RBC Royal Bank Shakes up Svcs...More Changes re: Credit Card

Re: RBC Royal Bank Shakes up Svcs...More Changes re: Credit

Postby desifemlove » February 3rd, 2014, 11:46 am

wagonrunner wrote:It's that difficult to permanently increase the cc limit?
I did that by phone sometime in 2011.

You just have to you have a higher income, ent?

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » February 3rd, 2014, 1:53 pm

20 something yrs I with RBC.. this year I started moving most of my transactions to FCB..

rbc has gone to the dogs wrt to their procedures getting longer and slower. damn credit card restriction now with no over limit spending nonsense.

will never go rbl either

Postby desifemlove » February 3rd, 2014, 1:55 pm

Must say RBC's Online banking is buss. FCB is much more reliable in that sense. Kind of weird since I highly doubt that RBC Toronto or Ottawa branches so slack lol..

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » February 3rd, 2014, 2:00 pm

rbc has advised that due to the number of online users their online banking project is low priority

that lameness is one of the reasons I left rbc.

if I transfer my money to my credit it must MUST be live... its my funds I require access to it at all times

Postby wagonrunner » February 3rd, 2014, 3:05 pm

desifemlove wrote:
wagonrunner wrote:It's that difficult to permanently increase the cc limit?
I did that by phone sometime in 2011.

You just have to you have a higher income, ent?

why would you?
income stayed the same, but needed the higher credit card limit.
because you now have a higher cc limit, you gonna use it that much every month?
you're on of those who can't have something and not use it out in one go?

Postby M_2NR » August 18th, 2014, 6:12 pm

Just an update to this bs. You can no longer temporarily increase your credit limit on your card. Only in "certain" emergency circumstances where they see fit would it be approved by the home branch. Examples cited were medical bills. Beyond this, yuh jack hang.

Utter blasted rubbish.

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » August 18th, 2014, 7:40 pm

When you say up your limit you mean when swiping or for online purchases?

From my recent experience I can spend over the limit online (was able to make a purchase about 1500 over the limit) but i cant go over the limit when swiping.

Postby M_2NR » August 18th, 2014, 7:48 pm

ZeroOne wrote:When you say up your limit you mean when swiping or for online purchases?

From my recent experience I can spend over the limit online (was able to make a purchase about 1500 over the limit) but i cant go over the limit when swiping.

Both I assume. I was of the impression that if I was going to use over my limit I had to call or visit the branch to preapprove the transaction and they would allow it once adequately notified. Now the branches are saying whatever is the limit is the limit and no temp increase will be allowed unless it falls under an emergency case.

Postby pioneer » August 18th, 2014, 8:11 pm

Their fight against ISIS funding I guess.

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » August 18th, 2014, 8:18 pm

They told me the same, there was never a provision to up the limit (after the new policies that is).

Not being able to go over the limit when swiping sucks. But it allows them to hold back points.

Also they have an extra charge for online purchases.

Postby M_2NR » August 18th, 2014, 8:24 pm

ZeroOne wrote:Not being able to go over the limit when swiping sucks. But it allows them to hold back points.
I want to think this is a reason for them doing this bs. Rewards. If they can limit your spending, less reward to be had.
ZeroOne wrote:Also they have an extra charge for online purchases.

I saw where they wanted to implement it but deh say it was never put in place because of the massive uproar. I believe they didn't follow through with it judging from the exchange rates I'm seeing on my account.

Postby mero » August 18th, 2014, 8:47 pm

Why would you want to spend over your limit anyway especially for online purchases? Most popular banks have online banking with instant access for credit cards. Just add what you need.

Also banks don't charge for online transactions.

Postby mero » August 18th, 2014, 8:50 pm

And only special cards can allow you to go over the limit now eg, platinum, signature and infinity cards aka the cuatomers the bank actually cares about. They kinda known for sure they'll get back their money :lol: Not the average sufferer with a classic card and a$3000 limit.

C'mon think about it

speedist

Postby speedist » August 18th, 2014, 11:19 pm

Heard stories about people credit cards info being stolen and used to make purchases. Real question though: a friend described to me that she had her credit card 5 months now, hasn't used it yet but rbc already callin her for fees? That normal? I never had one so I don't know. Was considering it though for online purchasing.

Postby wagonrunner » August 18th, 2014, 11:27 pm

ZeroOne wrote:When you say up your limit you mean when swiping or for online purchases?

your limit is the maximum total of charges in the billing period.
If your limit is $15,000. you will never see a statement of $15,000+

sure you can "pay towards the balance", but doing that you lose the billing period's credit facility (30 days or so).

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » August 19th, 2014, 10:47 am

what I do is for eg

your limit is 1k, but u wanna buy something for 3k

you adivse merchant of bank policy change. u swipe 1k, call bank via telebanking, transfer 1k into card, mechangt swipes another 1k, u transfer another 1k via telebanking, merchant swipes another 1k and u leave with your item. most merchants are ok with this now. this works for RBC cards

Postby mero » August 19th, 2014, 11:12 am

Limit barely has anything to do with how much money you can spend on your card. For eg. With a 3k you can withdraw 3k in cash daily on a normal basis. The limit is basically what the bank thinks you can pay back based on your salary, job etc and they credit you that

Most visa and MasterCard classics have daily limits, normally around 30k. Meaning once you put money on your card, you can spend up to the 30k a day , unless authorized to go over that amount

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » August 19th, 2014, 11:25 am

MadCrix wrote:what I do is for eg

your limit is 1k, but u wanna buy something for 3k

you adivse merchant of bank policy change. u swipe 1k, call bank via telebanking, transfer 1k into card, mechangt swipes another 1k, u transfer another 1k via telebanking, merchant swipes another 1k and u leave with your item. most merchants are ok with this now. this works for RBC cards

ammm no I tried this and it doesn't work, If limit is 1k I can only swipe 1k per day.
If my limit is 1k and I have 10k on card I can only swipe 1k, I can swipe another 1k tomorrow.

Postby mero » August 19th, 2014, 11:29 am

Dude wtf?? RBC is real sheit then lol, that makes no sense.

What kind of card you have?

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » August 19th, 2014, 11:39 am

Oh hor well that worked before de change den. Have not needed to do that recently

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » August 19th, 2014, 11:41 am

I have normal visa with an upped limit

Postby pioneer » August 19th, 2014, 12:09 pm

mero wrote:And only special cards can allow you to go over the limit now eg, platinum, signature and infinity cards aka the cuatomers the bank actually cares about. They kinda known for sure they'll get back their money :lol: Not the average sufferer with a classic card and a$3000 limit.

C'mon think about it

So much this

Postby mero » August 19th, 2014, 2:43 pm

ZeroOne wrote:I have normal visa with an upped limit

You should probably get that checked out, that is not normal

Postby M_2NR » August 19th, 2014, 5:37 pm

yeh crix, that was a while back. Now it's how zeroone described it. Confirmed in bank today. Sufferers gonna suffer this round with RBC. They claim it's to crack down on all the fraud transactions that were happening. Mind you RBL and Scotia aint give two two's.

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » August 19th, 2014, 8:50 pm

AFAIK Even RBL has issued a statement about allowing you to overspend on your limit. That's keeping with international guidelines not so?

Why not just get a Visa Debit card.

Plat/Sig get a 10% over.

ADONI

Postby ADONI » September 15th, 2014, 1:04 pm

Anytime I max my RBC CC they does stop sending me the cash back checks in the mail...
Then few months after they start back.

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » September 15th, 2014, 3:11 pm

They stop sending cash back in the mail. Its put on the CC now.