Road reserve infront house: Government land?

RJ

Re: Road reserve infront house: Government land?

Postby RJ » February 17th, 2013, 6:47 pm

Might I ask how much was the encroachment? I may have a similar situation.

Postby brams112 » February 17th, 2013, 6:56 pm

RJ wrote:Might I ask how much was the encroachment? I may have a similar situation.

If you have a deed you will know pallie,cadastral sheet suppose to accompany your deed to show true owership around you also,you can also get a surveyor to plot ur boundries.

Postby ronsin1 » February 17th, 2013, 8:05 pm

yep once you have your deed and cadastral you have no worries the only reason I had to survey is that the Boundary points (irons) were not in place so there was no defined points we needed a full cadastral sheet for the entire area for reference points to confirm the correct boundaries.

if your points are know you will not have any issues if you do not know your points I suggest you get a surveyor

Postby *$kїđž!™ » February 17th, 2013, 8:11 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:
*$kїđž!™ wrote:front wall going up.....would have like to go straight up to the boundary but may go in line with the neighbours for the street to have some uniformity but will utilise the piece outside the wall to plant a nice flowers bed....

As long as your flower bed does not encroach within State Land (road reserve), you have nothing to fear. Just ensure that you know where your boundary irons are in case anyone questions the location of your flower bed.

What road reserve are u talking about?.....Thats my issue......Its my land....from the road to the back drain.......

Whats is this road reserve rory?......

Is a semi residential area where I dont forsee any pavements being built....

Postby ronsin1 » February 18th, 2013, 9:41 am

*$kїđž!™ wrote:
Rory Phoulorie wrote:
*$kїđž!™ wrote:front wall going up.....would have like to go straight up to the boundary but may go in line with the neighbours for the street to have some uniformity but will utilise the piece outside the wall to plant a nice flowers bed....

As long as your flower bed does not encroach within State Land (road reserve), you have nothing to fear. Just ensure that you know where your boundary irons are in case anyone questions the location of your flower bed.

What road reserve are u talking about?.....Thats my issue......Its my land....from the road to the back drain.......

are your boundaries Defined and you know exactly where they are.

although you may be beatifying the area once it is on the government reserve you may be fined

Postby Rory Phoulorie » February 18th, 2013, 5:15 pm

*$kїđž!™ wrote:What road reserve are u talking about?.....Thats my issue......Its my land....from the road to the back drain.......

Even though the road and drains may be occupying, say, a width of between 6m to 7m, the State usually owns land over a greater width, say 10m, in order to permit expansion of the road in the future. It is this actual width that is owned by the State is referred to as the road reserve.

To use Valsayn Park North as an example. Where you see all the fences/walls parallel to the road are the actual boundaries of the private properties. All the areas outside these walls where people have planted grass and flower beds are in the road reserve. The State can therefore carry out development in these areas if the need arises, for example, to install footpaths and larger roadside drains to help alleviate the flooding that occurs in that residential development.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » February 18th, 2013, 7:15 pm

OK well I dont have any drains in front my property.......Its just land from front to back.....The cadastral sheet shows my boundaries as from the road to my back drain......

Postby Rory Phoulorie » February 18th, 2013, 7:46 pm

*$kїđž!™ wrote:OK well I dont have any drains in front my property.......Its just land from front to back.....The cadastral sheet shows my boundaries as from the road to my back drain......

But what has been built as the road, may not be the full width of the road reserve. You are guided by your cadastral survey and your boundary irons.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » February 18th, 2013, 10:51 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:
*$kїđž!™ wrote:OK well I dont have any drains in front my property.......Its just land from front to back.....The cadastral sheet shows my boundaries as from the road to my back drain......

But what has been built as the road, may not be the full width of the road reserve. You are guided by your cadastral survey and your boundary irons.

so basicaly rory..what u saying is i should look for the front boundary iron and that should be the start of my land where my wall can go?....cause the irons are there...both front and back......

Postby Rory Phoulorie » February 19th, 2013, 6:42 am

*$kїđž!™ wrote:so basicaly rory..what u saying is i should look for the front boundary iron and that should be the start of my land where my wall can go?....cause the irons are there...both front and back......

Yes. Use the boundary irons to set the alignment of your fence in relation to the road, adjacent properties and interlot drains. All your mason has to do is string a line between the boundary irons to set the alignment of your fence.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » February 19th, 2013, 9:28 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:
*$kїđž!™ wrote:so basicaly rory..what u saying is i should look for the front boundary iron and that should be the start of my land where my wall can go?....cause the irons are there...both front and back......

Yes. Use the boundary irons to set the alignment of your fence in relation to the road, adjacent properties and interlot drains. All your mason has to do is string a line between the boundary irons to set the alignment of your fence.

kool ...thanks bro...thats what we did...fence is up.....we went in line with the boundary irons....

nightcrawler

Postby nightcrawler » January 10th, 2017, 2:01 pm

How much ft should be left between house and main road

Postby SMc » January 10th, 2017, 2:32 pm

^^that probably depends on where you live as where we are I think its 10' but in some areas (like woodbrook) it seems to be alot less.

If you on a new development they should be able to provide you with that info..

abbow

Postby abbow » January 10th, 2017, 2:37 pm

real laws to retain what is the states own, and how high your friggin wall should be....

but we dont have a proper Building Code yet....dunno if we back to front or inside or out...

lalloboy101

Postby lalloboy101 » January 10th, 2017, 2:46 pm

its 3ft from the edge of the road to your boundary line, and 15 ft from he front boundary to the wall of your home.

Postby 88sins » January 10th, 2017, 2:57 pm

ronsin1 wrote:
you can build the wall on the boundary line just ensure you don't go more than the 4 to 5 ft high if I can find the letter form t&c when I was building a wall I will confirm the height in front
had an issue with a neighbour and they helped

I'd love to see the logic in this. So what's the reason for the limit on wall height? T&C making sure to cater for lazy bandits that got zero wall jumping skills? or trying to ensure an unobstructed view of your house for every village maco?

Postby nervewrecker » January 11th, 2017, 9:06 am

The jackass across the road bu me build about 6 feet high. When he decide to install cameras he cant see the roadway. Instead his cameras facing straight into my living room.
Nobody doing anything.

cherrypopper

Postby cherrypopper » January 11th, 2017, 9:32 am

Wa kinda voyeur bizness is that ..

Best you give them a show

thelem-again

Postby thelem-again » January 12th, 2017, 2:50 pm

lalloboy101 wrote:its 3ft from the edge of the road to your boundary line, and 15 ft from he front boundary to the wall of your home.

Correct. This is the legit T & C code.

Kronik

Postby Kronik » October 13th, 2017, 6:52 pm

whats the distance from the roadway a house can be built on a corner lot that has two roadways? what is the distance from each roadway

viedcht

Postby viedcht » October 13th, 2017, 7:42 pm

Depends... if the house already built it should be in the house plan approval from T&C. Either 15ft for older buildings or 25ft for newer ones... I think agricultural areas are different.

Postby adnj » October 14th, 2017, 7:33 am

If you have a corner lot, you must meet the setback requirements of both streets. Setback is different for the "type" of road that you are on but is a minimum of 15 feet from your boundary to "the outside surface of the building."

[img]https://photos.app.goo.gl/0t5UtSn5ggjyLMYy2[/img]
[img]https://photos.app.goo.gl/kTb5A7FJUUypNfO93[/img]

Kronik

Postby Kronik » October 14th, 2017, 12:07 pm

ok, so the building needs to be setback enough to keep a line of sign at the corners. it's on two minor roads. i was told buy some who does plans it's 15ft from each of the roadways, but there was an old plan that was done about 10 years ago but never used that left 25ft on one side and 15ft on the other.

Postby adnj » October 14th, 2017, 2:45 pm

The only way to know for certain is to submit an application for T&C Outline Approval. You submit much of the same paperwork you need to transfer a deed, you can submit a hand drawn plan with a box for where you want the house, and the application is free.

You might be on two minor roads but T&C might have one designated as something else.

mitsutt

Postby mitsutt » October 14th, 2017, 3:36 pm

adnj wrote:The only way to know for certain is to submit an application for T&C Outline Approval. You submit much of the same paperwork you need to transfer a deed, you can submit a hand drawn plan with a box for where you want the house, and the application is free.

You might be on two minor roads but T&C might have one designated as something else.

Best advice because it can be 15 or 25.