Re: Doctor vs Engineer

Postby metalgear2095 » June 7th, 2012, 1:54 pm

Consider bioengineering

Postby AllTrac » June 7th, 2012, 10:04 pm

S_2NR wrote:do whatever you like and what u can see yourself doing for the rest of ur life.

sound advise.

Daran

Postby Daran » June 7th, 2012, 10:29 pm

Listen, there's a huge difference in being a Doctor compared to an "engineer".

Firstly, there's a huge difference job role with even the same engineering degree. An Elec eng in one company will be doing a completely different job in another company.

Unless you know exactly what you want to do in engineering, there's no way to compare it to a career in Medicine, which is.....unless you love it.....very unrewarding.

My advice is choose a career (don't narrow it down to Doctor or Engineer) you have a passion for.

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » June 7th, 2012, 10:43 pm

geodude wrote:dentist for the win,
i have friends with less than one year out of dental school and making 30k per month and thats with an average or 3-4 patients per day plus if you work in a private practice you get almost normal office work hrs,
less demanding and less stressful than working in a hospital
dentist are very much in demand constantly.

would really like to meet your dentists friends, i am a dentist with less than one year experience and i make nothing as much as that ... dont mislead the man ... dentistry is just stress and paying bills ...

Postby DVSTT » June 8th, 2012, 1:33 am

I'm hoping to do med in UWI. Hopefully all the stress will pay off in the end!

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » June 8th, 2012, 6:29 am

fokhan_96 wrote:
geodude wrote:dentist for the win,
i have friends with less than one year out of dental school and making 30k per month and thats with an average or 3-4 patients per day plus if you work in a private practice you get almost normal office work hrs,
less demanding and less stressful than working in a hospital
dentist are very much in demand constantly.

would really like to meet your dentists friends, i am a dentist with less than one year experience and i make nothing as much as that ... dont mislead the man ... dentistry is just stress and paying bills ...

No way a dentist making 30k seeing 3-4 patients a day.

firstchoicett

Doctor vs Engineer

Postby firstchoicett » June 8th, 2012, 6:39 am

Unless he charging each one 400-700 each .

geodude

Postby geodude » June 8th, 2012, 7:41 am

they charge 800 for a cleaning, only the cleaning, so you do a check up, a cleaning and a fluoride rinse you looking at 1300 tt or more, i know i go for a cleaning every 3 months,

Postby Trini Hookah » June 8th, 2012, 8:41 am

DVSTT wrote:I'm hoping to do med in UWI. Hopefully all the stress will pay off in the end!

I eh mean to burst no bubbles eh..

But those two words bolded go hand in hand :|

Postby 16 cycles » June 8th, 2012, 10:37 am

Corn Bird wrote:

16 cycles -- what other courses in geomatics use math?

from looking at the past papers...

Core Courses

MATH 1180 Engineering Mathematics I
GEOM 1010 Surveying I
GEOM 1011 Surveying Practice
GEOM 1015 Surveying II
GEOM 1020 Photogrammetry
GEOM 1030 Geodesy
GEOM 1040 Statistics for Surveying

GEOM 1050 Surveying Project
MATH 2230 Engineering Mathematics II
GEOM 2010 Fundamentals of GIS
GEOM 2020 Digital Photogrammetry
GEOM 2030 Adjustment Computations
GEOM 2040 Hydrographic Surveying

GEOM 2005 Cartography
GEOM 2025 Remote Sensing
GEOM 2035 Geodetic Surveying

GEOM 2050 Mapping Project

GEOM 3030 Global Navigation Satellite Systems
GEOM 3040 Integrated Surveying Design Project

GEOM 3025 Engineering Surveying

Elective Courses

Candidates in Level 3 are expected to gain 9 credits of elective courses from the list below, or other courses subject to the approval of the Head of Department.

GEOM 3035 Hydrography
LMGV 3004 Valuation Methods
MATH 3530 Mathematics III

LMGV 2002 Valuation Methods II

LMGV 3003 Land Economy

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » June 8th, 2012, 11:09 am

Don't go into medicine to be a doctor .... aim at being a specialist not a GP. As a specialist you work to your schedule ... plus the financial reward is miles ahead of engineers so you can have a much better lifestyle and be more secure in your working life and retirement. Being a specialist however means a commitment to continuous learning and education so you need to be prepared for that.

yvan300

Postby yvan300 » January 20th, 2013, 4:51 pm

Sorry for bumping such an old thread. lol. Currently I'm making my final decisions on what engineering discipline to pursue at UWI. At the moment, electrical engineering seems the best choice. A few people told me its the most versatile field, meaning that you could work for the telecommunications industry, electrical industry and the person also mentioned that you could even work for BP since BP usually takes up engineers and teachers them what they need to know for the task at hand. (Would be cool if someone could confirm that) I was originally going to choose petroleum engineering but was advised against it due to the limited scope for employment and opportunities. If anyone could shed some light on the matter it'd be great. Personal experiences are also welcome . 8-)

matthewmazda

Postby matthewmazda » January 20th, 2013, 4:57 pm

me eh no doctor or engineer, but on the other hand
URP vs CEPEP what you want to know

Postby Ted_v2 » January 20th, 2013, 6:30 pm

matthewmazda wrote:URP vs CEPEP what you want to know

LOL

OP do what you like,not whats paying better.

imagine going to work everyday hating your job

matthewmazda

Postby matthewmazda » January 20th, 2013, 6:38 pm

sound boy 64 wrote:

LOL

yep, but next thing money does make OP happy

yvan300

Postby yvan300 » January 20th, 2013, 7:05 pm

matthewmazda wrote:
sound boy 64 wrote:

LOL

yep, but next thing money does make OP happy

Ahahah, yeah sound boy, what if he's right :lol:

But yea,I know i want to do engineering. I know that's what i want holistically. The problem is i want to choose a discipline. It doesn't really matter which one really because all are kinda similar (I'm probably wrong lol). But still although it dont matter that much it'd still be good to choose the best out of the bunch lol. Or at least be able to make an educated decision on the matter.

.......feel i go jus go with URP and done yes :|

Postby Trini Hookah » January 20th, 2013, 7:08 pm

Only sound advice I can give, once you do Med in Trinidad, you're guaranteed a job after.

Can't promise you the same for Eng.

Life of an Engineer *sigh

yvan300

Postby yvan300 » January 20th, 2013, 7:21 pm

Trini Hookah wrote:Only sound advice I can give, once you do Med in Trinidad, you're guaranteed a job after.

Can't promise you the same for Eng.

Life of an Engineer *sigh

Man you're making me feel to do med again :lol:

Postby Ted_v2 » January 20th, 2013, 7:55 pm

Honestly id opt for being a doctor. You can actually help people.

Oh and calling me doctor thats the best part dere

Postby Trini Hookah » January 20th, 2013, 8:09 pm

sound boy 64 wrote:Honestly id opt for being a doctor. You can actually help people.

Oh and calling me doctor thats the best part dere

Engineers don't help people? :|

And after PhD you're a Dr.

Postby rfari » January 20th, 2013, 8:18 pm

Sb64 how do in ur exams yute? U have a link on the medical board orwha?

eurogirl

Postby eurogirl » January 20th, 2013, 8:29 pm

yvan300 wrote:Hmmmm, i see where you'll coming from. Ok well then can anyone tell me what being an engineer is like in Trinidad? I love physics and always envisioned engineers being people who made inventions and did a lot of scientific stuff lol. But someone told me its kinda boring. You basically just manage this and that and don't really get to feel that rush of using science to make new things etc. I already know what it is like to be a doctor to an extent. Did an internship at a hospital and saw a few surgeries, it was kinda good, but engineering sounds better. Can anyone verify the tasks of an engineer?

Everything from scraping crap off a pipe to designing said piping system

OR

u could be inna office .. with 10 other ppl in front a PC for 12 hrs a day using modelling programs ,and prj mgt skills to develop everything from a building plan to a boat sewer system .. take your pick kid .. the world of engineering is VAST !! .. u can go the german way and learn to be a tradesman first and den get your degree or u can go the UWI way and be a punk ass for 3 yrs and then go be a drunk in BP( no offence patchie ) .. the world is oyster when it comes to engineering ..

Postby Trini Hookah » January 20th, 2013, 8:33 pm

eurogirl, you went UTT ent?

Postby Ted_v2 » January 20th, 2013, 9:02 pm

rfari wrote:Sb64 how do in ur exams yute? U have a link on the medical board orwha?

Waiting on some results and got a few more exams to write. Closest thing to medical board I have is my two cousins who R wannabe doctors :|

Postby rspann » January 20th, 2013, 9:35 pm

Plant pumpkin and cucumbers,that making real money dread!

star scream

Postby star scream » January 20th, 2013, 9:41 pm

local doctors, waste of time in my book, study law, more fulfilling.

Postby RBphoto » January 21st, 2013, 3:43 pm

Go for engineering. Truss meh... :|. Doctoring is ketcharse for small pay.

Postby ronsin1 » January 21st, 2013, 4:04 pm

this is why I work for a mediocre salary by sweeping the floor I live the simple life, collect meh lil government assistance at the end of the month and watch you guys working your arse off while I do nothing but sweep floors

Postby Trini Hookah » January 21st, 2013, 5:00 pm

ronsin1 wrote:this is why I work for a mediocre salary by sweeping the floor I live the simple life, collect meh lil government assistance at the end of the month and watch you guys working your arse off while I do nothing but sweep floors

Is one ting yuh eh sweeping de floor properly, but yuh teefing meh wifi too? *clout*

neexis

Postby neexis » January 21st, 2013, 5:50 pm

look..... only consider medicine if you think you will enjoy it. at the end of the day, its a service profession. you have to deal with/talk to/treat/take sheit from/help people. sick, healthy, pretty, ugly diseased, infected, dying, crazy people. this comes with a certain amount of responsibility/liability, but can also be rewarding if you get satisfaction from that kinda thing.

there's much academic work to do. the 5 yr program at uwi is fairly tough, and you start your clinical training from the 3rd year... meaning you will be at the hospitals/health centres (sometimes on call).

the pay is not much considering the work you have to do and the hours you have to put in. if you enjoy it and really just like giving of yourself, then you may disagree. your salary will increase, but only if you are able to do post grad training. depending on the area you choose to work, you may or may not be on call.

you can make even more money by having a private practice, but you really should have a post grad degree and some good years experience before going down that road. also your income will depend on your field and nature of your practice.

if this doesn't sound appealing to you, don't bother.

also to note.... after UWI you're pretty much stuck in trinidad. if you wish to train/work in any other country of the world, prepare for licensing exams as regulations vary with country/region.

good luck