Reefplanet

Re: Trinituner Reefers, Saltwater Aquarium Fish Keepers

Postby Reefplanet » February 24th, 2013, 8:48 pm

HondaB20B wrote:
AGENT RORO wrote:Sigh.....

you sticking.......... i fedup tell you to set up. i have some fish and rock waiting

if u givin it out free i will take them off ur hands thank u very much :mrgreen:

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » February 24th, 2013, 8:49 pm

HondaB20B wrote:
Reefplanet wrote:This is my 30g
xenias
eagles eye zoas

coraline algae picking up................ You could do with ahh lil more live rock.

lol yeah i was thinkin that might just get 3 more pieces ....dont want to much cause it will leave rel dead spots

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » February 24th, 2013, 9:19 pm

Reefplanet wrote:
HondaB20B wrote:
AGENT RORO wrote:Sigh.....

you sticking.......... i fedup tell you to set up. i have some fish and rock waiting

if u givin it out free i will take them off ur hands thank u very much :mrgreen:

LOL................NAH, thats meh brother, cant sell him that. He jus ah lil harden. :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

just drop one of the powerheads to about midway and/or bounce it off the glass.

See the xenias real spreading nicely. Xenias nice to have with certain type of corals. It will coverCertain SPS, LPS and Zoas like crazy. That and GSP you need to monitor and do constant pruning. I had big clumps & end up pulling out all. was taking over my Zoas. Mind you its real nice to see it pulsing but after awhile it becomes a pest.
Last edited by HondaB20B on February 24th, 2013, 9:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » February 24th, 2013, 9:34 pm

lol i tried...

what that will make more flow or somethin...i gettin 2 tunze powerheads soon just hv to wait till it comes to trinidad

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » February 24th, 2013, 9:43 pm

you have to experiment with the powerheads............ put one high and the other low, put them facing one another, put one facing the other and the other one let the water bounce off the glass, put 2 of them to bounce off the glass....................every tank is different. You have it easy cause your tank small. When you have to send water 6ft to the other side thats headache

Postby kurpal_v2 » February 24th, 2013, 9:53 pm

Reefplanet, that 30g making me feel to dump my freshwater right now and start a saltwater lol

Right now I'm putting aside cash still before I go saltwater. I need to be able to monitor the tank remotely as Ill only be around it on weekends and no one home to take care of it lol. Got a 60gall tank already, waiting to finish the stand and then ill start cycling in about a month so.

Till then I have to sit and watch you guys lol

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » February 24th, 2013, 10:19 pm

HondaB20B wrote:you have to experiment with the powerheads............ put one high and the other low, put them facing one another, put one facing the other and the other one let the water bounce off the glass, put 2 of them to bounce off the glass....................every tank is different. You have it easy cause your tank small. When you have to send water 6ft to the other side thats headache

Likewise, I also will have to get another powerhead soon. My powerhead is on the left and aimed to the right I could notice the current dieing off around my brain. and on the left side I have the return making some movement. I may look to split my return, have one on the LHS and the other on the RHS that should help keep the flow of clean water nicely.
For the next couple months, prob till may/june Raj will see me often lol

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » February 24th, 2013, 10:40 pm

Lipstick looking marks all over my glass.........

And here is the culprit............... My lawnmower blenny. He not easy.....LOL

This is actually my coraline algae encrusting just like an SPS

Last edited by HondaB20B on February 24th, 2013, 10:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » February 24th, 2013, 10:43 pm

HondaB20B wrote:

:o the hellll I seeing here :o
:wtf:
lmao one of these days we guh get big so boi reefplanet...... :lol:

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » February 24th, 2013, 10:44 pm

greenlime100 wrote:
HondaB20B wrote:you have to experiment with the powerheads............ put one high and the other low, put them facing one another, put one facing the other and the other one let the water bounce off the glass, put 2 of them to bounce off the glass....................every tank is different. You have it easy cause your tank small. When you have to send water 6ft to the other side thats headache

Likewise, I also will have to get another powerhead soon. My powerhead is on the left and aimed to the right I could notice the current dieing off around my brain. and on the left side I have the return making some movement. I may look to split my return, have one on the LHS and the other on the RHS that should help keep the flow of clean water nicely.
For the next couple months, prob till may/june Raj will see me often lol

When you split your return, you water outlet pressure will drop dratically. There are calculations showing you how pressure drops with each ft of pipe, 90 or 45 elbow, reducer, valve, union etc

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » February 24th, 2013, 10:47 pm

greenlime100 wrote:
HondaB20B wrote:

:o the hellll I seeing here :o
:wtf:
lmao one of these days we guh get big so boi reefplanet...... :lol:

LOL............hahahah, its actually sticking out 1 1/2". I've been watching that particular piece grow like that the last 8 mths or so

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » February 24th, 2013, 10:48 pm

When you split your return, you water outlet pressure will drop dratically. There are calculations showing you how pressure drops with each ft of pipe, 90 or 45 elbow, reducer, valve, union etc

thanks... will check that out before I do anything

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » February 24th, 2013, 10:52 pm

weiii Honda.. the zoas looking good too
was to ask you, I looking to add a lawnmower blenny and a mandarin,
I cant rem correctly but I think I saw one in one of your pics?? anyways I just looking to kno about any specific details towards caring for them, I seeing they under 'difficult'

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » February 24th, 2013, 10:55 pm

When i did my tank i made 2 outlets. It comes to the top with a 90 elbow, then a tee and goes right and left. Looked real good but by time you run water in it................. boy did it slow down. end up blocking one side. run it without sticking it first.
You could still do it but just upgrade your pump. There is nothing in a reef like to much return flow.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » February 24th, 2013, 11:09 pm

greenlime100 wrote:weiii Honda.. the zoas looking good too
was to ask you, I looking to add a lawnmower blenny and a mandarin,
I cant rem correctly but I think I saw one in one of your pics?? anyways I just looking to kno about any specific details towards caring for them, I seeing they under 'difficult'

Mandarins real easy to care for.......... the only thing is that you cant have fish that feed on the same copepods and amphepods like it. Very rare you get mandarins to acccept food like pellets or flakes. I lost mine some mths back cause i decided to add the solon wrasse, a geometric pygmy perchlet and a yellow banded possum wrasse all of which eat pods. Mandarins are very slow fish so getting to the pods was slow. If you dont have a good supply of pods or your tank running less than a yr, you in probs.

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » February 24th, 2013, 11:17 pm

My tank made a year last month lol dont think I have anything eating on the pods for now, santoo was selling me a wrasse lol good thing I didnt take it lol will prob still wait a couple months before I get it, just to be on the safer side.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » February 24th, 2013, 11:39 pm

Greenlime, these are my prettiest Zoas.

fruit loops under super daylight........

Same zoas under blue leds....

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » February 24th, 2013, 11:43 pm

Every one has their likes, I love LPS, softies and zoas........ Then there are the SPS men like fishman and ziggy.
No matter what type of reef you going with (SPS, LPS, Zoas, or leathers), there are special caring needs for them all the same. Some are just a little more demanding than some.

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » February 25th, 2013, 7:10 am

Damn, looking good and I like how zoas are more or less hardy and easy to care for.... definitely getting another lol

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » February 25th, 2013, 10:44 am

greenlime100 wrote:Damn, looking good and I like how zoas are more or less hardy and easy to care for.... definitely getting another lol

yeah, zoas real hardy. Two signs of them not surviving are them starting to melt, then you know that your water parameters are not good. The other is if you start seeing them stetching (like trees) for light then you know your lighting is not enough.
Its addictive...... I just wanted a few zoas in my tank when i started and i ended up buying small frags of different colors (10-15 on a plug) and sticking them all over. I ended up getting hooked when i saw so many different variations and colors. All of which have different needs. You can put 2 different color zoas in the same spot and they will react differently to lighting, flow, feeding and water conditions. I've had different color zoas on plugs in the same spot and in 4mths they have gone from <10 polyps to >40, whereby the other went from <5 polyps to <15 in the same 4mths. Still have no clue why. Since my tank started, i thing i bought just over 200 polyps, an estimate on the amount of polyps i have that has grown and not counting what has died or sold, its about 2000 polyps i have. About 5 mths ago i had over 20 different colors. Now its over 3o. The good thing is sometimes when they release eggs in the water, i get some that morph and new polyps shoot up in places i never even glued any. I have to go by raj this week to get some more plugs from him. Zoas also detatch themselves when they get over crowding and float around until the land on another suitable spot.

This is a rock that i started to stick little 2 or 3 polyps in in scattered locations in Sep 2011

This is the same rock thats covered with zoas in Nov 2012.

feed your corals good and they will run like crazy. Some will even frustrate you like GSP

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » February 25th, 2013, 3:55 pm

:shock: What steroids you use beside feeding them :shock:

:lol: thats growth man wow. But seriously you said feed them, Sat I bought the frozen brine shrimp and looking to feed them that at least once or twice a week, any thing additional you feed ?

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » February 25th, 2013, 4:36 pm

greenlime100 wrote::shock: What steroids you use beside feeding them :shock:

:lol: thats growth man wow. But seriously you said feed them, Sat I bought the frozen brine shrimp and looking to feed them that at least once or twice a week, any thing additional you feed ?

LOL............watch out though how you feeding the frozen brine shrimp. Thats real high in protein so your skimmer will be working overtime. This will also feed the excess algae you trying to kill. I broadcast feed all my corals and recently started spot feeding my acans, scolly, blastos and the frogspawns. I feed with the freeze dried krill or plankton and try to get it as fine as possible and also get all the juices in the water..............this causes a feeding frenzy wherby the tentacles come out. I also take off my skimmer for about 20min during this time.

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » February 25th, 2013, 4:42 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:Reefplanet, that 30g making me feel to dump my freshwater right now and start a saltwater lol

Right now I'm putting aside cash still before I go saltwater. I need to be able to monitor the tank remotely as Ill only be around it on weekends and no one home to take care of it lol. Got a 60gall tank already, waiting to finish the stand and then ill start cycling in about a month so.

Till then I have to sit and watch you guys lol

lol welcome.. we've been waiting :evilbat:

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » February 25th, 2013, 4:50 pm

HondaB20B wrote:Image

:crying: :crying: You tryin to make me cry :cry:
arent those called eagles eye zoas cause i think i hv that

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » February 25th, 2013, 4:54 pm

Honda u does feed ur zoas??? what to feed them
and ur corals spawn already :shocked!: :shocked!: :shocked!: :shocked!: HOW U DO DAT!!!! :shock:

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » February 25th, 2013, 6:20 pm

HondaB20B wrote:
greenlime100 wrote::shock: What steroids you use beside feeding them :shock:

LOL............watch out though how you feeding the frozen brine shrimp. Thats real high in protein so your skimmer will be working overtime. This will also feed the excess algae you trying to kill. I broadcast feed all my corals and recently started spot feeding my acans, scolly, blastos and the frogspawns. I feed with the freeze dried krill or plankton and try to get it as fine as possible and also get all the juices in the water..............this causes a feeding frenzy wherby the tentacles come out. I also take off my skimmer for about 20min during this time.

I'll limit the brine shrimp to once a week until I get the rowaphos (hopefully this week)

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » February 25th, 2013, 6:59 pm

allyuh men really dont read my posts.................LOL
This is not the first time i post this.

http://www.amazon.com/Two-Little-Fishie ... ians+thing

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » February 25th, 2013, 7:01 pm

Reefplanet wrote:Honda u does feed ur zoas??? what to feed them
and ur corals spawn already :shocked!: :shocked!: :shocked!: :shocked!: HOW U DO DAT!!!! :shock:

dont even try to do that................YOU HAVE NO SKIMMER. Rightnow you putting the cart before the horse :mrgreen:

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » February 25th, 2013, 7:07 pm

HondaB20B wrote:allyuh men really dont read my posts.................LOL
This is not the first time i post this.

http://www.amazon.com/Two-Little-Fishie ... ians+thing

:lol: I ordered that online already, together with some filter socks and another powerhead

Forgot to mention, I saw what I believe to be stinging tentacles from my brain this morning, And there was alot ! I take it this means the brain settled in and comfortable in that spot ?

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » February 25th, 2013, 7:15 pm

How much you paid for the feeder.
Not stinging tentacles, feeding tentacles