The official WAZE GPS navigation thread

Re: Google Maps *HELPING T&T OUT*

Postby SUPAstarr » May 25th, 2010, 8:28 am

first shot is old map with trackin, second is new one with trackin, last is what it looks lik, you can jus tell something is wrong there, the old map is much easier to identify with

zcrugby

Postby zcrugby » May 25th, 2010, 9:24 am

SUPAstarr wrote:Yea i have actually, especially in North Western end, a lot details have been verified and added, an im glad to see it, but the remote areas is where it is needed most. Also there is a big error in maraval, where the road splits to head to maracas, they messed that whole bit up, morne coc rd should be a major rd headin over the valley an the north coast road is way off what they hav, i'll post screen shots from my trackin

yea well SRASC an my self have been filling out alot most the north western side cause thats where we are from so we need ppl who know the remote areas to help us out. ill check those errors out an see if i acn spot an fix them.. screenie will be appreciated. thanks.

Postby SUPAstarr » May 25th, 2010, 9:32 am

look up i posted it already

zcrugby

Postby zcrugby » May 25th, 2010, 9:35 am

yea i saw.. you quick boi... umm i dont know that area too well but to me the second image looks much more accurate.. ur tracks are on the road instead of off of them.. what error am i lookin for?

zcrugby

Postby zcrugby » May 25th, 2010, 9:40 am

is it that that part of saddle road is missing?

Postby SUPAstarr » May 25th, 2010, 9:44 am

see where i turned NORTH, that is the pillars, to head towards Maracas, that is north coast road, which i travelled along, the road to the right is Saddle road, alignment is not issue here, incorrect road labels is the problem, what they have labelled as north coast rd is partly incorrect, also the part where saddle road continues to north coast road is incorrect.

zcrugby

Postby zcrugby » May 25th, 2010, 9:55 am

SUPAstarr wrote:Yea i have actually, especially in North Western end, a lot details have been verified and added, an im glad to see it, but the remote areas is where it is needed most. Also there is a big error in maraval, where the road splits to head to maracas, they messed that whole bit up, morne coc rd should be a major rd headin over the valley an the north coast road is way off what they hav, i'll post screen shots from my trackin

alright.... i made morne coco road a major arterial headin over the valley... i added the part of saddle road that was missing and made it a major arterial.. jus clarify what exactly is rong with the north coast road.

zcrugby

Postby zcrugby » May 25th, 2010, 10:14 am

SUPAstarr wrote:see where i turned NORTH, that is the pillars, to head towards Maracas, that is north coast road, which i travelled along, the road to the right is Saddle road, alignment is not issue here, incorrect road labels is the problem, what they have labelled as north coast rd is partly incorrect, also the part where saddle road continues to north coast road is incorrect.

is this correct?
maravalr.jpg
maravalr.jpg (234.54 KiB) Viewed 4828 times

Sully

Postby Sully » May 25th, 2010, 12:07 pm

http://www.google.com/mapmaker

Help google fix the maps. That's probably the quickest solution to getting the streets aligned.

Postby M_2NR » May 25th, 2010, 12:25 pm

Sully, see previous page.

zscrugby, SWEET!!! Good job you and Stamina. I will love to help out soon. I'll be looking at it and letting u know of my username, etc. soon.

U need to be logged in to a Google Account before loading it :)

zcrugby

Postby zcrugby » May 25th, 2010, 12:58 pm

lol yea sully u kinda late there.. gud to know you no about it tho. m_2nr thanks for the support.. we really need ppl who know the remote areas. and also businesses... and if anyone else can help me look for a way to download these maps or use them in some way.

zcrugby

Postby zcrugby » May 25th, 2010, 1:06 pm

stay posted peeps.. i mite have a major breakthrough to post a lil later.

Sully

Postby Sully » May 25th, 2010, 5:05 pm

zscrugby wrote:lol yea sully u kinda late there.. gud to know you no about it tho.

Actually I have edits in there since Nov 08. I was just playing around with it then. Since there's more interest in it now I can start adding stuff yet again.

zcrugby

Postby zcrugby » May 27th, 2010, 8:05 am

Sully wrote:
zscrugby wrote:lol yea sully u kinda late there.. gud to know you no about it tho.

Actually I have edits in there since Nov 08. I was just playing around with it then. Since there's more interest in it now I can start adding stuff yet again.

i didnt mean you were kinda late bout the application i just meant you were kinda late announcing it as we have been workin on it for a few weeks. glad to know your guna help tho.. and GREAT NEWS i have figured out how to FINALLY download the maps :D.. download our great country right now. wont know how it went till i get home tho :( but i tested it in a small area an it worked great so yea :D. what ill need is all the device you guys use and or the formats you wuld like the maps in. currently supported device are MIDP and Symbian phones, Blackberrys, Windows Mobile devices, Palm (Garnet OS), Android and a few others. can also get the maps as a simple .png file. i have spoken to the author (i think) of the app (he helped me a bit already) and he said he has started implementing the xGPS atlas format but it is not complete and at the moment and he has no time and motivation to complete it. so for you iphone users who use xgps (which i recommend) maybe if we can get a few small donations for the developer maybe this can give him some motivation. ill be back later letting youll know how the download went.

Jon_One

Postby Jon_One » May 27th, 2010, 8:51 am

i am interested in upgrading my maps for my blackberry ! .. interesting topic though . are they upgrading the satellite images too?

zcrugby

Postby zcrugby » May 27th, 2010, 12:15 pm

wat model blackberry?

zcrugby

Postby zcrugby » May 27th, 2010, 6:27 pm

iPhone users start smiling. install xgps from cydia and wait till i give the next instructions :)

Jon_One

Postby Jon_One » May 27th, 2010, 10:24 pm

8900 javelin .. gps 8-)

zcrugby

Postby zcrugby » May 29th, 2010, 10:54 pm

http://www.megaupload.com/?d=TJPSPYX7
iphone users download xgps from cydia then download that to ur iphone an place it in /var/mobile/library... an say science is love.

Jon_One

Postby Jon_One » May 30th, 2010, 10:24 pm

wah bout blackberry??
:( gotta fix my iphone screen :cry:

threeplumes

Postby threeplumes » June 25th, 2010, 8:52 pm

where can i get a map of trinidad (local) with all the road names so i can add them to google maps(i have some free time)

and how can i get turn by turn voice nav in trinidad????

zcrugby

Postby zcrugby » June 28th, 2010, 3:51 pm

threeplumes wrote:where can i get a map of trinidad (local) with all the road names so i can add them to google maps(i have some free time)

and how can i get turn by turn voice nav in trinidad????

google maps on wat device.. only turn by turn nav is mNav..

SRASC

Postby SRASC » June 28th, 2010, 4:00 pm

threeplumes

Postby threeplumes » June 28th, 2010, 7:53 pm

zscrugby wrote:google maps on wat device.. only turn by turn nav is mNav..

i want to find a map of trinidad to add road names to mapmaker

threeplumes

Postby threeplumes » June 28th, 2010, 7:57 pm

so if i buy a nuvi in the USA can i get the map from someone???(like copy the maps)or do i have to buy the maps from them??? and what are the prices like??

BlackEvoIV

Postby BlackEvoIV » June 29th, 2010, 11:52 am

zscrugby wrote:http://www.megaupload.com/?d=TJPSPYX7
iphone users download xgps from cydia then download that to ur iphone an place it in /var/mobile/library... an say science is love.

I get the MSG safari cannot download this file

zcrugby

Postby zcrugby » June 29th, 2010, 1:01 pm

u probably dont have safari download manager installed from cydia.. u shud just download it on ur desktop and use winscp to copy it over.

zcrugby

Postby zcrugby » June 29th, 2010, 1:02 pm

threeplumes wrote:so if i buy a nuvi in the USA can i get the map from someone???(like copy the maps)or do i have to buy the maps from them??? and what are the prices like??

it will be "illegal" to copy the maps.. call mora systems for more info..

BlackEvoIV

Postby BlackEvoIV » June 29th, 2010, 5:23 pm

zscrugby wrote:
threeplumes wrote:so if i buy a nuvi in the USA can i get the map from someone???(like copy the maps)or do i have to buy the maps from them??? and what are the prices like??

it will be "illegal" to copy the maps.. call mora systems for more info..

i got xgps and the map working
but i dont get 'driving directions'

it say cannot be computed

Postby Kenjo » July 16th, 2010, 12:57 am

has anyone ever tried www.openstreetmap.org editing to add Trini roads?it is a linux based free mapping system with free downloads with voice navigation?