Re: Dangerous Dogs Act goes in force August 1

Postby MG Man » April 17th, 2012, 3:37 pm

jm3, bread is a thing you does eat............jus sayin'

jm3

Postby jm3 » April 17th, 2012, 3:40 pm

yeh thanks for picking me up on a spelling mistake :).

Postby MG Man » April 17th, 2012, 3:45 pm

anythin tuh help ah breadda

Postby Habit7 » April 17th, 2012, 3:46 pm

jm3

Postby jm3 » April 17th, 2012, 3:48 pm

At least use real words if your going to pick me up on a single letter...........Just saying

jm3

Postby jm3 » April 17th, 2012, 3:49 pm

Anyway your detracting from the importance of this thread.

Sheriff

Postby Sheriff » April 17th, 2012, 6:13 pm

We have to stand up as one, we have to stop this peter pay for paul and paul pay for all ting. Peter should have to pay for his own crime, and don't suffer the innocent because of certian ppl.

d spike

Postby d spike » April 17th, 2012, 6:15 pm

If you spelled properly, then you wouldn't cause picky folks to become distracted...

I think some folks who are concerned with the impending strain on specific NGOs are missing one point:
The government is going to put down all unregistered "dangerous" dogs. This would also include strays. Would these NGOs pick up unregistered dogs, putting themselves at risk of being charged? Would more legislation be enacted to allow such groups to "hold" these dogs temporarily?
Knowing my people, I am sure members of the "protective services" will be happy to drive around, putting down any illegal breeds, thus "saving" the community from these possible threats...

Which brings up another concern:
Will sidearms be used to do the deed? (So guns will be going off regularly in fairly urban areas... just like in the bad old days when corbeaux had a price on their heads...)
Or will an injection be used? (Something else for taxpayers' money to be spent on... Euthanol isn't cheap...) So how will this be done? Police corner the dog, and wait for a gov't vet to appear to deliver the blue juice? How long does one have to wait for a gov't vet to appear? Something else to waste police manpower hours...
So are police going to enter your property to seize/destroy unregistered dogs? I smell lawsuits a-coming...
"My little girl hasn't stopped crying since the cops broke in and shot Puppy-wuppy in front of her..."
"Severely traumatized children weep for beloved pets..."
"While we wuz talkin' to de officer, de dog bark at him an' make a jump like... but it wuz on de chain an' cyah reach him, but de man jump back an' shoot at de dawg... he miss an' kill de parrot... De man shoot again hittin' de dawg, an' mih chile rush in an hug up de dawg, bawlin' like ah cow, tellin' de man not to kill she daddy dawg... blood everywhere, everybody bawlin'... police draggin' de animal outside, de chirren dem pullin' he back inside..."
Last edited by d spike on April 17th, 2012, 6:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby pioneer » April 17th, 2012, 6:30 pm

ban humans...they are the most dangerous being on the planet

their should also be a dotish politicians act

d spike

Postby d spike » April 17th, 2012, 6:32 pm

How does one prove a dog is indeed a pit-bull?

Are there any Fila Brasil-wossnames or Japanese Tosas in Trini?

Where is the paperwork/documentation kept of the mixed-breed dogs owned by folks, showing their lineage? Doesn't this cost money? Which is why only owners of properly-bred animals concern themselves with such matters...

I smell lawsuits...

You have to PROVE my dog is related to a specified breed first...
"Not a pit-bull, but his father was a Staffordshire terrier..."
"It isn't a dark German-Shepherd, it's just that his mother was a very hairy Belgian Shepherd mix..."
"Dat eh no Doberman... her fadda wuz ah daschund, an' de mudda wuz ah Great Dane..."

Postby foss » April 17th, 2012, 6:42 pm

just received this on my nokia 1100:

Good afternoon everyone;

Due to the new law that has been passed against "dangerous dogs" I am kindly requesting that you go to "Fight Against T&T Breed Specific Legislation" petition at iPetitions.com and sign up & voice your displeasure at the disgusting reputation in which our loving four-legged family members have gotten and thus the passing of this unjust law. Every signature counts so please do take the time to try to save our canine friends whom are unable to help themselves in this unfortunate situation. Remember, their not just dogs, they're family too.

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » April 17th, 2012, 6:50 pm

the legislation sounds right out of the british one...

Postby pioneer » April 17th, 2012, 6:51 pm

Once again politicians...i can't even call them the legislature cuz dey appear to be DUMB as fuark...missing the entire issue here

The issue is irresponsible owners...charge the owners...

Exactly how do they determine the lineage of a dog?...by the highly educated dog-expert public servants at the ministry of local government?

Postby pioneer » April 17th, 2012, 6:55 pm

I also smell corruption/bribery/nepotism

If you don't pay "fees" to certain ministry officials...your dogs gonna be deemed as "dangerous"

I suspect breeders gonna feel the brunt of that...as it already happens in all govt depts eg. customs

Also if my famalee wukkin ministry and i breedin dog...i gettin license normel normel widout actually payin/applyin for it.

Another blind ass law by donkey assed politicians...why not implement an anti-cruelty act?

Sometimes i wonder where we headed.

Postby pete » April 17th, 2012, 7:24 pm

d spike wrote:How does one prove a dog is indeed a pit-bull?

Are there any Fila Brasil-wossnames or Japanese Tosas in Trini?

Where is the paperwork/documentation kept of the mixed-breed dogs owned by folks, showing their lineage? Doesn't this cost money? Which is why only owners of properly-bred animals concern themselves with such matters...

I smell lawsuits...

You have to PROVE my dog is related to a specified breed first...
"Not a pit-bull, but his father was a Staffordshire terrier..."
"It isn't a dark German-Shepherd, it's just that his mother was a very hairy Belgian Shepherd mix..."
"Dat eh no Doberman... her fadda wuz ah daschund, an' de mudda wuz ah Great Dane..."

The act specifies that the onus is on the owner to prove that the dog is not a dangerous dog if accused, not the other way around.

Read the whole thing here http://www.ttparliament.org/legislations/a2000-32.pdf

Re: Dangerous Dogs Act goes into effect August 1, 2012

Postby pioneer » April 17th, 2012, 7:27 pm

So the dog goes to court?

Dog is held where...by local govt public servants? :lol:

dog jail?

aware us

Postby Ronaldo95163 » April 17th, 2012, 7:33 pm

This is ridiculous :|
250k?
They serious?
Trinidad is really ah dotish country in truth yes :|

The dog always wrong :\ when those dotish trini people jumping people's fences/gates/walls and get attacked by the pitbulls....dotish trinis quick to jump out and say the dog was wrong...put the dog to sleep....

Stupid Country :|

Postby Sky » April 17th, 2012, 7:40 pm

^^ I'm guessing the 250k is the pay off and not the insurance premium you pay. Just guessing.
If you have your dogs trained and locked up your premium won't be that high. Maybe about the price for a pup or a line, or dog food for 6 months.
I actually think the 250k isn't enough. Check out surgeries that offer prosthetics, or repair tendons and ligaments. 250k may get someone in the hospital, but they'll never be the same.

Postby pete » April 17th, 2012, 7:45 pm

6. An owner or keeper of a dangerous dog who is
unable to fulfill the requirements of this Act shall
notify the Ministry of that fact, transfer possession of it
to the Ministry whereupon the Ministry shall take
charge of the dangerous dog and thereafter destroy it.

11. (4) Where the owner of a dangerous dog is
convicted under subsection (3), the court shall—
(a) in addition make an order that the owner
take out a policy of insurance required
under this Act in respect of the dangerous
dog within one month of the date of the
conviction or such reasonable time as the
Court thinks fit; and
(b) impound the dangerous dog during that
period.

22. (2) Where, in any proceedings, it is alleged by the
prosecution, that a dog is a dangerous dog, the onus is
on the accused to prove that the dog is not a dangerous
dog.

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » April 17th, 2012, 9:03 pm

Just came from the meeting. Alot of support, lots of positive suggestions. There will be another meeting at the QPS on sunday at 1 oclock, at the paved area opposite tgif. Please make every effort to spread the word and attend

Postby wagonrunner » April 17th, 2012, 9:14 pm

SR wrote:so whats gonna happen to all them guntas who have pitpulls as a "bling" to show status when they walk them around bareback or in thier wifebeaters

they cant afford to secure thier own yards properly but yet have more than one pitbull boasting of its brloodline

these are the people who have caused most of this action to be required

the law should state if you own a dog you must have a secure yard to kep it in or be fined
forget the breed once the yard is secure people outside are safe

too many people with dogs that just keep them chained in an unsecured yard

yup. definitely fits that profile. Irresponsible. :|
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/_All_dogs_are_natural_predators_-121845449.html
Vicious attacks by aggressive dogs on people, in any society with a decent respect for the sanctity of human life and for the maintenance of public safety norms, amount to an abomination crying out for rapid correction.
Worse than intolerable is the attack which occurred at 6 a.m. on Monday, with 46-year-old Denise Rackal, a security guard and mother of two, fatally savaged by seven pit bull dogs. This killing comes less than three weeks after four-year-old Ezekiel Renne-Cambridge was mauled by a German Shepherd and an Akita mixed with Shepherd.
In both cases, neighbours had voiced several complaints to the owners of the dogs and even the police. Businesswoman Vidya Emrith, despite expressing regret over the incident, has stated that she would rather go to jail than put her dogs to sleep. In this most recent case, the dogs' owner, a police officer, had long ignored incidents where his dogs had attacked other animals and even bitten people.

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » April 17th, 2012, 9:17 pm

If ever there was a need for us to rally support for something unselfish its this. Are we goning to allow these idiots to kill our family members like that? This law has been dropped in as many contries as it was passed. Why do we always have to adopt measures that have failed in other countries.
These dogs are the ways and means for many people to feed their families, they are sometimes the only companion some people have. The country has thousands of pits and bullies, how many have attacked citizens? This bad will eventually evolve to ban other breeds if by definition its to ban dangerous breeds.
All i ask as a tuner member is your support on sunday at our meeting at 1pm opposite tgif on the QPS
thanks

Postby pioneer » April 17th, 2012, 9:36 pm

Will try to attend

Postby Ronaldo95163 » April 17th, 2012, 9:48 pm

So if someone owns a pitbull it's automatically classed as a Dangerous Dog?

What about German Shepards, Rottweilers, Dobermans etc?

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » April 17th, 2012, 9:53 pm

This is one of the many flaws of the bill. Another one being how are they going to determine what ia a pit bull as tradionally it was not a registered breed. Are they going to dna test my dog? Does any dog resembling a pit going to be ahot as well? We contacted a few insurance companies today that said NO they are not going to provide coverage for us. I wonder if mr Winston Peters ia goibg to get rid of his dogs also.

Postby pioneer » April 17th, 2012, 9:53 pm

Section 17 also implies if a bandit comes in your yard and your dog attack/kill the bandit...you can be liable to a charge :?

gj jackasses

way to take away the right of security of citizens.

Postby pioneer » April 17th, 2012, 9:58 pm

poor doggies....dangerous :(

why dey doh ban guntas an danraj one time?

Postby pioneer » April 17th, 2012, 10:00 pm

Ronaldo95163 wrote:So if someone owns a pitbull it's automatically classed as a Dangerous Dog?

What about German Shepards, Rottweilers, Dobermans etc?

According to this stupid piece of "law"...they can classify any dog as being dangerous.

I expect epic lawsuits against the state.

Postby wagonrunner » April 17th, 2012, 10:17 pm

pioneer wrote:way to take away the right of security of citizens.

yuh see the likes of gary griffith and gibbs, and still expecting..............., look here pios

Postby Habit7 » April 17th, 2012, 10:23 pm

*expects when someone next gets mauled, a thread about how gov't need to do something*