S.E.A. 2013

Re: S.E.A. 2013

Postby pioneer » May 12th, 2013, 6:48 pm

No wonder our youths gone astray and so lawless, if their very own teachers don't obey the law and abide by regulations...why dem cya do it too?

People quick to throw blame at the ministry and minister, refusing to accept the fact that "teachers" are also a major part of the problem. It should be illegal for any appointed teacher to provide any "extra lessons" after school hours or on weekends. That right there is a conflict of interest and questions their integrity in public life.

But brb...unions to their rescue

Postby Ronaldo95163 » May 12th, 2013, 6:50 pm

And what is your definition of teachers working after school is over???

Postby goalpost » May 12th, 2013, 6:54 pm

preparing material for the next day or week..preparing exercises for the students...updating syllabus on what was taught...basically just PLANNING out their work and work schedules for the students they teach.

Postby nemisis » May 12th, 2013, 6:55 pm

goalpost wrote:preparing material for the next day or week..preparing exercises for the students...updating syllabus on what was taught...basically just PLANNING out their work and work schedules for the students they teach.
I know teachers who do that Every night at home

Postby Ted_v2 » May 12th, 2013, 6:58 pm

Ronaldo95163 wrote:And what is your definition of teachers working after school is over???

how about detention? running over work with kids that couldnt understand it properly. when i was in primary school, we had lessons every evening till 430

free :|

Postby nervewrecker » May 12th, 2013, 7:02 pm

sound boy 64 wrote:
Ronaldo95163 wrote:And what is your definition of teachers working after school is over???

how about detention? running over work with kids that couldnt understand it properly. when i was in primary school, we had lessons every evening till 430

free

X2 and closer to common entrance my std 5 teacher used to have us come out on a Saturday too.

I dont know where teachers get the idea they can come to work, scratch arse and then charge $$$ for "lessons" on weekdays / weekends.

Postby Ted_v2 » May 12th, 2013, 7:10 pm

saturday was 8-12

Postby nemisis » May 12th, 2013, 7:33 pm

sound boy 64 wrote:

free

X2 and closer to common entrance my std 5 teacher used to have us come out on a Saturday too.

I dont know where teachers get the idea they can come to work, scratch arse and then charge $$$ for "lessons" on weekdays / weekends.
same parents who paying them.

Postby pioneer » May 12th, 2013, 7:39 pm

Well at least we know who having challenges with this thread.

brb protesting for more money

People scoffed at Panday when he labelled them as criminals.

Postby nervewrecker » May 12th, 2013, 7:53 pm

pioneer wrote:Well at least we know who having challenges with this thread.

The whole "A class" was kept back to make sure everyone was up to mark. :roll:

But I agree, from this thread we know who the kids experiencing what they call "culture shock" :idea:

Postby pioneer » May 12th, 2013, 8:02 pm

pioneer wrote:Well at least we know who having challenges with this thread.

The whole "A class" was kept back to make sure everyone was up to mark. :roll:

But I agree, from this thread we know who the kids experiencing what they call "culture shock" :idea:

Actually "culture shock" is very different

Postby Ronaldo95163 » May 12th, 2013, 8:14 pm

sound boy 64 wrote:

free

I had lessons from STD 4 straight into STD 5. My lunch time was cut in half because we had to come in early for lessons during the lunch period. After school we had lessons also as well as on the weekend. Mind you this wasn't a private school(My younger bro attended a private school...his teacher was a teacher who used to teach in my primary school...his class obtained really great passes as well) and everyone in my class year passed for colleges, convents and other 7 year schools. One of the students placed in the Top 100 as well. That year was probably the best year for that school. That was the A class though.

The lessons wasn't free either...it was like $50 or something...but who cares...nothing is free in this world anymore...like some people forgetting that teaching is a JOB.

People need to stop blaming teachers for the way youths are today. Blame the youths for the choices that they make...not their teachers...You guys can babble how much you want about teachers not being there for children and that kind of garbage but at the end of the day the teacher still collecting a cheque at the end of the month and doesn't have to give a crap about your complaints or the youths allyuh beating up over.

Postby pioneer » May 12th, 2013, 8:18 pm

Kool, but teacher work hours are from 8am to 4:15pm.

Also, Tim is gonna russle teacher jimmies pretty soon :)

Postby Ted_v2 » May 12th, 2013, 9:21 pm

What I need to be a primary school teacher now? And secondary school too

Postby nemisis » May 12th, 2013, 10:46 pm

For real where and what needed to teach secondary school easy money is easy

Postby pioneer » May 12th, 2013, 10:51 pm

http://www.moe.gov.tt/teacher_require.html

Becoming a Primary or Secondary School Teacher

In order to teach at a primary or secondary school in Trinidad and Tobago, a person must first obtain a Teacher's Registration Number. Once registered, the person can then apply for employment as a primary or secondary-level teacher at any government or private school. The qualification (e.g., Certificate, Diploma, Associates Degree, Bachelor's, or Master's,) depends on the level of entry at which the teacher begins

Who is eligible to obtain a Teacher's Registration Number?

A person interested in obtaining a Teacher's Registration Number must meet at least one of the following criteria:

Have a minimum of five O'Level subjects at CXC (General Proficiency) grades I, II or III inclusive of English Language, Mathematics and one subject from the Natural Sciences Group;
Have a minimum of five O'Level subjects at GCE grades A, B, or C inclusive of English Language, Mathematics and one subject from the Natural Sciences Group; or
Have a qualification from an accredited university or higher education institution.

Who is eligible to obtain a Teacher’s Registration Number?

A person interested in applying for employment as a Teacher should complete an "Application for Employment" form, which can be downloaded from the Ministry of Education's website using the link below. The form can also be obtained from the Ministry's Head Office on Alexandra Street or any of the seven district offices and from the Tobago House of Assembly office.

The original and two copies of each of the following documents should be submitted along with the application form:

Valid proof of identification in the form of a National Identification Card, Driver's Permit, Trinidad and Tobago Passport, or Foreign Passport;
Birth Certificate with affidavit (if necessary);
Teacher's Registration Certificate;
Two testimonials written within the last 6 months that are not from teachers in the service of the Government of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago;
Marriage Certificate, if applicant is a married woman; and
Certificates attesting to person's academic and professional qualifications. In cases where statements from the Examination Section of the Ministry of Education are to be used in lieu of certificates/diplomas, the original statements are required.
The application form must be completed in duplicate, in accordance with the included instructions. Both copies of the form should be returned, with all required documentation, to the Ministry of Education in person so that originals can be returned. Primary school applicants should take their applications to the Primary Section of the Personnel Department; Secondary-level applicants should take their applications to the Secondary Section.

After an application is submitted, the applicant will be assessed by the Curriculum Development Division of the Ministry of Education, must pass an interview conducted by the Teaching Service Commission and have his or her name placed on the Order of Merit List at the Ministry of Education.

:)

When people get brace to teach, they become either a clerk I or police.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » May 14th, 2013, 12:04 am

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Edu ... 11251.html

Education officials to meet on SEA question
By Kimoy Leon Sing
Story Created: May 13, 2013 at 10:39 PM ECT
Story Updated: May 13, 2013 at 10:45 PM ECT
Education Minister Dr Tim Gopeesingh has said the Chief Education Officer is to meet with a team today to discuss the controversy over Question 35 in last week’s Secondary Entrance Assessment(SEA).
“The Chief Education Officer is meeting with the team today, when I go back there I will get a report on it,” Gopeesingh said when asked about the issue during a tour of some of the nation’s libraries yesterday.
Gopeesingh announced that new libraries will be built throughout Trinidad and Tobago. The minister, the board and executive of the National Library and Information System of Trinidad and Tobago (Nalis) began a tour from around 8 a.m., starting with the Arima Public Library. They also visited The Book Mobile Maloney Public Library, St Helena Public Library, San Juan Public Library, Diego Martin Public Library and the St James Public Library, 31 Church Street, St James.
Gopeesingh said, “We have been moving around today looking at how we are going to improve the libraries and their services. Currently four new libraries are being built in the following areas: Mayaro, Rio Claro, Chaguanas and Couva.”
Gopeesingh said a number of the libraries are housed in very old buildings that desperately need upgrading to better serve the public.
He said six other libraries are set for immediate construction in other parts of Trinidad and Tobago.
“We are also working together with the Commissioner of State lands in a number of areas to determine the construction of other libraries throughout different parts of Trinidad and Tobago,” Gopeesingh said.
He said, “We are looking at improvement in mobile services. We are also looking at increased training for human resource personnel for libraries.”
“The Partnership Government is giving more scholarships for pupils to become certified with a Bachelor’s or Master’s degree. We are also working with the international agencies that do e-text books so we can be part of their licensing agreement and we are hoping to use the expertise of a number of senior personnel who have retired, who will work in an advisory capacity,” he said.
He said that while steps are being taken to improve efficiency and to deliver a better quality of service to the public, there was a shortage of human resource personnel at public libraries

Postby ~Vēġó~ » May 14th, 2013, 7:41 pm

pios tell me where you find that 8am - 4:30pm work hours nah, please.....that would be very helpful to me....