hunting ban

Re: hunting ban

Postby 88sins » September 19th, 2013, 6:04 pm

GRIM, do dis d retarded ppl by classin dem wit dem jackass politicians. d retards might take offence

Postby streetbeastINC. » September 19th, 2013, 6:50 pm

Cant wait to enforce this law....

Postby pugboy » September 19th, 2013, 7:21 pm

This ban will have similar effects of the US prohibition alcohol ban....

GRIM

Postby GRIM » September 19th, 2013, 7:36 pm

streetbeastINC. wrote:Cant wait to enforce this law....

wham u is ah faggo....police awah

anyway goin an have alot of free time now...guess i better start exercising more.....

exercising meh right hand that is...

Postby 88sins » September 19th, 2013, 9:28 pm

GRIM exercise the trigger finger. 2 yrs does pass real fast. When yuh get bored, it have mango,zaboca,breadfruit an plenty other fruits need pickin an is good target practice

jayakamarksman

Postby jayakamarksman » September 19th, 2013, 9:52 pm

For ur info fellas forestry decision makes an annual count every year and this is based on the frequent appearance of an animal in its natural habitat.yes i agree to have a short ban but a three year ban would cause a large increase in the population of wildlife and this can cause problems and another point to consider can we say for sure hunting is causing the decrease in wildlife.

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » September 20th, 2013, 1:04 am

if mining iguanas and goutis, then will it be considered 'domestic meat'?

jayakamarksman

Postby jayakamarksman » September 20th, 2013, 5:59 am

There is a wildlife permit to keep those animals you mentioned

Postby Gem_in_i » September 20th, 2013, 6:34 am

jayakamarksman wrote:For ur info fellas forestry decision makes an annual count every year and this is based on the frequent appearance of an animal in its natural habitat.yes i agree to have a short ban but a three year ban would cause a large increase in the population of wildlife and this can cause problems and another point to consider can we say for sure hunting is causing the decrease in wildlife.

How is this annual count done?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 20th, 2013, 10:43 am

on a lighter note,walking through Brickell Key and saw these guys..fellas well protected ouiii.
IMG-20130920-WA0000.jpg
IMG-20130919-WA0002.jpg
IMG-20130919-WA0001.jpg

Sabot

Postby Sabot » September 20th, 2013, 11:06 am

Did anyone realize that, and I quote, "Singh did say Government was considering alternate supply options to satisfy the local palette".

So in essence it would be legal to possess wild meat. Once you are not caught hunting all is well since you may be considered "competition" in the wild meat trade. Talk about fulling pockets before making a sure exit come 2015 these people are shameless. I'm still waiting to see who gets charged etc during this ban.

What is even more amusing is the fact that they are using the data forms on the hunting permits to justify the figures they quote. Forestry themselves don't trust those figures since it is well known to be grossly inaccurate.

http://newsday.co.tt/news/0,183888.html

DEPLETION of local wildlife due to hunting has reached “alarming” proportions, Minister of the Environment and Water Resources Ganga Singh said yesterday as he outlined startling figures showing how many animals are removed from their natural habitats annually.

At a post-Cabinet press briefing, Singh defended his decision to invoke his statutory powers to impose a two-year hunting moratorium through the passing of a regulation, with effect on October 1.

“In order to address this alarming situation, which the current best scientific information has indicated could lead to the total loss of our national wildlife resources; there is a critical need to curtail the hunting pressure on game species,” the minister said. “It is against this context that the Government has developed an integrated approach to addressing the unsustainable harvesting of wildlife resources.”

While the two-year moratorium will no doubt mean many persons looking forward to their ritual of feasting on wild meat for Christmas could face disappointment, Singh did say Government was considering alternate supply options to satisfy the local palette.

“I don’t want to sound like Scrooge,” Singh joked. “That option of importing wild meat is something that ought to be explored to alleviate the current levels of depletion.”

According to Singh, animals typically hunted include agoutis, deer, birds, lappe, wild hog, tattoo (armadillo); water fowl; alligator (caiman) and lizards. In the period 2010/2011, 41,393 animals were killed including in the nation’s verdant forests and special reserves. This declined to 39,648 in 2011/2012. However an increase of almost 50 percent was recorded for 2012/2013 with the figure moving to 59,516. (SEE BOX.)

“Some have argued that the large amount of animals being caught shows there is no negative pressure from hunting,” Singh said. “It must be carefully noted however that as the number of hunters or hunting effort increases in a common resource, the number of animals captured will increase including the immature or juvenile animals in the population.

“If this is allowed to continue unabated, the wildlife populations can begin to collapse. We have to protect our babies in the wildlife. If this is allowed to continue unabated, the wildlife population will be exterminated.”

Singh noted some University of the West Indies and University of Wisconsin findings in the 1990s estimated the annual take per hunter at 15 percent per year, meaning all indicators point to the wildlife being over-exploited.

For the period 1990 to 1993, Singh said, “annual take per hunter fell over the four years, suggesting that the populations of these game mammals were declining at about 15 percent per annum. The University scientists also concluded that such sustained rates of decline would lead to local extinction of these populations within 25 years. Moreover, what is even more alarming is that this rate of over harvest does not include the unreported take by unlicensed subsistence hunters or commercial poachers.”

In 2007, Singh said, the densities of five game mammals were found to be three to ten times lower than comparable habitats in what are supposed to be wildlife sanctuaries.

The Minister said the records of the Forestry Division indicate that during the 2010/2011 period 22,465 State game licenses were sold, in 2011/2012 some 18,990 were sold and in 2012/2013 some 21,236 were sold.

The two-year moratorium will be enforced by the various agencies and the Forestry Division of the Ministry of the Environmental and Water Resources with assistance from the Ministry of National Security. Addressing questions from reporters, Singh said WASA police; EMA police; Forest Rangers, 180 honorary game wardens and even the Defence Force would also be involved in the efforts which will be made to enforce the ban. He said 407 illegal hunting camps on State lands have been identified.

“That is unacceptable,” Singh said. He noted the camps even posed risks from a National Security perspective since they played a role in the period when kidnapings for ransom were being carried out in the 2000s.

Singh said the Ministry of the Attorney General was in the process of planning legislative measures to bolster current offences. For example, the fine for hunting of any animal in a game sanctuary will increase from $1,000 or three months imprisonment to $100,000 or 12 months imprisonment; for taking a dog into a game sanctuary for the purpose of hunting from $1,000 or three months imprisonment to $100,000 or 12 months imprisonment. Hunting in the closed season without a special game license is to be raised from $2,000 or six months imprisonment to $100,000 or 24 months imprisonment.
Last edited by Sabot on September 22nd, 2013, 6:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby pete » September 20th, 2013, 11:06 am

Wait til you see a pond full of ducks.

Postby 88sins » September 20th, 2013, 12:06 pm

Just to inform of a recent discovery

88sins wrote:OK, so I just got off the phone with forestry division. I was thinking to release some 50+ rabbits on the family estate, 30+ acres of fenced property, to hunt animals unlisted in any schedule on my own private property, but being the law abiding idiot that I am I opted to call to confirm it's legality. I was informed that if one was to do this, one would still be in contradiction of the law by their interpretation of it, and could still be prosecuted as such if apprehended.

So these mother crotches mean to say that not only can we not enter the forest in pursuit of local game, we aren't even allowed to set up our own private property for use as hunting grounds for unlisted species for fear of prosecution.

Postby Chimera » September 20th, 2013, 12:14 pm

88sins wrote:Just to inform of a recent discovery

88sins wrote:OK, so I just got off the phone with forestry division. I was thinking to release some 50+ rabbits on the family estate, 30+ acres of fenced property, to hunt animals unlisted in any schedule on my own private property, but being the law abiding idiot that I am I opted to call to confirm it's legality. I was informed that if one was to do this, one would still be in contradiction of the law by their interpretation of it, and could still be prosecuted as such if apprehended.

So these mother crotches mean to say that not only can we not enter the forest in pursuit of local game, we aren't even allowed to set up our own private property for use as hunting grounds for unlisted species for fear of prosecution.

I wouldn't take on what one idiot who answers the phone says.

In many instances when you call different offices with the same question and different people answer you hear different things and get different info.

Postby pioneer » September 20th, 2013, 12:21 pm

Hunters studyin all the money they gonna lose

It good

This ban should have been for 5 years

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » September 20th, 2013, 12:29 pm

pioneer wrote:Hunters studyin all the money they gonna lose

It good

didnt know u was a preservation of wildlife activist. but this christmas will be a wildmeatless christmas. unless one get bounce down crossing the road.. lol

Postby Chimera » September 20th, 2013, 12:39 pm

pioneer is a muslim, they only like dead infidels.

Postby 88sins » September 20th, 2013, 12:45 pm

Actually i didn't talk to just a phone jockey.I spoke to a forester II & got that response, but I see your point

Postby pioneer » September 20th, 2013, 1:12 pm

88sins wrote:Just to inform of a recent discovery

You livin on another planet?

If you murder a man in "your fenced propety" you will not be charged?

The laws of the land apply to every single square inch of Trinidad & Tobago, including our maritime borders.

I fedup say it, the "land" you "own" or live on is not really yours, it belongs to the state and you are bound by their laws.

Good luck with your hunting goals for 2013, 2014 and 2015 though.

Sabot

Postby Sabot » September 20th, 2013, 2:02 pm

rocknrolla wrote:

It good

didnt know u was a preservation of wildlife activist. but this christmas will be a wildmeatless christmas. unless one get bounce down crossing the road.. lol

Please refer to my post above to get contact info for wildmeat. Remember it have "palettes to satisfy":grin:

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » September 20th, 2013, 2:10 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:pioneer is a muslim, they only like dead infidels.

ROOOFFLL *ded*

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » September 20th, 2013, 2:15 pm

Sabot wrote:
rocknrolla wrote:

It good

Please refer to my post above to get contact info for wildmeat. Remember it have "palettes to satisfy":grin:

gets caught with iguanas in car trunk..

"occifer ah wasn huntin inno, these fellers run under my car tyre comin out of mayaro and well i was just taking them to the vet".

Postby 88sins » September 20th, 2013, 2:20 pm

pioneer wrote:You livin on another planet?

If you murder a man in "your fenced propety" you will not be charged?

The laws of the land apply to every single square inch of Trinidad & Tobago, including our maritime borders.

I fedup say it, the "land" you "own" or live on is not really yours, it belongs to the state and you are bound by their laws.

Good luck with your hunting goals for 2013, 2014 and 2015 though.

pioneer i feel you don't entirely comprehend the point.

The animals intended to be pursued are not mentioned ANYWHERE in the conservation of wildlife act, nor any of it's subsequent amendments, are not a protected species anywhere in the world and were purchased legally for this purpose. My point is that as a result of this, in addition to them being on private property there is ARGUABLY NO LEGAL STANDING FOR THEIR DECISION. The conservation of wildlife act addresses WILDLIFE issues, and rabbits are a DOMESTICATED ANIMAL RAISED FOR MEAT OR FUR OR AS PETS. It is not against any law to harvest/slaughter these animals for meat in any fashion, once legally in ones possession as long as said slaughter is does not prolong the death pain or injury of said animal. To compare that to killing a human being on your property is either being stupid ignorant or a joke without a punchline

Word of advise. Open yuh eyes, ears, & most importantly yuh mind. In other words, stop swallowin ppl BS.

Look a ladder, dismount from yuh high horse

EXODUS

Postby EXODUS » September 20th, 2013, 2:54 pm

^^^ :-D jus now the govt would barr all sporting activities and we wud be forced to be manipulated by the scheme....welcome to elysium...

Postby 88sins » September 20th, 2013, 3:03 pm

nah, plenty too much money to siphon off in repairs & maintenance to stadiums for dat to happen

Baldhead

Postby Baldhead » September 20th, 2013, 3:57 pm

As a recreational hunter, I like to know that there will be animals left in the wild for next year's hunt and the year after that.
Therefore I certainly would not mind if there is a ban on hunting either this year or next, or to limit the hunting season to 2 or less months. But only with the provision that an immediate survey be properly conducted to ascertain the current status of wildlife stock. This information together with the reproduction rate etc. of the animals of interest should be used in deciding what should really be done to maintain the sustainability of hunting.
We all know that there is a sensible/logical way to do things. Which way our politicians decides, is another matter.

To me it would of made sense to first amend/change the laws and regulations in order to dissuade persons from illegally hunting and then boost the current work force of persons monitoring this activity. Secondly conduct the survey previously mentioned. Engage the hunters and let us provide additional information. NGO's, Ministry and interested persons/hunters should then come together and figure this thing out.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 20th, 2013, 3:59 pm

pioneer jes vex cuz he dunno how to cook a god wild meat

J453

Postby J453 » September 20th, 2013, 4:42 pm

I'll just leave this here
1379709576445.jpg

Postby sMASH » September 20th, 2013, 5:57 pm

J453 wrote:I'll just leave this here
I support the environment and nature stuff and what not, but that meme real hard dawg .

My father recently got the pillet gun which uses the compressed air from Barry. Guess we would have to go to the various ranges to keep the aim .
But then, we have to keep the vermins and pests away from the crops

J453

Postby J453 » September 20th, 2013, 6:51 pm

Oh. That's an actual bumper sticker; not a meme. Not my vehicle or opinion though. I agree the abuse of the environment and animal species has to stop. A ban may not be the solution to this problem because laws about hunting will continue to be ignored just as other laws e.g. drinking and driving, talking on the phone while driving, stopping at a red light etc. etc. Regulation is good by all means but what we really need is enforcement.

Whatever comes out of this particular fiasco, I don't think the populace is going to vote the Peoples PappyShow back in for another term. Don't know what to do/say about this country no more na