Re: School girl knock down by truck !

Postby nemisis » November 30th, 2012, 10:26 am

^^^ bounce me nah starts younger and younger these days

Postby Les Bain » November 30th, 2012, 10:27 am

Road is a scary place. Bounce me nah pedestrians, motorists who rather blow horn and swerve full speed instead of slow down. When they do slow down, they figure their brakes setup came from a Zonda.

Real sad what happened to the girl, but pedestrians are supposed to be vigilant. Moreso when they have headphones on.

ingalook

Postby ingalook » November 30th, 2012, 10:43 am

Generally speaking ASJA girls are not part of the "bounce mih nah" crowd... juss saying

I feeling real sorry for the parents... 2 children in separate road mishaps :(

Skanky

Postby Skanky » November 30th, 2012, 10:49 am

TEMPO wrote:an a truck was coming down fast on the other side of the road but he couldnt stop in time. As he was blowing his horn the girl cudnt hear becuz she had headphones in her ears.

I'm still not seeing how you all could apportion any significant blame to the girl.Yes she was careless in crossing the road with headphones on but if you've lived in Trinidad you would know stupid pedestrians are a fact.Where pedestrians are involved you have to drive with due caution.....no matter how vex they get you.

The truck driver is the one to blame for this death.As a matter of fact as I alluded to before, he was trying his best to kill somebody, else why was he driving in such a reckless manner?
The single factor of the driver speeding had a snowball effect as I discussed above which lead to him killing the girl.Had he not been speeding in the first place I dare say the outcome of this would be different and we could have been talking bout another dotish pedestrian who nearly get knocked down....and almost all of us have one or more of those stories where we didn't knock down the person ..ent?

mrtrini45

Postby mrtrini45 » November 30th, 2012, 10:53 am

R.I.P. schoolgirl

Postby Dizzy28 » November 30th, 2012, 10:58 am

Skanky wrote:
TEMPO wrote:an a truck was coming down fast on the other side of the road but he couldnt stop in time. As he was blowing his horn the girl cudnt hear becuz she had headphones in her ears.

I'm still not seeing how you all could apportion any significant blame to the girl.Yes she was careless in crossing the road with headphones on but if you've lived in Trinidad you would know stupid pedestrians are a fact.Where pedestrians are involved you have to drive with due caution.....no matter how vex they get you.

The truck driver is the one to blame for this death.As a matter of fact as I alluded to before, he was trying his best to kill somebody, else why was he driving in such a reckless manner?
The single factor of the driver speeding had a snowball effect as I discussed above which lead to him killing the girl.Had he not been speeding in the first place I dare say the outcome of this would be different and we could have been talking bout another dotish pedestrian who nearly get knocked down....and almost all of us have one or more of those stories where we didn't knock down the person ..ent?

By that same logic should not pedestrians know stupid drivers are a fact too and take care accordingly? And pedestrians have a lot more to lose in an accident with a car.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » November 30th, 2012, 11:02 am

WetR wrote:people always cross behind vehicles. in fact once i driving past parked vehicles i have the sense to slow the #$$# down. there is nothing like alerting pedestrian by using the vehicle horn. save that for alerting other drivers/vehicles. in fact the horn may cause a pedestrian to panic/slip/fall/trip/deer in headlight scenario etc.

there is no way for the driver to move on from this. can only repent by driving with requisite caution from now on.

RIP

The horn is used to alert anything in the road, when I did my driving test the officer cuss when I didn't blow the horn at some idiot who was walking on the side of the road

link

Postby link » November 30th, 2012, 11:23 am

skanky is correct
inappropriate speed (truck), preference to 'blow yuh horn' rather that FIRST apply brakes.......
most of all...(my take here) :
truck driver never did any defensive training (or any other awareness programme for that matter), otherwise he would have been slowing down expecting someone to 'appear' from behind that maxi.
I was placed in this EXACT scenario 4 years ago, with a schoolgirl crossing from behind a 'big' maxi...& I was able to stop before hitting/probs killing the child....SIMPLY BECAUSE I HAD BEEN EXPOSED TO A DEFENSIVE DRIVING PROGRAMME.
BTW...in my case I was driving alongside the maxi after it stopped & had slowed down to almost walking pace because of the possibility of exactly what transpired...my car stopped about 1/2 inch from the child !!! (max abs / dry road)
WE ALL HAVE AN OBLIGATION TO MAKE OUR ROADS SAFE

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » November 30th, 2012, 11:31 am

meh obvious driver at fault....

*looks at defensive driving certificate*

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » November 30th, 2012, 11:33 am

whoever fault it still sad - R.I.P school girl ....

Crackpot

Postby Crackpot » November 30th, 2012, 11:35 am

link wrote:skanky is correct
inappropriate speed (truck), preference to 'blow yuh horn' rather that FIRST apply brakes.......
most of all...(my take here) :
truck driver never did any defensive training (or any other awareness programme for that matter), otherwise he would have been slowing down expecting someone to 'appear' from behind that maxi.
I was placed in this EXACT scenario 4 years ago, with a schoolgirl crossing from behind a 'big' maxi...& I was able to stop before hitting/probs killing the child....SIMPLY BECAUSE I HAD BEEN EXPOSED TO A DEFENSIVE DRIVING PROGRAMME.
BTW...in my case I was driving alongside the maxi after it stopped & had slowed down to almost walking pace because of the possibility of exactly what transpired...my car stopped about 1/2 inch from the child !!! (max abs / dry road)
WE ALL HAVE AN OBLIGATION TO MAKE OUR ROADS SAFE

Amen, brother. Chuna Insensitivity reaching Epic prportions

Postby nemisis » November 30th, 2012, 11:35 am

ingalook wrote:Generally speaking ASJA girls are not part of the "bounce mih nah" crowd... juss saying

I feeling real sorry for the parents... 2 children in separate road mishaps :(

ok you are right when last a bounce meh nah actually get bounce..

Postby pioneer » November 30th, 2012, 11:49 am

Anyone has pics btw?

Postby Les Bain » November 30th, 2012, 12:16 pm

Amazing difference between her pics in Newsday and Express though.

Postby SmokeyGTi » November 30th, 2012, 1:36 pm

pioneer wrote:I saw ah fella drivin wid a dr. dre beats on....all his windows down on de hot sun cuz he wanna be seen and be "kool"

Another trend I see is people following/tailing/bumpering emergency vehicles while they try to get through traffic......that chit should carry a HEAVY fine and possible loss of permit.

Trinis haven't failed to amaze me one bit

ppl doh ha radio in dey cyar again or wha?

Postby pioneer » November 30th, 2012, 1:51 pm

Dey broken

WetR

Postby WetR » November 30th, 2012, 1:53 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:
WetR wrote:people always cross behind vehicles. in fact once i driving past parked vehicles i have the sense to slow the #$$# down. there is nothing like alerting pedestrian by using the vehicle horn. save that for alerting other drivers/vehicles. in fact the horn may cause a pedestrian to panic/slip/fall/trip/deer in headlight scenario etc.

there is no way for the driver to move on from this. can only repent by driving with requisite caution from now on.

RIP

The horn is used to alert anything in the road, when I did my driving test the officer cuss when I didn't blow the horn at some idiot who was walking on the side of the road

fine.

i just find it useless. i still need to drive around d person. most less agile ones does stop to watch meh anyway.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » November 30th, 2012, 1:56 pm

Dont know what went on here .......who was wrong,.....

BUT..... I strongly believe that there are many jaywalkers in trinidad and charges should be laid against them

Imagine u drivin waitin on a red light ...as soon as the light changes to green ...foot on accelerator.........pedestrians now crossing on the green light

apparantly many dont know that the green light is for the cars to proceed and not for them to start crossing.......

Postby mitsu_chick941 » November 30th, 2012, 1:57 pm

by city gate that is the norm

Postby toyolink » November 30th, 2012, 2:34 pm

Children are prone to serious lapses of thinking and are easily distracted or preoccupied by all kinds of frivoloue stuff.
We as parents contiue to drill into our kids the need to be alert and extremely cautious when using the roads ,but in our hearts we know of their vulnerability possibly because of the mere fact that they are kids.
Drivers are continuously cautioned about the need to drive with extreme care when eg. a ball rolls across the road,or when school 'just over',or when school children are seen dis-embarking from any from of transport in particular buses/vans.
In many countries the traffic rules about school buses are heavily weighted in favour of the kids and 'the bounce meh nah attitude' referred to locally is at extreme levels and very infuriating.
The fact of the matter is the death of a child under circumstance like these is heart-breaking and for the driver of the death vehicle a true absolute horror which may never go away.
We all as drivers must do all in our power to avoid finding ourselves in this situation and we must use these incidents to re-enforce our coaching to our kids and pray this doesn't happen to us.
....May this young one transition to a better place and to her family,sincerest condolences.
BTW,this kid was closely related to someone who has been employed with my family for a long while and has described this child as truly special.

Postby wagonrunner » November 30th, 2012, 2:37 pm

driving is a priveledge, not a right. know allyuh role when behind the wheel.

Postby toyolink » November 30th, 2012, 3:53 pm

I dread and fear the possibility of being right in an accident and causing the death of a child on our roads.
Children on our roads 'before school call' and 'after school over' is a known threat/risk on our roads.
I would hate to be in the shoes of the driver of the truck and during that time of day exercise all kinds of caution which may result in other hurry vehicle operators getting a little upset with me.
Sometimes it get so that I watching them and observing their every twitch.
The smaller ones prone to the---LAST MINUTE DASH!

Daran

Postby Daran » November 30th, 2012, 3:59 pm

Skanky wrote:

What is fast? Did you check to see the speed limit of that road? It's 50km per hour i believe. A truck hitting and rolling over a person at that speed will surely kill anyone.

Once a pedestrian is on the roadway, he/she has the responsibility to not get hit by a vehicle. No speeding can or should be blamed if the pedestrian was on the roadway.

Postby sMASH » November 30th, 2012, 5:41 pm

The speed may have been inapropriate but still within the law. The stopping capibility of the truck would not be the same as a car if the truck was loaded.

I just have one question, who taught that girl how to cross road?

Postby hustla_ambition101 » November 30th, 2012, 5:43 pm

sMASH wrote:The speed may have been inapropriate but still within the law. The stopping capibility of the truck would not be the same as a car if the truck was loaded.

prolly a pigeon :|

Postby DVSTT » November 30th, 2012, 6:15 pm

RIP but headphones is not for the road, don't they teach road safety in primary skl anymore?

Daran

Postby Daran » November 30th, 2012, 6:26 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:
sMASH wrote:The speed may have been inapropriate but still within the law. The stopping capibility of the truck would not be the same as a car if the truck was loaded.

prolly a pigeon :|

i never see a pigeon get bounce

Postby Ted_v2 » November 30th, 2012, 6:39 pm

DVSTT wrote:RIP but headphones is not for the road, don't they teach road safety in primary skl anymore?

Postby nemisis » November 30th, 2012, 6:41 pm

sound boy 64 wrote:
DVSTT wrote:RIP but headphones is not for the road, don't they teach road safety in primary skl anymore?

in primary school??? My parents taught it to me didn't know they taught it at school... What else parents should teach getting palmed off onto teachers...
Last edited by nemisis on December 1st, 2012, 8:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.

pyung99

Postby pyung99 » November 30th, 2012, 7:30 pm

considering the truck had some clearance between itself and d taxi, it means that the girl must have also had some space between her and d taxi when struck.

requiescat in pace