6yr Old Boy Dies in Freak Accident Tobago!

Re: 6yr Old Boy Dies in Freak Accident Tobago!

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » May 13th, 2013, 3:50 pm

Hook wrote:I'm real tired of pioneer and his nonsense. Nothing he's said has ever been "meaningful and logical". Very little of what he ever says in any thread is "meaningful and logical" anyway.

8-)

Kwami musbe he man

Postby black start » May 13th, 2013, 4:00 pm

I forsee banmentz to be had....

I must agree that little kids do all kinds of crazy thing while "playing" and that's just in their nature. That doesn't mean they deserve to die. Anywhere you have small kids around you must have "childproofing" implemented to prevent these things from happening....

But as somebody rightfully said, a lot of these guy probably never was in the company of small child or they probably born big juss so never having to go through the childhood stages of life.

Postby shogun » May 13th, 2013, 4:01 pm

Well yes...

Surprisingly with all the tuners that were apparently there, poolside at the time, we have so few details of what actually happened?

Postby Redman » May 13th, 2013, 4:07 pm

It could just be a really sad accident. All the assumptions being made about negligence and race really eh have nutting to do with the death of the boy.
It have some real kant in here

RIP young man.

Condolences to the family

Postby shogun » May 13th, 2013, 4:09 pm

When black start makes a more measured, mature and diplomatic comment than many in a ched. Y'all know y'all all fcuked up.

New avatar workin' wonders already Mr. start.

Postby ismithx » May 13th, 2013, 4:28 pm

to all the retards in here who blaming the boy and his parents, some of those concrete tables/chairs are really an issue because it is sometimes a mere slab of concrete on top of a stand. therefore the top and the base of the item are not joined together, and it is quite easy to separate the two. I would know... I have seen such tables in real life already and i can imagine that such accidents would happen.... there needs to be some sort of forethought on the people who construct these things

OffshoreMarketing

Postby OffshoreMarketing » May 13th, 2013, 4:31 pm

damn R.I.P.

Rallyfignis

Postby Rallyfignis » May 13th, 2013, 4:51 pm

There needs to be forethought from some of the idiots in this thread. Anyway allyuh probably will be glad to hear if the mark buss that he was a white boy. Stupid ignunts...

Postby Country_Bookie » May 13th, 2013, 5:05 pm

RIP to the deceased.

Not sure what to make of the story that says he grabbed a table to hoist himself out of the pool though. Looking at some pics of the pool and not seeing any tables close to the edge of the pool.

neals

Postby neals » May 13th, 2013, 6:16 pm

nemisis wrote:
turbosingh wrote:Although some part has to be blamed on the parents!
how you get to that conclusion

errr ummm, watch uh damn child

Postby Bizzare » May 13th, 2013, 6:27 pm

pioneer wrote:lil chiren really does look for ting...

pioneer wrote:deprived chiren does hadda find the wierdest tings to play with yes

pioneer wrote: I never tell you have your chiren runnin around like ah dunce.

pioneer wrote:So when children decide to jump up n down, swing, pull, push these tables....that's what children do right? Well those badly behaved children end up in death

pioneer wrote:I fedup play on dem bench as ah child and I still here.

hypocrite much? :lol:

Postby Spitfir3 » May 13th, 2013, 6:59 pm

r.i.p young boy..i would add my take to this thread but it seems too much has been said already

Rallyfignis

Postby Rallyfignis » May 13th, 2013, 7:08 pm

Oh gad oyeee now the news say he was jumping on the table oh gad oye kill the parents and bun dong dey house oh gad oyeeeee

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » May 13th, 2013, 8:17 pm

the only fact here is that a boy died from a table falling on him.

if a concrete table of that mass is loose to the point of toppling it would topple only if someone lifts the slab from one side and it falls sideways then land, then topple. or if a sufficient downward force is applied to the edge of the table (would have to be a fairly large force as well, lets say a heavy person sitting on it- i actually suspect this is what happened) it will also slide and topple.

its not possible to boobie trap such a heavy object like that without it failing minutes after it was made unstable or without it appearing to be clearly unstable and unsafe. short stories are made for wild open imaginative thinking....

Postby sharkman121 » May 13th, 2013, 8:21 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:
Daran wrote:
Sabriel wrote:Wild trini kids again..would never hear such things about a white kid staying in tgo...they intelligent and well behaved.

As much as dislike american ignorance, their kids are much more articulate and well behaved than the lil monkeys (no racist, including everyone here) we have in trinidad.

I LOL'ED and still loling..........

Ent!!! Lol @ American kids being more well behaved.

Sent from my GT-I9100 using TriniTuner mobile app

trini_gyal

Postby trini_gyal » May 13th, 2013, 9:46 pm

ok so I've been reading this thread and quite interested in the story cause my fiance and I went to Turtle Beach in February this year... I am quite saddened at the death of a child but have mixed emotions as to who is at fault here.... however, I'd like to clear one thing.. the Newsday report that some of you referred to is horribly wrong as the tables are very far away from each of the pools (kiddie pool and adult pool)...

I have uploaded a couple pics taken by us on our vacay to clarify this misconception...

This is the table closest to the kiddie pool but pay attention to the other pics where u'd see how far each table is from the perimeter of the pools..

This pic shows a different table (the second one in the front of the pic is a concrete one) but look far to the back of the picture and u'd see the table in my previous pic. Note how far they are from the pool's edge... the child could NOT have been using the table to pull himself out of the pool.... dammit Newsday get something right for once nah!!

In my last pic (panoramic) if u look to the left you'd see a blue umbrella which is close to the first table I showed... note again.. how far everything is from the pool's edge... this pool in the forefront of this pic is the kiddie pool btw...

Just thought I'd give clear hard evidence for all those being mislead by the Newsday!!

Postby pugboy » May 13th, 2013, 10:18 pm

The old bar opp bhagwansingh piarco on the corner used to have those white tables and associated concrete benches, they can indeed be shaky and dangerous.

Rallyfignis

Postby Rallyfignis » May 13th, 2013, 10:21 pm

Are you people all on frigging drugs???? He jump
On the table, it fell on him, whatever, WHO GIVES A FORK???? A little innocent 6 year old boy lost his life here and the first thing y'all looking to do is blame the parents and blame the child???? Y'all are really a special bunch yes...

toybago

Postby toybago » May 13th, 2013, 10:23 pm

lol at the "talk nah" people on here.....regardless where you go parents are supposed to control their kids.....

Postby Chimera » May 13th, 2013, 10:25 pm

Rallyfignis wrote:Are you people all on frigging drugs???? He jump
On the table, it fell on him, whatever, WHO GIVES A FORK???? A little innocent 6 year old boy lost his life here and the first thing y'all looking to do is blame the parents and blame the child???? Y'all are really a special bunch yes...

are you saying the resort/hotel should be blamed?

Postby Strugglerzinc » May 13th, 2013, 10:40 pm

toybago wrote:lol at the "talk nah" people on here.....regardless where you go parents are supposed to control their kids.....

Not saying he looked for it, but, the responsibility lies with the parents and their ability to manage their child.

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » May 13th, 2013, 10:46 pm

why the first action is to place blame? a youth died, maybe it could have been avoided, but thats not the point, when did we stop being humans and giving a firetruck about life and became insolent kunts trying to find humor and bachanal in everything?
i cant agree with the comment about black ppl chirren being the most misbehaved, find ya self in west mall or MT pos on a saturday and see what happens with those white folk kids.
i thought there was a tim e and place for joke and ole talk but you all are stooping to new lows on this forum yes

Michael Knight...

Postby Michael Knight... » May 13th, 2013, 10:46 pm

javishm wrote:dont understand how it happened

but lawsuit coming....

Neither do I, the parents gonna bleed that place dry.

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » May 13th, 2013, 11:58 pm

kids on the whole tend to be very ill mannered and wild in this day and age regardless of race

Postby *$kїđž!™ » May 13th, 2013, 11:59 pm

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Eye ... 05271.html

Eyewitness claims boy was jumping on table
Conflicting stories in fatal Tobago accident

By Renuka Singh and Elizabeth Williams
Story Created: May 13, 2013 at 9:25 PM ECT
Story Updated: May 13, 2013 at 10:18 PM ECT
CONFLICTING STORIES emerged yesterday surrounding the circumstances which led to Friday’s accidental death of a six-year-old boy at the Turtle Beach Hotel, Courland Bay, Scarborough, Tobago
A witness has come forward saying he saw the child, Eric Gittens, on top of the concrete table near the pool.
“The child was jumping on the concrete table and the mother of the child was warned repeatedly to remove the child from the table but no heed was taken. That was when tragedy struck,” the witness, who spoke on condition of anonymity, said.
However, a close friend of the Gittens family said the concrete table fell off its pedestal when the child placed his hands on the table in an attempt to get up.
“The child and his mother were sitting at the table having afternoon tea, Eric put his hands on the table to get up and the table broke and flipped on him,” the family friend said during a telephone interview.
The family friend, who also spoke on the condition of anonymity, yesterday called for more vigilance at Turtle Beach Hotel in Tobago.
Eric Gittens was crushed by a concrete table top that broke off and fell on his head near the pool at the resort last Friday.
In a telephone interview yesterday, the friend described the family as “traumatised” and “distraught” over the loss of their young son.
Mother, Susan Gittens, 47, also has another son, four-year-old Evan, who was not on the trip, according to the family friend.
According to police reports, around 5 p.m. on Friday, Eric, a first year pupil of St Andrews Prep School in Maraval, was around the poolside of the hotel kneeling on a chair when a concrete slab flipped up from the table, struck him to his head, pinning him to the ground.
The family friend said Eric was pinned under the concrete slab and while his screaming mother tried unsuccessfully to move it.
“Another hotel guest, a big guy, helped the mother move the table top and even attempted to give Eric mouth to mouth,” he said.
He said Eric was taken to the Scarborough General Hospital but was pronounced dead on arrival.
“They said he died from blunt head trauma,” he said.
He said when he visited the hotel, it was business as usual. The broken table was leaned up along one wall and children were playing around it as if nothing had happened.
“This even though the police asked that they move the tables, the hotel has not,” he said.
The family friend said the hotel has been in contact with the family, but he was not sure what, if anything, came from that.
He said the family was not considering legal options just yet as they were “still trying to cope” with the loss of their child.
The hotel’s general manager, Leslie Amedee, in an interview yesterday, described the incident as “an unfortunate one”.
“The focus needs to be at this time on the well-being of the family. As a hotel we have offered counseling to the family, and whatever we can assist them with we have been accommodating. I have been in contact with the mother Susan Gittens every day since the incident, “Amedee said.
Amedee said he was exiting his office last Friday when he heard the commotion.
“A guest ran to me saying to call the ambulance, and I did, but emergency officials never arrived till half hour after being called. They, however, assisted over the phone in giving directions as to what should be done in their absence. One guest assisted in performing CPR to the child,” Amedee said.
Amedee said the hotel will in no way speculate on the matter and the circumstances surrounding it.
He said the child was observed having fun with members of staff around the pool area before the incident, and the table which toppled crushing the child remained upright since 2004, before it fell.
Amedee said: “Since 2004, these tables around the pool area have been stationed there and were never moved. All the necessary checks have always been made to ensure our equipment is safe.
“The pool attendant was nearby before the incident occurred. When the incident occurred and (mother) Susan Gittens screamed for help, approximately three persons had to help in raising the toppled table from the child.”
A visit by the Express to the hotel yesterday revealed similar tables around the pool areas of the hotel.
An autopsy performed on Sunday around 1.30 p.m. by pathologist Dr Eslyn McDonald- Burris revealed the child died as a result of skull and brain injury, consistent with blunt trauma.
The autopsy was performed at the Scarborough General Hospital and was witnessed by father of the child Peter Gittens and friend of the family, attorney Daniel Solomon.

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » May 14th, 2013, 12:00 am

Hook wrote:I'm real tired of pioneer and his nonsense. Nothing he's said in this thread has been "meaningful and logical". Very little of what he says in any thread is "meaningful and logical" anyway.

pioneer actually talks alot of sense most of the time. its just from a different perspective and usually is real talk

Postby wagonrunner » May 14th, 2013, 12:10 am

was not aware turtle beach, courland bay was in Scarborough. supastarr redraw dey map?

Postby stev » May 14th, 2013, 12:15 am

would have been a bit more refreshing if u didnt quote the entire thing.

Postby javishm » May 14th, 2013, 12:35 am

always 3 sides to a story

matthewmazda

Postby matthewmazda » May 14th, 2013, 4:26 am

this so sad dread, hope this never happens to my family
wasnt there so dont want to......