X2 wrote:We have brain drain issue for the last 2 decades... but my advice to you is to stay away... don't come back here nah... . The last thing Trinidad needs is more high and mighty snobs insulting our people.... with your attitude, you won't last long working anywhere in the caribbean anyways.
$0.02 is free
Ex-pat
crazybalhead wrote:What does the PNM have to do with my statement?
ru$$ell wrote:lol@dirtyface and X2 posting,coming out the woodwork!
Yofoot wrote:I am presently employed by a US based company that has its call centre in Montego Bay Jamaica. I have been here for the past 4 years and I continue to look for ways to return home and if possible, have the same career advancement I do in this present company. I am a Creative Manager (Senior Art Director) with this company, and i have forward momentum career wise. I find it very difficult to get in at this level in advertising agencies at this level in Trinidad and my experience in this company has really opened my eyes professionally, I am no longer designing, but run a design team.
I do miss home alot, my family moved to Jamaica but they found it hard to adjust, so they moved back home, so that in itself makes it hard. I know that there is only so much of this I can take, and if i don't find the ideal job, I will have to bite the bullet and just return home.
The reason this US company is based in Jamaica is that Jamaica has Tax Free Zones to attract foreign companies to employ locals. They don't get tax on equipment shipped in, in return they must employ locals.
What is frustrating is although i am making this sacrifice, I am still struggling to buy a home back in Trinidad. Real estate is that crazy.
RIPEBREDFRUIT wrote:AbstractPoetic wrote:Anyway, would love to hear more on how young professional expats such as myself navigated the tides of the local job market!
yuh realise than once you RETURN home you will no longer have the title or status as an EXPAT, you will be back to a LOCAL gyal.
good luck and enjoy the LOCAL attitudes, worse for you if you come back thinking that you can talk down to people.
You will quickly be reminded where your place is.
AbstractPoetic wrote:RIPEBREDFRUIT wrote:AbstractPoetic wrote:Anyway, would love to hear more on how young professional expats such as myself navigated the tides of the local job market!
yuh realise than once you RETURN home you will no longer have the title or status as an EXPAT, you will be back to a LOCAL gyal.
good luck and enjoy the LOCAL attitudes, worse for you if you come back thinking that you can talk down to people.
Your disgust emanates from your posts in this thread. Don't hate, boo. As for McDonald's, I own some of their shares. What about you? What shares do you own locally or otherwise? While you're busy throwing jokes about Mickey Dee's, I'm making profits from same. Who got jokes now?
You better go and buy you some shares, KFC included (NYSE Ticker: Yum! Brands).
Stephon. wrote:AbstractPoetic wrote:RIPEBREDFRUIT wrote:AbstractPoetic wrote:Anyway, would love to hear more on how young professional expats such as myself navigated the tides of the local job market!
Your disgust emanates from your posts in this thread. Don't hate, boo. As for McDonald's, I own some of their shares. What about you? What shares do you own locally or otherwise? While you're busy throwing jokes about Mickey Dee's, I'm making profits from same. Who got jokes now?
Omg sister girl I also own shares in McD.
Death-Row wrote:but alot of the posts are correct tho. we really have a good deal going here in trini. it aint perfect but hey, where is? i always loved trinidad but i really fell in love with it after being outside for some time, you really learn to appreciate it.
seriously AP, alot of people that "damned" trinidad in the past are returning home now, USA really is messy ATM. check out caribbean jobs, send out some resumes and see if you get any bites. see what the going salary is at for someone with ur qualifications here in trini, run a budget plan, see if you can live up to ur standards with that amount of cash every month.
you really can do all of this on ur own. get to work. it really amuses me to see everyone coming back home now tho lmao. hate to say it but...................told ya so lmao
dougla_boy wrote:Stephon. wrote:
Omg sister girl I also own shares in McD.
fixerored
Dirty Face wrote:America has in fact gotten to the point of not being worth it, I myself feel I only have a couple more years here so what you would like her to do ? She has to change her tune now that she wants to live with the localsreminds me of Khaleesi in game of thrones yes
Ap don't worry with them, I feel you should come back home and apply to work with Jack Warner, he has money that you can manage given your investment experience and something about the two of you really connects in my mind
crazybalhead wrote:There's also a repatriation trend in Guyana. I think this is good news for us. I like the way you're thinking.
Stephon. wrote:EDIT: @CBH
MZR 2.0 4-cylinder 16 valve DOHC engine
HP : 145 @ 6500 RPM
r3iXmann wrote:Stephon. wrote:EDIT: @CBH
2L and only 145 (bhp? Lol>)? Phail
zoom rader wrote:r3iXmann wrote:Stephon. wrote:EDIT: @CBH
what does this have todo with AP comming back?
r3iXmann wrote:zoom rader wrote:r3iXmann wrote:Stephon. wrote:EDIT: @CBH
The same thing Pnm had to do with cbhs comment earlier.
zoom rader wrote:r3iXmann wrote:Stephon. wrote:EDIT: @CBH
Stephon. wrote:r3iXmann wrote:zoom rader wrote:r3iXmann wrote:Stephon. wrote:EDIT: @CBH
The same thing Pnm had to do with cbhs comment earlier.
#BOOM #ROASTED!
Stephon. wrote:Lmfao ok then, you would take any post and turn it around to some race/politics thing.
zoom rader wrote:eh what race thing? We all know that AP is comming back to voter pad
AbstractPoetic wrote:RIPEBREDFRUIT wrote:AbstractPoetic wrote:Anyway, would love to hear more on how young professional expats such as myself navigated the tides of the local job market!
zoom rader wrote:Stephon. wrote:Lmfao ok then, you would take any post and turn it around to some race/politics thing.
eh what race thing? We all know that AP is comming back to voter pad
r3iXmann wrote:zoom rader wrote:Stephon. wrote:Lmfao ok then, you would take any post and turn it around to some race/politics thing.
eh what race thing? We all know that AP is comming back to voter pad
How long yuh want it for for trolling?