WTK: Best Place to purchase Doors and Windows for home...

[X]~Outlaw

Re: WTK: Best Place to purchase Doors and Windows for home..

Postby [X]~Outlaw » July 31st, 2012, 1:30 pm

You should go and pee on de boss man windscreen...you'll feel ah whooole lot better!

Postby nervewrecker » August 1st, 2012, 1:29 pm

MG Man wrote:latest update.........the eastern-facing windows have leaks in about 8 places each
Arsegrelly sent their guys today to try and silicone them properly. Also, the screws that keep the gliders in place are now corroded
So............after a 6 month job that was quoted as a 3 week job, I have leaky windows with rusty fittings..........needless to say, they want to know when I plan on laying off the balance owed
The owner, who hides in his office and tells his staff to lie and say he's not there, sent a message asking about payment....obviously I not gonna pay off everything until I am sure the windows are sealing properly....their 'service' to date leaves me skeptical that they will handle problems after they get their money

I asked the guy if withholding payment is the only way to get a call from the bossman.........he said 'nah, if yuh take to long, dey go send people tuh pull out yuh windows and send back yuh money'

da'firetruck is this I reading here?

Postby *$kїđž!™ » September 23rd, 2012, 11:49 pm

got thru with windows but cant seem to find a good door......

leaning towards the nice security doors.....they look nice but after reading this thread ...well still a bit unsure....

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » September 24th, 2012, 7:31 am

skidz while i really dont want to recommend superior doors because of his timeline ot deliver,
his workmanship has been the best ,solid teak doors which i installed 2 sets of locks plus the inner flush locks yet to be installed.

http://postimage.org/

Doors only has a sanding sealant coated on them ..still needs rubbbing smoothe and clear lacquer added

Postby Strugglerzinc » September 24th, 2012, 12:01 pm

Yuh couldn't tape the edge of them doors when you painting fella?

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » September 24th, 2012, 2:00 pm

its a wood frame plus i still have to install the finished edges.

work in progress dey strugglerz.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » September 24th, 2012, 2:24 pm

monster...the front door...double one...this is exactly what i am looking for.......

but i cant wait for long....I needed it like since last week....

What sort of price would that front door cost me?......

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » September 24th, 2012, 3:19 pm

superior doors i got Special price cuz he did other work for me ,i go it for $18k .. its 32x90 instead of the regular 80

u can call him up but make sure and tell him shivan told u about his work but i also told u he is slow and cant make a deadline... maybe that would hustle him up .

Postby brams112 » September 24th, 2012, 3:33 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:Yuh couldn't tape the edge of them doors when you painting fella?

:D same thing i noted,there is a tape called painters tape,it is blue in colour,also the paint on the door frame making the door look bad boi

Postby MG Man » November 21st, 2012, 2:02 pm

so some updates for any of you considering custom windows from MK Asgarali:
all three windows are leaking badly so I cannot install my wood flooring.........they have to come now and redo all the seals from scratch, including the seals between the window frames and the wall..........plus one casement window keeps dropping so you have to lift / slam it shut...........their solution was to open it and wring the window upwards.........needless to say, that 'fix' lasted two days.........

Postby skylinechild » July 14th, 2013, 12:38 pm

MG Man wrote:so some updates for any of you considering custom windows from MK Asgarali:
all three windows are leaking badly so I cannot install my wood flooring.........they have to come now and redo all the seals from scratch, including the seals between the window frames and the wall..........plus one casement window keeps dropping so you have to lift / slam it shut...........their solution was to open it and wring the window upwards.........needless to say, that 'fix' lasted two days.........

could have told u not to purchase there..for that price i could have made those windows for you...and give you back 1/2 the money....keep in mind i know nothing about window making.... :lol: :lol:

honestly though i think you should let them take their windows and get a refund....go look somewhere else for windows....

Postby MG Man » July 14th, 2013, 1:11 pm

As if they not incompetent enough, they ask me to find someone to try and seal THEIR windows and deduct it from what I owe them. I told them it would cost more than I owe them, and would they pay me the difference…still waitng on an answer

Postby Country_Bookie » July 16th, 2013, 11:14 am

So which place has the best doors? Cos what I getting from this thread is that there is no real difference between the quality of doors at ABC/Bhagwansinghs/Door Discount?

New_SPECIES

Postby New_SPECIES » November 19th, 2013, 3:37 pm

Country_Bookie wrote:So which place has the best doors? Cos what I getting from this thread is that there is no real difference between the quality of doors at ABC/Bhagwansinghs/Door Discount?

Bringing up this post for any New Buyers who are still deciding during this Christmas season...

ABC is the worst place to buy anything PERIOD!

Bought two doors from them earlier this year...told them I had a guy to install it.... they insisted that their people are the only ones capable of doing the installation...
After some back and forth... I agreed to have their guy do the installation...

The "Professional Installer Guy" (Benjamin) was at ABC and told me he would start the following day (from 8am) and it would take two days max – to build up the borders, plaster etc...

He started the next week and only came to work at 7PM (at night) without proper tools neither any form of light (torchlight etc).... and since the house was still under construction, at that time it was ultimately dark. Everyday he would say that the next day he would try to come earlier...

The guy was building up the frame and doing finishing plaster works in pitch black darkness...
When he told me what time he was there, I went to check on the progress on the job since I know of the lighting situation – I couldn’t find the guy and had to call out to him since it was that dark.
With my torch light I saw him mixing a handful of cement and doing finishing plastering, blindly.

After the fourth day... the doors were still in plastic but one was finally up...
The plaster works was horrible... it looked as though he applied the cement plaster with his fingers and an occasional garden rake!
When I ask about it he would say that before he leaves...that will be fixed and not to worry!

After the Tenth day... the second door was installed but it was worse that the first...
Both doors were 30% covered in cement at that time... but he said that cud com out wen he take off d plastic...

The Next Saturday... I insisted that he came during the day (while I could be there) to do the final (magic) touches to remove all the faults..

He came... He applied layers and layers of cement (on top each other) to correct his previous flaws.
After Six hours of that... he then attempted to take off the plastic which was not totally coming out due to the cement on it.
Finally after Two hours of that... 98% of the plastic was removed – only to expose a large DENT on one of the doors. NOTE: both doors were fully inspected before leaving ABC and were not dented.

He claimed that it was not his fault and that it probably came so...
NOTE: Although he was using a large, heavy wooden plank, right up to the door, to do the plastering works in pitch black darkness he said that it still wasn't him!

At this point...
15 days had passed... One door had a Deep Dent, recognizable from inside the neighbour’s house... The other door was installed twisted to the left... All the door handles were twisted... Bits of cement was attached to different parts of the door... The plastered border around the door was approx 3 inches higher than the wall and looked like the wall had fatty cellulite – it also looked like a toddler took mud and pasted it onto the wall with his fingers...

The guy then stood there waiting for his money!
I said “what de forque is dis!”.... I then made up some cuss words along the way that probably never existed...
The guy said that since I am not satisfied that I could take the balance of money that I owe him and pay someone else to fix it... and he left!

After I stopped thinking about the various ways to kill the guy, I got someone else who charged me double the money I was paying Benjamin, to fix it – the new guy had to chip out all the existing layers of mortar and re-plaster it to make it flush to the wall.

After paying 3 times the money to install 2 doors.... I ended up with One Severely Dented Door and One Twisted Door – both with scratches and cement blemishes...

Four months after...
The both doors are now discoloured – both doors changed from a dark brown “wood finish” look to a white, washed out, scratchy, discoloured look... the rubber around each door has “dry rotted” and either un-sticking from the frame or started tearing apart – this causing water to enter the house if rain happens to hit the door... Initial Cement Blemishes are now ever so visible... slide locks for the double door are now “stiff” and only able to open with extreme force, making a screeching, scratching noise... The doors (which are supposed to add beauty to the house) are now a shameful, depressing, horrific, eye-soar of a disgrace!

With my experience having these doors, I realized that they are made of some kinda thin sheet metal covering the surface of a hollow frame. (I really believe that a bandit can open it with a can opener...)
It can be easily dented... even if someone comes to your home and knocks on the door with some kind of force...
The colour will always fade after a few months... since the “pattern” is some kinda “air-brushed” looking, “sticker” like – vinyl type material... with no durable properties!
The locks are cheaply made and will eventually start “seizing” regardless of endless WD40/oil maintenance etc...
The “door bell” that comes built in the door... aside from the annoying sound that is makes... it can be heard louder outside the door rather than inside – just a waste of a feature.
The only thing I’d say works at it supposed to, is the “peep hole”...
After I told him about the entire “door installation” incident and the present condition of the doors – he refused to believe it and accused me of being a boldface, wicked, unjust, unfair, liar and un-appreciative of their services and their products!
The owner... a “fair skinned” Indian guy – with tattoos, never budged from his seat during the ordeal and continued to write bills for customers in the store.
Mr “right-hand man” obviously got cussed and then he slammed the door behind me after I left!
NOTE: The slammed door alerted the entire outside compound to the incident...

On another note:
The same day of the door purchase... I went to their bathroom and kitchen section and bought a chrome faucet for the washroom costing approx $1200 and a chrome faucet for the kitchen sink costing approx $2200... both are now totally covered in Rust that keeps re-appearing no matter what I do, and chrome can never be seen again... also each faucet makes a loud screeching scratching sound whenever you open them to get water. They were the absolute worst faucets I ever bought and is also another eye-soar due to its issues.

This is an actual incident...
My advice:
(1) Stay away from ABC
(2) Buy wooden doors –(eg. mahogany) like from here: http://uniquedoors-tt.com/site/ (worth the extra money)
(3) If steel is preferred... buy imported from USA etc, or Local wrought iron doors from fabrication companies such as http://www.qpsl.com/ or http://tntyp.com/trinidad/RDK-Welding-F ... td/profile, etc..

Posted to help buyers narrow down their search!

Postby *$kїđž!™ » November 19th, 2013, 5:27 pm

new species.....thats horrible man...but appreciate the advice.....Ill definitely stay away from tha place....customer service next to good quality products is a big issue for me....

New_SPECIES

Postby New_SPECIES » November 20th, 2013, 11:17 am

*$kїđž!™ wrote:Going with windows from abel....

Windows from ABEL:

Aluminium:

These appear to “look nice” but gives alot of trouble after just a few months of use..

The “gliders” (horizontal sliding windows):
They never close far enough to reach the actual frame of the window. A space always remain since the rubbers that they install is too small to reach the frame.
This causes a ¼ inch space to exist between the sliding glass and the frame.
This space allows mosquitoes, smoke, dust, etc, to enter from the outside.
It also creates problems if the room is air-conditioned since hot air flows in continuously.
Spoke to ABEL (Montrose factory) concerning this... they said I have to go to the branch that I bought it and fill out a customer complaint form and someone might visit, but all of their windows are like that so they don’t think that it would be resolved...

The “sash” (vertical sliding windows):
Sticks and jams after a few months and feels as though the windows are part of an abandoned house. Great effort is needed to open them and not all the time they open all the way up!

Steel:
All Over Priced!
For every size that they sell you can buy the same exact thing somewhere else for hundreds of dollars less... trust me... check around before u buy.
Also if you buy a 4x4 steel window... u get two 4x2 windows with a thin “spine-like” rod that hold the two 4x2 together.
And the charge u as though u are buying two individual 4x2 windows instead of charging a lower price for a complete 4x4 window!
The steel windows are higher maintenance and they also have them at a way higher price than the aluminium.

PVC:
The pvc windows that they stock are not the same ones u would see on those houses in “stoosh people” areas. These are very cheaply made, most expensive and will not have the same wear and tear or looks as the imported ones (from Canada for example). The workers there also admit to this after u return to them with a problem.

I don’t talk from “hear-say” or assumptions. If I didn’t experience it – I don’t comment on it.
I burned to learn... for every category above... So be aware!

Postby Strugglerzinc » November 20th, 2013, 3:18 pm

No issue with Aluminum casement windows from Delta Glass going on 2.5 years.

Thousands cheaper than Asgarali.

Amit

Postby Amit » November 20th, 2013, 7:22 pm

superior doors take long to deliver. i place a order for two doors he took over a year to deliver.. house had finish and still no doors. i know a work work guy in penal. he did my kitchen

Postby *$kїđž!™ » November 21st, 2013, 1:33 am

New_SPECIES wrote:

Windows from ABEL:

Aluminium:

These appear to “look nice” but gives alot of trouble after just a few months of use..

They never close far enough to reach the actual frame of the window. A space always remain since the rubbers that they install is too small to reach the frame.
It also creates problems if the room is air-conditioned since hot air flows in continuously.
]

I got these...I am not experiencing these problems as you say.....
My windows glide easily and effortlessly....no sticks...and the rubbers do line up next to the frame...
Ill post some pics.......Unsure if you just got a bad batch bro.....
plus insects are not an issue as I got the insect screens as well.....so I can open up my windows without the problems of mosquitoes and flies etc......
so far so good.....

New_SPECIES

Postby New_SPECIES » November 21st, 2013, 9:35 am

*$kїđž!™ wrote:
New_SPECIES wrote:

Windows from ABEL:

Aluminium:

I got these...I am not experiencing these problems as you say.....
My windows glide easily and effortlessly....no sticks...and the rubbers do line up next to the frame...
Ill post some pics.......Unsure if you just got a bad batch bro.....
plus insects are not an issue as I got the insect screens as well.....so I can open up my windows without the problems of mosquitoes and flies etc......
so far so good.....

The slide does “glide” well, but the space between the rubber and the frame is my problem...
The “sticking” that I had mentioned, are problems that exist with the (sash) upward slide windows.

I went in to the factory (concerning the horizontal gliders) and the guys there had shown me others that they had in stock.
When I examined them I saw the same "space"... when I showed it to them, they acted as though they seeing that for the first time. Many others in their stock also had the same problem.

If you got one that was closing properly then I real glad for you bro!

Also, if rain hits the window direct, the water collects in the outside tracks of the sliders and flows to the tracks on the inside... since the outside tracks doesn’t have a proper drainage pathway for this water to flow out of the window and down the wall.

If you examine the window a bit more.. u will also see that when the window is closed, there are small spaces around each window (aside from what I mentioned). These spaces does not create a sealed atmosphere for AC units and also gives the window space for vibration since the frame does not hold it “snug” in place.

The vibration of this window is ridiculous and it is clearly seen and heard if:
• A car passes with (medium) loud music
• A truck passes
• A plane flies over
• Someone situated over 20 houses away having a party (music, etc)

I think that the windows vibrate easily due to the fact that they have to glide and therefore cannot be tight in place.
The vibration is a bit embarrassing when it does happen and guests are over at your house. It makes the windows sound like them old time “cheap louvers”.

I recently found out that some of my family also bought these same horizontal gliders (at a different time) and they have all the same problems I mentioned.

This window here... creates a more sealed environment, keeps noise out, and does not vibrate:

But with respect to the installation of the window... can you pm me a pic of the installation?

I’m interested to see how you did the masonry to seal the bottom part of the window to the concrete border.
The guy that did mine messed it up, so I was wondering about yours...
The cement doesn't bond with the aluminium and the silicone eventually opens up and leaks.

This is one of the areas I’m interested to see – where the window meets the cement:

sticker

Postby sticker » November 21st, 2013, 12:42 pm

check kelvin and sons fabricating in penal....

http://kelvinlive.com/

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » November 21st, 2013, 4:37 pm

new species i would suggest you buy marine silicone .. that thing bonds to any surface more than regular silicone.

As for my teak doors they going good as ever, i fixed the edges tho .
There is a guy david who owns luax woodworking ..great wood work and delivers on time, did two doors recently by him and he deliverd as said.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » November 21st, 2013, 11:26 pm

good info...

mrsforgetfull

Postby mrsforgetfull » November 22nd, 2013, 8:26 am

ALL of tose importer "Supposed" steel doors that are being sold by the hardwares and variety good places are absolute Rubbish, they are what you pay for- CHEAP crap.
They are manufactured from 26 and 28 Guage steel sheeting and their fancy locking system fails after a while, the catch is- the lock itself cannot simply be replaced, you have to change the whole door, thats after you have to cut the door out when the lock breaks in the locked position.
The fancy door panel look is merely Vinyl shrink wrap, it looks ok but is prone to cracking and when it does start to peel you will have to remove all before painting, good luck with that.
Some of you may never see or hear of the reports of breakins in these fancy imported doors but believe me, people have bee broken into these doors with a chisel and a kitchen can opener- what else can you expect from a door made from THIN 28 guage steel.

There is a company somewhere in Elsocorro (south side) that actually makes Real Steel doors and frames and i believe that they are the best, you really cannot beat local manufacturing vs Cheap chinese crap.

What i dont understand is why do people spend Millions on building a house, and then cheap out on the doors that in the ultimate end protect you , your family, and your Million dollar investment of life......

New_SPECIES

Postby New_SPECIES » November 24th, 2013, 10:52 pm

MonsterPower wrote:new species i would suggest you buy marine silicone .. that thing bonds to any surface more than regular silicone.

There is a guy david who owns luax woodworking ..great wood work and delivers on time, did two doors recently by him and he deliverd as said.

Thanks for the tip bro..

I've tried...
cement - but it eventually cracks and water seeps in,
regular silicone (black) - but this eventually unsticks, opens up and water seeps in,

Will definitely give the Marine Silicone a try.

*Ah waitin on $kїđž!™ to hear how he sealed around his aluminum windows*

New_SPECIES

Postby New_SPECIES » November 26th, 2013, 6:17 pm

MonsterPower wrote:new species i would suggest you buy marine silicone .. that thing bonds to any surface more than regular silicone.

So this Marine Silicone will bond to the cement wall and the aluminum part of the window to create a waterproof seal?

Can you advise me of a particular brand or specific type to buy?

Thanks..

Postby Strugglerzinc » November 26th, 2013, 7:34 pm

Location and/or contact? I fraid to go back to Superior Doors.

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » November 26th, 2013, 8:20 pm

location is a few building after the marabella police station .
Phone - 678-7431

Marabella
Trinidad WI.
Hours:
Mon - Fri: 8AM - 4PM
Sat: 8AM - 1PM

and new species i cant rember the brand but bhags has it in stock.

Postby K74T » November 26th, 2013, 8:38 pm

Luax - endorsed

Mr Shaffiat and company do some pretty good work. :)

saxman642

Postby saxman642 » November 27th, 2013, 5:06 am

Very good stuff in this thread.

Currently looking a simple security door and windows for a 9x17ft room for a home office I'm building (the block fellas bound to get jealous and try a 'ting' sooner of later...)

From what I've read, it looking like Unique Woodworking for the door, and QPSL for the window

Feel free to offer advice and I will have to acquire this in the next 1 to 2 months...

mrsforgetfull wrote:What i dont understand is why do people spend Millions on building a house, and then cheap out on the doors that in the ultimate end protect you , your family, and your Million dollar investment of life......

Like Buying a Benz with top end rims and then putting on Nexxen tires, eh? :lol: