Should Dancehall & Hiphop "music" be banned?

Should violent dancehall and rap music be banned from national airwaves?

Yes
66%
No
34%

Total votes: 77

Re: Should Dancehall & Hiphop "music" be banned?

Postby MG Man » September 4th, 2013, 12:54 pm

G-T wrote:I think if people listens to LOTR's, Life of Pi soundtracks and classical music, this world would be a much better place... :wink:

look, doh make me bludgeon you with my ax and drink your blood while I snort cocaine and offer up your intestines to Lucifer
*goes back to listening to Black Sabbath*

Postby VexXx Dogg » September 4th, 2013, 1:03 pm

pioneer wrote:All of you against censorship - So I guess it's OKAY for TV6 and CNC3 to show hardcore porn on a saturday morning?

Yeah man, wake ollor pickney up and leh dem watch porn, ha nuttin to hide dey.

/doublestandards

If its broadcasted on national TV, I can choose not to watch it or to not let my kids watch it. When they're old enough, they can choose to watch whatever the hell they want.

The point is choice.

Where does the censorship end?

If the Government was censoring and you'd see only what they wanted to you see, you'd be fighting for the freedom of choice.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 4th, 2013, 2:34 pm

why not ban heavy metal and dem kinda sheit which encourages emos and egg layer$$$

Postby Spitfir3 » September 4th, 2013, 2:53 pm

like most mentioned already i won't blame so much the sheit music but more the weak minded idiots who are influenced by it.fact is if those morons can turn to a gun with lyrics from a song then playing a simple fps or watching a violent movie would incite the same behavior

i say just lock all the weak minded fgts in a bubble
Last edited by Spitfir3 on September 5th, 2013, 11:30 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby mero » September 4th, 2013, 3:04 pm

They should ban oonce music cuz ppl who normally listen to that tend u sniff coke and pop mdma and crystal meth and acid and krokodil and opium.

Ban tiesto and Avb

Postby dougla_boy » September 4th, 2013, 3:17 pm

mero wrote:They should ban oonce music cuz ppl who normally listen to that tend u sniff coke and pop mdma and crystal meth and acid and krokodil and opium.

Ban tiesto and Avb

uz a cornt....

anyways, if u weak minded and letting music influence yuh to do sh!t.....someone should make a catchy song about killing yuhself and let Darwinism happen

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » September 4th, 2013, 3:20 pm

as soon as they ban songs that telling youths its okay to drink rum

Postby TRAE » September 4th, 2013, 4:16 pm

trinis take everything for a style, i just see a party with oman in buss up short pants and bra, then she go tell me she eh wah the brush- wtf

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » September 4th, 2013, 4:35 pm

ban dancehall .... utter toots

Postby redmanjp » September 4th, 2013, 4:44 pm

MG Man wrote:ched = fail
every generation tries to blame some form of music for something they don't like
nex ting Pios gonna want to ban vaginas because they encourage rape

no- but porn showing vaginas can

i feel what UK doing with d opt-in option in a good step

Postby K74T » September 4th, 2013, 4:52 pm

Ban Fadda Moses aka fadda phaggot

dan80

Postby dan80 » September 4th, 2013, 6:15 pm

This talk again? :roll:

Postby Ted_v2 » September 4th, 2013, 6:20 pm

Bodow

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » September 4th, 2013, 6:21 pm

redmanjp wrote:
MG Man wrote:ched = fail
every generation tries to blame some form of music for something they don't like
nex ting Pios gonna want to ban vaginas because they encourage rape

no- but porn showing vaginas can

i feel what UK doing with d opt-in option in a good step
u not serious right... Lmaooo

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » September 4th, 2013, 6:52 pm

Lmaoo this thread aint making sense without hard evidence...

I'll add a lil twist to it.. "Pop music is generating homosexuals"

Can music really alter the psychological and sexual orientation of a person? or are they born that way....?

Can music really change a regular person to a violent person?

What about that Nightmare on elm st when all these people killed themselves? is that the same effect? So what are we suppose to do about movies?

What about violence in the middle east.. Do the listen to violent music too? And isnt violence worst over there?

I listen to violent music all the time, you dont see me killing people..

This thread therefore is more or less about people's personal preference and not based on facts [\thread]

Postby goalpost » September 4th, 2013, 7:40 pm

Just weak minded idiots who dotish enough to believe that the violent/sexual lyrics apply to them...

Postby pioneer » September 4th, 2013, 7:44 pm

Had no idea this thread would generate so much discussion.

Cooloh

Postby Cooloh » September 4th, 2013, 8:22 pm

pioneer wrote:Had no idea this thread would generate so much discussion.

Really makes you think though. Good question for discussion

Postby zoom rader » September 5th, 2013, 3:35 am

pioneer wrote:Had no idea this thread would generate so much discussion.

This is not a discussion it is noise

Re: Should Dancehall & Hiphop

Postby pioneer » September 5th, 2013, 11:16 am

uncle sam wrote:Lmaoo this thread aint making sense without hard evidence...

I'll add a lil twist to it.. "Pop music is generating homosexuals"

Can music really alter the psychological and sexual orientation of a person? or are they born that way....?

Can music really change a regular person to a violent person?

What about that Nightmare on elm st when all these people killed themselves? is that the same effect? So what are we suppose to do about movies?

What about violence in the middle east.. Do the listen to violent music too? And isnt violence worst over there?

I listen to violent music all the time, you dont see me killing people..

This thread therefore is more or less about people's personal preference and not based on facts [\thread]

Did you even look and listen to the video at the time I indicated?

It clearly depicts some young men serenading each other and making violent gestures, and a DJ encouraging them to do certain things.

Some can even argue the serenading part was a bit homosexual. But how dare we associate jamaican dancehall music with homosexuality.

I never once heard a Pop artist telling his/her audience to pick up a gun and shoot someone, or brandish your gun in your hand instead of your waist.

There is no art in dancehall music, absolutely none.

Postby Morpheus » September 5th, 2013, 11:34 am

But pioneer people making gun signs long time eh. Ent long time water gun, caps gun and even the gun that shoots out the suction thingies were bought as "toys"?

Long time we used to play "Gun shooting" and "Police and Theif", etc. What so different in using a branch as yuh gun in dem youthful battles as opposed to that fella using an alcohol bottle as his gun?

Again, not everyone has the sense to differentiate fantasy from reality.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » September 5th, 2013, 11:34 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:why not ban heavy metal and dem kinda sheit which encourages emos and egg layer$$$

which radio station does play heavy metal dan ? , only 95.1 & very rarely they do & what kinda metal u does listen to that encourages "emo & egg layer" ? , never heard any of that being played on public radio ....

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » September 5th, 2013, 11:36 am

simplest solution is to do what i do & NOT listen to dem shitt stations that plays a bunch of CRAP ..... :|

Postby Morpheus » September 5th, 2013, 11:37 am

- Rovin's car audio - wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:why not ban heavy metal and dem kinda sheit which encourages emos and egg layer$$$

which radio station does play heavy metal dan ? , only 95.1 & very rarely they do & what kinda metal u does listen to that encourages "emo & egg layer" ? , never heard any of that being played on public radio ....

I don't think is just on radio we talking about here eh. "Ban" was used generally, not just on radio.

Postby Les Bain » September 5th, 2013, 11:51 am

Banning and censorship didn't work for alcohol (American prohibition) or Mortal Kombat and as much as I dislike modern dancehall, I can't support an argument to ban it from the national airwaves.

What i find most upsetting in the history of music is that "artists" in offending genres rather kick back and bawl "Is only entertainment" while their weak-minded fans continue to draw influence from the music to be a social dreg or menace. Toss onto that, worthless parents who were supposed to instill in their youngsters the difference between consequences in reality and entertainment make the matter worse. A ban is a broad "solution" that's not guaranteed to solve anything. You're taking entertainment out of the hands of knuckle dragging mouth breathers as well as those who understand the concept of responsible enjoyment.

The only ban I'd support is a loudness ban on music played in shops/stores etc. Some people just friggin overdo it.

uncle sam

Re: Should Dancehall & Hiphop

Postby uncle sam » September 5th, 2013, 12:22 pm

I never once heard a Pop artist telling his/her audience to pick up a gun and shoot someone, or brandish your gun in your hand instead of your waist.
hmm selective memory? "Pumped Up Kicks"?

There is no art in dancehall music, absolutely none.

Okay.. It's your opinion.. So what do we do know? Ban it because you don't like it?

Postby rfari » September 5th, 2013, 12:26 pm

Pios u still fighting down that 'dancehall is not art'? Ogoar dan

Coppershot

Postby Coppershot » September 5th, 2013, 10:35 pm

Firstly its 2013, radio is not the only medium to access music....internet, mp3, youtube, istore etc.
Most young ppl have access to a smart phone, laptop or a basic mp3 player. Banning will do absolutely nothing.

Blaming music for social ills is a cheap fix for a bigger problem. In fact some of the hardcore dancehall and rap artists have songs with powerfully lyrics...Bounty Killer -Poor people fed up(politicians banned this in jamaica...) and Mama, Buju Banton -Willy (Don't be Silly), 2pac - The Rose That Grew from Concrete

Lastly Pop music is more or less what pumping these days...sex drug use etc just presented differently. Half of these songs on radio and parties are pop song. Ppl only humming the song but never really listen to the lyrics.

Anyway I wonder what music some politicans listen too....clearly whatever they listening too clearly influencing them to care less and steal more

gunsmoke

Postby gunsmoke » September 6th, 2013, 1:26 am

Would you ban a spoon because u getting fat or choose to eat healthy goods bookrine

Postby Damien » September 6th, 2013, 11:06 am

If i drowning in the see i telling that boat go ahead wee