||| - Official Maths / Science Thread - |||

Re: Can you figure this out?

Postby stev » March 2nd, 2012, 4:18 pm

Stephon. wrote:Guys like you almost always end up with girls though :lol:

:lol: :lol: is true...ah have ah padna who goin and get ah female football team just now.

notice i say football...he go teach he daughters to kick balls instead of playin with a piece of wood and balls (cricket side)

Postby Ronaldo95163 » March 2nd, 2012, 5:18 pm

neals

Postby neals » March 2nd, 2012, 7:04 pm

so today the temperature is 0 degrees Celsius tomorrow its will be twice as cold- whats the temperature tomorrow? never did quite figure out that one

Postby Ronaldo95163 » March 2nd, 2012, 7:22 pm

A Circle is divided into 6 sectors in an Arithmetic Progression where the largest side exceeds the smallest by 3. Find all the angles.

:P :P :P :P

Corn Bird

Postby Corn Bird » March 2nd, 2012, 8:44 pm

gracen wrote:A Circle is divided into 6 sectors in an Arithmetic Progression where the largest side exceeds the smallest by 3. Find all the angles.

you perhaps mean that largest angle of the sectors exceed the smallest angle by 3. there is no 'side' on a circle.

this is an add math problem -- using an a.p. we have that the angles are represented by

a, a-d, a-2d, a- 3d, a-4d, a-5d

the sum of angles gives 6a-15d=360
the difference between the largest and smallest gives a-(a-5d)=3

solving these equations simultaneously gives a=58.5 d=0.6

so the six angles are

58.5, 57.9, 57.3, 56.7, 56.1, 55.5

you know (i hope) that there is a huge difference between this type of problem and the Riemman hypothesis

Postby Ronaldo95163 » March 2nd, 2012, 9:16 pm

Corn Bird wrote:
gracen wrote:A Circle is divided into 6 sectors in an Arithmetic Progression where the largest side exceeds the smallest by 3. Find all the angles.

you perhaps mean that largest angle of the sectors exceed the smallest angle by 3. there is no 'side' on a circle.

this is an add math problem -- using an a.p. we have that the angles are represented by

so the six angles are

you know (i hope) that there is a huge difference between this type of problem and the Riemman hypothesis

I know I was just rattling off questions off the top of my head.

S6=350
a+5d = a+3
3=5d
5d=3
d=3/5

Sn = n/2(2a+(n-1)d)
S6= 6/2(2a+5d)=360
6a+15d = 360

Substituting d=3/5

6a+15d = 360
6a+15(3/5)=360
6a+9 = 360
6a=351
a=351/6
a=58.5 <------ So far you're correct :P

a, (a+d), (a+2d), (a+3d), (a+4d), (a+5d)
58.5, (58.5+3/5), (58.5+2(3/5)), (58.5+3(3/5)), (58.5+4(3/5)), (58.5+5(3/5))

Angles are:

58.5, 59.1, 59.7, 60.3, 60.9, 61.5

^ The answer supposed to be integers but I couldn't remember how much the last angle exceeded the first by though

I believe you're formula for the nth term was wrong though...it's:

Tn = a+(n-1)d

so the six angles are represented by:

I'll post some more questions later

Corn Bird

Postby Corn Bird » March 2nd, 2012, 9:32 pm

gracen wrote:
Corn Bird wrote:
presented by

so the six angles are

I believe you're formula for the nth term was wrong though...it's:

Tn = a+(n-1)d

so the six angles are represented by:

I'll post some more questions later

yes, i made a mistake (add maths teacher would not be pleased). my simult equations are correct

but the my solutions of the simult eqs are wrong -- i got the correct answer for d=.6 but the wrong answer for a. correct answer is a=61.5

nothing is wrong with using

a, a-d, a-2d, ...

this still is an a.p.; only thing is the common difference is now -d instead of d. just a matter of notation.
Last edited by Corn Bird on March 2nd, 2012, 9:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » March 2nd, 2012, 9:37 pm

lol no scene :p

Common Difference btw :P

Since you brought up common ratio....

x+1,x-5,x+4.... are Three successive terms of a GP

Find:

The Common Ratio
The 9th Term
The sum of the first 20 terms
lalala.jpg
lalala.jpg (28.04 KiB) Viewed 2033 times
Last edited by Ronaldo95163 on March 2nd, 2012, 9:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby nervewrecker » March 2nd, 2012, 9:42 pm

oh...allyuh want to play:

What is the difference / relation of areas between 2 circles where 1 circles diameter is double the diameter of the other?

also,

What percentage of a squares area is a circle whose diameter is equal to that of a side on the square?
Last edited by nervewrecker on March 2nd, 2012, 10:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Corn Bird

Postby Corn Bird » March 2nd, 2012, 9:44 pm

gracen wrote:lol no scene :p

Find:

The Common Ratio
The 9th Term

think you mean the *first* three terms?? otherwise three successive terms could be located anywhere in the gp; can't see a way to get the first term (and therefore the 9 th term)

Postby Ronaldo95163 » March 2nd, 2012, 9:54 pm

Corn Bird wrote:
gracen wrote:lol no scene :p

Find:

The Common Ratio
The 9th Term

think you mean the *first* three terms?? otherwise three successive terms could be located anywhere in the gp; can't see a way to get the first term (and therefore the 9 th term)

The question is actually:

x+1, x-3 and x-6 are three consecutive terms of a G.P

find:

The value of x
the common ratio

If x+1 is the 4th term find:
The first term
The sum of the first 5 terms to 3S.F

once again my bad with the question :oops:

Postby black start » March 2nd, 2012, 9:57 pm

vramps, where you at dan?

what is math2240? :|

Corn Bird

Postby Corn Bird » March 2nd, 2012, 10:03 pm

perimeter of shaded region:

AC=OC as they are both radii

this implies triangle AOC is equilateral

so AC=5

so arc ABC is 5 x Pi/2

arc APC is 5 x Pi/3

perimeter is the sum of these which is 25 x Pi/6

Postby Ronaldo95163 » March 2nd, 2012, 10:08 pm

nervewrecker wrote:oh...allyuh want to play:

What is the difference / relation of areas of 2 circles where 1 is double the diameter of the other?

also,

What percentage of a squares area is a circle whose diameter is equal to that of a side on the square?

Let's say the length of a side of the Square = 2 units
It's area = 2^2 = 4 units squared

Length of side of square=diameter of circle
Therefore the diameter of the circle = 2 units
Therefore it's radius is = 1 unit

By saying
"What percentage of a squares area is a circle"

Im guessing that the circle is inside the square?

Area of circle = pi*radius^2
=22/7*1^2
=22/7 or 3.142857143 units squared

Percentage of squares area that circle occupies (EDIT-didn't multiply by 100)

= 3.142857143/4*100
=78.5%

approx. value: 80%

hope i'm not wrong :oops:
Last edited by Ronaldo95163 on March 2nd, 2012, 11:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » March 2nd, 2012, 10:09 pm

Corn Bird wrote:perimeter of shaded region:

AC=OC as they are both radii

this implies triangle AOC is equilateral

so AC=5

so arc ABC is 5 x Pi/2

arc APC is 5 x Pi/3

perimeter is the sum of these which is 25 x Pi/6

I'll work it out and tell you what I get in a bit...

Postby black start » March 2nd, 2012, 10:11 pm

brings math homework to trinituner to get it done by nerve, corn bird and gracen

*assignment done- like a troll*

Corn Bird

Postby Corn Bird » March 2nd, 2012, 10:15 pm

gracen wrote:

The question is actually:

x+1, x-3 and x-6 are three consecutive terms of a G.P

find:

The value of x
the common ratio

If x+1 is the 4th term find:
The first term
The sum of the first 5 terms to 3S.F

once again my bad with the question :oops:

(x-3)/(x+1)=(x-6)/(x-3)=r

(x-3)(x-3)=(x+1)(x-6)

x^2-6x+9=x^2-5x-6

x=15

r=12/16=3/4

ar^3=16

a= 1024/27

too lazy to get the sum for the first 5 terms

Postby nervewrecker » March 2nd, 2012, 10:19 pm

gracen wrote:
nervewrecker wrote:oh...allyuh want to play:

What is the difference / relation of areas of 2 circles where 1 is double the diameter of the other?

also,

Let's say the length of a side of the Square = 2 units
It's area = 2^2 = 4 units squared

Length of side of square=diameter of circle
Therefore the diameter of the circle = 2 units
Therefore it's radius is = 1 unit

By saying
"What percentage of a squares area is a circle"

Im guessing that the circle is inside the square?

Area of circle = pi*radius^2
=22/7*1^2
=22/7 or 3.142857143 units squared

Percentage of squares area that circle occupies

= 3.142857143/4
=0.8%

hope i'm not wrong :oops:

yuh wrong.

tackle the first question nah (with the 2 circles). HINT: pipe of double diameter can transmit how much more flow through it than first pipe (neglecting friction against the internal walls of both pipes etc).

Postby nervewrecker » March 2nd, 2012, 10:23 pm

you a little off on the answer though, dont round off the numbers. :wink:

its 0.785, I didnt look at your working :lol:

easy way to find area of circle eh, 0.785 * diameter squared. tell meh ah wrong nah? :mrgreen:
Last edited by nervewrecker on March 2nd, 2012, 10:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Corn Bird

Postby Corn Bird » March 2nd, 2012, 10:25 pm

nervewrecker wrote:What percentage of a squares area is a circle whose diameter is equal to that of a side on the square?

let x=length of side of square

circle has diameter equal to x. so area of circle is Pi (x/2)^2

ratio of circle area to square is Pi/4

percentage is 25Pi=78.54%

Postby nervewrecker » March 2nd, 2012, 10:27 pm

you guys did good, now tackle the second question.

I hope allyuh didnt google that eh.

Corn Bird

Postby Corn Bird » March 2nd, 2012, 10:35 pm

Black Start wrote:brings math homework to trinituner to get it done by nerve, corn bird and gracen

*assignment done- like a troll*

nothing is wrong with a little maths

Romans 12:21: Be not overcome of evil, but overcome evil with good.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » March 2nd, 2012, 10:55 pm

Sorry I took so long...was doubting myself :/

Per of ABC = 5pi/2=7.85

per of segment = 2r+rtheta

=2(5)+5(pi/3)
=15.23-10 = 5.23

5.23+7.82 = 13.08

I have to double check this tho..

EDIT:

Found my mistake

When I was adding the arc lengths of APC and ABC....I forgot to find the radius for ABC :oops:

So for APC:

s=rtheta
=5(pi/3)
=5.23

For ABC

s=rtheta
= 2.5(pi/3)
=7.85

adding the two you get 13.08

:oops:

Postby nervewrecker » March 2nd, 2012, 10:59 pm

yes, double check it.

Postby nervewrecker » March 2nd, 2012, 11:00 pm

nah, try it again.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » March 2nd, 2012, 11:00 pm

nervewrecker wrote:you a little off on the answer though, dont round off the numbers. :wink:

its 0.785, I didnt look at your working :lol:

easy way to find area of circle eh, 0.785 * diameter squared. tell meh ah wrong nah? :mrgreen:

badman does round off he numbers normel normel

Postby nervewrecker » March 2nd, 2012, 11:04 pm

those rounded off numbers does make a big difference eh. ah just saying.

Postby nervewrecker » March 2nd, 2012, 11:11 pm

take for example:

pump A pumps 0.264 US gallons a second into a cylindrical tank of radius 5.563m & 1 meter high, how long before it is full.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » March 2nd, 2012, 11:12 pm

nervewrecker wrote:nah, try it again.

180 degrees is pi radians....

pi(2.5) =7.85

:x

just punched 180->2ndf->pi*2.5 on calculator

Postby Ronaldo95163 » March 2nd, 2012, 11:17 pm

nervewrecker wrote:take for example:

pump A pumps 0.264 US gallons a second into a cylindrical tank of radius 5.563m & 1 meter high, how long before it is full.

Vol. of cylinder = pi*radius^2* height

=pi*5.63^2*1= 99.6m^3

idk how to convert US gallons to m^3

EDIT:

According to a converter .264 gals = 0.000999m^3

so it's 99.6/.000999

I'm sure my answer is wrong but idk how to convert US Gals to m^3 :oops: :oops:
Last edited by Ronaldo95163 on March 2nd, 2012, 11:29 pm, edited 2 times in total.