Matte blue Navara

Re: Matte blue Navara

Postby turbosingh » June 14th, 2012, 1:56 pm

eliteauto wrote:what bigger engine swaps are available locally for the Navara?

VK56DE :mrgreen:

Postby sliderz1 » June 14th, 2012, 7:42 pm

^^u getting that locally?

the VQ40 will fit bolt for bolt in there [its an optional gas engine if u ask for it] and is standard on the American D40 Frontiers/ R51 Pathfinders

doodle_270 wrote:A pic of the Navarra

would expect an owner to spell the name of his vehicle correctly :?

Postby sMASH » June 14th, 2012, 7:53 pm

Last edited by sMASH on June 14th, 2012, 8:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Rooki3 » June 14th, 2012, 7:54 pm

ok, well dais a different one to the one mr. johnson has, but same color

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » June 15th, 2012, 8:38 am

so wait, there are two matte blue Navaras then...

Postby eliteauto » June 15th, 2012, 9:55 am

sMASH did you google, "ugliest matte paint jobs"?

Postby sMASH » June 15th, 2012, 10:18 am

believe it or not, there were uglier... they did not get the rims, trims, lines, color schemes meshing right. some of these i like, but really to show variation and the possibilities of different things. u could know what works with what and what not. one i don't like is the army green audi, just because the color is the wrong one for that car.

i have seen a few locally, and all were really great. the maddest one was this black cedia wagon with drift trims on it. may be i'll see it again to take pics.

Centric

Postby Centric » June 15th, 2012, 10:25 am

doodle_270 wrote:A pic of the Navarra

:shock: :shock: my......God..... :shock:

escarta69

Postby escarta69 » July 17th, 2012, 3:47 pm

It has another matte blue Navara that I know and looks madder than this one at least to my taste

Postby Stephon. » July 17th, 2012, 4:04 pm

Wow it looks good, is it manual or auto?

E-TECH

Postby E-TECH » July 17th, 2012, 4:57 pm

Saw this matt blue NAVARA passin round d savannah last week. Truck looks real bess!!!!
Last edited by E-TECH on July 17th, 2012, 5:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Trini Hookah » July 17th, 2012, 5:04 pm

sMASH wrote:believe it or not, there were uglier... they did not get the rims, trims, lines, color schemes meshing right. some of these i like, but really to show variation and the possibilities of different things. u could know what works with what and what not. one i don't like is the army green audi, just because the color is the wrong one for that car.

i have seen a few locally, and all were really great. the maddest one was this black cedia wagon with drift trims on it. may be i'll see it again to take pics.

Yup that Cedia is CLEAN. 8-)

Max De Mercillus

Postby Max De Mercillus » December 15th, 2012, 10:34 pm

doodle_270 wrote:Looking to sell it soon, if you may know anyone interested. Hoping to get close to 200K for it.

Doodle, I own a Navara as well, I pass you on the creek multiple times (usually heading opposite directions), I am a big fan of what you did with your Navara... That thing does look really hard! I have an appointment in January to get my Navara painted in Quarry Village, Siparia. I am going for the Matte finish as well, but in Black/Dark Grey. I would not say that I am unworried about the final product, I have seen to many Matte paint jobs done poorly not to be worried, so I got my fingers crossed that my painter can execute the job properly, but yours is a work of perfection!

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » December 16th, 2012, 12:58 pm

Max De Mercillus wrote:
doodle_270 wrote:Looking to sell it soon, if you may know anyone interested. Hoping to get close to 200K for it.

Doodle, I own a Navara as well, I pass you on the creek multiple times (usually heading opposite directions), I am a big fan of what you did with your Navara... That thing does look really hard! I have an appointment in January to get my Navara painted in Quarry Village, Siparia. I am going for the Matte finish as well, but in Black/Dark Grey. I would not say that I am unworried about the final product, I have seen to many Matte paint jobs done poorly not to be worried, so I got my fingers crossed that my painter can execute the job properly, but yours is a work of perfection!

You getting it painted by Dan or wha?
How much he charging?

Max De Mercillus

Postby Max De Mercillus » December 16th, 2012, 2:15 pm

Pointman-IA wrote:
Max De Mercillus wrote:

You getting it painted by Dan or wha?
How much he charging?

Yea getting it done by Dan, his son Daryn the painter came highly recommended. But I don't think he has ever done a Matte vehicle like the Blue Navara, I am hoping he could execute the job to achieve the look I want.

Postby Ted_v2 » December 16th, 2012, 2:36 pm

^ price and/or contact info?

Max De Mercillus

Postby Max De Mercillus » December 16th, 2012, 3:03 pm

sound boy 64 wrote:^ price and/or contact info?

Dan's autobody shop
Painter name is Daryn (Dan's Son)
La Brea Trace Quarry Village, Siparia
I pass that area for work every week, so I never really had to get a phone#, you are going to have to check him for a quote on your particular vehicle. What I can say is that his pricing was reasonable to me and I saw a Hilux he did in Santa Flora that came out looking real bess.

I can't really personally vouch for their work yet because my vehicle will be painted in January, when the vehicle is done, I will post pictures and you can judge the work. But the Blue Navara everyone is talking about was apparently done by a shop called Barely Legal by a painter named Aleem. Don't know if Aleem's prices are reasonable or not, but his work is brilliant.

Postby Rooki3 » December 16th, 2012, 3:21 pm

better u go with barely legal

Postby nervewrecker » December 16th, 2012, 11:06 pm

Saw a matte green 2 door datsun pickup and was wondering if that color legal (looks kinda close to the army vehicles).
Anywhere sells matte vinyl btw? What's the prices like? Can paint be done to match the vinyl? (i ain't feel I have the skill to do my front bumper).

Edit: I know dan, does good work (donno about the matte vehicles though). Heard his prices kinda hot, same with aleem.

Postby nervewrecker » December 17th, 2012, 10:27 am

This color legal?

Centric

Postby Centric » December 17th, 2012, 10:44 am

^ Wherever it from, it probably is. Or isn't. Its probably not.

Postby nervewrecker » December 17th, 2012, 11:06 am

I mean legal for here, trinidad. saw a van with it, would like to drop it unto my ride too.

Centric

Postby Centric » December 17th, 2012, 11:15 am

That color is legal in a tin. But who cares about the law in trinidad?

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » December 17th, 2012, 11:27 am

That green looks good tho...or maybe it's because it's a Lambo lol

I doh mind paying the price for a really neat matte paint job once it's done properly...meaning disassembling required body parts, painting, applying matte clear evenly then re-assembling...I doh like the idea of using tape all over especially on window and roof panels etc

Postby nervewrecker » December 17th, 2012, 1:34 pm

Vinyl easy if is mainly flat surface, those door mouldings is pressure to cover though.
There are lots of vehicles driving around with full body wraps and no peeling / headache etc.....plus if I vinyl it....I have nobody to pay :mrgreen:

nissan_king wrote:That color is legal in a tin. But who cares about the law in trinidad?

I do.
I want to continue being able to pass through road blocks without any worries of being charged.
When the officer comes to my window and I politely greet them with a smile, hand over my documents and do all what they ask me to do. Then carry on along my merry way.
I intend to keep it that way but I am seeing vehicles on the road with colors close to that of the army vehicles. This color is really sweet.

Centric

Postby Centric » December 17th, 2012, 1:41 pm

^ and what makes you think those vehicles are legally painted?

Postby nervewrecker » December 17th, 2012, 1:53 pm

nissan_king wrote:^ and what makes you think those vehicles are legally painted?

darn, looks like I keeping my normal color then :cry:

Its best to avoid getting on the wrong side of the police. :cry:

Postby Trini Hookah » December 17th, 2012, 2:46 pm

So why would someone mistake you for being Army? PB* ≠ TTDF

Postby Ted_v2 » December 17th, 2012, 3:55 pm

Yea a drop low crims down mera wont be confused for TTDF