

Sorry for people who ha chiren goin daycare...pepper your angus

Postby Spitfir3 » October 4th, 2013, 6:46 pm

DVSTT wrote:
pioneer wrote:Hope dey contain it to the beetham...dem so cya afford health care an doh listen to doctor anyhow

People over reacting to swine flu IMO. Proper hygiene and regular use of hand sanitizer will go a long way

den daz it dey 1/2 the population screwed

Postby Kenjo » October 4th, 2013, 6:49 pm

I know they have different supplements and some people recommend one called ' emergen C ' it some name like that. Any one else has any other recommendations ...... Tablets or liquids

Postby Trini Hookah » October 4th, 2013, 6:52 pm

Kenjo wrote:I know they have different supplements and some people recommend one called ' emergen C ' it some name like that. Any one else has any other recommendations ...... Tablets or liquids

Breds emergen C is a Vit C booster effervescent :|

Theraflu helps flu like symptoms but real rare to find those still on shelves.

Postby Spitfir3 » October 4th, 2013, 6:53 pm

c@ri$$@ wrote:
Damien wrote:im on my third set of antibiotics and this flu wouldn't go :shock:

Ii think i have that same thing. Got it first week in September, took some antibiotics but did not recover fully. Still have a sore throat and fever...

How can u tel if u fighting a bacteria or a virus?

if you have the virus then antibiotics won't do sheit for you..whatever doctor your going too i suggest you not go back there because normally 1 set of antibiotics do the trick and you feel relief alot sooner than you would with a virus

too know the difference you pretty much need a competent doctor's opinion..but from my personal experience the pain from having an infection is a lot worse than what you would get from a flu..do you get like a sharp pain in your throat anytime you swallow and does it sort of ache your ear as well?

Postby Kenjo » October 4th, 2013, 7:20 pm

Trini Hookah wrote:
Kenjo wrote:I know they have different supplements and some people recommend one called ' emergen C ' it some name like that. Any one else has any other recommendations ...... Tablets or liquids

Breds emergen C is a Vit C booster effervescent :|

Theraflu helps flu like symptoms but real rare to find those still on shelves.

sorry i meant preventative to boost the immune system just like exercise and proper rest also help prevent the flu

Postby pioneer » October 4th, 2013, 7:38 pm

I hear some doctors chargin $500 for the shot...per child

Postby nemisis » October 4th, 2013, 8:09 pm

Sabriel wrote:^ dai small ting..some normal vaccines for infants range from $750-$1200 , privately.

$500 equivalent to two packs of weave or a fake manchester jersey..
or a month supply of dog food as well as snacks for kids lunch boxes for same duration... Not everybody on weave dan

Postby Trini Hookah » October 4th, 2013, 9:09 pm

Sabriel wrote:^ dai small ting..some normal vaccines for infants range from $750-$1200 , privately.

$500 equivalent to two packs of weave or a fake manchester jersey..

Dont see the relevance of the weave comment, but those drugs arent cheap.

Postby gastly369 » October 4th, 2013, 11:42 pm

allyuh help meh jah