Fake phones out there ppl. Be aware!

Re: Fake phones out there ppl. Be aware!

Postby Hook » October 28th, 2012, 1:08 pm

apparently...in teh future, try as much as possible to make clear posts that are relevant to the topic

Postby Hook » October 28th, 2012, 1:10 pm

Soul Collector wrote:I think the onus is on the owners of Trinituner and whoever runs the site. Measures must be put in place to help this situation. Now take your own measures as well to protect yourself but at the same time, tuner making $$$. And is ppl getting shaft right through. That not fair. They have a responsibility. And if anyone come and tell me some technical shite to wine dey way outa taking responsibility, then you dont care about your customers and the service you provide.

If the OP had bought it from someone who advertised in the newspaper classifieds, is the newspaper entrusted with the responsibility of protecting buyers?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 28th, 2012, 1:11 pm

^ correct.

The onus is not on TriniTuner at all.

In fact the newspapers would have collected money to place the ads. In this instance neither the buyer nor the seller paid trinituner any money during the transaction.

Infact they met outside of trinituner to carry out the actual transaction and spoke over the phone - neither of which are our domain.

*$kїđž!™ wrote:Why cant we not have a sticky to identify all conmen here on tuner?
because we cannot investigate what is true and what is not and as the publisher we risk libel and slander charges. All for a free service.

if we charged a fee or made a commission on each sale (as eBay or Amazon does) then we could stand the legalities of negative comments and accusations.

for all we know the OP could be lying, he could be trying to get back his cash and his iPhone and then give the unsuspecting seller a fake SIII - he will end up with a real SIII, an iPhone and cash, who knows. In the mean time he gets everyone on his bandwagon.

How do you as a user prove this?

We cannot investigate this - it should be taken to the police.

Posting it here will only sensationalise the issue but not offer any results in getting justice.

Postby rfari » October 28th, 2012, 1:12 pm

Who's in on a sting operation to make an example of one of these scammers? We just talking and talking really. So unsuspecting person gonna get burnt in the meanwhile.

OP u can seek redress for breach of contract eh.

src1983

Postby src1983 » October 28th, 2012, 1:14 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ correct.

*$kїđž!™ wrote:Why cant we not have a sticky to identify all conmen here on tuner?
because we cannot investigate what is true and what is not and as the publisher we risk libel and slander charges. All for a free service.

if we charged a fee or made a commission on each sale (as eBay or Amazon does) then we could stand the legalities of negative comments and accusations.

for all we know the OP could be lying, he could be trying to get back his cash and his iPhone and then give the unsuspecting seller a fake SIII - he will end up with a real SIII, an iPhone and cash, who knows. In the mean time he gets everyone on his bandwagon.

Posting it here will only sensationalise the issue but not offer any results in getting justice.

You should probably save this.........

since u have to give the same answer every time.....lol!!!

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » October 28th, 2012, 1:15 pm

Hard luck OP.

Unfortunately conmen exist everywhere, its down to the consumer to protect themselves as best they can, we are the ones with the purchasing power and should do all we can to make sure we are not fooled, do some research on the product, don't be so naiive and learn from it, learn from the experience of others if anything. So many times this same story in different forms pop up on tuner

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 28th, 2012, 1:15 pm

^ the OP needs to keep the investigations going with the Police. He has the contact information for the seller and the Police can pull the records from the phone companies.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 28th, 2012, 1:16 pm

src1983 wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ correct.

You should probably save this.........

since u have to give the same answer every time.....lol!!!
it is stated in our forum rules and agreed to when users register.

Postby kurpal_v2 » October 28th, 2012, 1:18 pm

Question- wouldnt an ammendment to the rules adding a clause which negates trinituner's responsibility in transactions to nothing but acting as a medium between users solve the above conerns?

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » October 28th, 2012, 1:20 pm

Soul Collector wrote:I think the onus is on the owners of Trinituner and whoever runs the site. Measures must be put in place to help this situation. Now take your own measures as well to protect yourself but at the same time, tuner making $$$. And is ppl getting shaft right through. That not fair. They have a responsibility. And if anyone come and tell me some technical shite to wine dey way outa taking responsibility, then you dont care about your customers and the service you provide.

Is a shopping mall responsible if you bought knock offs from a store you thought were original?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 28th, 2012, 1:23 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:Question- wouldnt an ammendment to the rules adding a clause which negates trinituner's responsibility in transactions to nothing but acting as a medium between users solve the above conerns?
it has been in the rules since 2004

http://www.trinituner.com/v3/rules/
Forum Rules wrote:Business/Personal Complaints not allowed on this forum
These topics are very subjective,especially if the party in question is not on the forum to counter any arguements against them.

There are often 3 sides to a story: Your side, their side and the truth. We only want the truth posted here.

Since we cannot investigate complaints, we cannot determine if the statements made are entirely true and so we cannot allow these complaints to be posted here. If we allow users to post libellous or slanderous statements, legal action may be taken against us as publishers.

Any posts with business or personal complaints will be deleted.

If you feel that you were the subject of fraud or bad business practices, we strongly advise that you seek the services of the Police, Fraud Squad and the Consumer Affairs Division of the Ministry of Legal Affairs. They are the correct authorities to deal with your issues properly and will offer you recourse.

We appreciate that users may feel they are helping other users with vital information so that they may avoid these places in question, however posting complaints is not in any way the purpose of this forum. Getting the proper authorities to deal with the offender is the best way to ensure the ENTIRE public is saved instead of just the readers of this forum.

DISCLAIMER: Trinituner.com, TriniTuner Co. Ltd, its Directors, Administrators and Moderators (We) are NOT responsible for transactions conducted between users via our forums. The responsibility of conducting fair trade lies SOLELY between the buyer and the seller. We will not accept liability for deals or transactions gone bad. Nor be responsible for taking action to correct such.
I also told the OP before via PM to NOT post his complaints here and I provided him with logs, posting records and other information to take to the Police to help with their investigations.

Postby maj. tom » October 28th, 2012, 1:28 pm

Perhaps the seller was not aware that is was a fake S3, but that does not give any excuse for his unethical business behaviour to not refund you fully. If I were selling something to you and you complained it was a fake I would redress your concerns once there is proof. The fact that this seller beating up so about it means that he was aware. Honest people don't move like that. That is why the only tuner that I do business with is Raptor.

Sellers can sell clones and fakes, but it must be clearly labelled as clones and fakes or cheaper alternatives to the authentic product. It must be stated that it is not the real thng.
Btw I think those chinese knockoffs are already rooted in factory.

Postby joker » October 28th, 2012, 1:36 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:Question- wouldnt an ammendment to the rules adding a clause which negates trinituner's responsibility in transactions to nothing but acting as a medium between users solve the above conerns?
it has been in the rules since 2004

http://www.trinituner.com/v3/rules/
Forum Rules wrote:Business/Personal Complaints not allowed on this forum
These topics are very subjective,especially if the party in question is not on the forum to counter any arguements against them.

There are often 3 sides to a story: Your side, their side and the truth. We only want the truth posted here.

Since we cannot investigate complaints, we cannot determine if the statements made are entirely true and so we cannot allow these complaints to be posted here. If we allow users to post libellous or slanderous statements, legal action may be taken against us as publishers.

Any posts with business or personal complaints will be deleted.

If you feel that you were the subject of fraud or bad business practices, we strongly advise that you seek the services of the Police, Fraud Squad and the Consumer Affairs Division of the Ministry of Legal Affairs. They are the correct authorities to deal with your issues properly and will offer you recourse.

We appreciate that users may feel they are helping other users with vital information so that they may avoid these places in question, however posting complaints is not in any way the purpose of this forum. Getting the proper authorities to deal with the offender is the best way to ensure the ENTIRE public is saved instead of just the readers of this forum.

DISCLAIMER: Trinituner.com, TriniTuner Co. Ltd, its Directors, Administrators and Moderators (We) are NOT responsible for transactions conducted between users via our forums. The responsibility of conducting fair trade lies SOLELY between the buyer and the seller. We will not accept liability for deals or transactions gone bad. Nor be responsible for taking action to correct such.
I also told the OP before via PM to NOT post his complaints here and I provided him with logs, posting records and other information to take to the Police to help with their investigations.

The OP did not use a name ..
The members should be made wary ... via tuner so in turn be cautious when dealing with users in future ......don't you think so?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 28th, 2012, 1:36 pm

^ how many PMs would the OP get asking who the user is? Posting here perpetuates what could be a completely false story.

maj. tom wrote:Sellers can sell clones and fakes, but it must be clearly labelled as clones and fakes or cheaper alternatives to the authentic product. It must be stated that it is not the real thng.
Btw I think those chinese knockoffs are already rooted in factory.
agreed - this would be ethical

Postby Aaron 2NR » October 28th, 2012, 1:38 pm

there are very few sellers on tuner i do business with as well... raptor, maljoe, loprofile pc, progressive tt....legit

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » October 28th, 2012, 1:44 pm

JoKeR1980 wrote:

Is a shopping mall responsible if you bought knock offs from a store you thought were original?

Thats why I put that there because I know I would be argued over what I said, understandably. I know its not a whole lot than can be done but what I was truly trying to get at is - The ppl in charge of running this site, could at least try to restore some confidence in the users by showing some sort of initiative no matter how small. You know what I mean? Things like that go a long way. Dont have to be anything drastic, just some simple measure to be put in place, I duno.

Postby Trini Hookah » October 28th, 2012, 1:49 pm

Agreed with Aaron_2nr, only a few tuners out there I'd make a transaction with my eyes closed. Some really cool tuners to buy & sell to.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 28th, 2012, 1:52 pm

^ and ALL are long term powersellers

Soul Collector wrote:
JoKeR1980 wrote:

Thats why I put that there because I know I would be argued over what I said, understandably. I know its not a whole lot than can be done but what I was truly trying to get at is - The ppl in charge of running this site, could at least try to restore some confidence in the users by showing some sort of initiative no matter how small. You know what I mean? Things like that go a long way. Dont have to be anything drastic, just some simple measure to be put in place, I duno.
what is the simple measure?

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » October 28th, 2012, 2:06 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:what is the simple measure?

Forget I said anything. Anything else I say could be argued either way and I understand that. So this is me signing off on this topic. I for one, will most likely never be buying anything from any tuner in the future. So this will not happen to me again.

Postby Morpheus » October 28th, 2012, 2:07 pm

Bought from Raptor a few times. Great service. Never met him personally though.

I once posted a video capture card some years ago. Think I had it for $350 or $300. Can't recall exactly.

Man call and agree to meet at Arouca Junction (Piarco Junction). Man show up and hand me $250 with an expression like "What?"

I was so :-l that me eh tell him anything yes. Steups.

No values at all.

Postby Morpheus » October 28th, 2012, 2:09 pm

Oh and BTW sometimes we may have a tendency to think the "Powerseller" status automatically makes them legit. Still have to be cautious.

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » October 28th, 2012, 2:23 pm

Aaron 2NR wrote:there are very few sellers on tuner i do business with as well... raptor, maljoe, loprofile pc, progressive tt....legit

Fully agree here esp raptor, maljoe and loprofile pc. and to add a few, equipped2ripp, tech n Fiz, geek e zone, juvenilemotors, 2 d max auto.

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » October 28th, 2012, 2:25 pm

Morpheus wrote:Oh and BTW sometimes we may have a tendency to think the "Powerseller" status automatically makes them legit. Still have to be cautious.

Just be careful and seek advice from other tuners who appear to be around for a while.

Postby Morpheus » October 28th, 2012, 2:47 pm

scotty_buttons wrote:
Aaron 2NR wrote:there are very few sellers on tuner i do business with as well... raptor, maljoe, loprofile pc, progressive tt....legit

Fully agree here esp raptor, maljoe and loprofile pc. and to add a few, equipped2ripp, tech n Fiz, geek e zone, juvenilemotors, 2 d max auto.

Oh yeah. Can't forget E2R. Dealt with 2 d max , TunerimportsTT and BZTech too. I try to get my stuff from those folks first.

All in all, do your research and apply caution

Postby TRAE » October 28th, 2012, 2:50 pm

that happen to me to jed... man sell meh a HTC touch... flapping thing was a fake, everything was like the original but it wouldnt take updates and install apps, thats where the catch came in.

civic minded

Postby civic minded » October 28th, 2012, 2:50 pm

I mean i understand the tragedy in all of this but this is really between the buyer and seller. If the buyer isnt carefull enough then of course he will get ripped off. I sold stuff here from my car to my phone here with no problems and i bought from laptops to games to baby stuff. It all depends on you the buyer and you need to cautions.

shivapersad

Postby shivapersad » October 28th, 2012, 3:19 pm

I agree with you "@civic minded". It really is between the buyer and the seller and for the buyer to take the necessary precautions as should the seller. That's why I've said before and will say it again that I've learned my lesson.
I did make a report to the Police Station and the report is there on their records now. The seller decided that when I told him that I was going to the police to discard both his SIMs so now I can't contact him and it was stupid of me to not take an email address or his full name. All my post really does is tell persons to be wary when dealing with phones. I didn't do my research and ask for the relevant information and I got burned. My post in no way seeks to bash trinituners or its management if you read my original post nothing that was said was against trinituners. I like the community here and yes there will always be scam artists and if you're not careful you end up in a situation like mine. So again I reiterate that I in no way blame trinituners or its management in fact Duane has been quite helpful to me and I thanked him many times during our PM exchanges.
I just felt the need to post on my experience as it could help other potential buyers to escape similar pitfalls. Due diligence is needed at all times. Even if you buy from a reputable establishment you may still end up with fake goods. I read an article online of a person buying an iPad from a Best Buy in their store and ended up with a bunch of notepads when she opened the iPad at home :S.
Alot of people on these forums seem to have been wronged one way or another in the past and I guess there's alot of pent up frustration because alot of them did not get justice for the wrongs committed so maybe if I followed due process it would take months probably years and by then it would have been so much time and energy spent (and possibly money) that it wouldn't have been worth it. Lesson learnt!

src1983

Postby src1983 » October 28th, 2012, 3:24 pm

Next time....

1. Get receipt
2. Take dp number/name and address

That will always help

Postby Rainman » October 28th, 2012, 3:34 pm

raptor > all

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 28th, 2012, 3:41 pm

Soul Collector wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:what is the simple measure?

Forget I said anything. Anything else I say could be argued either way and I understand that. So this is me signing off on this topic. I for one, will most likely never be buying anything from any tuner in the future. So this will not happen to me again.

And how is tuner any different from any other free classifieds?

The deal is still between buyer and seller and as a buyer you need to use caution regardless of where you are buying from.