Service Charge

Re: Service Charge

Postby Ted_v2 » April 26th, 2012, 6:10 am

DRAGULA wrote:In addition to the service charge, when you leave a tip, does 100% of that tip go to the waiters? Or does management take piece of that too? And also, which is better, leaving a tip via your credit card or leaving the tip in cash even though you paying with your credit card? Just askin to make sure that the correct people gettin the tip

once you pay in cash the waiters get the tips for themselves.
saw this once

bill came up 290 paid 300 cash and told the waiter to keep the change
she went to the casher and gave them the 300 and took the 10 change

Postby nervewrecker » April 26th, 2012, 6:52 am

Bareback wrote:
In one instance at TGIF Gulf City, the service was so incredible that my daughter insisted that I leave the server $40 on a $150 bill. I think the only thing she did not do was feed the food to us. The order was exactly as we wanted and we never had am empty glass nor had to wait for her attention. We definitely rewarded her by also letting her manager know what a diamond in the rough she was.

serious question, what complexion is your daughter?
I donno if is just me noticing this and I dont wanna trod too far off track but I find a lot of these places tend to discriminate against people who not fair skinned at all.
I hear people saying Pizza Hut in Gulf View has horrible service, I am not a limer but last time I was there I got excellent service. I went TGI once or twice (just pass through to pick up whoever) and see dem mofos practically having to beg for service, same story at Pizza Hut.
Anyways, I usually dont pay SC by the doubles man and the chinee rest. down the road, ah just saying.

Postby Stephon. » April 26th, 2012, 6:57 am

This is a lie, I've went to TGI times before and within the group had a guy that looked like midnight and his girlfriend looked like minutes past 10PM and they were treated no differently than the 6AM - 6PM members of the group.

Postby nervewrecker » April 26th, 2012, 6:59 am

Just making sure nah steffy.

buh hear nuh, allyuh fellaz rich in here to be liming these places, carry a poor man like me out nuh?

Postby Stephon. » April 26th, 2012, 7:03 am

Next time I'm going I'll keep you in mind to be my date. ;)

Bareback

Postby Bareback » April 26th, 2012, 7:26 am

Bareback wrote:
In one instance at TGIF Gulf City, the service was so incredible that my daughter insisted that I leave the server $40 on a $150 bill. I think the only thing she did not do was feed the food to us. The order was exactly as we wanted and we never had am empty glass nor had to wait for her attention. We definitely rewarded her by also letting her manager know what a diamond in the rough she was.

I donno if is just me noticing this and I dont wanna trod too far off track but I find a lot of these places tend to discriminate against people who not fair skinned at all.
I hear people saying Pizza Hut in Gulf View has horrible service, I am not a limer but last time I was there I got excellent service. I went TGI once or twice (just pass through to pick up whoever) and see dem mofos practically having to beg for service, same story at Pizza Hut.
Anyways, I usually dont pay SC by the doubles man and the chinee rest. down the road, ah just saying.

I brong and she is mixed, but the point I made before about your personal attitude carries a lot of influence on the way you are treated. I too have gone to Pizza Hut in Gulf and witnessed natives of all colours and races acting like TCL employees and as long as I maintain my composure and be respectful I get better service than they do. I may not get my food faster, but at least I get a smile not the "Go F' Yourself" look.

In this country it is all about attitude. As Trinbigonians we have an attitude whereby we always feel we have to better than the other person - One Up ManShip as my aunt calls it. So the server feels as if he or she is doing you a favour by bring you your food that you have paid for with your hard earned money and we feel that we have to show the server that we are better than them because they are serving you and you are paying. This is simply how it is, it may manifest itself in different ways but that is the reality!

All we have to do is change our attitude and you will see a marked difference - maybe not 100% but definitely an improvement.

An ounce of humility will bring you a pound of kindness!!! Try it!!

Bareback

Postby Bareback » April 26th, 2012, 7:35 am

brams112 wrote:i dont mind paying a server a 20 or so when i go to a resturant,thing is the server is human after all,also you wont believe how nice the server will treat you when you go back,some of them do remember you with kindness or hate believe it or not,as for service charge just go to the kitchen order ur food,when it is finished go get it yourself.

I don't mind tipping either, but why should I leave a tip for you to treat me well the next time. What about now? Treat me the way I am supposed to be treated as a patron/ customer now and I will reward you now! It is after all a reward, not a right!

Most times I go to the same places because I cannot stand stupid people - customers, servers or managers! So I keep to a few places where I know they are not idiots and I can simply be left unbothered to enjoy my time out - that for me is more important than eating some of the shiddy food that is being served in some of these places.

Postby nervewrecker » April 26th, 2012, 7:50 am

Bareback wrote:

I brong and she is mixed, but the point I made before about your personal attitude carries a lot of influence on the way you are treated. I too have gone to Pizza Hut in Gulf and witnessed natives of all colours and races acting like TCL employees and as long as I maintain my composure and be respectful I get better service than they do. I may not get my food faster, but at least I get a smile not the "Go F' Yourself" look.

In this country it is all about attitude. As Trinbigonians we have an attitude whereby we always feel we have to better than the other person - One Up ManShip as my aunt calls it. So the server feels as if he or she is doing you a favour by bring you your food that you have paid for with your hard earned money and we feel that we have to show the server that we are better than them because they are serving you and you are paying. This is simply how it is, it may manifest itself in different ways but that is the reality!

All we have to do is change our attitude and you will see a marked difference - maybe not 100% but definitely an improvement.

An ounce of humility will bring you a pound of kindness!!! Try it!!

I feel you hit the nail on the head in the first paragraph there yunno. Some people go in there with attitude and piss of the employees and as a result a chain reaction occurs.
I always believe in being polite and having some manners (I know where I come from and once did dog work), a simple good morning and thank you with a smile sometimes changes a bit of the attitude they have towards you. I remember awhile back i went to diamond systems in la romaine, the guard sitting outside chatting, I could pass he mc straight and go inside. Instead I told him good morning and asked him if I can go ahead inside, he said sure and heard him mentioning to the guy outisde about how a little manners goes a long way and how it feels good to be treated like people. Next time I went there he got up and was giving me directions assisting me in parking. At the gas station is the same thing, I am usually polite to the rasta lady in there, when it have rush and panic buying guess who gets moved up in the line to a vacant pump?
Last edited by nervewrecker on April 26th, 2012, 7:54 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Stephon. » April 26th, 2012, 7:53 am

Who??

Bareback

Postby Bareback » April 26th, 2012, 8:15 am

Stephon. wrote:Who??

You doh miss ah beat eh!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Postby nervewrecker » April 26th, 2012, 8:22 am

what steffy hunni pie asking bout?

Skanky

Postby Skanky » April 26th, 2012, 8:46 am

It's not 100% true to say the tips go directly to the server even though you handed it to them directly.Some places I've asked they pool the tips and share them up at the end of the month among servers.Some places even split these tips among the servers and the establishment :?

This is good stuff.Since I always tip servers directly, from now on I'll not be paying any service charge ; at least dais the plan until the time comes and shame take over :lol:

Postby AllTrac » April 26th, 2012, 1:18 pm

Stephon. wrote:This is a lie, I've went to TGI times before and within the group had a guy that looked like midnight and his girlfriend looked like minutes past 10PM

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: just say one black and de other burnt nah orgoarrr

Bareback

Postby Bareback » April 26th, 2012, 1:38 pm

AllTrac wrote:
Stephon. wrote:This is a lie, I've went to TGI times before and within the group had a guy that looked like midnight and his girlfriend looked like minutes past 10PM

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: just say one black and de other burnt nah orgoarrr

It just wouldn't have the same effect :rofl:

Postby nervewrecker » May 2nd, 2012, 6:24 pm

Postby *$kїđž!™ » May 2nd, 2012, 9:22 pm

hence the reason i dont tip.....u already gettin a blasted service charge...steups...

smr_fingers

Postby smr_fingers » May 2nd, 2012, 10:22 pm

but all those places that charge service charge sum the price plus service charge and then vat it which always have me confused wrt the calculation

so how do i go about telling them im not paying service charge?

eg if you buy take out from tgi or ruby tuesday woodford etc you still have to pay service charge
i once asked about it in ruby tuesday after buyin take out and they were like i must pay it

i think that the menus have it written that all prices subject to 15% vat and 10% service charge so u will have to pay it once it is written there because u agreed to order from the menu

any more info?

Postby X_Factor » May 2nd, 2012, 10:29 pm

jus call whatever place when u have time and clarify with a manager on duty...

Postby pugboy » May 3rd, 2012, 7:09 am

this issue of not having to pay service charge should be fully explored and publicized
this is no doubt "free money" for restaurants

14 of us went texas de brazil the other day,
service was poor and whilst some finished eating they assumed everybody was so they start packing plates whilst others still want more

Postby Stephon. » May 3rd, 2012, 7:13 am

nervewrecker wrote:Image

LMFAOOOOOOOO!!!!!!! :lol: :lol: the 2 cents kill me!

Bareback

Postby Bareback » May 3rd, 2012, 7:42 am

2 cents!!!!!!!!!

Priceless.................

Sumana.00

Postby Sumana.00 » May 3rd, 2012, 8:59 am

smr_fingers wrote:but all those places that charge service charge sum the price plus service charge and then vat it which always have me confused wrt the calculation

eg if you buy take out from tgi or ruby tuesday woodford etc you still have to pay service charge
i once asked about it in ruby tuesday after buyin take out and they were like i must pay it

i think that the menus have it written that all prices subject to 15% vat and 10% service charge so u will have to pay it once it is written there because u agreed to order from the menu

any more info?

This is what I was talking to Trac about, if you knew the existence of the service charge, and you agreed to dine/order after being "notified" of this (&you haven't tried to counter before you order well I won't pay 10% I'll just leave a tip), have you entered into an implied contract by reading that and ordering from the menu?

KURMAman

Postby KURMAman » May 3rd, 2012, 9:30 am

crazychinee wrote:
ek4ever wrote:
Bareback wrote:In one instance at TGIF Gulf City, the service was so incredible that my daughter insisted that I leave the server $40 on a $150 bill. I think the only thing she did not do was feed the food to us. The order was exactly as we wanted and we never had am empty glass nor had to wait for her attention. We definitely rewarded her by also letting her manager know what a diamond in the rough she was.

Glad you brought up that point. We're quick to complain about service but how do we reward good or exceptional service? At Woodford cafe in Chaguanas there's a server who provides great service, always a pleasant smile and terrific attitude. I always ask for her now when I go there and she always does a great job. I mentioned it to her manager the first time she attended to us and I guess other ppl have too as she quickly moved up to supervisor. I noticed that her supervisor also provides great customer service so Woodford Cafe Chaguanas seems to recognize the value of good customer service.

I going to try this in Ruby tuesday Drive thru tommorrow afternoon.
Me: So hear this na, alya take too long to bring me my food to the car, i NOT paying no service charge....but wait why the ass I paying service charge on a takeout order.

next time climb thru de damn window yuhself.. :mrgreen:

Postby AllTrac » May 3rd, 2012, 10:04 am

Sumana.00 wrote:
smr_fingers wrote:but all those places that charge service charge sum the price plus service charge and then vat it which always have me confused wrt the calculation

any more info?

This is what I was talking to Trac about, if you knew the existence of the service charge, and you agreed to dine/order after being "notified" of this (&you haven't tried to counter before you order well I won't pay 10% I'll just leave a tip), have you entered into an implied contract by reading that and ordering from the menu?

well orgoarrr leh saood pay de service charge at least nah :roll:

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » May 3rd, 2012, 12:17 pm

AllTrac wrote:
Sumana.00 wrote:

any more info?

Postby crazybalhead » May 3rd, 2012, 12:19 pm

I have stopped paying Raptor service charge.

Postby MG Man » May 3rd, 2012, 12:31 pm

you could service me anytime.........no charge ;p

Postby nervewrecker » May 3rd, 2012, 12:33 pm

AllTrac wrote:
Sumana.00 wrote:

any more info?

coulda swear I see him bunning it outside NALIS Friday gone at 7:30pm.

Sumana.00

Postby Sumana.00 » May 3rd, 2012, 3:58 pm

RapToR wrote:
AllTrac wrote:
Sumana.00 wrote:

any more info?

That cheap beyotch eh paying for NOTHING!

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » May 3rd, 2012, 4:11 pm

Sumana.00 wrote:
RapToR wrote:
AllTrac wrote:
Sumana.00 wrote:

any more info?

That cheap beyotch eh paying for NOTHING!

Lego