Accident by Trincity 29/1/2012 *Pic*

Re: Accident by Trincity 29/1/2012 *Pic*

Postby Rory Phoulorie » January 30th, 2012, 8:57 pm

Hirotoshi wrote:stephon no overpriced corolla,with a million air-bags will save your ass,if you are hit on the drivers side by an audi,bmw,volvo,pathfinder,q5,prado etc . if you are driving and notice some idiots on the road,just back-peddle,keep your eyes open and try your best to reach home safe.by the way how much air-bags did dodi al-fiyad & princess diana,s 500 mercedes have ? i drive a 15 year civic hatch,wish i could afford a second hand fd sedan 8-)

You raised three valid points here:

1) People's over-confidence in airbags (which is a supplemental restraint system).
2) The need to wear your seatbelts (I do not believe Princess Diana and Dodi Fayed were wearing their seatbelts), which is the primary means of restraint in a vehicle.
3) Not only driving for yourself, but for others by being aware of what is going on in your surroundings and making the necessary adjustments to your driving.

I sit down and laugh when I hear these young drivers carry on about because the car only has two airbags instead of eight, that it is the end of the world. I am fully appreciative of what improvements airbags can bring in reducing damage to your person in an accident. However, no amount of airbags is going to save you when another car collides with yours at extremely high speed and the whole passenger compartment folds up. You have to remember that these crash ratings of cars are done at specific speeds and angles of collision, which somehow we here in Trinidad are able to defy.

Postby tr1ad » January 30th, 2012, 9:01 pm

wasnt it an audi or merc where that rich guy got killed in st clair by a libero or something

Postby r3iXmann » January 30th, 2012, 9:42 pm

i have 0 airbags :|

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » January 30th, 2012, 9:52 pm

Only in Trinidad is less equal to more. Noone saying rely on airbags alone. Noone doh use yuh seatbelts. Noone saying don't drive defensively.

At the end of the day an accident is not something planned. If you have the option of 8 airbags vs 2 you gonna say no?

Postby Sky » January 30th, 2012, 10:15 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Only in Trinidad is less equal to more. Noone saying rely on airbags alone. Noone doh use yuh seatbelts. Noone saying don't drive defensively.

At the end of the day an accident is not something planned. If you have the option of 8 airbags vs 2 you gonna say no?

If the difference is 40 big ones, I would.
But usually the 4 extra airbags come with lighter wheels, a spoiler, maybe a sunroof, flare, trims etc. If this is a the case and I can afford it, then yes. But SRS won't be the deciding factor.

Postby Hook » January 30th, 2012, 10:26 pm

This "safer vehicle" thing is deceptive when you see a $30k car on bridgestone rubber and a $300k one rolling on roadstone.

That doubled with the fact that safety ratings are given based on the results of specific tests, at specific speeds which are hardly ever applicable in a real-life (read Trini h/way) driving scenario, makes for an awesome death cocktail where the base liquor is over confidence.
A car getting a high score for taking a 90degree collision at 80kmh might plant a door hinge in your chest if it's hit at 45 degrees to the driver at 120kmh instead.

The bottom line is that the frequency and severity of these collisions can be greatly reduced, no matter what you drive, if there is an increase in vehicle awareness, consideration, common sense, alertness and greater adhesion to the rules of the road.

Postby MG Man » January 30th, 2012, 10:30 pm

HOW DARE YOU MAKE SENSE
CEASE AND DESIST FORTHWITH

Postby AllTrac » January 30th, 2012, 10:33 pm

i always wanted to know how effective an airbag is if i in full bendin' mode, yuh know nah, not de 10 o'clock 2 o'clock hand position, but right hand fully stretched out at 12 o'clock placement, elbows locked. "now smell ah gym box" pan, body leaning more on the left hand which is positioned on the arm rest and its either holding the remote so i can switch to danza kuduro when mati passing or left index finger lightly pressed on the center of my chin while i extend all my fingers upward on my right hand and use the center of my palm to "lock all"

Postby Hook » January 30th, 2012, 11:04 pm

:lol: you'll probably break your own nose at the very least

Postby eliteauto » January 30th, 2012, 11:25 pm

I'm a bit concerned by Trac's very very accurate description...it has an air of authenticity

jm3

Postby jm3 » January 31st, 2012, 1:09 am

Stephon. wrote:Well when trinidadians are trying to save a buck by buying a base model vehicle with 2 airbags rather than buy a fully loaded vehicle or mid spec with 4 - 6 airbags for a bit more cash, what do you expect? The vehicles with 2 airbags are selling right? So why would they stop selling them?

stupid spoiled rich boy mentality

jm3

Postby jm3 » January 31st, 2012, 1:19 am

tr1ad wrote:wasnt it an audi or merc where that rich guy got killed in st clair by a libero or something

a beamer, i saw that accident even that car was crushed like a tin can against the wall.

DTAC

Postby DTAC » January 31st, 2012, 1:37 am

In a lot of the crashes pictured on Tuner, it wouldn't matter if the vehicle was made of airbags the amount of damage you see even before the emergency services get to the vehicle.

Postby Stephon. » January 31st, 2012, 2:39 am

Postby r3iXmann » January 31st, 2012, 7:19 am

eliteauto wrote:I'm a bit concerned by Trac's very very accurate description...it has an air of authenticity

nah,he made no mention of kartel/movado/rap chunes being played at ear splitting volume :?

Postby SmokeyGTi » January 31st, 2012, 7:41 am

Stephon. wrote:
Stephon. wrote:It doesn't matter, isn't a fully loaded corolla 209 compared to the base model at 175? If you're going to buy a car, then buy a good car, you're going to be driving it on the nations roads and we're all aware of how horrid the driving is here.

I don't know about you but I can't really put a price on extra safety features.

sorry dey fella, din realize 34k was small money for all ah we...........but why stop at a corolla? You don't value your life enough to buy an Audi or BMW?

I was using Toyota since that's probably the most popular brand when it comes to vehicles here, and when you're buying a new vehicle, if you're making 30k an issue then you shouldn't be buying a vehicle, you should be stocking up on some bus tickets.

allyuh leff the man nah,
apparently he feel all people should pay almost 1/4 million for a compact/subcompact car. dais small ting for him..

*goes orf to buy bus ticket, doh mind the bus eh have side air bags either...*

Postby Hook » January 31st, 2012, 8:38 am

:lol: ah was wondering when somebody was going to mention that the bus doesn't have air bags for the passengers since we chanting "million-dollar car or walk"

either way, having a high end vehicle doesn't make you king of the road when some jap-crap econobox ramp over the median and lands on you, or when you plow it into the uprights under a flyover at 180kmh...you gonna die just like anybody else in any other vehicle...jus sayin'

geodude

Postby geodude » January 31st, 2012, 9:11 am

i remember reading that accidents happen approximately every 15 mins in trinidad,
and this is why i try to minimise the time i spend on the road, so when i flying low doh tell me nothing allyuh drive slow and dead i in front so non ah allyuh cah bounce meh,

See, speeding is a defensive thing :)

Postby shogun » January 31st, 2012, 9:38 am

^please say yuh jokin'?

Postby Hook » January 31st, 2012, 12:01 pm

^^^ :lol: I not completely blamess either...when I in a group of cars and the imps and dem start drifting into each other's lanes without signaling etc. I haul ass outta there, cuz when one tumble, all fall down

Postby wagon r » January 31st, 2012, 12:42 pm

...jus to clarify something....that 10-2 hand position....is wrong, would land you in some serious hurt.

..correct way is 9-3 but seeing that we not supposed to be making sense in this thread, please ignore this comment.

...carry on. ...*...jumps in van and chases down the "pirate"...*....

Postby MG Man » January 31st, 2012, 12:46 pm

8 and 4 not too bad either

Postby rollingstock » January 31st, 2012, 1:08 pm

If your alignment good, you eh even bound to hold the steering, just make minor adjustment with your legs, it leaves your hands free.

Postby cinco » January 31st, 2012, 1:10 pm

i does just hold it wid meh piggyleeks

Postby crazybalhead » January 31st, 2012, 1:10 pm

wagon r wrote:...jus to clarify something....that 10-2 hand position....is wrong, would land you in some serious hurt.

..correct way is 9-3 but seeing that we not supposed to be making sense in this thread, please ignore this comment.

Postby Hook » January 31st, 2012, 2:06 pm

crazybalhead wrote:
wagon r wrote:...jus to clarify something....that 10-2 hand position....is wrong, would land you in some serious hurt.

9:30 and 3:30 maybe?

Postby wagonrunner » January 31st, 2012, 2:22 pm

and........

Postby MG Man » January 31st, 2012, 2:25 pm

actually that wheel is designed for 9 and 3
cbh jus cya tell time

Postby MG Man » January 31st, 2012, 2:27 pm

wagonrunner wrote:and........

I see your KITT and raise you one tiller

Postby Trini Hookah » January 31st, 2012, 2:32 pm

Hook wrote::lol: ah was wondering when somebody was going to mention that the bus doesn't have air bags for the passengers since we chanting "million-dollar car or walk"'

WALK?! A car can so easily ride up a pavement and take your life. (Reference to the Police that died because of that, RIP)