SEA Results

Re: SEA Results

Postby pioneer » July 9th, 2013, 10:51 am

Those teachers are the reason the government schools falling apart. That same school in question, pass there at 3:00pm and witness for yourself the majority of teachers leaving to go home/private lessons class. And that's just one school, most if not all government schools that happens. Teachers are unaware/ignorant of the fact they are public servants and have working hours between 8:00am to 4:15pm.

It is a very sickening situation and the students suffer, but of course mention that to teachers and they get all defensive saying the students are raggamuffins, criminals and prostitutes.

Noone is holding a gun to these teachers' heads, they can resign and do something else with their lives. Yet always quick to protest for more money/backpay. Teaching isn't a job, it's a committment.

Postby Habit7 » July 9th, 2013, 11:11 am

I think 3/4 of primary schools are religious, gov't schools would less have a chance of making the top performers list.

DjDaniel

Postby DjDaniel » July 9th, 2013, 11:44 am

@redmanjp Srs? Cool.

Its always the ones that actually want an education does suffer inno. Alot of teachers make side money from lessons but as pioneer rightly said : "Teaching isn't a job, it's a commitment" and some teachers (not all) don't go the extra mile with children in class..I remember a certain teacher telling the class "We will continue this topic this evening during classes" Classes which where $10 a day (10 years ago that was plenty)

But you hadda admit tho, some of those children really bad. Imagine a child jump up on the teachers table and bite her on her breasts?

Postby pioneer » July 9th, 2013, 11:50 am

That's part of the job

Does a policeman express shock when a bandit fires a shot at him?

DjDaniel

Postby DjDaniel » July 9th, 2013, 1:45 pm

No. But signing up to be a teacher is to educate students. Not to be a prison guard. What educating students have to do with one of them jumping on your table and biting you on your breasts?

If you was in that position what you would've done?

Postby pioneer » July 9th, 2013, 1:52 pm

LOL I guess you're one of those that read a job spec and ignore the part about performing related duties as required.

Postby pioneer » July 9th, 2013, 1:56 pm

Back in the day teachers were life coaches, mentors, someone to talk to, someone to advise you, they knew your parents well and vice versa, they knew where you lived, they knew your siblings, they knew when you were having problems at home, they knew when you were not well, they knew you couldn't see/hear well, they helped you to maximise your true potential.

But you're right, people sign up to educate students.

Postby rfari » July 10th, 2013, 6:54 am

MADNESS

By Nalinee Seelal Wednesday, July 10 2013

A 12-year-old schoolboy is warded at San Fernando General Hospital (SFGH) nursing serious burns after he caught fire when an obeah ritual to get him good results in the Secondary Entrance Assessment (SEA) exam went awry last Wednesday.

Police are investigating the case to bring charges of practising obeah and grievous bodily harm against two men, one a relative of the boy.

Investigators report the boy, of Morvant, was taken by his relative to the home of a “spiritualist” in San Juan at about 11 pm, last Wednesday, the day before the release of the SEA results. The relative told the boy to remove his clothing and special oils were pasted about his body for a “spiritual bath” to influence the outcome of what school he passed for.

The boy was ordered to stand over lit camphor as chants were recited by the spiritualist. He became frightened and attempted to run away but was cornered by his relative who took him back to the room where the ritual continued. As the boy followed the instructions of the spiritualist and stood over the burning camphor his body became enveloped in flames causing him to scream out.

As the boy became a human torch, his relative doused him with water while the spiritualist prepared a home remedy to treat the child for

burns about his face, chest, arms and legs. Newsday understands that when the boy complained of excruciating pain the next day he was rushed to the Port-of-Spain General Hospital and then transferred to the Eric Williams Medical Sciences Complex, Mt Hope.

However the plastic surgeon responsible for dealing with burns is out of the country and a decision was taken to have the boy transferred to the Burns Unit of the SFGH. When Newsday visited the Burns Unit on Monday, a male relative refused to say anything about the incident and instructed that only a few relatives be allowed to meet with the victim.

However, sources at the SFGH revealed the boy suffered burns over 25 percent of his body and is recuperating slowly.

Sources also added the boy is alert and has been eating and communicating well with medical personnel and other patients.

Although the boy was unable to attend school last Thursday to receive his results, Newsday understands he did pass for one of the schools of his choice, Tranquillity Government Secondary.

The case is being investigated by officers of the Morvant Police Station who have described the incident as bizarre.

A senior officer said yesterday they will be seeking advice from the legal department of the TT Police Service on how to proceed in the probe, a charge of causing grievous bodily harm could be laid against the boy’s relative and the spiritualist.

The police also noted that practising obeah is an offence which they are also looking at.

Under the Summary Offences Act Chapter 11:02 it is against the law to practise obeah, which is punishable by a fine. Under Section 12 of the Offences Against the Person Act Chapter 11:08 the penalty for causing grievous bodily harm could be as much ten to 15 years’ imprisonment.

However, on the discretion of the magistrate a fine could be imposed

or the person could be placed on a bond. Efforts to reach Minister of Gender, Youth and Child Development, Marlene Coudray proved futile, as calls to her cellphone went unanswered.

http://www.newsday.co.tt/news/0,180445.html

Postby Ted_v2 » July 10th, 2013, 7:18 am

Wtfff :|

DjDaniel

Postby DjDaniel » July 10th, 2013, 10:21 am

Arite Pioneer, take win.
People will do anything to get through eh..
:lol: :lol: Poor fella. He family who do the obeah. It good.

Postby ruffneck_12 » July 10th, 2013, 9:26 pm

delete2.png

LOLOLOLOLOLOL

coincidence on my fb feed

Postby pioneer » July 10th, 2013, 10:23 pm

so dem chiren gettin android tablet now?

Postby *$kїđž!™ » July 11th, 2013, 8:48 am

In regards to registration fees...................

Stop charging fees, or else...
Gopeesingh warns secondary school principals:

By Sue-Ann Wayow sue-ann.wayow@trinidadexpress.com
Story Created: Jul 10, 2013 at 10:34 PM ECT
Story Updated: Jul 10, 2013 at 10:34 PM ECT
EDUCATION Minister Dr Tim Gopeesingh has urged parents of children attending secondary schools not to pay any fees to the school, whether for registration or other purposes.
Gopeesingh said the Government is providing funding to all schools—non-denominational and denominational—so that parents would not have additional costs.
The minister met yesterday with several secondary school principals to discuss issues such as registration, teacher training and infrastructure.
The meeting took place at the Rudranath Capildeo Learning Resource Centre in Couva.
Reading from the Education Act, Gopeesingh reminded principals that if they violated the Act, they could be “guilty of misconduct”.
He said he was informed that some principals were charging as much as $1,000 registration fee. “This has to stop,” the Education Minister said.
Gopeesingh told the Express: “We make it quite loud and clear to the national community that no parent must be charged any fee, whether it is registration or any other relevant thing they (school’s principals) may consider unless they get written permission from the Minister of Education which I am not giving.”
The Education Act states: “Except with the written permission of the minister, a principal or board of management may not impose a charge of any kind whatsoever on pupils in a public school in return for any service provided by the school or by the principal, board or any teacher or as a contribution in respect of any activities normally undertaken as part of the curriculum of the school.”
Gopeesingh said he will be informing all 18 boards of denominational schools of his firm decision.
He also told principals they must ensure that all the textbooks given by the Ministry of Education to pupils must not be on the book list and only one textbook per subject should be required. He also requested to see the book lists.
Principals are also not allowed to change school uniforms without his permission.
Gopeesingh also said he was not pleased with the secondary school curriculum and attempts would be made to adjust it.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » July 11th, 2013, 8:58 am

Gopee is a tun tun yes, he wanna change curriculum and cxc is a regional exam. Wrt registration fees, is the ministry giving enough funding? One of my old schools have to raise funds because they have to pay for retirees to return because ministry not providing teachers, coach has to be paid via this route also. Maintenance men, security also have to be paid, not all schools get a mts guard. Rather than provide laptop and tablet for little idiots who will destroy them in no time why don't they provide a proper environment conducive to teaching and learning

Postby *$kїđž!™ » July 11th, 2013, 9:03 am

hustla_ambition101 wrote:Gopee is a tun tun yes, he wanna change curriculum and cxc is a regional exam. Wrt registration fees, is the ministry giving enough funding? One of my old schools have to raise funds because they have to pay for retirees to return because ministry not providing teachers, coach has to be paid via this route also. Maintenance men, security also have to be paid, not all schools get a mts guard. Rather than provide laptop and tablet for little idiots who will destroy them in no time why don't they provide a proper environment conducive to teaching and learning

WELL SAID....

ilove3

Postby ilove3 » July 13th, 2013, 2:48 am

Concerning dem registration fees, mih son pass fuh he first choice in town and I may have missed the whole 'pay fuh registration' part. Today, I met another parent whose son passed for the same school and he told me that he paid $600 fuh de registration package. So I am wondering what happens if the registration fee is not paid. Is one ah dem big name school uptown and ah eh calling no name, but if allyuh see what I see, allyuh would know so maybe one or two ah allyuh know people who was dey on registration day

Postby Ted_v2 » July 13th, 2013, 5:23 am

theres no registration fee i think.

I do remember paying 1 fiddy for a chair and desk, We had to raise funds to get new furniture.

Postby eliteauto » July 13th, 2013, 7:00 am

ilove3 wrote:Concerning dem registration fees, mih son pass fuh he first choice in town and I may have missed the whole 'pay fuh registration' part. Today, I met another parent whose son passed for the same school and he told me that he paid $600 fuh de registration package. So I am wondering what happens if the registration fee is not paid. Is one ah dem big name school uptown and ah eh calling no name, but if allyuh see what I see, allyuh would know so maybe one or two ah allyuh know people who was dey on registration day

I was there and there was no registration fee, there was a completely voluntary request to contribute to the school development fund, they even explained the shortfall between the cost of running the school and the subvention the Ministry gives and that as a result they have fund raising events annually and the fund, several parents did not pay and there was no pressure, I paid as I have no issue with contributing to the institution that will be responsible for the development of my son for the next 5-7 years. Having your children attend such schools is an immersive undertaking that requires a lot from the parents but I consider it an investment in his future

Postby hustla_ambition101 » July 13th, 2013, 8:02 am

People think that the Ministry just hands schools tonloads of money when the month comes to handle expenses but this is far from so, the denominational school I attended had to throw fundraisers to buy paint, pay coach, cleaner/maintenance guy, security and teachers who were required since the ministry wasn't providing any replacement for the one who had resigned. We also had to sand and varnish our desks etc. Kudos to parents like the poster above who see the bigger picture

ilove3

Postby ilove3 » July 16th, 2013, 8:27 am

eliteauto wrote:
ilove3 wrote:Concerning dem registration fees, mih son pass fuh he first choice in town and I may have missed the whole 'pay fuh registration' part. Today, I met another parent whose son passed for the same school and he told me that he paid $600 fuh de registration package. So I am wondering what happens if the registration fee is not paid. Is one ah dem big name school uptown and ah eh calling no name, but if allyuh see what I see, allyuh would know so maybe one or two ah allyuh know people who was dey on registration day

I was there and there was no registration fee, there was a completely voluntary request to contribute to the school development fund, they even explained the shortfall between the cost of running the school and the subvention the Ministry gives and that as a result they have fund raising events annually and the fund, several parents did not pay and there was no pressure, I paid as I have no issue with contributing to the institution that will be responsible for the development of my son for the next 5-7 years. Having your children attend such schools is an immersive undertaking that requires a lot from the parents but I consider it an investment in his future

I agree with you totally. The concern that I have is not paying the fee as I share your point of view but rather, if there were any consequences of not paying the requested amount as his mother was there handling things b4 I reached and even when I completed the paper work and submitted it, I asked if that was all and I was told yes. OK so come orientation day, I would. Thanks bro

Postby pioneer » July 16th, 2013, 8:58 am

trinis again, what's the big beatup over registration fees? people feel freeness go never done?

Really wonder what kinda people we have out there

Heard parents saying they will pay for the report book when they require it, and PE uniform, monogram etc. Some not paying at all because they say government paying for that.

These people are so unaware.

Really sucks to attend a government school yes, talknah's everywhere.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » July 16th, 2013, 10:19 am

very good points pioneer!!!! I especially like the part about teachers' commitment....many who just view it in a manner that is akin to attitudes of some public sector workers.....self discipline, structure and order in one's own disposition, attitude and behaviour ought to provide the example which is expected of pupils/students......one cannot expect the child to be "the best" if "the best" is NOT demonstrated!

Postby pioneer » July 16th, 2013, 10:34 am

de man say he sign up to educate students

go figure

DjDaniel

Postby DjDaniel » July 20th, 2013, 9:31 am

Who said that Pioneer? Im not a teacher. I was simply viewing the situation from a different point of view.

Make meh teach dem bad lil children.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » July 20th, 2013, 9:55 am

Me err see ne ting wrong wit registration fees...

All d prestige skools and gubberment skools ha it for as long as I cud recall. Skool hadda eat ah food too yunno

triniwhiteboi

Postby triniwhiteboi » July 20th, 2013, 7:46 pm

1) I know what school you talking about and

2) Yes, there is a $600 registration fee but it is not really registration you are paying for. For those of you that don't know, there is a $600 yearly (or $200 per term) security fee that you MUST pay. However, most parents do not pay these fees. As a result, many school disguise it as "registration fees" when the children enter form 1.

triniwhiteboi

Postby triniwhiteboi » July 20th, 2013, 7:49 pm

i see nothing wrong with asking children to pay a lil something something. After all, the same children that complaining about the old desks in school is the same ones who mashing it up in the first place. There are a lot of schools and you cannot realistically expect the government to fix every little problem, especially when the students themselves are the cause for it.

But, the dependency syndrome.