Re: I scratched my father's car.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » February 18th, 2012, 4:14 pm

what kinda car?

Postby AllTrac » February 18th, 2012, 4:57 pm

pioneer wrote:more than likely at this point...stephon is coasin

you still haven't found out the meaning of that word? cause it doesn't sound right in that sentence, hopefully gunta grammar police rfari would sort it out.

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » February 18th, 2012, 5:20 pm

starscream00

Postby starscream00 » February 18th, 2012, 7:22 pm

1.Throw dirt back on car
2.Let you dad wash it
3.When he see scratches, blame him for doing it.

Postby ismithx » February 18th, 2012, 7:22 pm

is it just me or stephon sounding like a blonde????

*faceplam.jpg*

OP, always rinse the car with water first before you soap, apply water while you lightly wipe it with a cloth, dust and dirt have abrasive qualities.... #smh

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » February 18th, 2012, 7:30 pm

^^yuh understand its not rocket science.

Postby Trini Hookah » February 18th, 2012, 7:38 pm

starscream00 wrote:1.Throw dirt back on car
2.Let you dad wash it

This is THE best post of the ched! :lol:

Postby sliderz1 » February 18th, 2012, 7:49 pm

Stephanie...... you'd need to determine the extent of your scratches. Compound/Polish/Wax is an option but for extensive work, there's a technique where fine sandpaper is used to remove a thin layer of clear-coat and then buff back the vehicle (few places do this)

does this really work? http://www.metacafe.com/watch/8085915/j ... ssiveNav=1

dunno how to embed :oops:

nemesis

Postby nemesis » February 18th, 2012, 8:20 pm

Hmm. I eh sure if you serious. But if you are you can do as someone suggested and call Karim to fix it. Or you can attempt it yourself with a variety of products available in trini.
Also, read the car polishing thread in the auto tech section and this : http://www.autogeek.net/exterior.html
to start.

Postby foss » February 18th, 2012, 8:29 pm

do like Rich Boy and throw some D's on that b!tch.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 18th, 2012, 8:30 pm

ismithx wrote:is it just me or stephon sounding like a blonde????

*faceplam.jpg*

OP, always rinse the car with water first before you soap, apply water while you lightly wipe it with a cloth, dust and dirt have abrasive qualities.... #smh

I guess he pays to get this done...

Postby shogun » February 18th, 2012, 8:33 pm

Thing is. Stephon sure those scratches weren't there before? ....he did say the car was dirty....maybe they were there all along.

Postby brams112 » February 18th, 2012, 8:56 pm

boi just tell the man the truth nah,,,it always work,,,,most will happen is you might get some calpath across ur head

Postby kurpal_v2 » February 18th, 2012, 9:27 pm

foss wrote:do like Rich Boy and throw some D's on that b!tch.

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » February 18th, 2012, 9:44 pm

vrampersad14 wrote:
starscream00 wrote:1.Throw dirt back on car
2.Let you dad wash it

This is THE best post of the ched! :lol:

Actually now am thinking his dad scratched the car :)

1. Throw dirt back on car
2. Let son wash it
3. When he see the scratches blame son :D

Postby ismithx » February 18th, 2012, 9:46 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:
foss wrote:do like Rich Boy and throw some D's on that b!tch.

^^^ would so love to know what music they're pumping

Postby RBphoto » February 19th, 2012, 10:26 am

Put some lanate, rope and candle in the trunk. If yuh is injun yuh father will either

1) Realize the crisis and say is all right son... small thing

2) Tell yuh to go ahead and use it

3) Will take the items out without saying a word, go to a room of the house and lock himself in then say "your problem now"

Postby Stephon. » February 19th, 2012, 11:17 am

@~Vēġó~ A6, the mothers scratch remover kind of worked but it was a bit time consuming and I didn't have all the time in the world as I needed my pre Trini Posse nap :lol: right now as it is, you can only see it (very light) if you look at an angle in direct sunlight, I couldn't see it at all later in the afternoon yesterday, I'll try to finish it up today.

Thanks for all the advice guys, both good and bad :lol: :lol:

Postby RBphoto » February 19th, 2012, 11:24 am

^^^ you supposed to wax after using the abrasives dawg. You have just stripped off a protective layer of paint. The wax should fill up the small scratches.

I know I knock yuh there, but I remember when I was 10, I saw a clorox commercial, and washed my father's white cortina with bleach to get it whiter :lol:

Postby gastly369 » February 19th, 2012, 11:39 am

i could see it all now

Postby bushwakka » February 19th, 2012, 11:58 am

doh tell meh yuh rub it down wit dat 'waterless' sheit theyz be sellin in de gas stn

KURMAman

Postby KURMAman » February 19th, 2012, 12:52 pm

brake fluid and a quart of paint...start ova fresh..

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » February 19th, 2012, 12:57 pm

To the OP/Stephon/whateveryournameis....

sounds like you induced swirling on the paint due to your "wipedown" (most likely with a dirty towel). Swirls are actually quite commonplace in most cars....and would have problem gotten there on the paint over time (looks like you just accelerated the process)

Options:
1) Have the car professionally detailed/buffed out. KarimKhan on the forum is a good option. You'll have a better-than-new finish when you're done.

2) Try to fix it yourself by hand (recommend using Mothers' 3 stage system - it's the easiest to get). Prepare for lots of backache/elbow grease etc. But it's a good exercise. The step 2 of the three step system hides the swirls. This pic shows a before and after (after is on the lower part) of removing swirls BY HAND:

3) Try to weasel out of it by pinning it on your father (shame on you if you do this).

In the future:

1) Wash with a 100% cotten towel or a microfibre towel. Make sure the towel is clean.

2) Use plenty of clean water and rinse cloth intermittently...e.g. when moving from one panel to the next.

3) Always wash using a car wash soap. never breeze or squeezy.

4) If the above is too hard for you - don't wash a car. Take it to someone who can.

^^^ you supposed to wax after using the abrasives dawg. You have just stripped off a protective layer of paint. The wax should fill up the small scratches.

yes. this is a good option as well. Some synthetic waxes like Mother Synwax have mild "fillers" in them...which help mask swirls.