EarthQuake!!!!!!!! (4 Mar 2013)

Re: EarthQuake!!!!!!!! (4 Mar 2013)

Postby rollingstock » March 4th, 2013, 8:52 pm

rfari wrote:U calling me ah informa, ma dude?

4th floor is Human Resource and Leave section.

Second floor is fingerprint.

Yuh is either ah informa or ah undercover police, but you don't hit me as teh stupid kind so i guessing informa :|

geodude

Postby geodude » March 4th, 2013, 9:09 pm

hmm apparently this relatively small seismic event has cause a slip, the tremors of which will forever echo in the chronicles of the life of rfari,

informa fi dead.!!!

Postby rfari » March 4th, 2013, 9:17 pm

**cuts dreadlocks and flees ched**

Postby Trini Hookah » March 4th, 2013, 9:23 pm

rfari wrote:**cuts dreadlocks and flees ched**

Was this act premeditated?

Postby javishm » March 4th, 2013, 9:32 pm

@tv6tnt: Seismic director: These quakes are an indication that we are in a seismically active area and we should be prepared for a big earthquake

geodude

Postby geodude » March 4th, 2013, 10:17 pm

quote continued "so give we plenty more money to do studies and ting nah "

trinicurious

Postby trinicurious » March 5th, 2013, 1:26 am

alcom2222 wrote:
Daran wrote:3.8 based on SRASC's map.

more like a baby quake

I wonder if SRASC is a seismologist....like Senior Assistant Seismologist for the Caribbean? If you are, can you tell us what's up with all these earthquakes?

trinicurious

Postby trinicurious » March 5th, 2013, 1:29 am

javishm wrote:@tv6tnt: Seismic director: These quakes are an indication that we are in a seismically active area and we should be prepared for a big earthquake

So like how we could prepare for a big one?

geodude

Postby geodude » March 5th, 2013, 3:31 am

trinicurious wrote:
javishm wrote:@tv6tnt: Seismic director: These quakes are an indication that we are in a seismically active area and we should be prepared for a big earthquake

engineering codes, safety drills, etc,
update disaster emergency preparedness equipment, polices and procedures,

for eg i was in Lima Peru last year when they had an earthquake drill, (thats right a city wide drill ), normal normal,
the entire city has sirens which go off during an earthquake and everyone has to rush to the nearest safe zone, after the event, the systems which are in place are activated and works like a well oiled machine, systems such as such as first responders, many of whom are community leaders will all assess the situ in their respective localities and coordinate with the disaster management command centre.
employees in all buildings have designated roles assigned to them when they gain employment at that location, and given the necessary training for those responsibilities,

Basically planning for earthquakes involves ensuring the infrastructure is built with earthquakes in mind and ppl are trained in self preservation techniques during the event, and the last leg, ensuring that after an event help gets to the areas which need it as fast as possible, and steps are taken to prevent secondary damage, such as explosions, electrocutions, fires, etc,

Postby rollingstock » March 5th, 2013, 4:54 am

trinicurious wrote:

"Sit down, put your head between your legs and kiss your balls goodbye." ~ Senior Assistant Seismologist for the Caribbean.

Postby Habit7 » March 5th, 2013, 8:29 am

I think that proper earthquake drills and preparedness will do us well. Also strongly enforced building codes relevant to the fact the most densely populated area in Trinidad lies directly above a fault system, the same fault system that is associated with the earthquake in Paria yesterday. Plus, we are more than 100 years due the average 100 year earthquake we are expected to experience.

But there are many to benefit, especially in areas of poorly constructed buildings, if they were all to fall to the ground and those areas can be revalued and redeveloped. :wink:

trinicurious

Postby trinicurious » March 6th, 2013, 1:22 am

trinicurious wrote:

"Sit down, put your head between your legs and kiss your balls goodbye." ~ Senior Assistant Seismologist for the Caribbean.

Since I'm just not that flexible, I will have to forego this method of preparedness.

trinicurious

Postby trinicurious » March 6th, 2013, 1:29 am

geodude wrote:
trinicurious wrote:

engineering codes, safety drills, etc,
update disaster emergency preparedness equipment, polices and procedures,

for eg i was in Lima Peru last year when they had an earthquake drill, (thats right a city wide drill ), normal normal,
the entire city has sirens which go off during an earthquake and everyone has to rush to the nearest safe zone, after the event, the systems which are in place are activated and works like a well oiled machine, systems such as such as first responders, many of whom are community leaders will all assess the situ in their respective localities and coordinate with the disaster management command centre.
employees in all buildings have designated roles assigned to them when they gain employment at that location, and given the necessary training for those responsibilities,

Basically planning for earthquakes involves ensuring the infrastructure is built with earthquakes in mind and ppl are trained in self preservation techniques during the event, and the last leg, ensuring that after an event help gets to the areas which need it as fast as possible, and steps are taken to prevent secondary damage, such as explosions, electrocutions, fires, etc,

Great example of preparedness on a national level. I hope the ODPM is working towards that level.

silentartsGD

Postby silentartsGD » March 6th, 2013, 1:58 am

TRAE wrote:i does never feel these things jed

True...